Karoo Sleepover

jis! Thanks Tok-tokkie! I was racking my brain for that name. Here's the route we followed.

• Route.jpg
    Route.jpg
    89.3 KB
  • Route_Profile.jpg
    Route_Profile.jpg
    23.3 KB
Just some captioned pictures & brief notes.

2226194098_0b70b44fa8_o.jpg

Looks like they have got a groot skrik.  Slippery road, shall we turn back?

2225403743_3506d47726_o.jpg

Dithering dogs.  No tree to piss on & there is a bitch in the pack.  Who will use the sign posts first?

2226197168_4f2684b1a6_b.jpg

Camp site.  Not a vehicle passed all the time we were there.  Most had tents, Droffarc slept inside a mosquito net.  I slept under the stars & was troubled by a not very persistent mosquito.  Where the hell was she going to get her next meal (only the females drink blood) and, even more perplexing, where is the pool she grew up in?

2225406861_8c98a9cfe3_o.jpg

Droffarc about to let them off the leash.  XT660, Bradleys & Camel Man about to rush off ahead.  What you are supposed to do at that age.

https://farm3.static.flickr.com/2040/2226197706_364058cb73_o.jpg[img]
Same three fixing Go Girlâ??s flat.  The previous day they had fixed mine.  I predicted I would get one because I needed to fit a front tyre but it did not arrive in time but it was the rear that picked up a fencing staple.  My bead breaker worked just fine but ordinary long tyre irons are easier to use than my set-up (this refers to this post  https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=12116.180 )

[img] https://farm3.static.flickr.com/2381/2226197964_4938a543ce_o.jpg
Groweblaar, Camel Man & Go Girl and the puddle.

2225407581_2f0f153743_o.jpg

Droffarc and the Ganaggapas sign.  Droffie collect pictures of pass signboards; we had to turn back to get this.

https://www.flickr.com/photo_zoom.gne?id=2225407761&size=o[img]
Ganagga Pass.  It was so hot & bright I could not really see the image on the camera so the right hand side is missing.

[img]https://farm3.static.flickr.com/2303/2225407721_da46ac10a7_o.jpg
After Wellington we were hit by a STRONG south-easter.  Battled our way back to Cape Town running on the sides of our tyres.  That is table mountain covered by a fluffy duvet instead of the more usual cloth.

Thanks guys, that was a blast.
Lastly â?? I fell in the mud but there are no photos to show it.  I hate sand & now have experienced a little mud.  Give me heat; I can survive that with a little Rehydrate in my camelback but mud does me in.

Don't know what the problem with 2 pictures is.  Will post them again
2226197964_4938a543ce_o.jpg

2225407721_da46ac10a7_o.jpg

And I left out this one
2225407761_33760e29ea_o.jpg

Karoo sleepover OR Go Girl and the seven DS riders....

I cant help about the shape I'm in, I cant sing, I aint pretty and my legs are thin. But don't ask me what I think of  you - I might not give the answers that you want me to.... Oh Well!

So this was clearly a boys night out - as pionted out by the only female member of the group, especially when one member posted scary pics of this lang slang all flacid like, on his bike's seat.

We met at the Total in Richwood in the middle of the day - to get the maximum effect of the heat that we would endure the following day. The first to arrive (apart from myself who sat shivvering in the dark recesses of the forecourt roof) was Growweblaar all the way from BettiesBay - I personnaly think he deserves at least a round of applause if not a meddle - you will see later why.

spot1db4.jpg

LTR: Camelman, Growweblaar, Tok Tokkie, Eisbein, Xt660r, KiethK, BradleyS and Go Girl

It was good meeting eveyone and most thoughtfull of Eisbein to see us off with a tearful wave and a brave countenance - and he took some photos of our departure along the way.

Our first taste of dust was along the Malanshoogte road and then the Occultdale road - to ensure that the luggage was ok etc.

And here our first happening happened! At Klipheuwel we pulled off at the side of the road, using a skelm little footpath to get to the shade. I looked around and found that our esteemed sweeper volunteer was present but then I sensed someone was amiss. Then along came KiethK, and missed us despite the fact that we all hooted and made a general din - I think he was on the phone - and he assumed we would take the Slent road - which was not the plan as I had something else in store.

