Napier Quickie: Dux taken for a ride

Ri

Suzuki DR650
Prologue:

I never thought I’d buy another bike; after all, I love the Purple Hooligan to bits (quite literally). So why? Because. It came along at the right time, I knew its pedigree, the stars aligned, mysteriously there was a small surplus amount of cash in my bank account, and so I openend heart and pocket and now the Gentleman is mine, crowding my back door, begging to be ridden. 

Why keep the Hooligan, then?
Why not?

The bikes, although both DR650s, differ a bit. Hooligan is a bit of a thug, swarthy, with leathers and attitude. The Gentleman is refined, ligher, quieter and nimbler. And as every biker knows, the correct number of bikes to own are n+1.

Then I had to do a few little improvements.

And so it came that a request for original Suzuki exhaust parts was posted on Wild Dog, and a response led me to contact Dux. He invited me to come scratch in the attic where he stored odds, bits and pieces, and asked what I was planning to do. When I told him, he offered to help, and soon my two Purple Turtles were under the care and supervision of DR Dux: mechanic, maker and master farkler.

Of course it is all good and well to have the bikes wind-screened, spotted, tyred, exhausted, oiled, jetted and purpled, but the whole point of bikes is to ride them. Since I had two bikes that wanted riding, I commandeered the Dux to draw up a route, and along with his daughter, the Minion, we set out to Napier on a cold but beautiful Saturday morning.

The Route (in Dux' words):

Starting off on backroads to N2, over Sir Lowry's Pass and a stop at Peregrine's for brekkie, then the popular Highlands road which was in surprisingly good condition, a testament to the low rainfall. Boring tar to Stanford with a light drizzle along the way to keep us on our toes, then onto the R326 where we stopped at Agrimark for Minion to do horselifting :)

Then onto the Papiesvlei road to Elim where we hung a left to Napier and the Moerse shop with a moerse talkative old timer and not so moerse big lemon meringue pie. Return journey is along R316 rollercoaster road, then we took the Sandy's Glen turnoff for a bit of attempted piglet culling :-D until once again onto the R326 and east past Raka Wines and then the Tesselaarsdal road to Caledon to finish off the dirt riding. Thereafter N2 with a Dassiesfontein detour for lekker vetkoek and soup and a gigantic toasted sarmie for Minion. Ending off with a windy return along the N2 back home .

• NapierRoute.png
    NapierRoute.png
    498.3 KB
Sub.  I have always seen Dux around bikes, but never on one.  OK, maybe that is not really true.  ;)

The Ride:

Despite the fact there were TWO females on this trip, we still managed to leave close to the planned time of 08:00. I was a bit concerned, as this would be my first longish trip on a bike after a long stay in hospital a few weeks earlier, with kidney pipe infection (Try keep a straight face while the nurses tell you about your "piele nephritis" - but that's a story for another time, and only if you really want to know).

Starting off from my front stoep, Dux and the Minion took over the Hooligan, and I hopped on the Gentleman who sleeps on the back stoep.

5I55Qn04QnVOlz_Wjm1nwwAgahxF_sf4e3bBqm3gtskxtPKx73BxyoCsRbzE498c8Qm3NHP_MgToCjDAvFQKee7AVxe_IHlYU2Y0CPKPxAx5ISVTBZpAX3rPzKEG4xKv8Uo0FP4xwnjRgwssou0u6cS7XIh4XKI8wkhmA7I5XirQu58DBpL5c7o61YukNiPWQCtB9xlBBR-pyqXm_uYqenjuWA77AT1Ac2vZJLzgUmuW_0lhBqLwRo0GUrRXkAkyfGXrzT3N99rWZ6xVe3ttkNhVWYWaxVFzhCFSpxHvx-I7DdtxMEAL-QbfNi1OfY67yHWVqh8-1UjUzOcQsJLH0tAUTe66VsLg64fj4bVJpmFWytiqMMt3Kv1ouCgBO6zoH8auITi_-u0dIf4Fl_R0FUnAPf--6vRd4IeDCqniTYcYHUOGkq-ZbHFh89BCPlXaOz1LC5-stsvN5N-ljXIXT1eq-TaQBFHBKJCculjSjT3lTCMb9u-U0PE18N_hLkEcoMIRghin9oE0Lkpj6wpZlwJzXV8tQddE2AysR80UVU2JyNhziG-3PUfM-PHmKqbkCvUzdCqMvWo8EawSjU5HD8O_p86p4RVUiBhvY5ZA5n8mHZV6xLrtHxWDHhF89fHISniMIGoTFwIAjyYk4MVxm4fxeOMUs9LSAhzSYVJrWaCorA=w1298-h973-no

LzcnulHLFnIjLZnMg02zme0L7BYH4pYMjKR2iRc8aeNUQqGAQReTQ4dciNjgZiRv212ai7-pW9pFahlDyWKsVLaigvW5wgVLaFPCmXpDL-vpCFmYwHmcrkG8uP69a7d_81Ct9a5ZuwdHdvf8_yr3ATkxD4CARgLIh_mUpTD0Wjh2fXWji384Bl2AOW4mRvma9h34VMmt-e10UgX7yW42IOxW0F3Jupexh2Lf6VazZ5FvjJN-TNdoQ-L0mPuXWmt-XORGe9eIMkqfyMqiCtmsJQ01kCaY7rQCxoBE_dz5WiOxzZqv321WRrDp6sX2Qo1UsLPKBg7loPkggbsJYzABaX8Qo8jnEWzfDbPtR0AO2Ss38Lx2xO-LI3vRjKVT8PbZJWlVXugISSAc9WM-WKhd-pkxtW_9YCYPaAJIwmeBgxATAoywUoXHV2e1MfVpi3_EwQHlX_4oXHu3icmbwdYwzkz-jsNi2E81FDn7SI_hXa20FXobY-WSjQRQ9bHwcB8BLR7VEKKHfUg6SnCMIwX4T_XMiA5kfXm5IGxUARhlQocXE4Dhsrhaul0MY5-l0ypv6-LltIOeFBIScF5K3rEz0iF_7e_rOwuhbPFgbCt6r2M2-UbvWjvUHwdOWcnmxe1COZlGKsg-nS7dAA17_ImgdylmitBXsbAENDuuqbAb07wDbA=w1298-h973-no

We headed along the Kuilsrivier Arterial towards N2, and then headed up Sir Lowrie's Pass. At the top, we stopped off at Peregrine's for breakfast. The place had changed hugely since I'd last seen it. It now boasted a beautiful and modern interior, with lovely gas heaters, good food and zero personality. We didn't linger too long before we headed out again, and turned off on the Appletizer Road. One day soon I'll carry on again, and take the Valley Road which comes out near where the Highlands Pass becomes gravel. No one ever rides this way, for some reason.

