My Rebel ride - shortest RR ever

subie

Honda XR125L
Very embarrassing to write this but my Rebel ride lasted only 20km on dirt road  after worst rookie move I ever pulled.
My blood was up and I wanted to "ride" not cruise. Two okes in front of me was going 90 - 100 and maybe 110 km/h.
Heavy dust but I stayed in the dust cloud mostly hoping for a gap to overtake them and run at a more enjoyable 120-130 maybe.
I know this is very dumb but is the truth.  O0
Next I just see a bit of water flash by under my front wheel and I am launched up by a ramp like little hill in the air. I landed with my hands still on the handle
bars on my right side. You would think a fat man will roll,not so. I landed like a sack of shit,deadstop.. Jumped up to warn the okes behind me of the little "driffie" but everyone else rode with their brains so a non event for them. Kierrie and Minxy stopped and helped me  (many thanks you two) Kierrie phoned around and Bud500 volunteered to come fetch me from far away and took me and bike home. Very gratefull Bud500. Very sore ribs again and other minor dings.
Kierrie inspected my bike and showed me my ride was over  :xxbah:
Cannot begin to explain the effort I made to attend this bash and then go and throw it away
so stupidly.  Went for Xrays but nothing broken. While I waited for Bud500 I went and stepped of the distance from take off point to landing,30metres. I have always been lucky in my life and had some big crashes all of them with light injuries and this time again. I am at home nursing a few beers (being pampered by mommy) but in my minds eye just seeing the other okes running on the Bray roads,arriving,the first beers at Tapama etc. What an unnecessary totally stupid move by me. Will post pics about my crash site tomorrow.
:pottytrain5: :sad6: :sad5: :sad2:

Distance where I landed from driffie to wetspot in road where my poor bike bled. Crashbar broke the waterpump cover and water intake clean off.

• crash.jpg
    crash.jpg
    283.2 KB
  • Crash 2.jpg
    Crash 2.jpg
    272.4 KB
Smuggy said:
Eish, hard luck. Glad you okish..

Worst off all it was no bad luck or any hard luck. Just silly and stupid.
If you cannot see the road then ride accordingly  ???

Subie:The best part of all is that you are able to write this RR and have a few beers.Glad your are able to tell the tale.
Next time take it easy,theres no rush at our age

best wishes

Eish Subie... sorry to hear... Glad you are OK'ish..

Nooit te oud om te leer nie  :imaposer:

Jis ou, jy kon jouself sleg gebreek het.  Bly jy is ok en hoop die bike kan gou herstel word.

subie said:
Smuggy said:
Eish, hard luck. Glad you okish..

Worst off all it was no bad luck or any hard luck. Just silly and stupid.
If you cannot see the road then ride accordingly   ???

I am not sure whether you should consider yourself lucky or unlucky.  Either way thanx for sharing.  I have made a similar mistake in the past doing 170 Km/h on the R355.  I was fortunate enough to get away with it.  I promised myself if I ever ride like that again the bike will be sold.  

Strongs in getting better and hopefully those parts are not too expensive to replace!

Motor1 said:
Subie, glad you ok  :)  I thought you were not riding anymore after you sold everything recently.

Huh!! Where did you come up with that. Sold some stuff that I haven't got any space for anymore .
Sorry if my little sale gave that impression    :thumleft:

Yoh ! Subie, I think you got real lucky !

Just been on a nice long ride a week or so back - my mind set was to enjoy the ride and don't throw it away !!

subie said:
Motor1 said:
Subie, glad you ok  :)  I thought you were not riding anymore after you sold everything recently.

Huh!! Where did you come up with that. Sold some stuff that I haven't got any space for anymore .
Sorry if my little sale gave that impression    :thumleft:
Oh great :)  I though (or assumed) you were selling up and moving on  ???  Sorry  :biggrin:

Fairly not lekker way to end a long awaited trip. Glad your able to tell us about it :thumleft:

Ag nee Subie, dis nou sleg man, maar geluk by die ongeluk, jy is OK, dis al wat tel.  Gaan hulle die Bash live uitsaai dat jy dit ten minste op TV kan kyk?  >:D

Jammer om te hoor subie, dis bad luck.
Jy moet beter beplan jong.
Mens doner eerder op pad huistoe neer.
Ten minste kan jy dan die babbelas blameer.
Knak maar nog enetjie en hoop jy en die bike herstel gou.

Sjoe,lyk of jy goed daarvan afgekom het. Nogal so in jou agterplaas. Bly daar is nie groot skade nie.

Sorry to hear but glad you ok  :thumleft:

There will be other bashes.