NIMMO
After renting a bike and going to Kaokoland last year the bug bit - as with all parents with students, money is always an issue - especially if you already have a bike in the garage.
After a lot of thought I bought a 2006 WR450F with 4400km on it - It needed some TLC mainly cosmetically and all the joints (just as older people).
Bike was sent to @superfoxi for the suspension and @BuRP went out of his way to help me with getting it there and back here - thanks again.
After I got it back I stripped it to the basics and redid everything I could.
Bart came to help me set the carb, and braai off course.
Bike was R25K. Suspension and some other TLC R12K. And all the linkages, bearing, tyres, tubes, sprockets, chain and new LR tank R15K.
R52K - for an old but "new" lady set up for my weight and height.
I finished the bike one week before WARR and the test ride was 130km which only showed the GPS power routing was an issue the rest was fine.
Wednesday I loaded and took off for Loeries to meet up with the Enkels.
Outside Calvinia I ran into a WC oke left behind by his "friends" - @JacoM at least came to help
At a certain age you need a fan (hot flushes)and a courier to carry all your sh!T - guess who. By the looks of driver he was not a fussy eater as well - he would fit in just fine.
Friday we left for Vioolsdrift - here it broke my heart to see the blokes tear up that road while driving my bakkie - did I make the right decision?
The venue
After a lot of thought I bought a 2006 WR450F with 4400km on it - It needed some TLC mainly cosmetically and all the joints (just as older people).
Bike was sent to @superfoxi for the suspension and @BuRP went out of his way to help me with getting it there and back here - thanks again.
After I got it back I stripped it to the basics and redid everything I could.
Bart came to help me set the carb, and braai off course.
Bike was R25K. Suspension and some other TLC R12K. And all the linkages, bearing, tyres, tubes, sprockets, chain and new LR tank R15K.
R52K - for an old but "new" lady set up for my weight and height.
I finished the bike one week before WARR and the test ride was 130km which only showed the GPS power routing was an issue the rest was fine.
Wednesday I loaded and took off for Loeries to meet up with the Enkels.
Outside Calvinia I ran into a WC oke left behind by his "friends" - @JacoM at least came to help
At a certain age you need a fan (hot flushes)and a courier to carry all your sh!T - guess who. By the looks of driver he was not a fussy eater as well - he would fit in just fine.
Friday we left for Vioolsdrift - here it broke my heart to see the blokes tear up that road while driving my bakkie - did I make the right decision?
The venue
Last edited: