My annual leave...EC, WC & NC with pillion (RR DONE!!!)

m0lt3n said:
chrisL said:
m0lt3n said:
Right, we are in Springbok so I will be able to update the report soon. Sorry for being so slow.
First though...new thread on Mitas tearing (before I take on the long road home)
We did some sand today...and it was a super bad idea. There will be some limping to get home...
Gaan eet in Oom Jopie se restuarant en kyk bietjie dear al die boeke van
die kontrei wat hy daar verkoop.

Awesome, ons wou juis nou hier rond vra vir lekker eet plek! Dankie
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Die Springbok restuarant in die hoofstraat. Hul ontbyt is ook stukke beter as enige Wimpy.

chrisL said:
m0lt3n said:
chrisL said:
m0lt3n said:
Right, we are in Springbok so I will be able to update the report soon. Sorry for being so slow.
First though...new thread on Mitas tearing (before I take on the long road home)
We did some sand today...and it was a super bad idea. There will be some limping to get home...

Die Springbok restuarant in die hoofstraat. Hul ontbyt is ook stukke beter as enige Wimpy.

:patch:

jupiter said:
chrisL said:
m0lt3n said:
chrisL said:
m0lt3n said:

:patch:
Gaan probeer daai ontbyt en dan laat weet jy my Jup. :deal:

Wat 'n lekker RR  :thumleft:

jy kan maar die kiekies gooi - ek kla nie.

Day 9: George to Ladysmith via some random passes
For this day we really did do a lot of random passes. We wanted to do Cloete, Gysmanshoek, Huisrivier and finish of with Kogmanskloof near Montagu. Then we thought if there was still some time left we will add Rooiberg pass. This did not happen

Before we kicked it all of I wanted to see whats the big hoo ha over Hartenbos. My hometown teleports here come December and I never could understand why...well I still dont. Robinson was a quick pass near our route and was reportedly very nice. Well, it was very nice but ended up not being a quick detour as we had to go all the way back to Hartenbos for fuel before starting of on the gravel to Cloete's pass. Still worth it though.

It seems like the area had some heavy rainfalls, but they were busy fixing some flood damage. Roadworks can be frustrating but a necessary evil which I always try to approach in a positive manner, greeting them and such. A good thing as I normally pass the Stop sign and would prefer not to be thrown with a brick or something out of frustration, standing in the sun for the whole day woukd have me very agro.

The road to Cloetes pass was good plus there were some nice farms also. Green and not very busy with nice open grassfields. At the one river crossing an oldish guy and his wife came from the front on (I think) a triumph 800. They were driving super slow which had me feeling better about myself! I have been taking gravel corners very (I thought) slowly and carefully.

We looked at the map and saw it will be best to do Rooiberg pass then and went for that. It was a bit rocky at sections but otherwise again a good road. The nice thing of Rooiberg was the view when descending, Calitzdorp will unfold before one very unexpectedly.

• IMG-20131014-WA0024.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0024.jpg
    85.5 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0026.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0026.jpg
    64.1 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0053.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0053.jpg
    110.7 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0048.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0048.jpg
    69.2 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0033.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0033.jpg
    80.1 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0052.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0052.jpg
    47.8 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0054.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0054.jpg
    61.4 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0056.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0056.jpg
    70.5 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0025.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0025.jpg
    39.7 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0055.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0055.jpg
    80.7 KB
After Rooiberg  pass we went through Huisrivier pass but no pictures yet. We were to cross Huisrivier again the next day, but its was a good tar pass. Fast and flowing.

I did push the bike hard through Huisrivier pass with tyres at about 1.8 and when inflating again in Ladysmith I could smell burned rubber. So decided to not do that again. Inflating was super frustrating! It started of with the garage's gauge not working, then I used mine...then that broke suddenly. So I had to guess but the bikes tyre pressure sensors told me I guessed crap whenI left so I stopped at the next garage...which could not get the rear above 2.6. So then had to stop being lazy and unpacked my compressor. Sug

Next up was Gysmanshoek but en route I saw Garcia pass wasnt much of a detour, and proved to be another good tar pass. We were trying to push for time by now as it was starting to get late. Jupiter advised me on Gysmanshoek and it proved a good route. It was a bit slower, not as good a road and a little more dryish scenery, but it was a nice change of pace. On the way we saw the old house which can be named a cow-house now I guess.  Managed some good photos there.

