Is this it?
After so many days spent in the arid parts of the Western and Northern Cape, there was no better place to wake up in than next to the river at Die Mond. The air was cool off the water. The shade was plentiful, and the lawn was a lush green. After we had breakfast and finished our morning chores, it was time to pack it all up, and do it all over again. Everyone was simultaneously excited, and melancholy. It was to be the second too last day of the Quest, and we were expecting a tough one, but it was also seen as the last day filled with real riding challenges, as we all basically expected the last scheduled days ride into the official price giving to be a mere cruise.
Even though [member=3864]Rickus[/member] and I helped pack everyone’s luggage into the Iveco on different occasions, we never had the opportunity to do it together as a team, so, we asked if we could do it that morning… yes … THAT morning, when the temperature reached 28 degrees Celsius at 8am… and with the Iveco parked in the sun…. and for good measure, we were already wearing our riding kit.
A spot of bother….
With the sweat still running freely down our faces we headed to our bikes to prep them for the daily mandatory Pre-Ride Inspection. I just started fiddling with my tank bag and adjusted the Rock Straps on my toolkit, when [member=3864]Rickus[/member] raised that familiar eyebrow of his, the one that looks like a racing mopani worm arching his back to take a veldtie. He looked me in the eye, and enquired with as much diplomatic panic as he could muster throughout the entire Quest… “Het jy daai kolletjie onder jou skoeter gesien…?”
Kolletjie…?!?! Waste kolletjie…??
…etter…
For the first time that morning, I remembered noticing the wet bash plate the previous night. That rock, at the beginning of the previous day. Bliksem. When I looked down, there was a small dark oily spot in the sand beneath my trusted #14.
My insides turned, at least 3 times. My exterior was calm and collected. My ancestors also turned… in their graves… as far back as 7 generations. “Gmpf…” I calmly chortled, while almost chortsing in my riding pants.
We were already in line for the PRI’s. There would be several serious repercussions if I couldn’t Macgyver this apocalyptic event moerse quickly.
1. If you can’t finish Quest with your original bike, you can’t finish Quest.
2. If I can’t finish Quest, my team can’t finish Quest
3. That means that [member=3864]Rickus[/member] can’t finish Quest!!
I cannot allow that to happen to my teammate. Fokkit. If I get side-lined, so be it, but I can’t do it to [member=3864]Rickus[/member] . My mind was racing. Figuring out the approach, solution, and practical implications all at once.
The edited family-friendly version of my internal dialogue sounded a little like this … “Right… Don’t show Rickus that you are seriously worried. Don’t make a meal of it. Don’t even talk about it. Just make a plan! NOW! Before the instructors make a big thing about this. Take control. Appear chilled. Fix what you can, and DON’T SHOW RICKUS THAT YOU ARE SERIOUSLY WORRIED.”
I quickly removed the bash plate. It was oily as hell. The Rock punched deep into the Rumbux bash plate. So deep that there was a huge indentation all the way up against the bottom of the AT’s aluminium engine casing! Like a finger sticking into a balloon! How is that possible?!?! that Rumbux plate can stop a charging oil tanker! I’ve never seen anything like it before! Then again, I’ve never seen another bike and rider been catapulted by a rock like I was the day before, either… I wiped the casing and saw my problem… 2 hairline cracks at the bottom of the engine casing, each about an inch-and-a-half long.
Someone mentioned that oom Gary is coming to inspect the damage. [member=14604]JesseH[/member] went off to get his Pratley Steel. I cleaned the cracks, grabbed the bashplate and found a stump and a big rock. After a couple of almighty blows, the bashplate was almost straight again. I turned around to see Gerrit with wide eyes. “Bliksem”, he said. Looking at my adrenaline fuelled handywork. Oom Gary arrived, some others as well.
And Rickus… my teammate Rickus… was on the ground right next to me, under my bike, in the dust.
We Mcgyver’ed that engine casing right there with Jesseh’s Pratley Steel, put the bash plate back, and went through the Pre-Ride Inspection. [member=19649]Hardy de Kock[/member] showed concern about the situation. So much so that there was a quick CODESA between a couple of us just before we set off. Plan B and C was set, just in case the fix didn’t hold.
We haven’t even set of yet, and I was emotionally drained!
Then, we hit the heat, the rocks, and the punctures.
Welcome to Mars
We had a couple of punctures before we even advanced 30km’s. This was mainly due to the heat, causing a split on our front extra heavy-duty tubes. All at the same place. There was clearly a factory error in the batch that we used. Hellish heat, and no shade what so ever. Each time the convoy stopped for yet another puncture, we only had the shade that our bikes provided.
My oil sweating engine casing was constantly on my mind, so I checked the oil level every now and then.
The crossing over the Doring river was a welcome dip for all of us, even though it filled our boots with water – an error that I’d regret later. [member=61]Kamanya[/member] held an impromptu field-repair skills training session when he (surely deliberately) managed to drown the so called “undrown able” DCT.
A quick tip: if you “plan” on drowning the AfricaTwin. Drown it on the left side, where the spark plug is easily accessible. If you drown it on the right cylinder, you’ll have to remove the entire fuel tank to get to that spark plug. [member=11381]Dipstick[/member] and some other contestants quickly helped, and we were off again.
