Our Story of the Honda Quest 2017

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8MCBHstj8k

uc

That morning started with Phillip and I having a bit more of a conversation about how we were going to play the game. What made the whole thing tricky was that although we were told that everything was going to be rated, we were not told what “everything” was. They kept on about being a “True Adventurer”, but what that actually was wasn’t easily defined. I felt that to be competitive we needed to collaborate with the rest, stay alert, show initiative, have a good attitude, be helpful, care for fellow competitors, care for the bike and lastly riding skill. Also, I was sure they were going to keep a sharp eye on the dynamics between the team members.

To this end and to aid getting us in this short time onto the same page, I shared with Phillip a personality test called the Enneagram. It is a system that helps work out the motivations of people that then drive behaviours. Unsurprisingly, we were absolute opposites, but for both of us it instantly gave a better connection and shortened the “get to know you” time. It was also helpful to chat about how we are going to disagree with each other.

All this took place over the span of the day as we were given times to have things done or to be somewhere and there wasn’t much time to bugger around. We had a confirmation of this when we were told to load the Iveco at a certain time. Stoffel had his phone out and 1 minute past the deadline was taking notes on who wasn’t there. Phil and I caught each other’s eyes right there. Though we weren’t then, we made sure we were never going to be late for anything from then on.

Lunch… winegums became a staple part of it. (I miss them, strangely!)

All new and nervous

Ok, not so nervous

This being the first morning briefing, John had suggested that because of the group size of the option for the teams to ride shoulder to shoulder was open. It’s not an often described technique that helps riders stay out of the dust and halves the distance that groups take up. It takes some skill and loads of trust between partners. I know many who’ve refused to do it unless they know their partner well. It works like this;

The guy on the left sets the pace and is mostly responsible for setting the dust gap. He rides mostly on the left side of the road but isn’t confined to it. If things get hairy or the track demands it, he can come over to a better line but then would shift back to the left. The Guy on the right is responsible for the safety of the unit. His primary task is to anticipate the needs of the road and rider on the left and to keep them as a pair safe. On shittier parts, blind rises and right hand or blind turns he drops back from the shoulder position to a spot that is still within the mirrors of the guy on the left but just ahead and out of the dust and stone roost. This enables the left hand guy to choose his line. It also keeps both safe with oncoming traffic.

It takes some time to learn a riders idiosyncrasies and for a safe rhythm to form. It can be a joy when it “clicks”.

He also put a lot of emphasis on being responsible for the guys behind. The shoulder thing was optional and only going to lose points if practiced unsafely, the keeping the guys behind thing was mandatory and going to be a lot more carefully looked at.

Tell me you wouldn’t take life a little more seriously if this was talking at you?

See….

I was not feeling so confident, that’s a nervous smile, I needed the valves in the lower end of my body to man up and do their thing

So, it wasn’t long and we were off. It felt very awkward. Understandably, the pairs were being super alert for the guys behind and neither the pairs nor the group had found a rhythm. Any little slow down resulted in the pair in front slowing or even stopping to check and then this would result in a massive concertina effect that took tens of kilometres to get the spacing right again. I just kept humming to myself, “Oh mani pani hummmm, it’s worth an African Twin”

One of the better gaps

uc

Riding in dust used to do my head in… Badly! Apart from the safety aspect, it screws with my mechanical sympathies. At first when I started adventure riding, I would either blitz ahead or stop and wait 10 minutes. But if you can take the wind and general direction of travel into account along with the pace that the group is moving at, then it is possible to have a reasonably pleasant experience.

But, I’m also not easily capable of rambling along on dirt – I tend to ride quick but safe and generally find myself at the sharp end of groups. I get bored quickly and love getting into a groove with other like-minded individuals that often doesn’t make for great tyre wear but gets places quicker.

Jaco, who was sweeping, was experiencing the net effects of the concertina. His input about this at one of the first stops was a great bit of input but had an unintended consequence; we all got more nervous about losing points and so just put up with smaller dust gaps. “omani padni....”

I’d started on the right for that first bit so we swapped after the break. That morning apart from the excitement of being on this massive adventure, it wasn’t the most pleasant ride. The road wasn’t that spectacular and it was a crap surface for the first few hours so it was mostly hours of dust dodging and very little scenery viewing. But, this wasn’t any ordinary ride, I was enjoying the fun of watching others and of course myself and wondering how this was all going to play out?

Phillip clearly wasn’t used to this shoulder to shoulder thing from the right hand side, he was either suffering in the dust or riding in spots that I couldn’t see him no matter what I did with my mirrors. Also what was playing on his mind was, not being that comfortable on sand, the times he would have to float across the middlemannetjie wasn’t good for him. At the petrol stop, we had a conflab. We resolved that being more comfortable in sand, I’d stay on the right, but also that he was free to pick his lines as he wanted as that was my job to stay out of his way. That’s how it stayed for the rest of the trip. I think in the beginning he must have thought I was nuts, because I enjoy trying to stay on the middlemannetije or the graded bits on the side for fun. It can get a bit squirrely but is great practice.