Tradouw pass was a nice surprise. I did not know this pass before and now think its one of our better tar passes. A good long fast pass withvery good scenery as there is a river flowing in the middel of the pass, or rather below. The church picture was taken in Barrydale, it seems like its a mark of pride for these western cape towns to have a good looking church somewhere.

• IMG-20131014-WA0038.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0038.jpg
    73.7 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0037.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0037.jpg
    54.7 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0029.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0029.jpg
    60.5 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0035.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0035.jpg
    71.7 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0050.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0050.jpg
    68.5 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0051.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0051.jpg
    43.3 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0043.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0043.jpg
    53.3 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0046.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0046.jpg
    69.5 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0044.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0044.jpg
    88.2 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0028.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0028.jpg
    89.4 KB
Part 3 of 3
By now it was late and we decided to give Montagu area a skip and headed for Ladysmith. It was a long day and we were tired. We did made a quick stop at Rronnies sex shop though. Not that we wanted anything to drink or anything but because you need to get the photo! For those that dont know the story....Ronnie went overseas and when he came back found that his friends added the word sex to his shop name. Best thing that could have happened to his business I think.

We were booked at Koedoeskloof for the night and what a nice place it turned out to be. Yap the owner is on the forum  :thumleft: so I was wondering what I will say if I did not like the place. But we did and I will recommend it even to non wilddog members anyday. We had a good kuier and the burgers were excellent. Yeah we took it with one Kudu and one ostrich patty (It is now a week later that I am writingthis and my wife actually just wished she could have another of these burgers!)

• IMG-20131014-WA0041.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0041.jpg
    62.8 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0034.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0034.jpg
    100.7 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0036.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0036.jpg
    50.2 KB
  • IMG-20131014-WA0042.jpg
    IMG-20131014-WA0042.jpg
    54.2 KB
chrisL said:
Skaam vir jou jy draai 40 kms van ons af om :(

Ai vrek ja, ons het nie besef dit was so naby nie. Eers die aand toe ek vir Eugene vra hoe ver dit is besef ons moes dit in gepas het. Was nogal n vol dag. Ek dink al hoe meer ek moet die trippie weer doen!

Elke trip - vir meeste van ons - het net nie genoeg TYD nie...

Ek ry lekker saam  :thumleft:

HB 9 said:
Elke trip - vir meeste van ons - het net nie genoeg TYD nie...

Ek ry lekker saam  :thumleft:

Ai dit is so waar. Tyd vlieg wragtig. Ek sou gelike het om so roete 2 keer n jaar aan te pak maar wat is die kanse. Dit vat net so lank om daar te kom en om terug te kom ook...tyd tyd

Snap !  :biggrin: Daai uitsig is net onweerstaanbaar. Hom Sondag weer gery. Bly julle geniet die trip so.

• 100_2949.JPG
    100_2949.JPG
    331 KB
So, we are safely home and done with the trip. I guess that means I dont have any more excuses left to postpone the writing of the ride report...

Day 10: Ladysmith to Sutherland via Seweweekspoort
So after cleaning all the spotlights and lights on the bike we set of again. I tried to keep being maximally visible at all times. We started of with doing the Dwarsrivier ci3cl3. Nice green area around Koedoeskloof. Then we did another piece of gravel Ladysmith also on Veldbrand's suggestion. If you want to know what route...go stay over and he will tell you. He knows the area well and had some good suggestions.

We rode via the Huisrivier pass to Calotzdorp before doing the route at the dam. Maatjierivier something which connects to Swartberg pass. We thought about doing this route earlier when we actuallu did the swartberg pass but didnt have time. When my father-in-law and Veldbrand said its a shame we missed it, we had to go do it..

Problem was, we have already done the area before during the Hel/swartberg pass day. We did not enjoy it much and turned around about halfway. Dont misunderstand me though, it's a good route witah some good and varieng scenery. We were just keen to start with the next chaper...