In der haas I was off like a shot to catch him - wonder what he thought were we had gotten to so quickly - and eventually cought up with him on the gravel in front of the fans - with the rest of the party on my tail.

Oh well, may as well continue on this route with an ad lib - it pays to know the roads around sometimes! As I departed from that spot I spotted a truck doing a leopard crawl from behind so I made haste and we regouped at the tar - again all but sweeper KiethK, whom I had learned had entered into a pact with Xt660r in order to be able to perv a certain lady's rear. As we waited the truck, trailing a massive dustcloud arrived, then another with an even larger dust cloud and to our horror yet another truck - I am not talking bakkies here - trailing the biggest dust cloud I have seen. Then out of this cloud came none other than our trusted sweeper Dusty - er - KiethK.

spot11gh7.jpg

We then did my little impromtu to Drie Susters. And then on to Malmesbury where again we stopped under some trees by the Police station - but not for long as Camelman indicated that he was experiencing a melt down.

Out on the dirt on the Moorreesburg road turning toward Riebeek-wes and then again to Riebeecksrivier.

spot12ev9.jpg

spot13cc4.jpg

Go Girl followed by KiethK

spot14ug2.jpg

From there over the Bothmanskloof pass to the further entrance to Riebeeck kasteel and past the Travellar's Rest where there was this inviting sign about ice cold beer. Suddenly there was an almighty outcry from a certain Yamaha rider, but a good klap shut him up.

As we passed over the berg river at Zonkwasdrift I myself felt an allmighty urge to immerse my shapely body in the cooling water, but held myself in check. From there we hot tailed it over the Nuwekloof pass and on to the Tulbaghweg road and more gravel to the wonderous Wolesley. Here a certain GS rider named Tok Tokkie decided was a good place to fix a puncture - in the hot sunlight.

spot15wi5.jpg

spot16xr4.jpg

Now there was heated activity around the slightly modified GS as the well oiled - or was that just sweat - puncture crew sprang into action and in a little while even the two spectators agreed that the job was done and we proceeded to Ceres over the Mitchells pass.

Here while absorbing water at an alarming pace I realized that To Tokkie was missing! Ah! there he was at the garage opposite. He had decided that his rear brakes were now binding and I can attest to the fact that placing three unsuspecting fingers on the rear caliper was indeed not a clever thing to do right then, despite the ambient heat.

He unpacked his mobile tool shop and quickly bled the rear brakes and we were again on our way - to the men's washroom.

spot17my0.jpg

From there we took the road to Onder Swaarmoed and I suffered a mild attack of "WhereThFkRwe"! My in-stink-ts told me that this was the correct turnoff to the Swaarmoed Pass - but it looked so different! Last time it was so lush and green! So I asked a friend - who just happened to be riding a KTM, and BradleyS swayed me into thinking that we should go straight on - wrong! we ended at the gate - you know that big blue one? Anyway it turns out that I consulted the wrong friend - it should have been the other KTM rider - Camelman had a GPS and he confirmed that the turnoff was indeed the right one, it was the left one at the time, so we went back - and may I say it was nice passing so many DS riders on the way, the one at the back looked like he could do with a serious bath!

Over the Swaarmoed pass and down that slippery little decline and soon we were on our way to THE SPOT!

The road was at first boring but became more interesting when we encountered the dips. One special one which now is deeply embedded in the mind of GoGirl.

When we arrived at THE SPOT we noted that GOGirl and her dusty entourage were not present. Apparently what had happened was she - like almost all of us - had bottomed out on that one dip and threw all her toys out but no damnage could be noted so we all sniffed around for a comfortable spot to lay down and lick out chops. Well only some of us had chops to lick! So many that next morning there were still two left.

spot18wb3.jpg

spot19ll4.jpg

spot110qm2.jpg

We settled down beside the fire - they managed to find an amzing amount of wood! and talk ranged from the war to bank robbery, ghosts in whiskey bottles and whether the weather would worsten - there was lightning and a drip or two was reportedly reported. Some of us then retired while others decided to hold a cattie shooting contest. One of the tins that were used as targets apparently had a hole right through. Later a discussion of rides like the Canola run were discussed and whether or not it was fun to race through canaola fields. Eventually the all nighters turned in and soon the first sparrow chirped its welcome to a new day.