I didn't consider Highlands Pass in as good condition as Dux did, and that shows the difference in experience levels. The way up was corrugated, and the way down was shaley and loose. To me, Highlands Pass has always been a challenge since the first time I rode it, which is the first time I ever went riding off road.

From the Highlands Pass turnoff it was left towards Botrivier, then at the T right on the R45 towards Hermanus. It was raining fitfully, but I was snug in my rain suit and many layers of clothing, except where the glove would crawl out of the sleeve and there'd be a sliver of -2 degrees around the left wrist, causing an imbalance in the Force.

We oozed through Hermanus and kept on going towards Stanford.

I made an emergency comfort stop at the Agri outside Stanford, causing the little speck on the horizon that was Dux to have to turn around. After my recent bout of infection, I was very conscious of my fluid intake and, more importantly, release. Dux and the Minion scoff at fluids, and rarely need comfort breaks.

At the Agrimark, the Minion's interest was caught by a napping horse, which she duly tried to assist to its feet. Dux's fatherly instinct made him want to rush to her aid, while I just shook with laughter.

aPEovZYyFSepSSt87X72kej2p1MkZQdSDwpg3ftlJ2sU2RHRTiDFUtQQxZQEw1arbAlrgCU4Ns7Z8ppGpEgTzmqeFruFIH6RjJIy9gmxAsenS3HOeH3mfmCQ38w2hm5POmAUPIgiUD9qPt49WOrjb2OWXeKRndUUhCab9ghWKyreHuHEPR5jtBqH9vUGWLByDATlUaSU74LQV_40r4Uv2BbOoQxHrga4W1t98i1QZvi9aXrhaLrADdqexmAZ2yhLvVqxsS7XcRk3BE2EVM5L-PyBlg1RtoZESM57qRHW-87WnjkYaujhzaUnHx5M_zp-y9A1bATzQFVbwMi5hPpVoMl15eBH1EJZkXdNI9PCTOqe8G5eWDtdEorAHQ0q-Qn2r-mHsEMh7VbSDcYcgOZLF_rRDhiBLkYFrnQu2yvoeTMWww4zBFGkNJORL9hWY-JBfrbntJAfhUW4MJgSNWAtufaLdb95B00V4S4DrhEQm20TpCbnG9nqvZelEXS5CfHNvTYnrVbaX1C7shf4rRkCVcj5H_bAtsg2MrjwB6m0qHd-VD9tbl0pumXB2_4154OUxY1-Jr9GqN12UhZtW0Yc2MhqTVEq2sEJFP6tMbwmIOxIOBlUqF83vaYGGFZQCj-WxG2dvAbXymOdb152ynEJhlvYo3RElArQD5aS-QY6K_1Jzg=w1298-h973-no

A defeated Minion
Fyn40xOct7-q3Ylzi7HJ8Axp3sVlFCcqoGHit2DNhGRiHzTQAG0ym0xtHBud0OKY-vJgx-p3C382gVmpoOeGY6PiR6SXBJng6VCmxqFcjv6rh-eunQ_-EGxYrfEcQ1uCioARXl7EEB9ZXA20kRHO3G3e6Nk6kW5CAr1TRxgnxHy5ZNeZ4DPHjjxBAJ9HCaj-hZn8pCFwmeiYlL5ObxAQeobOxz8gLj8bzk451kY-pxYV7FvHW15hHS9yBgl7AldYXBa11wKLJXDhhDaDElSFahc9Y-Gg9rLwbkgbJp3sbGj7rM1v51tJ-nG1KrtMJhVYtPK_pIfBerrREn7-moHQ6HsY7lSV70ar24MywKv6hid71NaUBnjjGFp4UMwpQtT9XPUul6qC9HkbAQrx5nu89U_p1rY_jwaa-E8Pt9_xEs5uiN2g4sMTn7Yvr_5UYGmOoVwhjCaVGjn7fIC8oe-6_cDqkbOr3IbSzfOM4BWdxclL0aGadwtJX4HATZLfH97jemQq54-41rDg0JHPIW6dFeT2dGZLoyflHZKnnYrBXS3yp56p8xZ64vcGdN2jbE2UD790m_QNCveLo31SUNTKYmRuqEK1BV3ofD1CibjWwam1rGNEEnoEfMLyakhrKzkQfmVHeKLXA0pXFEm4F58ircNpuHcImecxHksjzgKTQvH_Jg=w1298-h973-no

We mounted our iron steeds and were on our way again.

HHIONqpwzFyXxFMtdLtu1Y4GXiirAdfCDrExh79IMDyhVTkoSaIRiFlmCutjRx7Dho2zQ7OIbVCCgpma4bKIffYklPRlOXq-hnGhI3glAbq2GcfHqIwa6lwad6LHzoDzTm7tnzdAwy5DfIdG7Anq8-BoqQN3xcZ-Qmrb6QNNL_Gb0VvX69yJ-k9SY59kGFE1qzlfpV1Cxmc-YJHx2sRS8selqWtdBhLLFh7gBgaQ4rkvEAReyndW4DDQkzKpd5bVBhWBRT_dSuID2gGSjXwSsfpZ03iFYCc1RDfFa5tAAU9z0ODPf8xHV9W__T5bxrsZ98d4sELrL02zUEYSWAyALH2EDaeOfQenbVhE6pdLQjc55j8H2x9vGlbjS4ud8-za3QPR_oGDWYZNXtk_1Hmi61tgmFOGB5tJrE1UwJ_BV1DWDpOWTHutN_cyeRt-fhFyll7Y9a5mxNvrW5S5T_YdCn6UgFuXOOMGaI1ACi95fUVMDQfWPn6Vz_o7rsQoyE0Esxbmjbh55MfdHXwoAXvAWJVnR3pM6j3g-MyD-aASpEnzGAAq0LzMdciYva2-A4RzuNEKh1fqMCFEW80e0nFxlW0rDGHmNqms_8zduXOxZP-nWzeB9FiRf2hy_CswH1yP5rvE6UgFpQupYnHfgOW-BPGFrWi9o-zp0N_8S9aT02LiQw=w1298-h973-no

