Grizz & Dozer's Ride South Africa, Ride Report Complete. YouTube Videos.....

Chrissie B said:
grizz said:
Chrissie..... Dankie.

Ons tyd is relatief beperk, ek weet nie hoe ver noord jy is nie, maar ons kon altyd vir jou n Wimpy koffie gekoop het erens langs die pad.

Ja nie, I'm a bit too far north/east, near Kruger Park.  And although I'd love to just come south for a ride, I don't think I can do that again in a looong while. 
Only just got back from 18 days of riding  ;D

Was actually just busy updating my ride report.  It's taking forever to write  ::)

No Problem.

Just booked into Kosie's place last night for the Saturday night in George.

jupiter said:
grizz said:
Goose said:
Kom boetie... kom.......... ons wag vir jou.

Weather predicted for Cape Town tomorrow - Monday - 38deg with ample sun............   :thumleft:

Be there as soon as possible  :biggrin:

Just booked the 7th April at https://www.baviaansuitspan.co.za/

Will be doing that section with Jupiter as well.

:thumleft: En die rede hoekom ek my tent saamvat is om bo in die kloof te kamp ver van julle twee snorkers af  :imaposer:

Wyse man indeed............  luister die bosbou ouens in Baviaans gaan kom vra om Grizz 'n permit het om daai interne gebrom toe te laat!  Hy gaan al die wildlife verdryf!  :biggrin:

Grizz - groot 'seblief old man........... I need you to bring something else with you to SA...

PLEASE can you bring my GSA.............. I'm sure that if you deflate the tyres and just remove the screen, that it will fit in as excess baggage!!  :peepwall:

Goose said:
Grizz - groot 'seblief old man........... I need you to bring something else with you to SA...

PLEASE can you bring my GSA.............. I'm sure that if you deflate the tyres and just remove the screen, that it will fit in as excess baggage!!   :peepwall:

Kak man, just ride it down...  :peepwall:

Mr Zog said:
Goose said:

PLEASE can you bring my GSA.............. I'm sure that if you deflate the tyres and just remove the screen, that it will fit in as excess baggage!!   :peepwall:

Now that would be a ride and a half.

Still looking to find a place midway between PE and Durban on the inland route via Queenstown to sleep over one night.

Not sure how far Maclear is from PE?

grizz said:
Mr Zog said:
Goose said:

Still looking to find a place midway between PE and Durban on the inland route via Queenstown to sleep over one night.

almost 600

Dirt Junkie said:
grizz said:
Mr Zog said:
Goose said:

almost 600

So I guess more than halfway.

Did not seem to be much between Queenstown and Maclear though.

We are headed for Westville, so in the middle or just over halfway is ideal.

Pe to Maclear via Queenstown 537km
might be nice to stay at the mountain shadow from PE it's 490km
https://www.mountainshadowshotel.co.za/index.htm
Capture1111-1_zpsc922a52b.jpg

Dirt Junkie said:
Pe to Maclear via Queenstown 537km
might be nice to stay at the mountain shadow from PE it's 490km
https://www.mountainshadowshotel.co.za/index.htm
Capture1111-1_zpsc922a52b.jpg

Thanks for that boet, I am busy painting our entrance porch as the boss has a bee in her knickers about it this week.... Redecoration.

How far would Durban/Westville be from there if we went via Petermaritzburg?

Thanks for your mapping.

Good luck with the painting, it's 455km if you stick to the N2 and R56 to Petermaritzburg and the N3 to Durbs Westville

Dirt Junkie said:
Good luck with the painting, it's 455km if you stick to the N2 and R56 to Petermaritzburg and the N3 to Durbs Westville

Sounds like Mountain Shadow is a good place to point toward.

Will Google later to see whats available there.

Just spoke to lovely Lelane at the hotel.

Looks like we may be staying there a night.

Have you then decided not to go through TK but up toward the berg??

BiG DoM said:
Have you then decided not to go through TK but up toward the berg??

Hi Dom,

TK not completely out yet, Dwesa could screw that one up for us.

I will decide in the next week if we go inland or coastal.

Main or only reason for not going TK route is everyone on here saying its dangerous etc.

Why you asking?

No just looking at your routing and saw you were heading to Queenstown - Maclear. I would not consider TK is unsafe and the reserves like Dwesa are well controlled as are the other resorts like Mazeppa etc that have been going for years. The unsafe part are the idjutz on the road and in the CBD's of Uhmtata, Butterwoth etc. Once toward the coast becomes more relaxing - as always  O0

What a great story Grizz, you do your parents a great honour.

Have a very lekker trip!

BiG DoM said:
No just looking at your routing and saw you were heading to Queenstown - Maclear. I would not consider TK is unsafe and the reserves like Dwesa are well controlled as are the other resorts like Mazeppa etc that have been going for years. The unsafe part are the idjutz on the road and in the CBD's of Uhmtata, Butterwoth etc. Once toward the coast becomes more relaxing - as always  O0

Thanks for the reply Dom,
You also have a PM now, as you have scrambled my thoughts a bit  :biggrin:

BlueBull2007 said:
What a great story Grizz, you do your parents a great honour.

Have a very lekker trip!

Thanks BlueBull, that is the plan.

My parents were not that special in the greater scheme of things, but rather special to us, and if they were not what they were to us, we could not be who we are today.

They would both have loved to have been on this ride themselves, or encouraged us to do it.

Also, this is another great opportunity to spend time with my brother, who I actually like a whole lot.

I have not been in SA for more than 6 years.

I am fortunate that my wife is insisting that I go do this ride with him.

Woke at 05.00 (03.00 in SA), got up, made some tea, played with the cats, surfed the forums, so now sitting here plotting routes etc.....  Route: PE - Westville (Durban)

This part of the route plan has been the most difficult of the whole ride plan, as I wanted minimal restrictions, and have a few waypoints that are NOT Negotiable. Port Elizabeth, where I need to do some business, Dunnottar where Deon, my brother lives, and the 19th April I have to be in Paarl at 15.00 to get ready to fly back to the UK.

Everything else is just details

This is the PRE-Ride Report for those who do not know about it.

https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=106063.0

Getting from PE to Durban is a bit of a dilema, due to warnings etc.... but Dwesa played a huge part in our growing up.

Dwesa is about 80km or 1hr50min from Idutywa on the N2

PE - Dwesa via N2 = 480km or 6hr40min

Dwesa - Westville via Kokstad = 570km or 7hr45min

CONVERSELY.....

PE - Mountain Shadows hotel (Elliot) = 490km or 6hr35min

Mountain Shadows - Westville (Durban) = 500km or 6hr30min

So Coastal route Dwesa, which has huge significance to both of us = 1050km or 14hr25min

OR

Inland route via Elliot, "safer" recommended by some and just a ride = 990km or 13hr05min

What does the communal conscience and knowledge say?

Try to support your vote with facts and experience.

I also know that one could have a prefect trip from Cape Town to Cairo, or you could get killed going out for a liter of milk.