Anyway, Uis came up and so did Bazil!

He was this lovely friendly larger than life guy who pitched up on a characterful original that Honda might want to put in their museum. He knew all about us and was good naturedly pissed off that he’d not been chosen even though he’d written in.

The group was still clearly a little new, but the pace was creeping up and less time was spent being squeezed by the concertina.

Then it was comedy hour…

Climbing up some pass we came across some stranded tourists, they’d ruined their original and now flatted the spare. This part of the world was super hardcore, but luckily a cold front was coming through so the temperature was only about 40! Picture it, 20 super helpful biker types (who are probably being scored on their helpfulless!), combined with 16 super responsible 4x4 types trying to impress these foreigners. It was a case of too many cooks for not enough jobs. You know what happens then, everyone was chirpy and the comments were coming thick and fast.

Jaco had hogged the prime job,

There was also way too many on the compressor lecture circuit too

Then a few more on the how and where to drive on a gravel road…

Feeling a bit spare, I thought, they could do with a bit of Honda Quest branding and marketing…

Entertainment over, it was back to business. The vet vence

Palmwag fuelling

All I’ve got of the camp that evening was

Apparently a big bull elephant had just been through 5 minutes before us!

Phil’s mentioned already my bit about dehydration. I spent a really long time whilst a student as an Orange River Guide. I became really good at spotting it and more, sorting it out. That afternoon more than a few had the signs. I’ve gave my rant and advice and before long a handful were obediently sucking on many more litres of water. If you want to do this next year, 2 litres a day is simply asking for serious trouble. 2 is for before breakfast!

I was just super elated that my loose end had behaved itself… not enough to trust a fart, but certainly better than the previous evening.

After all the chores were done, Phil and I had a short powwow about the day; things had gone well we thought. I wouldn’t say we were super connected yet but way more comfortable and down the path than that morning. We had a little more chat about personality and in particular about being in a disagreement and how to handle this. I was happy. Well, there was another problem, we had no beer! The issue was apart from the bar being way off somewhere, we didn’t know if we were allowed to have a few. So, as I like a beer after a ride, I headed off to find Hardy and he was all thumbs up. Then because he was halfway between the bar (that was 500m from where we were) I just kept going and got a round for everyone. The way everyone approved of this, I thought I’d found how to bribe our way to this bike!

I chose to sleep under the stars, I didn’t do much stargazing whilst falling asleep; I’d only slept 3 hours the previous evening and if you’ve met me, I certainly need my beauty sleep!

I crashed!

:ricky: :ricky: :ricky: :ricky: :ricky: :ricky:
what a  lekker ride report  :sip:

" Thanks for the response Kobus. I never suggested anything untoward nor peculiar. I merely meant to throw a suggestion from lines in a report I picked up, which clearly ex post seem to be subjective  :thumleft: No doubt, you guys and girl had the time of your life, within a very well structured Quest."

- Sheepman

You will never get 20 like-minded contestants out of a random group of 40. I do think we came very close to that number though.

" They kept on about being a “True Adventurer”, but what that actually was wasn’t easily defined. I felt that to be competitive we needed to collaborate with the rest, stay alert, show initiative, have a good attitude, be helpful, care for fellow competitors, care for the bike and lastly riding skill. Also, I was sure they were going to keep a sharp eye on the dynamics between the team members."
                                                                                              - Andre Johnstone (Kamanya)

You figured this out on day 2 and you still did not win??

Hardy de Kock said:
" They kept on about being a “True Adventurer”, but what that actually was wasn’t easily defined. I felt that to be competitive we needed to collaborate with the rest, stay alert, show initiative, have a good attitude, be helpful, care for fellow competitors, care for the bike and lastly riding skill. Also, I was sure they were going to keep a sharp eye on the dynamics between the team members."
                                                                                              - Andre Johnstone (Kamanya)

You figured this out on day 2 and you still did not win??

I know!? Freaky isn’t it!

Explain yourself! :lol8:

Day 3 – Palmwag to Opuwo

Ironically, despite fair warning prior to the event, temperatures at night still dropped quite low in the early hours of the morning.  Waking up the morning in Palmwag, with a combination of mozzies and getting cold, I was slightly concerned with the amount of rest and the challenges that could lie ahead for the day.

The excitement of the group was however so contagious that you soon forget and being tired is not an option.  (Or was it perhaps the daily winegums intake?)  Morning routine consisted of waking up, pitching camp, getting kitted, breakfast prepared by two teams, loading the Iveco, riders briefing, pre ride inspection on the bikes and off we go.  Before kitting up I ran through the showers again to warm up and sommer just because you never know when you’ll shower again.

For the first couple of days Hardy really emphasised the safety of the convoy.  We were still very much on tourist routes and they were often ignorant to driving safely and on the right side of the road, putting us at potential risk. 