My camera's batteries had gone flat in the night or I would have had a perfectly good photo of BradleyS doing an impromptu impersonation of a meditating Buddah, but by the time I had enticed Growweblaar to fetch his camera the buddah had ceased his medditative contemplation of the fire.

In awe I watched the eastern horison became a scarlet blaze which turned golden and I managed to get just one pic of the light display.

Tune in again for the second eppisewde of our exciting trip, comming to a screen near you soon ( actually I must get some work done first!). ::)

(Applogies to Keith and Gavin Bradley for the sights on my katty being out.I have sent it in for callibration.)

XT no need  ;D ;D ( WD's each have their day ?? ::) ::))

Thanks to all that ventured out in the midday sun to ride this great route with may I say it ? the leader of the pack Drofarc who organised the route with the help of his friends ? . GG (sounds good), Drofarc XT, Bradley (soon to have a new forum name), Tok tokkie , Growweblaar and Camelman it was a real PLEASURE eating your dust and being able to ride with you . To prove all the dust that was consumed please see pic attached that Mrs K took as I arrived home:

DSC_0081-1.jpg

DSC_0084-1.jpg

Unfortunately I did not take my camera with and do not have more pics. Thanks and waiting for the second half of the RR from Drofarc.

KiethK - you forgot to mention that you gave the bike a shower in Ceres, so that it would look less dirty when you got home.

Thanks for looking after Go Girl and eating so much dust - would never have managed without you.

Tok Tokkie thanks for attending and for the great pics, esp that panoramic one of the SPOT. You actually had a interesting ride - puncture and off all in one.

I hope Growweblaar managed to get home all right and that his foot is not too badly injured.

Go Girl was really the star of the trip - you really did well - never mind the jelly - to have survived with the guys AND enjoyed it - see what the ladies can do! next time we must have more female participation - or even an all girls trip to that SPOT.

And now some of my pics

Tok tokkies puncture.

andypics2008137.jpg

andypics2008142.jpg

andypics2008141.jpg

This rider didnt want to be reconised !

andypics2008134.jpg

At The spot

andypics2008155.jpg

andypics2008152.jpg

andypics2008147.jpg

andypics2008146.jpg

Somone on the hill,is that a joint or a camera flash ?

andypics2008151.jpg

more to follow

keithk said:
Yip ! thats definitley a joint ?? :eek:

and a good healthy pull on one too.... >:D

ok stop posting the pics, you are making my bike jelouse and wanting to get out and ride

Sorry Mark

After experiencing the magnificent sunrise we packed up and left.

sspot2xn3.jpg

sspot21py6.jpg

Oh no! Go girlâ??s front tyre was flat. Upon inspection it was noted that the rim had a bit of a dent â?? from that nasty dip of the previous day. Out came our friend Trailriderâ??s special â?? tyreweld â?? and the tyre was inflated.

Instead of the planned direct route to Sutherland I talked the guys into doing the little dogleg 3 around the Zeekoegat body of water. We were just about to turn onto the return leg, after going through the gate when it was decided that the errant KTM tyre needed to be replaced and that it would be done there and then. I suggested that we retire to the shade of the nearby trees before we re-tyre or we could possibly expire from the early morning heat.

sspot22pc0.jpg

Soon we were on our way again and found the river in the Verlatekloof pass where we (some of us) went for a welcome dip in the algy froggy water. Others, like Denis the menace went off in search of something to shoot with his catty.

When we reached Sutherland everything was quiet, but some of us soon put a stop to that and the Garage guy, you remember, the one with the sideburns like those sported by a certain former GS rider who has all the lucky strikes, was soon in attendance â?? and did not even charge us a call out fee.