We soon came upon some more lively equines, and stopped to say Hi. None of these of course had the character of the love of my life, met on the way back from Albert Frost's concert at Koedoeskloof, but they were quite personable none the less.

nD5wsiNAk9BjykF6rMscfyPQcU-rUhgtjPTdBQ1X6H87dymj59-cbvzbmZwRUaAQ-yKSopQgDd44af7s7esyf1n2iwroKEL62F0y_ADzv61dW1cQ7wFChsxNv-E8woTi4aHEzM-wzUJhsC2g4740EJblP8QZkL1ibek3jCO2KSAzs63dqRYzyAMWsKgHUuUpcxewJJaR56JpVhMG5YNgXgXmiC5jRVtsS2f7W-VmQugP1r6Jv9yhupW0ENqxnPU9LUWDBC3NagiLyiTzxLMX8yMRDH6WlFdHj-aZZK8-PLObNX9Qx1CMUdWS9SVg8bmUYDqNsXW6KI-7BCVCy7SrEFFzwHszAXp2JIist9henGhTj-9kXkj0kmnDQOCoRBL6PpLdMt6bnWw8u9h6korJUvTGMr6wKsWE0a89hoB9PyNDHAYNI9S8KavefFomqrR-_AOPze3I1XQFue_zwIbyQKaeh5RLO7QbHWHe2meyfwQaCNhuLYXy8twQfurfatJh0OJt7hiCRv6v6L-_aFaveRelBGda_yWGXO_DjoMYnSgU7rD7_ut8zXKkXsAOXmH6eBCgMnROOQwSnNxfzdBq--RHvXvRTMboUYERE3ShQbAiLvs0--j0mIZq8H18DOVDCvSpvEnYUn9e5VrG95JrmFaSBw1e8m5gDZtn1IpP9JUFUQ=w1298-h973-no

Some wintry imagery. I was very, very glad for my thick gloves and 12 layers of clothing. I'd learnt my lesson on my night ride to Koedoeskloof  :sip:

hsHYYg_ONBwWnuyyOt8ir-sEpqku2VCXkV3cHq5o0vcSam5ETgIgtNazqqlC5i05jE09sh8gRDvgSBQjzPAVIps5cGXd2PJt_1uGjVLKF7CqhnOFNLSDhrPtt2V4Z_22WvdJz9aSyMGyJPBQX49R0DHMN03OkQZw9DM_5UVUjwIoRG7FQOl77tbN8CfW9WfPZ-1brzm2xGrNKQ4njr3haD8TpKfqC8hsdMV7EOQGLL7Yn412gehyqXvuvNtRMufWQcRCq_72LQ2nJXjv7fFpP0BLXWXE_CSmJZEB3p60FqygmUjBaYxSpwzwIzLlDa7uGeiBU7On7YFWY0BeceObOPXGaDjFBm9oKPjRq-e6xS7St5VbelE4etKRHReiMB4pXaPiRnGzIsT44SYkwyNZJNi-sc4W2ogmZ0QQz3KO9KWUafNc5fHZe2oOQ_52rm1-1UwEnFDh69Dm-lWB8F2ST9Pl4IumLZah4M0fFWG6hV4Um2OOVZNrIiv338TkrC_8KSzRgjYRWkH0jMDlUd6LG6UOgIdijbsbgvY4pcZYmVid-CwATrz7G6crQ96mUIX9FmOneTZFtcdLrnzagY0G6qZnzhfdGTK5i4xLcD6tigvP0HmYMZDXZ8zHV3LVFtJWIYnQnNOmu5APmoUPB0XfEmihmVOKCbjTmwAL40muxCsMMQ=w1298-h973-no

i2H-KKr9VEdRQAnvXBE6PvB0Ydji_mKQdUwetwViQTm6pYVI_S706s7FxQ1MWkiv61SDRxAtSniDwtrOPPBJj60NfyboyU4N_oqFK3e0lIZGkmxliLeyFW_euqeUa-t6AwYLcH1aQUu9OLT7Hcfzf_CjSnj8q98lZvghv-Gmt9tUFg47fOIJQwbUPJXAPog1SOpJ4f_77dyQzi5U86D0Jy4ANAqscxsbudGCB5heGZUDhargSKDJHJfSm_6D8myZzBudHbiJ_lkmGdwUIb9Dim0a8-roh1YpqRWZdhvCNvtPWxP_ukUcZLz8vinXkgVXSRX1FUQF-4Dvbo549g2ofZRg_AHZv_JxyN62dMNSyeBzk9CqYbkJvj8Dafd6JxV9L088ZOA9buDiL-ApAT7TeQSlDt2nsbINZSTget5V9nG0PXsoCw-G-AwxOS1ovh9ZGrEzLshSFf3mCCAfF4f8qDyI5hVosPJa9O1AlF3rBki0rNB1a-4AcwFlrA5VoNR9gybIcu2cJhVKXCB4SCjylOXucFjOcdEs1G4HkfaEipzhS1-n0gRXPP2zJ-eTsCzrgaisIVlF3Bjn7MjgjA2Sj8TXLnOY3JXhm3iKWP19q6fgXQQcVZ9TnlxiACyLNtnvgLVKerlkS5y5pgX2an88yhvyA0IPWc2UbWsQzfrXCWiSrA=w1298-h973-no

The Minion attempts some donkey whispering...