The day’s riding consisted of good gravel highways the majority of the way.  We stopped regularly to regather the convoy.  A couple of punctures also caused the convoy to stop intermittently. 

Not far outside Palmwag we could no longer see the team behind us.  At this stage team 1 (Johannes Haasbroek & Tyrebraaier) was bringing up the rear, with Jaco and Ockie sweeping.  We stopped to make sure they are still there and after a couple of minutes realised that the delay was more than the dust gap.  Scrat proposed that I stay behind while he rides back to check on them.  He set off and after a short while I could see his lights returning.  Team 1 was on their way and their stop was just to adjust tyre pressure.  Off we go again.

One of the stops on the route.

c03d4d94bcda65220423a35c966c16d1.jpg

c305c7d83e93483e6c93743a8fa23d46.jpg

Charliepappa striking a pose.

735818da745b6e8c2ce2f026bb7df195.jpg

Scalpel and Scrat deep in conversation.

34c224919923f43dbb8f080a6c7cc244.jpg

Johannes Haasbroek asking $Tyres$ for his daughter’s hand in marriage.

1bb70ce2a9aa706275e6bd7781e282e0.jpg

A puncture repair stop, this time Skywalker and DJFloyd’s turn.

895e674a9f59dde65ea38e08abf5fd33.jpg

03e03485e1e6199a13ab087a95083378.jpg

6bdd893ab61c4d6d8872d82476a860f7.jpg

fb48910a4bc7eb72ecd1fa3ab46b777d.jpg

462903079c63a9adfbaae03d08532192.jpg

05c89c6656495a53e45c8fa9346cf7de.jpg

71702d7f490b6d336f50635173eab88a.jpg

1e5cfb370235960e9a49fe979a825200.jpg

THROTTLE JOCKEY said:
"only one or two contestants being singled out for having
strange objects in their carry-on luggage. I won't mention names. Cough. Glenn. Cough."

YUP! My secret weapon went into a bin never to be seen again!

What was it (or did I miss it)?

[youtube]https://youtu.be/WFXo9Q3EXqg[/youtube]

By now Twister was very popular.  Between him and Scalpel they installed a 12V socket to their bike and had a compressor.  This helped tremendously to bring the repair time down.  Brilliant team 9.

With Tau in the front and Jaco sweeping, judging the teams riding was impossible.  From this day Tau however intermittently rode through the whole convoy, stopping and sitting in places where you’d never expect him – similar to a traffic cop, but without Kentucky.

If I remember correctly, it was this day we saw the Boabab forest.  (Help me out here Hardy)  The road winds through a beautiful little kloof and koppies and then you come across this cluster of boababs that is just amazing.  This piece of riding was brilliant.  Scrat and I found our rhythm and from this day on it was always the DCT that led left of the road, irrespective of who was riding it.  Every couple of hundred meters we were looking at each other, thumbs up, smiling and just in awe of the scenery we were experiencing.

All of a sudden we got to a little stretch of tar road and stopped alongside the road where we had our lunch packs, or whatever was left of it.  Kamanya gathered us and gave us a bit of insight of what he does for a living.  We were briefed on the different personality types and he explained how we can use it to our advantage within our respective teams to handle conflict and other situations.  Initially I thought “What the hell, EQ training on an adventure? – blerrie windgat!”  In the end, I was very wrong and I grew quite fond of ‘Pops’ and his words of wisdom.

It was then Johannes Haasbroek’s turn giving us a lecture in ‘stompie’ management.  He iterated that this was a dry, sensitive area and to make sure you don’t through your cigarette butt just anywhere.  The bliksem looked straight at me, being one of the few smokers – well, at least at this stage of the adventure.  The smokers grew drastically in numbers as the trip progressed.  Lectures out the way, we got going again.

6dc2e45fb5c8394b1ee60c51de7fd0eb.jpg

e8ad6864347ebf48865efbf7a01dec85.jpg

02b42eb282f917468305e56ebdd21392.jpg

42d37910fbcde82a3758eea816c757ae.jpg

Later the afternoon, we drove into Opuwo.

Opuwo

"The name Opuwo was given by the commissioner of Ondangwa, Mr. Hugo Hahn, who came in search of land to build an office. Upon his arrival, he asked local headmen to give him land where he could build an office. The headmen gave him a small plot, and when the headmen tried to give him more land, Mr. Hahn responded saying "Opuwo (it’s enough for me). I don’t want any more land". That is how Opuwo got its name. The local residents of Opuwo called it Otjihinamaparero at the time, and some still call it that.

Hugo Hahn called the land “Ohopoho Otjitopora” which means "they see the bore hole and their water comes out". The name Otjihinamaparero was changed to Opuwo in 1974 due to orthographic reform.

The Kaokoveld, Kunene Region:  Rugged mountains, dry river courses and solid 4x4 country associated with names like van Zyl's Pass, Hartmann Mountains, Marienfluss, Epupa, Ruacana  and Swartboois Drift.  A land vast and uninhabited, a wilderness in its own right  where pockets of wildlife roam freely.

