My 'Mother' of a Solo ride to Namibia

Lekker Oom. Snaaks ek het op my onlangse trip ook op Solitaire my planne begin formuleer. Daai oom by BMW in Windhoek is baie hulpvaardig en lief vir die bikes.

jupiter said:
Mooi trip  :thumleft: En lekker om te sien die Namibiers het ook goeie smaak  :biggrin:

Daai GSA het Dubai nommerplaat en hulle sukkel met earth leakage...... :imaposer:

Lem said:
you know, I now love reading this, and can't wait for the rest

for the whole while you were away the forum was dominated by topics such of the as fear while riding, shitloads of BMW bashing, loads of people yearning to rather be camelmen & grease monkeys again on bikes dating out of the 70's, just to be perceived as true adventurers or true bikers again.

What I like about you & your reports is that you just don't give a fuck about these " damduikers"

You just did your planning, without overpreparing, packed & went. You rode your big&heavy touring bike (which you chose above something smaller) over a moer of a long distance over various degrees of terrain, every day for as long & far as you wanted to. And you came home, safely.

That is my take on adventure riding.

Looking forward to the rest of your report  :thumleft:

Well Said. My thoughts exactly

KiloBravo said:
Lem said:
you know, I now love reading this, and can't wait for the rest

for the whole while you were away the forum was dominated by topics such of the as fear while riding, shitloads of BMW bashing, loads of people yearning to rather be camelmen & grease monkeys again on bikes dating out of the 70's, just to be perceived as true adventurers or true bikers again.

What I like about you & your reports is that you just don't give a fuck about these " damduikers"

You just did your planning, without overpreparing, packed & went. You rode your big&heavy touring bike (which you chose above something smaller) over a moer of a long distance over various degrees of terrain, every day for as long & far as you wanted to. And you came home, safely.

That is my take on adventure riding.

Looking forward to the rest of your report  :thumleft:

Well Said. My thoughts exactly

+ 10000  :thumleft:

Lekker RR M, I was wondering what had happened to you.  Aubures Camp looks like Sesriem camp did 25 years ago before it got so commercialised.  You gare going to get back with one helluva clean head, ready for new stuff ...  :thumleft:

So enjoying your RR, fantastic style and photo's ...what can I say  :thumleft: :thumleft:

Nice report, I'm enjoying every moment as I dream of a Namibia trip. Don't know if I will do it solo, though.

Great seeing that David van Breda is also a friend of yours, come to think of it I remember him posting on FB on the trip. How is he and when is he getting the knot tied?

Looking forward to the rest!

Mother's  love afair with BMW's started a long time ago and this was our christening of the first BMW in our mids in 2000.

1.jpg

We also decided to test the subframe:

2.jpg

Lekke trip Chris, we MUST get together some time.

Eish how I miss a Namibia trip now......... great RR, makes you want to ride. :thumleft:

Enjoying the  :ricky: great RR waiting for more input.  :ricky: 

Another great report from you, Mother (feels wierd to call you mother...  :laughing4: )

BMW 1200GSA - R150k
Cost of Nam Trip - R20k
Lekker Camera & Tripod - R5k
Some of your 10 second poses - Absolutely priceless  :thumleft: :spitcoffee:

PS. The ones where your warm your hads and hanging clothes comes to mind...?

DirtRebell said:
Another great report from you, Mother (feels wierd to call you mother...  :laughing4: )

BMW 1200GSA - R150k
Cost of Nam Trip - R20k
Lekker Camera & Tripod - R5k
Some of your 10 second poses - Absolutely priceless  :thumleft: :spitcoffee:

PS. The ones where your warm your hads and hanging clothes comes to mind...?

hahahahaha had a good laugh now.....thanks for that

morning.....im still figuring out how to take my route from gps to iMac to share but i have a app i use on iPad called MapD a great travelling App and this morning i followed the route i did for you to see there is a bit to come still

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    172.7 KB
so after hanging out with David in Windhoek a few days and with my Gs back as good as new i headed off back to the coast via the Komas Hoogland pass or the C28…many who have done the Desert run will know this well….beautiful scenic ride from the Mountains to the Desert…..it was great seeing my mate and it was also great getting back into the saddle…as always i stopped for a pic of the spook house

spook house on C28

a point to note when touring through the mountains make sure you keep left on the bling rises as you are not the only person using the roads….i noticed a few farmers going balls to the wall and just as well i made a point to stay well left on blind rises….had i not there would have been some close calls

also as i said earlier you need a touch of sand riding experience as the roads in Nam are going a bit south like here back home….

i had two close calls on my trip….the first one was this day coming down a steep pass and into a hairpin bend full of thick thick sand….having to brake and turn sharply in the thick sand had me all over the place….my heart in my mouth…..needless to say with my talent..hehehehe and lady luck ….close but no hitting the deck

the previous night we had braaied at Davids place and he was kind to pack me a lunch box…..so cool to have such good mates that care about you….
i had a lunch box of left over meat zip tied biker style and oumas leka home made guava for the road…life couldn’t have been better

around mid day i stopped for lunch in the desert under the only tree i could find next to the road and sat down to eat my padkos

not one car passed me in the desert….its really amazing the personal space you find yourself in in such an isolated place….i really felt i was in the best place in the world

instead of heading directly for Swakopmund i headed to Walvis bay behind the dunes as i wanted to stop by Dune 7 with which i have a personal connection…it was great and i was the only one there off to the side was a new quad bike place and i see they now have signs saying no riding of bikes or sand boarding at Dune 7…..back a few years ago my mate Shaun and i rode our bikes to the top…they used to let us play there…i wondered why they had stopped the fun….i always thought Dune 7 was demarcated to enjoy…..anyway times they have changed….glad i had the experience when it was open to the public

Dune 7

from Dune 7 i headed for Swakopmund and my plan was to bed down at the Municipal bungalows…i opted for one of the fisherman huts….perfect for me alone and for such a dusty trip

fisherman huts in Swakopmund

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    128.3 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    110.2 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    92.2 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    121.6 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    127.3 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    150.9 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    95 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    96.5 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    127 KB
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    102.9 KB
Mother ............ snap on the lunch photo under the tree.........allthough not the same one ............... only thing mine was not with the bike  ..............  :(

• IMG_6629.jpg
    IMG_6629.jpg
    198.1 KB
  • 1222010Namibie.jpg
    1222010Namibie.jpg
    92.3 KB
Having a wonderful frustrating time with telekoms ADSL line so for the rest of the story ...a little patience please...

Thanks

Have to smile at the comments .....thanks for trip down memory lane Schalk and Lem so skerp soos n Lem had me smiling
Nice to share with guys who appreciate this.... :biggrin:

It seems we all use the same tree!! :thumleft:

Nam0342.jpg

2000-17.jpg

Mother your and Tau's RRs have given me this urge/need to just pack up and go!!

Sorry for the high jack.