6FNjtQIca4j62bVkOQdDWgffuVW9t96uzYPFd3seRrHAMpDb2jZWX2Y3N9StLeWYbpt8sCdeR8Vv30tK1jKsCx5XPLukFlqGsPAHmkKQ2S-TPOat03NzoEaH_2SBUNg0Ap6g9MPJD9tGhX1NmyTd32I_T9lzEno3uB8pN7yvp1NDG8nWu4LV2-blVulf6Rw4oNWjDMICo09O_0gUUb34E2G6MKpdBuXrzqnr2MGBFZ6w1Zzz-56DGuFjYDrpmIEFQ2L4k1RHCqJfP6UNZ5zlPIPK9TfT6IlHhcSlWWQCHO09HzI-t3N6jrJdmh1P35j16143jVZ71VfKl3Ay9DPJYryyD5yIhSoy1o_ym72iS0hVkipdSYR93r9WfNzRiN95FhnjNpTwZWSX-kfVfBm9bgwdfeu6IXOJQ1o0SmrrT68OBw9DkTn3buTxPmNjnu5YOxZM2LxPExawbIU09fW_WztEF2u2KIHZ_vdvCvZOxyxSPe_J16UqFtfVV-6fAeaE5DUgodYmJq2KQ6KdTeMf6Tk0IJJcwuJY1DDWaCoZvGlmR6rj92lPJDQN3XDQagYQul1QK7nRa3zkg97LvhwBLKciW-LVBq0WBAbGJWmGmwzMNdLbYkLWCumQ75GjgxTCzxDzfkAGYYzzBpDSxy7IdaNx9JHwuywH2U74blq8Znk3HQ=w1298-h973-no

... with some success.

ZLvXSXEphAD6Pyb2CMhGvw2UdfL24esx9__SvnRfgCSJWuVrsb-m0qJVGTQTxVvSqKxirPtwOgyfS0-1nsXGni96Npo0rOn_L9JpTijbiZjEy7FHk1Yz1Lg86uY0U0itQGUZDJrt4UKWvxjpLlvHL9zcI36x2GekJTPsftiJDDwulsDJj0nyQ2-9os00lFp7agZnR56z2JHZPbsXibJTbtvY4YPjO6PJOlWPMu2TIEnx5cOpT19VYSc1wunz_ChalzAjPqxUNTs-cGJMoUqa9_p592JxubVz0H66Jeng__30GGC01lfTTdFveBLz9del9bQwGpQIutRjn3LE7wF8NBdVMgJdvN_hKTyZTOci1BE3ba-N9ounfHvFlWU3VBXQmU1CRng4cpuGOvTZknb7JOg8lCX8wftfQIlPSe64qxD3R1_DtWUG2D7ZJdZWb9ir3SCXJl9q4wbEKiczDf8HYKqFcFXc4vQKKX6aHn21ktNbOPQZTMRyOSlpril9DfY8IjTGHlVvh7Ra8ixc2FcNU9TagDCJJQ2OR9nnZ9Y8ZpPNTXIHHv3Dw2dQUfry1GsOsaAD7O947yMAX3FOuj6p6BpvvSrnK9IRLD1HI-dJvuN6mHyI2uumGsZK8Z3kLr9XtZPesRXACHn03vnQYte_WfcaStnKKU510Zz8L2CHbs7VLw=w1298-h973-no

I like donkeys  :biggrin:

EMRA-Y7mEaEviyE41ZigOJ7lFmb8sBsT2oROPg3gA2FxtnE-85EKvsz0sujqIie3f0lnOLV22vLb2B9wDZp559bW2e4OyWZCkKVCVZJZXFFyiLVqqPuClfV2fOzvxMQIAnuuCd0zlo9HLiZWOKcU38agOGFRi80Sc3ak5XiDB6f2_Y-fqbQIu9B3OIVjWVYL9w4HF3Xps73XwrQruEvhCt2dawf5l8tgiLBQn7oysAL4mK9VnQO5cDqJRLa6cWKeTzciyDklPeB_tc0sLxCW-1MTUmDr6XM-3mmgHXnoWoutW5p5cI_VBbomwrS-Boi2Vn1fIp1QkWCZ-SPUUSFNjvd70Hr8kDoHXhKYJatIb8nwvS-74Fnp4r-bAskzMuoaWPP5dED7zhFag8bXTix4YjqJvF3dnlQVh_1vlQxfBdSLJG4qQTAf0MGKq-PS5FZHehlmyd8Lkek9lSYdZ6AE0VB4tGQlk7Sy0y3_eiOOg2t9XoXC_m-hF0j5u6NX8FJud4r9pIi1skRrsTf_X9XIN8QJSNrm-SGiaKAEz1Rcr37kKouUqy60hIWF9Qx5j_Ptd2ZLwwjj3t9W7_EUluktiAJDp7zie2WZAu4MiY_ZktwpeHzBo7OgedCsiVsfsAbBDFusoCI9bbI7AjUIjf7L-8KOyFfJ7LZETL6RR7KP3VDsMg=w1298-h973-no

At the Moerse Coffeeshop the intermittent drizzle caught up with us, and we were glad to relax in front of the fire with hot coffees and lekker lemon meringue. This is a very interesting coffeeshop with a very VERY chatty host. Due to deafness or not wanting to appear to listen in, perhaps, he often caught the wrong end of the conversation and would start to expand on an entirely different subject. Still, he was very friendly.