This is also home to Namibia's last remaining nomadic tribe, the Ovahimba. Dictated by seasonal rainfall and constantly in search of new grazing for their cattle, the Himba remain nomadic and primitive. Their unique lifestyle and adaptability to survive the harsh Kaokoland environment has earned them their ethnic individuality.

The traditional Himba still prefer living the way their forebears hundreds of years before the colonial era or the appearance of westerners. Himba villages close to Opuwa town are accustomed to visitors wanting to learn and experience more about their culture and lifestyle.

Opuwo, meaning "finished" or "up to here and no further" Opuwo is the gateway to the Kaokoveld, the small town is the administrative hub of the Kunene Region. It has a few shops, filling station, school and houses. The airfield in town is managed by Opuwo Country Hotel and offers refueling and a transfer services to and from the Hotel.

Opuwo Country Hotel is situated on a hilltop just outside of town providing luxury and standard accommodation with air conditioning, swimming pool, bar and restaurant, and camping sites, your ideal base from where to explore Kaokoland."

Opuwo was a bit of a culture shock.  It’s a cosmopolitan of Himba, Ovahimba and other tribes, some conventionally clothed, others in traditional wear.  I was quite confused by this, yet very inquisitive.

Did I mention it was a bit dusty at the back of the convoy?

826ad29558634333e031c2068d917d7d.jpg

361b3c9814884106449f10025f38a304.jpg

Arriving at our overnight spot was, well, just grandeur!

f0729c7d46ddec25840cfc3877a96c04.jpg

2e4daf84a3847242762bbafeae6d8263.jpg

0852679efffe7a6dea651ebbff5c5749.jpg

Hardy bought us a beer that went down similar to the feeling of relief when finishing your speech!  A second one followed in short time.  Everyone was in good spirit and talking about the day’s events.

73b4ec38cd350fb1051643756f7d90a4.jpg

bfedecb2635ea501753eb5d0bb8cb2b1.jpg

We were then instructed to go to the camp site and get ready for a bit of a surprise exercise they had in stall for us.

This exercise involved a competition of taking off the rear wheel and replacing it.  Times will be recorded and points scored accordingly.  Twenty bikes were lined up with enough space in between to work freely.  The excitement was tangible.  And then we were off ………..

Skywalker and DJFloyd’s rear wheel were off before we had our rear shaft properly undone – WOW!  We were doing well getting the wheel off, signalling our first stage completion and getting the go ahead to continue.  We were off to a good start, and then disaster struck.........

We battled getting the rear wheel properly set and then the realization came ……………  In our haste and ignorance, we took the DCT for the exercise!  The acute angle that you work at when setting the rear wheel make you miss the fact that you have the second calliper at the bottom to contend with!

Once we realised this, we got the wheel set and before long we were finished, somewhere in the middle of the pack I think.  We were happy, full of smiles and the group all stood cheering on the last team until they were complete.

Then came the twist in the results ………………………  and I’ll leave this to the other contestants to elaborate on.

$Tyres$ setting up his honeymoon suite.

b9edc6f92b98275694de421df2c6854f.jpg

36cc05336790bd4560395581b2805a5b.jpg

After doing some washing and a hot shower, I went to bed that evening happy, cheerful and looking forward to the next day. 

“Life was meant for good friends and great adventures.”

" If I remember correctly, it was this day we saw the Baobab forest.  (Help me out here Hardy) The road winds through a beautiful little kloof and koppies and then you come across this cluster of baobab's that is just amazing.  This piece of riding was brilliant.  Scrat and I found our rhythm and from this day on it was always the DCT that led left of the road, irrespective of who was riding it.  Every couple of hundred meters we were looking at each other, thumbs up, smiling and just in awe of the scenery we were experiencing. "

- KTM Kobus (Kobus Myburgh)

It was indeed - about 45km on the C43, before you get to Opuwo, you will find the Baobab Forest.

On this leg the whole crew was very nervous - The contestants was riding the infamous C43. This road was frequented by speeding trucks, oblivious tourists, stray wild and farm animals. To add to the severity, they had to deal with dust trails that hindered visibility, and kept the aforementioned "problems" secret until it was too late.
The instructors did a good job and so did the contestants, stopping frequently to re-gather and to re-hydrate.
To see the majestic scenery of the Kaokoland one has to get to the North of the country as soon as possible, and therein lies the problem. This means that we had to make use of these gravel highways or we had to extend Quest to 3 weeks. Luckily, they rode like a battalion and they arrived in Opuwo unscathed.
I was seriously happy, as I know this road well, and expected a more traumatic day.

Opuwo Country Lodge has the largest single thatch roof in the southern hemisphere and our contestants found shelter underneath it in a flash. This is also the place where they bought me a beer. I don't drink, but nothing tasted as good as the draft I had with them that day - Cheers everyone.

What by now became apparent was the fact that this group was very different from any other group I have ever worked with. Usually I would pick up on ego's, greed, jealousy, over competitiveness etc after day 3, but there was nothing. No clicks, no dicks, no hero's, Nothing but harmony and mutual respect. It was really going too well.

Being part of an event like Quest is really a dream come true and to eventually be chosen as a winner from all the deserving competitors (all friends now) is truly indescribable ang a huge honour! But then you read the RR on the other website...

All I can say is: Thanks to all the support Tyre & myself received. We appreciate it and it doesn't go unnoticed.  :thumleft:

charliepappa said:
Being part of an event like Quest is really a dream come true and to eventually be chosen as a winner from all the deserving competitors (all friends now) is truly indescribable ang a huge honour! But then you read the RR on the other website...

All I can say is: Thanks to all the support Tyre & myself received. We appreciate it and it doesn't go unnoticed.  :thumleft:

Fully agree with the fact that there were very deserving competitors in this group - I have never been more sure of who the winners should have been though..
Charl - I would not read too much into what he wrote in that blog. You will always have the one or two guys who missed the point.

Smile and wave my friend.

Hardy de Kock said:
" Thanks for the response Kobus. I never suggested anything untoward nor peculiar. I merely meant to throw a suggestion from lines in a report I picked up, which clearly ex post seem to be subjective  :thumleft: No doubt, you guys and girl had the time of your life, within a very well structured Quest."

- Sheepman

You will never get 20 like-minded contestants out of a random group of 40. I do think we came very close to that number though.

Very true Hardy, you should know. It is very special that you guys succeeded in gathering such a group of like minded folk together  :thumleft: I am really enjoying the read, of a very well organised adventure.

DAY 2: Windhoek To Spitzkoppe

The beers from the previous night did the trick and I slept like a log; didn't hear any snoring... Everybody was rearing to go and ready to leave for Honda well before the stipulated time. At Honda everybody grabbed the first bike that he/she fancied as we would only be devided into our teams that night at Spitzkoppe and then you would get your "competition" bike. After some formalities and a breakfast we hit the road.

Before the trip I made the decision not look at to many pictures of the areas / sites we would be visiting as I wanted to be "wowed" at first sight... and "wowed" I was from the first day. Even looking at the photos I took of Spitzkoppe, it doesn't do  justice to the scenery! Our actual camp site location was also brillaint as it set a beautiful backdrop for my presentation. All I remember while setting up camp is someone saying: Charl Potgieter & Glenn Koch your up for presentations tonight. The good: it will be over and done with; the bad: no extra prep time.

My topic was the Sahara Desert. My first reaction when Hardy told me was: how will I fill 15 minutes with info about a barren stretch of earth? But once I started reading and watching videos, those 15 minutes got filled very quickly. The  tricky bit was to get all the info stored in my brain. But all went well that evening and Glenn & I could relax... a bit.

Next up was the team announcement. I'm sure most of us had an idea of whom we would like to be paired with, but that was completely out of our hands. Eventually Hardy said: Team 8..... Charl Potgieter..... I walk up and shake his hand..... I wait..... he grins..... and after what felt like 5 minutes he says: Hennie van Heerden. Up until we had arrived at OR Tambo the previous day, I don't think we have spoken more than 20 words. But from that moment on we were Team 8 and we became "brothers-in-arms" on this Quest.

I must confess; there is something very cool about having your name & blood type on a bike.

• Koppe.jpg
    Koppe.jpg
    116 KB
  • SpitzKamp.jpg
    SpitzKamp.jpg
    207.9 KB
  • Presentation.JPG
    Presentation.JPG
    347.8 KB
  • Span8.JPG
    Span8.JPG
    171.7 KB
  • Names.jpg
    Names.jpg
    102.5 KB
  • Nr15.jpg
    Nr15.jpg
    169.7 KB
  • At Honda.jpg
    At Honda.jpg
    94.2 KB
DAY 3: Spitzkoppe to Palmwag

The next morning we packed up camp, setup our bikes, did pre-ride inspections on the bikes, had breakfast, packed the IVECO, had our ride briefing and fell in the road to our next destination. This would be our daily morning ritual for the next 2 weeks.

Just before our lunch stop, the group encountered its first puncture, of what was in excess of 50 I recon, on the trip. You can stop just about anywhere in Namibia and the backdrop will lend itself for a spectacular photo.

At Palmwag, SP and Marcel (Team 7) and us (Team 8) were assigned dinner and breakfast duty. We nailed dinner with a good old crowd favourite: braaivleis and BRAAIBROODJIES! After Andrew brought us a very welcome ice cold beer he found at a local bar, it was off to bed. Normally mosquitos can't leave me alone, so I was quite surprised when my bunkmates complained about them the following morning.

