On Samil's back to Waterval Boven

Derik

Triumph (all models)
We left Johannesburg, Monday 12:00 after work. Nothing really planned, just go there spend the night, drive around new years day and head back to Johannesburg.
So ja first pic Samil loaded and ready to go

• IMG-20121231-00827.jpg
    IMG-20121231-00827.jpg
    198.1 KB
Used the N4 as it was the quickest route, but at a cost-two Toll gates will set you back R110 one way!
Must say I havnt seen such a clean area in a long time(don't even mention the visibility of traffic police, they all over). Some pics along the way

• IMG-20121231-00835.jpg
    IMG-20121231-00835.jpg
    140.7 KB
  • IMG-20121231-00837.jpg
    IMG-20121231-00837.jpg
    153 KB
Tunnel at Waterval Boven, and just through it the old rock bridge

• IMG-20130101-00862.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00862.jpg
    203.1 KB
  • IMG-20130101-00864.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00864.jpg
    284.6 KB
We spend the night at Elangeni Holiday Resort, although closed already the owner said "don't worry, choose a place to set camp we can sort out the rest tomorrow. Not used to that sort of thing anymore,  nobody can be trusted...
So we set camp, on a well looked after lawn. The Elands river flows a mere 10meters from us, natures rumble

• IMG-20121231-00840.jpg
    IMG-20121231-00840.jpg
    248.9 KB
  • IMG-20130101-00869.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00869.jpg
    282.7 KB
Next day we did a round trip, from Waterval Boven up to Montrose pass, left over Schoemanskloof pass back to the camp.

• IMG-20130101-00851.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00851.jpg
    265.6 KB
  • IMG-20130101-00850.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00850.jpg
    219.6 KB
  • IMG-20130101-00849.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00849.jpg
    259.9 KB
  • IMG-20130101-00848.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00848.jpg
    292.4 KB
A uncompleted bridge tells a story of 63 Moz workers that died because of a train accident. This is W/Boven where the Elands river cuts through town

• IMG-20130101-00859.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00859.jpg
    206.2 KB
  • IMG-20130101-00860.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00860.jpg
    248.5 KB
  • IMG-20130101-00856.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00856.jpg
    239.3 KB
Time flies when you enjoy something, so much to see but so little time...on our way back we stopped at the Berg en Dal memorial. This tells a story of a battle that lasted 7days, which were so bad that historians can't explain how anyone could survive it

• IMG-20130101-00872.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00872.jpg
    185.4 KB
  • IMG-20130101-00875.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00875.jpg
    114.2 KB
Will have to make a plan to go back there for at least a week, to see the un-seen. Some more pics of Rhino next to the highway, Samil all wet(rained all the way there and back).
Love the Adventure

• IMG-20130101-00876.jpg
    IMG-20130101-00876.jpg
    175.7 KB
  • IMG-20121231-00832.jpg
    IMG-20121231-00832.jpg
    209.8 KB
Lekker.  Keep the location of those Rhino a big secret.

Rodlau said:
Unfortunately they are next to the Highway for all to see-hope the owner has security

Derik said:
Rodlau said:
Unfortunately they are next to the Highway for all to see-hope the owner has security
Looks like their hoirns have been removed... for their own safety... I think they'll be left alone. Nice report! :thumleft:

Derik said:
We spend the night at Elangeni Holiday Resort, although closed already the owner said "don't worry

A week back my wife and I was also there, very biker friendly, lend me a lead for power and used his bakkie to bring me so wood for a braai  :thumleft:

Mooi Derik. Maar hou nou op om sulke mooi pics van my ou fiets te post, my hart kan dit nie hanteer nie