Our Story of the Honda Quest 2017

Hondsekierie said:
It was also interesting to read about team members 'even complaining' about KarooKid's treatment of Minxy - what was that about?  KarooKid was according to all reports an absolute gentleman and after reading his input in this RR, I just have so much more respect for him.  I think he would have picked up very early that she didn't need babysitting or preferential treatment.  Make no mistake, she still remains a woman who hasn't got the physical strength of a man or a **** which she can swing around a tree to relieve herself.  She's been riding as a guy / girl for ages with us and apart from me assisting a bit when it really gets tough (mostly where strength plays a role) she's never received preferential treatment as a girl. She also never wants it.  According to her the chirping and roasting which is referred to must have been the light banter, especially when they were referred to as the 'girl team'.  But who actually complained and why????

Unfortunately chivalry is dead.  The respect that Karookid showed her and acting as the true gentleman he is, could have easily be mistaken as babysitting.  I will be the first to admit that even I thought so in the beginning.  This perception however changed quickly as you get to know Charl and saw the spirit of their team.  I've  had the privilege to ride with Minxy after boot camp and knew her capability, which is very competent.  Not competent for a girl, very competent full stop.  Karookid and Minxy were a superb combination and any complaints were unwarranted.

"Not all girls are made of sugar and spice and everything nice.  Some girls are made of adventure, fine beer, brains and no fear."    That's our Minxy!

HSK
I was very impressed with Minxy and the way she conducted herself during the Quest. As you rightfully mentioned, although she never asked for any special treatment, being the only female contestant inevitably presented some unique challenges.  (Finding a mirror to apply makeup would be one). :)

Somehow she manages to be extremely tough without being “butch” if you know what I mean. The smile after each challenge was testament to how much she enjoys riding bike. You are truly privileged to have a partner that not only shares your passion, but is also an extremely competent rider

Minxy and Karookid made a very competitive team from my point of view and I was very impressed with both of them. I never heard anyone complain that they or she were receiving preferential treatment neither did I feel they received any. And yes Karookid is a true gentleman.  :thumleft:

I agree with what ktmkobus and twister said above. 

Minxy did not in my eyes recieve any preferencial treatment to any of the riders as I believe everyone viewed her as capable. ( and as Kobus said, capable full stop, as I said before minxy gave me some valuable hints about sand riding and there was only a handfull of guys that rode the riverbeds as well as she did, note , as well as, not necesarily better)

Karookid only showed  chivalry, in little things like making sure there is a tent pitched for her when most of us slept under the stars. This to me is just logic and just being a gentleman and I never thought about it twice . respect to karookid for that.

The comments directed at them for being the "girl team" was in good humour and jest and I dont think anyone meant it otherwise neither do I think either of them took it as anything other than good spirit. They surely were not a team that was looked down upon.

I saw no reason for complaints at all.

I have fallen behind a bit on my side of the report.  I will catch up during the day.

Theres also some other comments earlier in the thread that I will give my 2c on. 

This is an absolutely brilliant ride report, I'm loving the regular updates and reading how the team dynamics played out. Keep it coming  :thumleft:

This new Honda AT is also gaining more of my respect with each new page of this RR, their marketing aim is spot on, well done Honda  :thumleft:

As for Minxy... it just sounds to me that a few men felt a little threatened by the bike riding blonde bombshell... shame.

Kamanya said:
]

Also, we had a tailwind so that didn’t help much either. At the bottom of one of the hills, I had to strip off as far as I could. Water my buff and get it round my neck again. Gerrit had a few choice words to say about the scare I gave him.

Scary photo boet! I see that the Midge from MTP's merry gang of nutcases shares a similar "cooling off" method. Must be a Cape Town thing....!

• Desert_Ellies_2017-23_1.jpg
    Desert_Ellies_2017-23_1.jpg
    195 KB
I’ve fallen a bit behind on commenting but everyone else seems to be doing a fantastic job of capturing our experience
I’m just going to include 1 or 2 pics and sentiments leading up to and including the road to van Zyl’s camp

As others have already mentioned , it was hot... very hot ... and dusty, but it was a joy to be cruising along on dirt with not sighting of slab since we had left Windhoek. Amazing to me that so much interconnecting “highway” is dirt in Nam, and there seems to be plenty public land. This is something we don’t really see in and around Gauteng so I was pretty much awestruck

The AT’s (both DCT and Manual) just soaked up the km’s and absorbed the corrugations and the odd lurker like it was nothing. And that DCT on a dirt highway is just something else. You get used to the bike handling all the gear changing for you really quickly and I found myself stalling the manual quite a few times when slowing down for a stop. I was so busy looking around and enjoying myself that I clean forgot to change down and find neutral/engage clutch.