• Dinner.jpg
    Dinner.jpg
    119.4 KB
  • Fire.jpg
    Fire.jpg
    123 KB
  • Chef Tyre.jpg
    Chef Tyre.jpg
    137.9 KB
  • Palmwag.jpg
    Palmwag.jpg
    129.3 KB
  • Scenery.jpg
    Scenery.jpg
    170.9 KB
  • Rocks.jpg
    Rocks.jpg
    186.8 KB
  • Lunch.jpg
    Lunch.jpg
    44.6 KB
  • 21640730_10154747941382353_4624484816459583215_o.jpg
    21640730_10154747941382353_4624484816459583215_o.jpg
    61.7 KB
  • DCT.jpg
    DCT.jpg
    182.5 KB
DAY 4: Palmwag to Opowo

The day started with our normal ritual but with the added event of our first scored pre-ride inspection. Some teams even brough a proper check-list...

Our next stop was Opowo. Enroute we saw some girraffe, springbok and gemsbok. We also went through the Baobab Forest which KTMKobus wrote about. I wish we had time to stop and take pictures of some those MASSIVE Baobabs; they are truly impressive. SP had his 1st of MANY punctures and I did my bit to help from on top of the back of the bike.  ;D

Once at Opowo Lodge we had the customary Windhoek Draft before setting up camp. Here we had our 1st special task: removing and replacing the rear wheel as quick as possible. The biggest problem that we as Team 8 had was that both Hennie and I ride GS'es with shafts. So this kind of excrise was going to teach us a new skill. I think we were placed second when the rear wheel came off but "the wheels came off" when we had to replace it. I forgot about a spacer and when I got it in it got stuck and and and... I think we ended in 8th place... Luckily it was early days and we still had a long way to go.

• P1040148.JPG
    P1040148.JPG
    113.5 KB
  • P1040154.JPG
    P1040154.JPG
    45.3 KB
  • P1040152.JPG
    P1040152.JPG
    177.2 KB
  • 21753171_10211687222670134_4971249886375934493_o.jpg
    21753171_10211687222670134_4971249886375934493_o.jpg
    184.2 KB
  • P1040162.JPG
    P1040162.JPG
    115.9 KB
DAY 5: Opowo to Epupafalls

This was the hottest day of the trip; max temp on my bike peaked at 49 degrees while standing still and 42 while riding! But the scenery took your mind off all of that.

Our 1st stop for the day was what is now Ehomba Combined School, but in the "Grensoorlog" days this was a base were Jaco Kirsten, one of our instructors, spent some time. It was cool spending time with him there and sharing the moment with him.

Next up was the Dorslandtrekkers monument at Swartbooisdrif. From there you could see the Kuneneriver and I had my first look at Angola just across the water.

What struck me most of all was the palm trees next to river in this remote area and our in-house guide Johannes "BOESMAN" Haasbroek informed us that these trees came from the elephants that either migrated or was used by explores. The seeds would germinate in their stomachs at a much faster rate than in soil and would then grow where they were dropped off...

Hardy also told us to keep a look-out for the pegs that were in the dead palm trees. These are used to get to the juice that is in the "ball" at the top of the palm tree. There are two unfortunate things about this. The first being, that once the ball is pierced and the juice is drained, the palm tree dies. The second one is that the juice contains alchohol and that "we" taught the locals how to get to the juice and subsequently created a whole bunch of alkoholic tribesmen. A bad legacy we left in that part of the world.

We eventually arrived at Epupa Falls and it was as breathtaking as one would imagine. We were of course told about all the crocodiles in the Kunene river and not to go swimming just anywhere. With a cold one in hand, Boesman found us a natural jacuzzi in one of the rock pools, where crocs wouldn't go, he assured us, and we could cool down after a hot days' riding.

That night we were told the trip up to this point had been a "liaison / warm-up". The next day we would go down to Van Zyls Camp on the worst road we would encounter on this trip. We were to leave at 07:00 and would be lucky to finish by 18:00 the following evening... NOW THAT'S SOMETHING TO LOOK FORWARD TO!!

• P1040193.JPG
    P1040193.JPG
    66.7 KB
  • 21616335_10155060878907099_7186848966447143362_n.jpg
    21616335_10155060878907099_7186848966447143362_n.jpg
    120.7 KB
  • P1040188.JPG
    P1040188.JPG
    134.6 KB
  • P1040175.JPG
    P1040175.JPG
    154.2 KB
  • P1040182.JPG
    P1040182.JPG
    166.2 KB
  • P1040168.JPG
    P1040168.JPG
    115.4 KB
  • IMG_7399.JPG
    IMG_7399.JPG
    144.7 KB
  • IMG_7398.JPG
    IMG_7398.JPG
    136.4 KB
  • P1040170.JPG
    P1040170.JPG
    120.6 KB
  • IMG-20170909-WA0001.jpg
    IMG-20170909-WA0001.jpg
    146.6 KB
Great Reading keep it coming. This was a great idea.