I checked the oil level again.
Next up was the Tra-Tra river crossing. Not as deep, but with much more sandy banks than the Doring rivier.
I’ve never previously heard a lot about the Old Postal Route, that we were riding, but wow, it turned out to be a great challenge! The fact that we took almost 20 huge heavy bikes along this desolate and rocky trail, is rather amazing. The effect that these heavy bikes had on the brittle tracks, following in each other’s ever deepening ruts, was rather challenging for us riding at the back.
At the start of the Karretjies pass I could feel my feet boiling. The water in my black boots, the scorching sun, and the radiated heat off the engine managed to turn my riding boot into a kettle. I had to remove it a couple of times just to cool it off. (a week or so after the Quest, the skin peeled off my feet)
A couple of incidents.
After Karretjies pass the heat just got worse, and the churned up rocky track with irregular sandy patches became very difficult to ride. The convoy had some more punctures, and then a couple of falls. Not big ones, but just enough to put doubt in the mind. Is this the right line? Am I going too fast / too slow? Is this getting worse, or are we getting tired?
I checked my oil level, just in case.
Eventually JT had an off that brought the convoy to a halt. Not a big fall, but just enough to hurt his leg. I overheard Ockie the Medic telling the Instructors that it might be a cracked leg and although it’s still JT’s choice, he would rather put JT in the Cruiser, just as a precaution. I knew that there was no way [member=12023]teebag[/member] would bail out, and I was right. After a quick chat with his teammate, he got back on his bike and completed not only that day’s stage. But the entire Quest. Yster. Respect, [member=12023]teebag[/member] . Respect.
The other big incident involved [member=7846]Sandban(g)k[/member] and [member=22614]PhantomCupcake[/member] . Andre already wrote about his experience, so I’m not going to bore you with a long-winded second-hand version.
Suffice to say: when I came upon the entangled bikes in the dust and saw JoDan still rolling off into the distance, I jumped off my bike, just dropped it there in the sandy spoor and ran to help. Rickus must have been close behind me, because we crouched over them at the same time. It’s a miracle that they were not seriously injured. A hell of a prang!
(little did we know then, that this incident with Andre's skoeter and my cracked engine, lead to them being the only 2 bikes classified with serious damage after the Quest was finished)
And then it happened!
As we were heading out of the Old Postal Route, down the pass to the main gravel road, my teammate had a puncture. Ja, waaragtag. It happened. We thought we were immune.
At least now, we had the opportunity to dazzle a couple of instructors with our jaw dropping tyre changing skills. The convoy was sent ahead to Wuppertal and [member=61]Kamanya[/member] stayed behind to guide us back to the pack after we swaai’d some spanners. I packed out my dark magic array of skelm tools - able to brake the tyres bead chop-chop, with all my stashed soapy lubricants and chrome vanadium gripped goodies. It almost started looking like an S&M stall at the Sexpo. Very impressive.
But then…. Rickus very politely said, “staan bietjie terug…” and with almighty force, he broke the bead with his bare hands. Ja. Just with his hands. He then pulled the tyre clear off the rim. Out of respect, I gave another step back. Okkie the Medic gave me a look with pieringoë. [member=61]Kamanya[/member] had a smile dancing in the corners of his mouth. At least my tyre leavers were used to put the tyre back on. Those leavers now have a sacred space in my tool case.
After I checked my oil, we got going again. It was just me, Rickus and [member=61]Kamanya[/member] riding together. Ag, Ok, I’ll admit it... This stretch of riding gave me the biggest smile of the entire trip. No convoy etiquette. Just pinning it, fast catch-up riding with 2 guys that know how to do it on these big bikes. Wow, what a blast!
As we crested the top of Kouberg pass, [member=61]Kamanya[/member] screeched to a halt, and switched off his AT. Rikus and I stopped either side of him and followed suit. “Silent Race to Wuppertal’s cafe!” he yelled and started to push his bike down the pass. Game on! This was my first “silent race”, and I was loving it, hurling myself and my switched off bike down Kouberg pass. OK. The fact that the brakes don’t work that well when the bike is switched off, makes this a definite no-no. in fact, don’t do this, ever. It is reckless and irresponsible. Especially with the rondloper donkies on the road. Rickus deliberately passed one so close that he had fleas in his helmet when we stopped in a dust cloud in front of the Wuppetal kaffee.
What a lovely town. It was Sunday, so the shoe shop was closed. I planned to buy a pair of vellies there. Pitty that I couldn’t. Now that it burnt down, who knows if any of us will have the opportunity again. Very sad.
After copious amounts of water and sugary fizzy drinks, I checked my oil level, and we headed for a swim at the waterfall. With the exhilarating ride to Wuppertal still fresh in our minds, team 7 did Eselsbank pass at speed. After a quick dip in the cool river water the convoy took a more sedate ride through the picturesque Cederberge ending at our camping spot at Kromrivier.
There we were welcomed by Barend and Cassel, the big okes from HondaSA, coming to share in the last day of our adventure.
We had some informative presentations that evening, and a couple of lovely meaningful conversations with our fellow contestants and instructors. All and all one of the best riding days of my life.
The sweating oil leak on #14 never turned out to be an issue.