Of course I couldn't resist the very inexpensive books he had lying around, and had to take a few home with me. There were also some lovely works of art and bric-a-brac.

kcX2Dl3oJ7hUvS-6QnfTBWi1fxzIZmZz2jO9Kaiihvb8tnDQZXYZdA9IfaOJeaLUmiP1rFU0mu1wbtSf5x_gxdE685bgyRqG3T5iSbdJmebNGq6-F1tZ7H9nuOJTBbOlk_or1AbI5Sc2BKIh6IQbmnMIXT_kK5iZoKs1Z4l7ckTXy6E_GP65g5epZz_-fnWSUXrN7uUCWKs_OKcY1B3oYOKKIWhhfrZcfdkbyHsxa5hen_ZzbQxGNm3FexDp_pOMBDYD3rdOf4KgVDeQoSj421E81hAVCFlr_XzBeWM9H9qHHVqliwjE4lG6_iu0m3DbZ5Z4L4QMlBCj8ZkRPMw-w2FtFf2lAiJApjzZiU3I7k874SzyU7rhlolDvP1-PHpRnzHByZFujr7i46mXG-TNH5YHmvdK9R63xpNxxERBQg2N-cauA2uaBpR4CC5vAVLNjafOO_cxO4d7lNIvdRf47q5E1oTjPndQi8PENJPzMSxGizFTfmTE1coigWhVwIn_Zj-X68B1cRu-HOuXLvdFAZeOgHZEJ0gLrzj0GB0OpLHRF5k1sfOlK7CFYZHmtGgUNkTGNCvCo-SJDyX3KGg4soPJAd88DFZluuL8-M_OMn0m9rx8JWwrIjA9vQkNFVINs95Aj_1_mGrd-F6KiQ9pxSnd11CUULJUhUwUzlxXPvll-w=w1298-h973-no

First time I've ever come across sexy plaas brood by hey! Maybe this is how plaas brood procreate, who am I to judge?

BwrowlG6uZ_r3y9SN1bLe0oJJr7ibT5DwJK_KpYIGovRxlczBl4AK2gpvC1O2sWOOYOZdB-x2QTZf3cwBEoXWfXt9v2Ev8mSKM2JFYoYhU-z4sAYHYUuiaDgOAuavRC3UbYvhxLyEl_IPbo6MVZ1sxzLUyqqtysJX4zCMN1CXEJMEnW5RVD0ZFhLEvy9RPzyi2gDAheMBsc4QR9VbXcPLjY4uHjSXpr-_Z1wVNcmJpsBTyrElza4-aNvf8sSUMB91aH_PRZo1qukIptVlgbFu-Uhb8SRgJr6RyFtfgw4IVJ-nb4EU1qJDte58HBTQ-_D2h-nxiyYba45pLjInFncPk3mn5dBNFeiLdPvjkltFrbAwgHGV1z90f3kU2wm5Xa_-fyA8y1NF_c0ve9Mblp2MwdLNV9WjRyjLV1WtzkZGleZZsQkXaNBjWlAuaEST9rSadFruj2NWRS_LOOu0PUeEPdtxv5dPbdZE6CKJRDWxlvfVO_kd6u8gRheAJZ8nP1T28l5D_Q45X2NQkfYgDsEJuXofnOAt-imClegMR-NfA_L1QrWp-yQbdo1JbCnf4Y4GMDlXG4FHNPf5rNISSMPZ_qQlC-0NbL33lA0pAPMcylMQB-YOHbyqkkC1sEGaTEuUSiac8Xft9nu1yXTODV0R4-QZtmOJ7MZCmfP5MEwz1gThQ=w1298-h973-no

The Minion found a minion of her own, in the form of a very young, tame "muisvoël" that sat on her shoulder. She was quite captivated :)

ylyBEqlLc0MMqGYafZ0TojVEWhz_xS3ALyL1KEHek1AJEl6JKNXkMb5gBY_9C0o91_vrZmA2JmHINC5afGnk_C02bGEWYpY-we3rD04f3czyngInKN1nuNYEHicv34Jpw82gw4dCRJqjwbkfP-BaIbwK2eZNtPPIiv39lKmEoPvYzL7W5jZV_C8_eviLyrUXw4NIT5Zo4_SSfjQZwmmV6BSBwL4mXtRGGvCRxBZVlFCQlynOv-GsqtbrUoGpWn2U3qULfYHF2m5p_BGFiQdPyUibm_C5_E5DAHLFxvD-1pZCc28bVZzW8Nh8M40r4YdhB40vqE3YLf1UYIp7bqO7RVJZuE_aNKlCrq6xOekgzKSGB7-es05AWWp4vepvoCgr9um1jFbBM3iOvf6Jzps1QfS2aOo8Q7iZ1rUTlzdg7lWOumL3C_N3TG7yW41kZoWwEHtnx7RpnXfquJjNopo9nsFNy6YKMds2Rz6AdvozD1FeoEvx77tR27inL4xzKHSevKQB6K9XSxPMstASGPQeZ_zwhe6rVUpjXCovxCZ0-M6XYpAeqhEWhnlCVeECLO9rh4YESida5Bvm-3fl-zdygWDhIjR2X0jyGS_emBMn5nYi5B0lESgI1CWpVy-1kV_Q12e_PnU_KjgSNG8pQn2WRJVNXDcg0EtgAmN42WaV9HWrcQ=w1298-h973-no

From here we took the R316 until we got to Sandy's Glen, a beautiful meandering road passing through, presumably, Sandy's Glen. It seems a fearful place, with signs for armed response everywhere and huge electric fences.

As we came near the prison Glen, three young piglets dove for my front wheel, intent on taking out this growling purple wolf. The sow wisely stayed to the side and merely trotted along, monitoring the outcome, completely lacking in motherly concern. The kamikaze piglets failed to take out the Gentleman, but nearly succeeded in giving me a heart attack. I continued cautiously.

The roads were lovely and in good condition.

BwgCw4hk2a6wsOh_14oAg8nCD2ihODW7LFJiYyhhM0nc-VNtw6MUiBemw0jXLyIQvpCQCU5TV_zw30yO5d39OKyL8LcRJRbEV7nZ5eAILjWD-xmao0RU9PF3V_LwrJLn5KGvqDhnjmYzfa8bs0_jVGzXwmkH9Z50jQapftotvbizImjpk7fHX77g825evqoRgQsuCke40mg357YNbW2F1Me61Zc1MDNxgUDI4EIfQW4Rr_xGpQpuup1r8d3loyGJYXyGKh-DYjbcLTl4Zo6eLu0YVLA4ccqnk1gwxCv1YjA7NbJDQn5zsDxrzpuRK825oS9JCbcWRDYcD985_9dNabEpn1HpzWLeC-W0h8DC-w0h5-az_X0yeB07Ml0E_suAdHhjWyA9Kjbzvr7jx6wkBoeyjfHF5aJCti_kz0jQscECNhFFOZpTGYdtbfYtkcNBbHPvK9_cS57RJsWaY3Q9FkjKI6FkbBHNorD9vf7Sl29OcVvL4rx1QTJrgnVhjqhnZstWPsEV-Sst27UUoQdnl5YD3m-92zbh5ZZ4KvNHmYvBd0raRz2YUPNDXnFpRJyuTo8CJKZ4ple44TtLYlF7nTWSdYksQo8tgvc_CMwr6EDj-0bRnoRtmm8u6KzQv2Xyk4jR1iosueWejbnB1DLjYC5TcP5ocOx1KxpUDLlocqMWxA=w1298-h973-no