Day 4 - Epuwo to Epupa

[youtube]https://youtu.be/ibFMVe9JFVs[/youtube]

Up to Ehomba was the last gravel highway stretch we would see for a while.  As stated by charliepappa, we stopped at the military base where Jaco was stationed for a while.

Ehomba was originally home to the South West African Territorial Force (SWATF), which was basically an extension or auxiliary of the SADF.  The military unit stationed at Ehomba was known as the 37th Kaokoland Battalion that later became 102 Battalion.

Below are some dated photos of the original base.

ed3b50e0c007080400b2b4850eaec003.jpg

461ffedda89333f5690bd0720898ea8a.jpg

2286abf1cce0a37d53ca5de69fcf8746.jpg

00071ea5eb24ed917cb647d946548ae6.jpg

1684be17b55afba8a9f692c289d08911.jpg

We spent quite a bit of time here while Jaco was in conversation with the principal.

af54d0ca1912965efe5c47ca0fee6086.jpg

4e688e52583f8bcca0334303f42a98d3.jpg

e883ea26224d0d1e3c605bd9a18a9217.jpg

49ca64e286c9c386037633057bcd2ec7.jpg

8ebf2f67ed2d8fc90deb7193240c48bb.jpg

The next stretch led us to the Dorsland trekkers memorial, where we also had lunch and a bit of a rest.  By now the temperatures were high. 

5d3f44f4ea47c28dc4ecf138b16c4205.jpg

1d927612f6661ff4821cbe012ff91068.jpg

54deeae1e8373f70002b84278046780c.jpg

d5c57c42476ad76269d712993f0e804e.jpg

343b50fbdbd214ba83c80b71edd10e58.jpg

665c646f5932f7f33f11c1aaee97c316.jpg

771123a461485ec7c6b4c9236bf2252c.jpg

49f03a7bd3d5ad8169349d9ea368f62c.jpg

f9f26350bd412b36f4bf37702819b1c7.jpg

60b2a34510177fab9e72ab12237fab9a.jpg

f2f7f09dd51eab6dc5c70bddd5f2636f.jpg

5eaa24ee446a2590de5627f393de10ec.jpg

771b9aa2db65195fd021e9bacdc2140b.jpg

16adab3e91ea9d2b2f9ed0072d5021c5.jpg

5c4f22c78a32b8c9530ac174503cd987.jpg

f92c5aa8516ede6d2522ef069435e098.jpg

Dorsland Trek

Dorsland Trek (Thirstland Trek) is the collective name of a series of explorations undertaken by Boer settlers from South Africa towards the end of the 19th century and in the first years of the 20th century, in search of political independence and better living conditions. The participants, trekboere (migrating farmers) from the Orange Free State and Transvaal, are called Dorslandtrekkers or Angola-Boere

Political background and previous treks

After escaping the autocratic rule of the Dutch East India Company in the late 18th century, semi-nomadic settlers at the Cape Colony came into conflict both with the indigenous Xhosa tribes in the east and the British who had acquired the Cape as a result of the Napoleonic Wars. In 1836, the Boers set off on what became known as the Great Trek, establishing the Orange Free State and Transvaal as independent Boer republics.

There are two theories why the settlers would take off yet again to explore territory further north. One is that in the 1870s, Britain again began the process of annexing the Boer states;[3] the second theory claims that "[t]hey appeared compelled by a desire to trek," with no particular difficulty facing them at their current place.

Routes of the trek

The first group of the Dorsland Trek set out on 27 May 1874 under the leadership of Gert Alberts.  A number of different groups of farmers, taking different routes, followed the first group. They set off from the areas around Rustenburg, Groot Marico, and Pretoria.  The primary destination was the Humpata highlands of south-western Angola. On their journey, the settlers had to traverse through Bechuanaland and the vast, arid areas of the Kalahari desert, in what is today the countries of Namibia and Botswana.  It was the harsh and dry conditions that they experienced in the Kalahari that gave the trek the name Dorsland Trek which means "Thirstland Trek" in the Afrikaans language.  According to one witness, over 3000 trekkers died during the journey.  In 1881, sixty families totaling 300 people arrived in Humpata, and were given 200 hectares (490 acres) per family to farm on.

The settlers entered Angola by crossing the Cunene River at Swartbooisdrift. The Portuguese colonial authorities encouraged the Boers to settle on the Huíla Plateau at Humpata where the majority of them remained, while a number of families went further north, settling at different places on the Central Highlands. The various settlements formed one closed community that resisted integration. Also, the settlers' resistance to innovation brought many of them to impoverishment. As a result, in the late 1920s, some began migrating southwards into South-West Africa,[3] while some returned to their original places of origin.  They fled Angola on ox wagons, leaving behind many of their possessions.  The descendents of the Dorsland trekkers — not fully integrated into Portuguese Angolan society — left Angola in 1975, when the country became independent amid a civil war.

