Day 4
Seeheim – Duwisib
Because I didn’t know what the next day would hold in terms of road conditions (with the previous day’s mud still fresh on my mind, shocks, rims, guards, numberplate..) I decided to leave at 05h30. The first 60kms or so was tar to Bethanie where I’d stop for breakfast and petrol.
Bethanie..nothing spectacular…at 06h15 in the morning, although I doubt that you’d spot the difference between 06h15 and any other time of day ;-)
I filled up the bike and waited for the coffee shop that would open at 07h00. 07h00 sharp the coffee shop opened….to be cleaned. I was very firmly told that “ we are cleaning now and you cannot have breakfast”. They did go through huge trouble to give me some coffee with sour milk. Shit, I laughed. Bethanie struck me as NOT O.R. Tambo (i.e. not the gateway to Africa), so you’d expect a little more oemf when business walked through the door…norrefok…my ZA sensibilities do not apply.
The road turned to beautiful gravel from Bethanie for the rest of the day and because the distance was fairly short with no mud to be had I took it slower with more stops.
My previous visits to Helmering never included a stop at the Helmering hotel. Lekker samie and non -sour coffee saw me on my way with a quick stop at the shop to fill up on Zoo Cookies and Cold Drinks.
Now, it’s understood that there’s a clear difference between “C” and ‘D” roads in Namibia. The difference between the two is not noticeable in a car, but on a bike it makes for un-relaxed riding. The D891 and then D826 that takes you to Duwisib was rocky at places (OK) and sandy at others (NOT OK). So watch our an be prepared that your hard-packed gravel could come to an abrupt end when you start venturing on “D’s”…I must say, at this point I could do with double-D’s ;-)
When you arrive at the Duwisib castle and you plan on camping, remember that the farm “Duwisib “ and “Duwisib Castle” is not the same thing. I camped at the farm. STUNNING, STUNNING, STUNNING
Camping spots are shaded with fixed table and chairs, it’s raked, so no rocks or thorns and the ablutions look brand new with hot water. You can either ask Duwisib to prepare dinner for you or opt for your own braai (note, there’s no wood for sale and no meat or other food either, so take with). The plan was to stick with 2-minute noodles and rum&coke for dinner. The noodles were just about done when my camping neighbor from Switzerland walked over for a chat (he rode an 1150 back home). Lekker oke and a lekker chat that led to f**cked-up noodles. So, Zoo Cookies and R&C it would be then..
The farmer was nice enough to round up some wood for me and that nights flames made all the difference. I even managed to stay awake till 19h00.