"FFS, is she taking pictures AGAIN?!!"

m87G2qui_p7IDYrhDkqXitIm8md6NIdlXxLDWvF3HL8Qrw9lwkUDsA4plqa1kvsWNS1HXKUNTUE59lfze0d5Lc-IITogveBJOye2-i8g3XGJA_AJObLgz7r_Kja-KcetgiwBLXyNcQo4OuHBFGBEScg9aDpeTldQboXf_xEIGNYwLu1sXWV3d0HNhbc3nD3fWdMLxirbOic2b6N_o6BskRCQKrCmX9Bbr3exPUdeb-xUOZdBGjjjLd3rTA55mUKVvGSbnMhPi76CM5AYY8BMHihAV3j4BIf_2QaFs39oNEv9mw8i19QkQAtsVDcLKZ29EG7jzYmu9TPZSwy0BljAEfRzNhXwKPoYjEE7jU233Rosm-pJrmP2dB7Li5tT_L3GSdGG80WU8KP62pJwNugdBdft6NMp10Y4L0BoxzWNNyeCpTuRi7oHgQBp_zpzMSJsHBgfBcdIdfjPeDUUeZP_Gle1FrUQgeMCYOieHZ7XsjeustoGqHbeHNyVCdOvSGDFkCD8J4UkCmGsdIS1aRJZJmuG0tBxOd8b8fJn9Qob4-2n4MDzteS7wqkOfR-0hGK-bTLf_WwmLHKQDp1xseQo_4VqwunQWIoEwc9fZnaOGmdp43DcOoceCPubPEjy8qYlPmal0j7NCH90gyQOT0F3K5MPJ6ymp1a5F3Lree_rvUCRtw=w1298-h973-no

t2dAZLr52b4tnGYBQMeI041QzTmvlPfB2QWWehCekahbOvLkzacnEGtl2vlKPkI9uR82ZFNXGlVo9gaeg8YN5AyUQmxEuJYgNgKZui0S0zMIObFrRhoC5pRIsRdVhDHqlqrczgMPXiLqDkVefi0W0MVVA50LntWsidBs2iFAmUkm0Swp5tbJrNcajIWrTKnyTFSLatc0XQDPYrfZvHEadSCnAeAEH2ARwiXDOYLqKT7xsNZrDD1Vs-ZeNaPTWvD3iS8cR920Z8vZDBOY5TYbTVz1yfWEb2H0T5E205jKer94SaXFHPqZ5PVCIYM9eYEpC98jCRj0xjZ2LeERFaHCs6C4IaWUrjHgguGdBmNeFDx99uikjmAKAJSzSJYu-geMJNdgzCiqejRSKqLT6NWWFA3Hytnai2SMRz2RrtHXwjn9lKTZaR3PoOaIzwHoSHj7wgV23-0NlP0BIcljPNW5R_UxCcsPx-S9W67XteStn6m16tfZPrQv5HJoL573wWhLMMDgqJXwDuSwBumqOtQqaGlfEELilGAYR1BiWP2Uo_OTefdrwv8Dg4aRvEzdfuQHiENxkffZ8xvEUXY-8BNuqtxCNIciujnSqBZ5uKlbO86qVoV3t2yy5j74SdDM4BujSFykqQgh0_cCJIhYw7GvGI9rLzrWHFsKD-EJfUDtpByNEQ=w1298-h973-no

We missed our turn off on the Tesselaarsdal Road to Caledon - third missed turn off of the day, as men apparently don't read sign boards  :evil6:

rL1bREKy6IzG7xonilklKSo5l7bZx-ml0yrfj0ammaWlpdwKAqyfnJqDDP9N0ZwdyeXuY168ZkNo9qiZUM2NKzRhWyxRVTHdGhqNwlK_qEckBE2yAa6TZVSww-QYfvkU9txM7XAODZzBB2SKAVGXP6Dtfddklp8PzCjC0iNW1VmBmn67nOjrShBeaRsnxFH1fHwrvlpc1oGEPN8iu5rQMGpAaqkE0uLmOpAYqFzDp_U_D7sHmhabeYoEXJdar3dSY5EdAg2U1zPTUCISEPi2tgL5i3SVG_0fgFMUOHEd35ER544NHY3_Y-S9zfTyHof-MjciYvbktstTNYXvg4kh_ZKU1GMnz7hQihe-fGH7xilCtSAV2-zpPErqfMzVwEqjJ-3YQdCiIhiKrTYKrCoGGbpjxFJZ4u36yyL0aPZN91vVDxRl-ez7Utumczh4kX7HyCy_yVKyn0dTGm4eToHrEg0bqtGOSXTko1AFgV6rLzH9iFRpT4M4IHr06d1iHfk-dzvn5xf3bgfOyCn-xdpLc5nG4TYeY5MZTFbxQtIpa6QneLU6RnP3LXU_FSXuiFAYR5vfpCl-FoURskonsSwvjRBBFpclEZ0lpPvXe9PNGkYOAUCTP6lCHZ2Bf2GzzyXlDQKgj5SWr8-HHuAvVBMM1w8QX0ZjfXk7bibEAN8XI4_-tA=w1298-h973-no

The Purple Gentleman: A work in progress  ::)