A number of farmers settled in the Otavi – Tsumeb – Grootfontein triangle and in the area around Gobabis. Some took a different route and crossed Kaokoland.  On their way southwards they discovered water at Tsauchab and named it Ses Riem, (Six Reins, after the long reins which were part of the ox waggon harness), which reflected the depth of the canyon.

Great Trek from Angola

Not long after the Boers first settled in Angola, problems arose. The Afrikaners taught the local Portuguese settlers cattle breeding and ox-cart driving, as well as superior marksmanship. The relationship between the Portuguese settlers and the Boers was quite cordial, and many Portuguese learned Afrikaans as well. The Portuguese authorities, however, did not approve of the Boers in Portuguese Angola and never granted them citizenship, did not allow them to have legal ownership of their farms, and did not allow them to open Afrikaans language schools. As early as the mid 1890s, the tensions between the colonial authorities and the Boer settlers was apparent, and was written about at the time by the Swedish explorer Peter Möller.

In 1928 many Boers decided to leave Angola and head south to South-West Africa (under South African jurisdiction), where settlement was easier and not impeded on by the Portuguese authorities. The repatriation was conducted by the South African government under J. B. M. Hertzog. From August 1928 to February 1929, 1,922 Boers were repatriated to South Africa. 420 trek certificates were issued to families, though only 373 families left Angola at the time. The final Boer families to return to South Africa under this repatriation left Angola in 1931.

After the Great Trek from Angola many Boers stayed in Angola, and the remaining Afrikaner community erected an obelisk monument in Humpata in July 1957 in honor of the Dorsland Trekkers. By 1958, 58 Boer families remaining in Angola, totaling 500 individuals.  These Boers remained in Angola until 1975, during the Angolan Civil War when they fled with many thousands of Portuguese refugees into South West Africa. Today, an unknown number of Boers live in Angola, as with the end of the civil war, many Portuguese and others have returned to the country.

a782eb952d0c2e60a93d66d27f7ea09f.jpg

We descended down to the Kunene and riding along this mighty river was nothing short of spectacular!  Our pace was slow to make sure we don’t miss any of what the beautiful landscape had to offer.  This day also saw the first sandy river crossings.  Some of these caught us off guard since we had no time to find our sand feet yet.  It made for good fun and camaraderie.  I'll see if I can upload the one or two clips I have to Youtube.

[youtube]https://youtu.be/N5RJCsr7SDM[/youtube]

[youtube]https://youtu.be/ZCy2enEGVOo[/youtube]

Somewhere along the river we lost site of the team behind us.  We stopped under a tree to wait for them.  Shortly thereafter one of the teams came into sight and told us there was a puncture and that we can go ahead.  We mounted our steeds and after a very short distance we stopped.  We felt very uncomfortable and decided to wait alongside the road for the team behind us.  We were responsible for them and that’s how it will be.  It wasn’t long before team 9 came back looking for us.  We all sat next to the Kunene and had a great time talking crap.  Scrat, Scalpel, Twister and I by now have become good friends.

Scalpel has a very good general knowledge and he gave us a rundown of the wine harvesting operation eluded to by charliepappa.  It is a process whereby the locals drive pegs into the trunk of the Makalani palm to scale the tree (which can tower up to 100 ft).  Once at the top, they hack the crown away from the stem.  This causes the tree to die and is where the white sap, which has risen up the hollowed trunk, is collected.  The naturally occurring yeasts cause the sap to turn alcoholic.

Team 1 eventually arrived after their puncture repair and we were all off again.  Shortly thereafter we met up with team 8 ($Tyres$ and charliepappa) where they were waiting.  Little did we know just how close we were to our overnight stay.  We all rode into Epupa together.

e6a1140d5905b5fe9b803db5e28dfadf.jpg

The Epupa Falls (also known as Monte Negro Falls in Angola) are created by the Kunene River on the border of Angola and Namibia, in the Kaokoland area of the Kunene Region. The river is 0.5 km wide and drops in a series of waterfalls spread over 1.5 km, with the greatest single drop being 37 m.  The name "Epupa" is a Herero word for "foam", in reference to the foam created by the falling water

So many things to tell about the evening, but a story for the other contestants.

Drinks after arrival:

75029f02dbd451a061ea8e7209f771c8.jpg

Bathing in the river:

2d0c1aa59ff274db3fa38039c77adf21.jpg

e5aedbd1a5e51b5a88a99e2363d94e97.jpg

And please do tell Kamanya:

6bbae7ce31647df193d4cece4f088127.jpg

Presentations were done:

Johannes Haasbroek - Kunene river

b3940b3096917b727213b262d0da9bb7.jpg

Clinton Pienaar - Okapi and Gerenuk

f2fa3088d96243838f8693ad6c55c44b.jpg

7451788b59f9efdf2eb9f8a0f9bcd062.jpg

If I'm not mistaken SP as well - Lord Derby Eland.  (Or was it the next evening?)

6d9d8ed693933b41f86e3093d40ac363.jpg

"Better to see something once than to hear about it a thousand times."