Soon our tanks were full and we invaded the quiet hotel for a sumptuous breakfast. What a breakfast â?? maybe I was hungry but it all tasted verrrry nice and the orange juice was cold and wet. A really worthwhile breakfast run this was.

sspot23lz8.jpg

sspot25cj5.jpg

We then made our way to Middlepos, reaching there by lunchtime. The shop was closed and the hotel was closed but upon trying the door â?? it was open BUT not a sole in attendance. Soon the guy arrived and served beers.

sspot26um8.jpg

Andy thoughtfully bought me a beer â?? thanks pal â?? not knowing that I donâ??t consume any alcohol, but I am certain he enjoyed drinking it.

There was also this wacky sign on the glass door of the shop which says that if the mother of the child that insists on sucking the glass does not clean the mess there would be trouble.

From there things somehow became a race, with the KTMâ??s and pseudo KTM running in front and the rest of us huffing to keep up. I shall have to return to Middlepos again so that I can absorb that road. I just remember, as we left the town there was some sort of sand patch where I almost lost it, but I think the knobbly front tyre saved my bacon.

sspot27wc0.jpg

sspot28gc2.jpg

At the Gannaga pass I made a point of turning back for photos. Not everyday I get to see such sights. The road down was badly washed away and eroded and I was not taking any chances so I proceeded with caution and still found the time to look around at the sights. There were numerous drifts where the rain from the previous night, which did not fall on us, had washed furrows in the road. It is one thing negotiating a ditch across the road but entirely another when you must negotiate sticky mud as well.

Tok Tokkie took a tumble and at one point I almost lost it as well. The back wheel was going in the wrong direction and I would have done a sideways ride if I had applied more throttle. Fortunately common sense prevailed and I applied slightly less throttle and came out of the mud unscathed. I had learned my lesson well in the navy â?? use your own gut feel regardless of what others tell you.

S I cleared the mud Growweblaar followed me and down he went from the mud.  We will let him tell his side of the story.

He picked himself up having only hurt his foot a bit.

Later we arrived at the Tanqua Karoo visitors centre in the middle of nowhere. They had cold water and taps where we cooled down. Growweblaarâ??s foot beginning to swell a bit.

From there we made a mad dash. I only vaguely remember reaching the R355 and then going at 110km/h to to turnoff for the Katbakkies pass. I vaguely remember the Skittery road which seemed rather nice and I promised myself that I would do this part again in my usual way. The Katbakkies pass was just a vague memory of piles of rocks and a ruin of a house alongside the road. Next thing I remember was going down the Gydo pass and stopping at the petrol station in Prince Alfred Hamlet to see KiethK go past. My fuel gauge was very low as his must have been but he had stated that he wanted to see how far he could go, and I had the red petrol can strapped to the back for emergency.

At the fuel station in Ceres I saw the racers again for the first time. There we disbanded as I wanted to re-hydrate and take it easy on the way home â?? I had raced enough. I took the Bainskloof pass to Wellington and did some more gravel in the STRONG SouthEaster arriving home just after 19:00, unpacked the bike and just parked it in the garage. I drank about a liter of cold water and sat down to post some quick pics of the ride.

Jo, Droffarc! You're a master story-teller bru!

Forgetting the fact that I just finished washing 10kg of mud and dirt off my bike, and still tired and wanting to sleep, I would go his weekend again with all you guys. It was great.

XT660R let me ride behind Bradleys, and I could pick up some tips on power-broadsliding around corners, which caused me to fall back on every twisty road, just so I could catch up again. Man was that fun!

It was a pleasure riding with you all!  ;D

Awesome, awesome trip! My first overnighter on a bike, and it was grrrrreat O0

Depart from Betty's Bay:

2226903786_fc2ef87cb9_o.jpg

Toktokkie arriving at Richwood Total for the start of the trip:

2226903922_70c794ef12_o.jpg

And the same man's puncture, not too long afterwards (fortunately, he rides what is now known as The Official Support Vehicle, or Mobile Workshop, so fixing it was no sweat - well, there was some sweat):

2226904120_141e85192d.jpg

(Note to self: always ensure the Pit Crew - Mr Bradley and Camelman - are with you on a ride...)

Leaders of the pack - droffarc, Bradley, XT660R and Camelman:

2226904340_d52783e105_o.jpg

After a relentless 120km/h slog across the gravel plains, we arrive at the turnoff to our spot:

2226904554_7b3f2acd36_o.jpg

The SPOT - ever wondered where the middle of nowhere is? Fantastic!