• IMG-20131016-WA0033.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0033.jpg
    77.1 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0030.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0030.jpg
    77.5 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0032.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0032.jpg
    68.9 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0034.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0034.jpg
    79.4 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0029.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0029.jpg
    89.1 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0024.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0024.jpg
    134.2 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0031.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0031.jpg
    124.7 KB
Day 10 part 2 of 2
We had to go back from Caltzdorp via the Huisrivier pass to get to the start of Seweweekpoort. We mad a stop at Huisrivier and found this old guy and his bike there. An old bmw bike. He was touring in style, sitting there with a superview and reading a book. I would have liked to hear his story but he did not hear me say hello, or he ignored me. Either way I let him be as I thought he must be tired of telling his story.

Seweweekspoort was good. You ride through the mountains with the rock formations next to the road. They were busy with a grader on the road so I had to drive slow. It was heavy slipery with all the loose rocks. We didnt take to many picture though as it was a hot day, especialy as we were going slow so had no wind to cool us.

Just outside Laingsburg we took the Moordenaars Karoo road to Sutherland. The next 1432km took forever. We made good progress initially as the roads were good and flat so you could see far. But then the road got bad, corrigation which I hate. There was also many low level water bridges to cross. One nearly caught me out at high speeds as we came over a hill. But some hard braking, then get up look up and we made it.

At another low level bridge I wanted to feel what the river bed was like. Almost fell and had an angry wife! Got going again with some trouble again though.

The road ended just outside Sutherland. There was a tar pass to do but it was getting late and we still had to get to Blesfontein, our accomodation for the night. There was about 30km of gravel to do to get to the farm and I realised something, I like a good gravel section and I also like bad gravel for some technical riding. I do not like a gravel road inbetween these extremes, thats just crap and frutrating. The road to the farm was such, corrugation plus bakkie tracks goe hard after it was driven on while wet.

The farm was awesome. Super quiet with some random tame farm animals wandering around. The owner has a passion for stargazing and has a decent sized telescope there. Some nights, about 4 a week, he will entertain guests and explain some stuff on the stars. We coud join and it was very good, I would recommend staying there to anyone.

• IMG-20131016-WA0026.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0026.jpg
    78.7 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0021.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0021.jpg
    55.9 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0027.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0027.jpg
    94 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0025.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0025.jpg
    196.6 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0023.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0023.jpg
    82 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0018.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0018.jpg
    97.5 KB
  • IMG-20131016-WA0020.jpg
    IMG-20131016-WA0020.jpg
    93.4 KB
beste annual leave ooit  :thumleft:

Dis 'n vakansie wat julle nooit sal vergeet nie.

Dankie vir die deel  ;D

Fantastic trip.Thanks for sharing.I like that dagwood-style monster, Veldtie dished up.

Day 11: Sutherland area, Ouberg and Ganaga pass
Before we could start the day I had to beg some petrol from the farm owner as I was afraid I wouldnt make kt...and as I had a bad track record of not listening to my wife, I did not want to take the chance. Its a bit far to go into Sutherland to get petrol so I was very gratefull for good old farmstyle helpfulness.

We left any unnecessary luggage in the room and went of to Ouberg pass. The roads got better and better as we progressed and the green Karoo was as beautifuil as it could be (my opinion I know). Ouberg pass hit us very unexpectedly, not because I was speeding but the sudenness of one awesome view. One moment you are riding along and then you go over a small hill and you can sommer see to Cape Town. Not really but you get the idea. The farmer can quote some cool figures here on how far the view can stretch. Something lke 200km.

The pass itself wasnt overly bad or technical, but one does have to take care. And then it happened...all those that have been holding their breaths can relax now....the poop scoop broke. I wanted to take a picture of the wheel and sawsomething was wrong. One of the bolts and spacers lost or broke, I havent really checked. I wasnt much worried, just took Iit off, it did mean that I will have to carry it on the luggage further on though

After Ouberg we met some sheep being moved. The higher farms gets to cold in winter and the lower farms gets to hot in summer, therefore they have to be moved at the turn of the seasons. I felt bad for the herders, the stupid sheep really did not appreciate the Marsmen with their big black round heads, they didnt want to go past us.

• IMG-20131020-WA0049.jpg
    IMG-20131020-WA0049.jpg
    83.5 KB
  • IMG-20131020-WA0027.jpg
    IMG-20131020-WA0027.jpg
    58.3 KB
  • IMG-20131020-WA0031.jpg
    IMG-20131020-WA0031.jpg
    115.5 KB
  • IMG-20131020-WA0026.jpg
    IMG-20131020-WA0026.jpg