NATIONAL BASH

Really enjoyed this trip......... unfortunately I got whacked by Flu & Bronchitis and currently trying to get it sorted with medication.... got some nice pics and stories to tell...will add soonest!  :sip:

Nice to meet you around the braai there Goose, shame about the flu but bring on the pics of your trip!

Just a few pics over the weekend....

• IMG_1827.JPG
    IMG_1827.JPG
    127.8 KB
  • IMG_1830.JPG
    IMG_1830.JPG
    84.8 KB
  • IMG_1831.JPG
    IMG_1831.JPG
    80.6 KB
  • IMG_1832.JPG
    IMG_1832.JPG
    179.8 KB
  • IMG_1833.JPG
    IMG_1833.JPG
    140.2 KB
  • IMG_1834.JPG
    IMG_1834.JPG
    152.2 KB
  • IMG_1836.JPG
    IMG_1836.JPG
    76.4 KB
  • IMG_1837.JPG
    IMG_1837.JPG
    133.3 KB
  • IMG_1838.JPG
    IMG_1838.JPG
    140.6 KB
  • IMG_1824.JPG
    IMG_1824.JPG
    175.7 KB
[member=4056]ButchH[/member] Gooi the date and place on the heading for future reference brutjie! :thumleft:

J-dog said:
Fokkit Hein, you get uglier every year.
well - I didn't see your ugly mofo mug there beasty.
Keeping away from the general populace?

Leibrandt said:
ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:
Where is NCO and NMR in KZN?
NCO Colenso
NMR Mooi River
Thank you. :thumleft:
Like it when numberplates still state where you from. Only WC and KZN like that. :thumleft:

Thanks Mr Swifty, Well organised and enjoyable bash.
Was great to see KTM owners adding more oil than I did to my KLR
I learned the Afrikaans word for my Poncho is"lappe"
See you next year
Dave

So it was with great expectation and excitement that we started our preparation for an early morning departure from Montagu.
I'd arrived from Napier the previous evening and stayed over to cut my distance by about 130km............. bikes were packed and loaded.............. "padkos" was carved and we set off at just after 8am the Thursday morning ..
(or so we thought.... when Tian's GSA decided that it did not want to start....  :patch: pull & push everywhere until I thought to check the starter motor wire... pushed it and voila! - bad connection cost us about 30mins)

Distance for first day - 554km
First stop was going to be Barrydale - but we ended up pushing to Calizdorp for brekkie.
The weather was absolutely perfect and we could not have wished for better riding weather.
Oudshoorn was next to try and get some Ostrich biltong...expensive and really not the quality we expected.....so we pushed on to De Rust for fuel. Willowmore was next stop for lunch (salads...very healthy as we really pigged out on meat the previous night)
Destination for 1st night's stopover - Graaff Reinet..........road surface, weather all good and we could twist the throttle without any issues....

Distance for second day - 534km estimated
We hit the road fairly early and tried in vain to find a place to have breakfast.......even the Wimpy with it's "All day brekkie" was closed until after 8am..........so off we wet,... again the road conditions were really good and we made good time. Found munchies in Middelberg and aimed for Bethulie - where we ran into Heimer & Martina  8) ....nice to see friendly faces and we rode together until Smithfield - where we needed a refuel and food. VERY nice meal - then his the 83km dirt section towards Wepener.
Arrived in Graaff Reinet just after 3pm....... really nice .......apart from the bit of wind we encountered after we met Heimer......after all he told us they had some wind...and only after we met him...did the wind come up...  :peepwall:

Tent's pitched and met up with old friends..... lekker first two days!!

Hopefully some of the pics will tell the story  :thumleft:

.....more to follow...

• IMG_20170922_075203.jpg
    IMG_20170922_075203.jpg
    66.9 KB
  • P1120613.jpg
    P1120613.jpg
    193.1 KB
  • IMG_20170923_061611.jpg
    IMG_20170923_061611.jpg
    107.6 KB
  • P1120592.jpg
    P1120592.jpg
    66.2 KB
  • P1120583.jpg
    P1120583.jpg
    45.5 KB
  • IMG_20170922_133446.jpg
    IMG_20170922_133446.jpg
    83.9 KB
  • IMG_20170922_110448.jpg
    IMG_20170922_110448.jpg
    43.6 KB
  • IMG_20170922_122124.jpg
    IMG_20170922_122124.jpg
    27.3 KB
  • IMG_20170921_083359.jpg
    IMG_20170921_083359.jpg
    84.8 KB
  • IMG-20170920-WA0015.jpg
    IMG-20170920-WA0015.jpg
    37.4 KB
Saturday the ride was to Clarens - never been there - heard it was stunning!

The group left before us and once our fuel was sorted - he hit the road and finally caught up with them after some km's - Half split off and we rode with Gerrard through to Clarens. As luck would have it - there was an amazing market and a "Cherry Festival" - well sort of  :pot: ............. jinne but I feel old!
Lunch was basic and we headed to the Golden Gate reserve (nice as SANPARKS had an open week) - STUNNING is an understatement - very enjoyable and we explored the viewpoints as well. Bit of a story here as Tian wanted to go over a ridge following a steep twee-spoor....turned out it was NOT a twee-spoor but rather a path that hikers had trampled getting only a section of ridge. He managed to gun it up the incline and fortunately managed to stop just as he noticed the fall down the other side...  :eek7:  could have been interesting.
Various "ladies" wanted their golden moment and we obliged the photoshoot ......... on the way back we also stopped for a pic of some scenery and were mobbed by at least a hundred kids...until Tian revved the GS and stormed them...like Moses parting the seas and we split .. :ricky:
Definitely a destination worth a longer visit and explore.