FtjpUcyfWjMOgb4w57prYJVTDZRsDzMwTihrLT3DzKnRI0DgVu3qxtKz0vUjjvwYbHAFlfO7FGlLHUPD3bTt8R9YQPmCNuTmwinNuQtOcr3Ef6WISUNLFYytf8RK82pv8DDlfYt6FRZQlQxV8TXpz0MUpG38dTCLZ9rWN3AaBZ-h7wB1FRvPQTZ52LCDOhJWpBNgkfW1Owhom3Kzcf1jvrXVZ30zsOgWRPKMI4FjJpCw5POO94Nwf16FLzIaitC3JQpomcHm8aKDSrMfCEqsgrJzhWLKOE_b06R6WnmsH463csQqQF1n1qCRIABOqZlZqsqX0myGfdygmu2vYmFZ7onCfVpt2_bj0hB9DB-BhMx-8FTlEY3KME2ZU7mY0OzVwKiyOhEwvZKnfY8jbIRiT6Ap6wpdy4z1CBsykPAXgYaC2Ac16jsvB6F5ZJFdFZqj1dJB6sBqwZiAz8mI9IqK85X0PnR6J2J_Tv3HMHgjw-wuvwsp-HLdzVaTXT8f7BzKIWZXFnU--uxaBXilM2uYgtwI4dO540xRbg8QB4E4ON2xj1E4NEAnWNedvzdnw0nZQxMZMP0qRWimX1BppTNpoqJhMCE05Pw3vT4cJPV1K-1KJksBnbgCYChK-gReqpfB8llzY9U-Q0k7UvnuvtDW0gvRMWANxUqXsetOvxjXe0swig=w1298-h973-no

On the Tesselaarsdal Road I once again made an emergency photograph stop, and we lingered for a while. The day was a little warmer now, and the vistas were beautiful. The Minion crumpled up like a little bird with a heavy head, which she strongly resembles, and amused herself with the insects and plants.

if4lAZVdus1NCJiRPCVv5Nx_xkKQzF7otmO2duXK67UxQNG1J-YYDzRtbHpPKHe7wy5yvO30sJbQ-cginNaNrWeo5iKtkIXYf2Lvl7WiXdwLjMOa2l_rmVd0gzCY8_L9keP7aih77fuky_XJvNuQfqHdXe-WCGHWhZSMIhGBrpMg5QHoXJYWmm6hLUDqr1o5u9VOF4JroKjjadXQSEudepgGXHv3NwckmeEJMXnD00mQhZAFHvng8J7eK9q6nvPPIbucMFoiDNm1mTJvorfkOEvC6FfQntfvCVISDkRIzjGH4rWYjrH6zOk11sH6rn_LD-3cy2QkzVuJbGq-bXJLTnwtZXysi5_KKaQTw-kP71GpP0ey2UyEHKrAEm3pIwGsUjuBEEtrxFm982z21va7SinvZXzDgAmid6fs8ii7LYscdS4BV0A2KSriubIuUt8bP_dSN1Emaq7B3zK0MGItoA_7DI7amxNWv9UQpQ5Ls5CNwzxgIokqnXH-9esUsXLX9uUkNmznW0wiMFGvu1bKS36yVCstZfsQAmJfSys6TX0RmnLns_kSGATLXvGM_nuApOHcjd5tro00NDOobcx97rsCIUTy-vYROR6h8B_m2AosCUWM_i9mApW_0pEiUSpBQNRX48CL12MZvB5Devhlk6BtGh7ZgSpLmRFiQCSX7OFjRQ=w1298-h973-no

3biTwyR8BkapsLU-_KLrgrhQuDmsaffNajx_AtO8FUju7ElgAxQPsFIXYRQYkBi4f2hS3dT2edFFW3NeazEal3AXY1Or3Di-xi0y4orImZNgO9g77u4ydR49IoR-btv29IXIKTzoArR9yp0lU0g5XHaJiiNWXx9wielfRZsDvJ346yz-tYd6I3MU4_cbFPmbQ7clDnjmf5GkJLmsuSJSGcywn_WdWxP5cLao5a8GrCnWKdA78X_AKrctuhBUeTHLEpv6bEr1hVaN_B0tqFt-uzkB9wQkUogc1N3cRKnZNYYMc1iPv2lE-vIQaXHd3ur1ddgGoEVYRntHdkjRPgEedQQoqjaskj01WiD5fcufF7QOyYnAU2v2UIk25rx6_oNj9cEBfFTTBgg0fh8pHL3wrZCOErzHhlG2_wETXadQRQP4fwIJwtippdD6C3RpxRWP9a8IiCr_6-P8QWvReeNMHFxx1XJKm22Oru6MLp0cm04nXG2ietUdvq04W7hNLBiV9Byiks4c5VdI1DWSX6nw8NVOb3pXx5MWqcT6DE5QxeQp_qLTfcQWtuv99JeNGrbpWwE4UlD4zYt6k1wBau1VKMNfhf1YZ0tKB5JhAAIJkkdy3_oIMUr54A27MG0gfLe8m5SPOYwuS50ksY4Nb6O7YmNLC_gbvEj_1LV008S4k4EIdA=w1298-h973-no

While we were chilling, a motorcycle appeared and slowed down for a quick chat before moseying off again. He was followed by a DR350.

HGZg_gJC7UsTrrAP_7bwJTZ0KpEb7Nzsn3R_A3TfTFwDUsNuUv1tKkI9Dre-X50ZVBSGTTRjlu_107-mPBVJTpo7P4OdfvlD_B2KY56OOiXX1bx1XFDo4iZ-rf9p0hXwiVPVYZs4vuLdHGJpeyCNjd8KInh1hZdaocZk9yJVINy-bpX084tJFQI9yEfIrZUypricKYAQiNsMSf6xRV5QQHKAKP5jp1EYVZjefZmKDuuH7X_sZ0QPHdOfcFBg4YFCn-JYWikOSa59Ycq37C3ILbH8dY3x_79ZpQdHbfUSVoxF6sr-R5mXibf_LbcezJM3wLfWfL3_pKt4V-EOedddfqFxiYgWkAQs0ksUubzP52UpYkcawUvZw9dLUUyAcXid6hziPocrFK7cw6W2fv22v8rjwfdMmG0qjXPaaO6_RkzoNHI7x4yTT8PLl32CFk3pHKjdznGotgb38YpBG1ZGTjlyHve9S9eYNcBKQ5xzzLUYJpO8mHFFDoDeHkJsv5oIHFWrJQopMsezLQlFS0VL6ERjzSGEgSATLapgm-y_SRyOfuLbfeHxbv-8YJJDegX-ylgeH0b_fI6jiAxkoTtx1UHYvBtLErdvCiYbzc0PiIuJgKhz1VMNVbSNnIXHNIWawcOvVXXw7gJWLYb4Icxp20iRY0EFETvxxKmihXhJ1Bl7Xg=w1298-h973-no