2226904708_6869ab3b69_o.jpg

Lots of stories and laughs around the fire - just the way you want it:

2226904928_0a5371c9e3.jpg

Camelman supplied the toilet facilities (although even a front-end loader would have struggled to go deeper than 2cm in that ground!):

2226905090_c6c4174e2b.jpg

Sunrise over the camp (ever notice how any biker's pic always has his own bike in the foreground?):

2226114645_0c38793117_o.jpg

Sunrise over the Karoo - beautiful, isn't it?
2226905428_90111afebd_o.jpg

That "dip" (looked and felt more like a tectonic plate shift to me) ended up claiming Go Girl's rim and tube. Out comes the TyreWeld:

2226114933_cb5d756343_o.jpg

See, even Honda riders stand (keithk):
2226905842_e06c0d3342_o.jpg

Go Girl!

2226906018_365a76702a_o.jpg

TyreWeld didn't last - out comes the Pit Crew, while the rest of us hide in the meagrest of shade:

2226115439_e35b1e4988_o.jpg

This dog lost its teeth:

2226906382_a5248783da_o.jpg

Fantabulous cool water near Sutherland (Go Girl, Bradley, Camelman):

2226906626_6396587ef7_o.jpg

Re-fueling in Sutherland (the kind Oom was on his way to church when he saw us and opened the pumps early on a Sunday):

2226115989_3297bff827_o.jpg

Brekkie in Sutherland hotel
(clockwise from top right: XT660R, Gavin (Bradley), Camelman, keithk, Go Girl, Toktokkie, droffarc):

2226906938_99aef8628a_o.jpg

Middelpos - thirsty dogs in need of beer:

2226907118_dbf5553fc8_o.jpg

The dash home begins. Front runners Mr Gavin Bradley and Mr Camelman coming through:

2226907250_248ef2e931_o.jpg

And then came one of the most awe-inspiring moments of the trip - Ganags(?) Pass. I never knew anything like this existed so close to home. I can't decide which was better : the view, or the ride down:

2226116685_824c08a07a_o.jpg

The long road leading up to Tankwa National Park had every driffie filled with fresh mud, and a bit of a drop-off on either side. I had only once before rode mud - and I fell then ;D, so I was surprised to find that I was actually handling it well. In fact I even started to enjoy it - the fishtailing, the throttle play, etc. Toktokkie went down on a drif, but I still felt confident. But I was scratching the Mud Monster's balls with a very small little stick. And he bit back :p. (Un)fortunately no pics, only this one:

2226116867_f3f9083bf2_o.jpg

There are a few other bumps and bruises, but otherwise I'm fine :). Thanks to droffarc for organizing and to all the rest for a brilliant time!

Dude Growweblaar!

Glad you made it home okay.

I spared a thought for you when Bradleys, XT660R and I were fighting the 60km/h wind back home. Must have been hectic over Grabouw with that wind.

Looks like you foot is only a bit 'shaken, not stirred'  ;D

Was lekker riding with you bro!

See, even Honda riders stand (keithk):

I think I know now why the others stand so much, I definitely needed a little pressure release on the you know what ?  ;D ;D

I spared a thought for you when Bradleys, XT660R and I were fighting the 60km/h wind back home. Must have been hectic over Grabouw with that wind.

"That was no ordinary blow job" that wind was a minimum of + 40 knots which is approximately 75-80 k's/h it gave us all a buffeting trying to reach home and for some "The Blue Peter" !

Hi guys when I saw this weekend I thought there's no way this WD wantyed to interfere with a BOYS weekend... ???us gals dont bel.ong there.. ::) ::) my rubber arm was twisted and you asll have the rest some of the pit crew on my front teeth ;D ;D

• XT and Camel man1.jpg
    XT and Camel man1.jpg
    95.2 KB
Here are more photos just to say that this is A BOYS weekend which this WD enjoyed... ;D ;D

These notices confirm that this is  BOYS only weekend  >:D

• right of adm.jpg
    right of adm.jpg
    47.8 KB
  • men only.jpg
    men only.jpg
    83.9 KB