3rd pic - check the 185+10 Car tyre  :thumleft:

• IMG_20170923_094920.jpg
    IMG_20170923_094920.jpg
    65.4 KB
  • P1120681.jpg
    P1120681.jpg
    64.3 KB
  • P1120748.jpg
    P1120748.jpg
    101.4 KB
  • P1120724.jpg
    P1120724.jpg
    60.8 KB
  • P1120701.jpg
    P1120701.jpg
    59.2 KB
  • P1120688.jpg
    P1120688.jpg
    80.4 KB
  • IMG_20170923_130447.jpg
    IMG_20170923_130447.jpg
    72.7 KB
  • IMG_20170923_124505.jpg
    IMG_20170923_124505.jpg
    43.3 KB
  • IMG_20170923_095146.jpg
    IMG_20170923_095146.jpg
    52.1 KB
  • IMG_20170923_095237.jpg
    IMG_20170923_095237.jpg
    75.2 KB
Orangeswifty said:
Martina lyk so befok soos 'n slang wat wil pik daar......... :peepwall:

Haha - daai fag het sy so vinnig agter haar rug weggesteek  :peepwall:

Sunday we hit the road early - was a bit disappointing as we were told the previous evening that under no circumstances would we be able to get early brekkie......... flip we aimed to leave at 7am as the distance estimated for the day was going to be close to 700km.............. se maar niks!!  :patch:

We rode with Gerrard at a steady pace - were treated to more spectacular views with my highlight being the Spotted long-neck Donkeys........  8)  stunning creatures!

A while later - we caught sight of some bloke on the side of the road...as we approached him he waved his red underpants at us....... strange custom..........until I spotted a flock of sheep gunning it to cross the road!  :eek7: :eek7: Gerrard managed to pass them (in fact he did not even see them)  .......... at 140km/hr the first sheep passed with about a 2metre gap between him and the flock...........no ways I could stop in time....prayed and twisted the throttle.......got through safe and stopped! Tian managed to test the ABS and stopped just before the herd........he later told me that I must have had a huge hand help me along as the timing could not have been any better...I made the gap with nothing spare....he faced a solid wall of lamb-tjops!!  WAKE-UP CALL INDEED!!!  :sip:

Road was uneventful further - we stopped at the Wimpy for breakfast in Aliwal North and then we parted company with Gerrard just after Burgersdorp as he headed towards PE and we carried on towards Graaff Reinet. Really nice lunch at PIONEERS although they were totally out of venison...........we then headed out to Willowmore where we arrived at around 5pm - JUST missing a mother of thunderstorms.

Booked with AirB&B into a place called "Bethesda" - which turned out to be worse than the "Bates-Motel"  :deal: and I ended up sleeping in my sleeping bag - rather than trust the linen (we did take pics and lodged a complaint with AirB&B and have received an apology from the owner and a full refund)

By this stage my Flu and Bronchitus had caught up with me and I started feeling the effects of being ill. My last few Sinutabs would just be enough for the next day as we barrelled home towards De Rust (Melktert & Appletert) then Oudtshoorn, Calizdorp, Ladismith (where the rain now hit us with full force)  to Montagu - I said my goodbye's and hit the last leg to Napier - riding in near gale-force winds and rain from Stormsvlei home.

GREAT trip - lekker to meet so many old and new faces........... glad all are home safe.... now for the next one!  :pot: :thumleft:

ALSO A HUGE THANKS to those that supported Jeff by purchasing one of his WILDDOG Leather bangles....  :thumleft:

A HUGE FAVOUR - IF ANYONE FOUND OR ACCIDENTALLY PICKED OP MY KARRIMOR BLUE TOWEL  :peepwall:  please let me know... :3some:

• IMG_20170924_072510.jpg
    IMG_20170924_072510.jpg
    122.9 KB
  • P1120796.jpg
    P1120796.jpg
    106.7 KB
  • IMG_20170924_163123.jpg
    IMG_20170924_163123.jpg
    32.7 KB
  • IMG_20170924_175921.jpg
    IMG_20170924_175921.jpg
    46.4 KB
  • IMG_20170924_181509.jpg
    IMG_20170924_181509.jpg
    44.9 KB
  • IMG_20170925_115450.jpg
    IMG_20170925_115450.jpg
    77 KB
  • P1120779.jpg
    P1120779.jpg
    59 KB
  • P1120780.jpg
    P1120780.jpg
    40.6 KB
  • P1120784.jpg
    P1120784.jpg
    58.7 KB
  • P1120776.jpg
    P1120776.jpg
    92.5 KB
I really thought it was a WILD-DOG bash............  who invited the WILD-HOGS.............  :sip: :snorting: :snorting:

Girls checking out the bacon-cuts  :eek:

• P1120606.jpg
    P1120606.jpg
    87 KB