7XLWBwc9YDu3XyiuB1I-uTKG7Uk-pLl0DZI9HmmCw-h7s-O2fLVq4GvoQqCkNvzAyF6k_PX__wg1wKGm8A62hhrXdKpegJmtWHBMPhZc0006Jo5-S0Tgh84LR09NxHZLEoMhIeT-Lb_L3FJRE6kw0YR5rzjQoa2CmvKymOCvZAfPGnvScw92O5nxEKaDY3lcyIS3USkDxiQl4TkiUqUTVQFP-kudlX1VkjqgX9RhrWlT3FYFHfHL319vw7v024hTCEVDFjK70aVGFztTMCrhhNO9YhFeMYf2RjumKeXnGvgi7t4VNc6PPW0jl7Nh7U_kSqiR5-vF33k0lW5WmOS_ZeD2irGs_ZZyS8LIJlNUZHQmvDY4x-8CUhvHfo_fZonpC79fm0orEhG86ILICFpVAouliI8rAEgJlND3h0RYcqOCPvzI5OaL1Nrn5yISPn_8OEDDN-IXGW3KhyCewch5xEmkETAoHodpn5xRb_oH3Rm00yDa3PEjhnxJUFYgcZvYV8pu1avQve9aC5j0cgLDSUsskU4UM5rMkJbmU8T8D5BoNYzEnZL8xojVg5zjnQn9q6kvxPanvHildAtr5cuxi4Z5GOAti01ZHuQJo1Jl6KGexQD7IzWXfncX0G5A3jPjuTNkW4rBOs-NfSY670tS5Xs4SG3vf5iNE1mxw2Ptq6c0qg=w1298-h973-no

After this we took the N2 back to Dassiesfontein. The wind was pummeling me, and I was grateful for the stop at Dassiesfontein. I managed to stop myself from buying more than some fake turquoise necklace and a purple bag, remembering I had nowhere to stow stuff for the journey home. Keeping an eye on the wandering Minion, we ate our soup and vetkoek respectively, grinned at the assorted cats and babies, and then headed off again.

The sky glowered and spat at us unpleasantly, and the wind pushed us around meanly. We crawled over Sir Lowrie's Pass with the lowering sun stabbing at our eyes. In the last long bend the Gentleman stopped trying to suck at the empty fuel tank and started coughing urgently for reserve.

One thing I dislike about the Gentleman is that he so easily swallows wind, and then it's touch and go whether he'll burp it out, or it stays in the fuel line and kills off the carburetor. A proper geriatric ::) I managed to quickly switch over to reserve and coasted down, praying, while the Gentleman sputtered and jerked like a baby trying to find a teat. It finally latched on, and the jerky coughing eased, as did my heartbeat.

We pulled into Ferndale Shell to fill up, and finally arrived home in strong dusk. So much for the "quick" ride to Napier... but what beautiful roads.

Nice to read something well written. Sadly, a dying skill. Lekker fotos Ri. Hoop jy is nou weer op die been. 'n Hospitaal is nie 'n plek nie vir mense soos jy, wat duidelik nog baie vol lewe is.

Dorsland said:
Nice to read something well written. Sadly, a dying skill. Lekker fotos Ri. Hoop jy is nou weer op die been. 'n Hospitaal is nie 'n plek nie vir mense soos jy, wat duidelik nog baie vol lewe is.

Heh, dankie Dorsland. Ek geniet die skrywery baie, maar dalk verkies mense om meer foto's te sien?

Daai hospitaal ding is 'n storie op sy eie. Dit was nogal 'n skok gewees, ek het gou by Trauma gestop om iets te kry vir koue koors en die volgende oomblik is ek 'n week lank ingeboek :eek7: Sal my leer om naby dokters te kom :xxbah:

Thank you Ri , that was a good quickie  ;) , but in all seriousness what started off as looking to be an absolutely miserable day ended up being a very memorable day with some really good , scenic riding and great company , just a relaxing day that did a lot for the soul .
The minion had a blast and has found her Gru , with the two of them take great delight in tormenting dad , but it is all in good spirit so we just laugh it off . And then we won't even get started on Cookie Monsters , although I am sure that will come up when Ri does her ride report on the Thumper bash .

Lekka RR, thanks for sharing. Great to see Dux & the Minion getting some well deserved saddle time  :thumleft:

What a beautifully written report, you have a gift Ri, thank you for the smiles :thumleft:

It looks like you guys had a great outing.

Die Overberg is besaai met awesome dagtrips👍 bly jy kon vir Dux en Kayleigh uitneem op n trip. Hulle verdien dit. En ja...daai oom by Moerse Padstal kan regtig baie kak praat...ek en Anmar het einde 2015 met ons lang trip daar gestop. Hy het gedink ons was bedonnerd om n week lank op n bike te gaan toer het tot in Hogsback en terug.

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk

Thank you Ri, nicely written and yes i like your photos.  :thumleft:

Dankie Ri,die wes kaap moet van die mooiste ry dagtrippie paaie he

landieman said:
Dankie Ri,die wes kaap moet van die mooiste ry dagtrippie paaie he
Dankie, mooi geskryf
Dit is altyd vir my lekker as die kinders saamgaan en dit geniet
Jou DR waarsku darem, ek ry dakkie sonder reserwe lig wat werk :peepwall:
Ek bly ook eerder weg van die dokters, tandarts maak jou gou seer en more is jy reg.
Dokter plak jou op 'n bed en hou jou daar :imaposer:
Bly jy is gesond en het die ry geniet