I was still finding my sand legs (a process that was to take some time as you will hear from future commentary) so had the opportunity to experience some of the dry river crossings... let’s just up-close and personal and pretty intimately. Lucky for me, my riding buddy was there to coach me
“Don’t over-think it boet” , “Take the straightest line” , ... and of course “When in doubt, throttle out boet”. Bliksem, Glenn damn-well sure knows how to do that last one

Mostly went OK and the offs I suffered were pretty minor and mostly due to looking down and rolling off the throttle

Spitzkoppe at dawn
8e5ab678d36853d113600f7fd7d858e3.jpg
0cd3d596c5cfcff2604e1f349a642cbb.jpg

The legend team we would follow over the next 2 weeks:
35098d0bdb36539d6695d6f4c307d183.jpg

d45318937ed06f1b8d728024b5060315.jpg

e757e6c0f1d958bcd76795c03b1b69af.jpg

ThrottleJockey having discovered the advantages of consuming 3 litres of liquid before breakfast, was feeling the downside
abd83cca8fafc115b3c0adb76794a844.jpg

4286d73854431816358f00aefb865f7a.jpg

2 okes who could really dos any place , any time were Marcel & Andrew. You can check Andrew catching a cat-nap under the tree here
0b29b17c70ec323d52b01b35a10514e5.jpg

6bb149ae37dd2107172b1426a1f1b824.jpg

Epupa – vanZyl’s camp was an incredible day of riding. We had all heard from Hardy that this was going to be one of the toughest days of riding and it definitely lived up to expectations. Plenty of the riding was over terrain I would kuk to take my old donkey KLR through, never mind a big litre adventure bike . I was on the DCT and super-impressed by how just the right gear seems to be available at just the right time. Balance and suspension really surprised me. There were many times I thought “there is no way this bike is getting up/down there” but she just did. Put a huge smile on my face
Unfortunately for me, only a couple of km’s outside of the camp, I lost it on a really simple river-bed crossing and found the only rock to fall on for miles. Also managed to fall in such a way that the rock found the gap between the back and front plate of my body armour and I felt something give under my right arm. Lucky for me there were 2 teams just behind who managed to untangle my leg from under the bike and get me back on my feet again. First thought I had once I could kind of breathe again was “Thnx God I’m not out here on my own” . It would have taken some serious effort to get out from under the bike and get the machine upright again on my pat. Second thought was “Jissis this is eina”
Anyway, swung a leg over and got going again only to see my gat about 500m down the road again. At this point Hardy came up to me and offered some sage advice . I was exhausted, and going to seriously injure myself (and probably the bike) if I tried to ride any further. Looking back, I was really grateful to be able to be driven the last few kays in to camp in the airconned comfort of the passenger seat in the medic bakkie

KarooKid said:

Grant took the time to recover from another hard day in the saddle.

986dd7a86f621752912f697b0a2f4853.jpg

This pic of me at  van Zyl's camp really says it all... I was poked.
Interestingly you remember the weirdest things when lying around trying to breathe and some devil is trying to insert a butchers blade between your 3rd and 4th rib .
From Johannes our resident nature fundy : The "miggies" that were doing their best to fly into and up every unattended orifice are in fact Marula "Bees" not flies or miggies . Dunno why I remember this in particular but that is exactly what comes to mind when I think about my nap under the trees :)
WTF they were after around me is anyone's guess because there was definitely nothing sweet about me by that stage of the game

Ahh, that stop.

We had lunch there and had to linger a little longer than what became usual as there was a puncture just a little further back.

0b29b17c70ec323d52b01b35a10514e5.jpg

You can see #1 giving a talk and all around are listening. That’s Johannes Haasbroek he runs an Elephant Conservation Trust and we’d stopped right in the middle of the area that he looks after. He was telling about the elephants that he’s responsible for and giving us some insight into the ways of the elephant and some history about the differences of desert elephants to others. He comes across as hugely knowledgeable, charming, humorous and slightly goofy and irreverent. He’s an excellent story teller with a very sharp mind attached to a similar tongue. So, he was having fun being in his world and having a really interested audience.

I’m the one lying down there. As he’d been talking, what piqued my interest was that it seemed that there was quite a bit tension around his job. He was really angry about something with most of the heat being directed at the occasional mention of politics. As everyone was being polite and no one else was going to go there, I piped up and asked, how has this effort of his been taken up by the locals who live in the areas. This was clearly very close to his heart, he hesitated for a moment and then said, “Oh, here it comes!”. I was a little confused by his response, but tried again, genuinely interested now not only in the answer but by the unusual response.

He started slowly, but warmed to the tale.  He’d managed to get the locals on-board and invested in the plight of the elephants and see them as their own, he was obviously very proud of this, but clearly this had taken a lot of hardship and no small amount of pain because of politics.

There is big foreign money that just loves coming in and taking out Elephants as trophy animals. The government are not helping him at all and on the contrary, they claim there are literally thousands of elephant, when in fact there are only 3 bulls and a few cows. He’s certain that there’s a ton of corrupt fingers in the pie. He personally once bought the licence for one of the bulls to save it. He has very trying and constant running battles with the Government and Wildlife officials in this regard. Whilst we were up there, he was in one edition on the front page of the national newspaper twice! Once for the Honda Quest thing and the other was about the Minister claiming that Johannes was lying about Elephant numbers.

I kept asking the how’s and why’s of the politics to get an understanding of how it all works and of course how he has handled it. Johannes is nothing if not intensely passionate and emotional about his chosen path, he’s literally known as the Elephant Man. Many years previously in another career, he had a vision of doing this work with elephants. In some ways, he claims they saved him from the path that he was on.

Here then was what was really at the heart of his anger; Though he’s put up an immense fight, it seems a bit hopeless because of the faceless greedy bureaucrats. The end result of which is that the desert elephants will go extinct under his watch. His life’s calling was being extinguished.

Anyway, he took my inquisitiveness at first with some reluctance but as I kept at it he became more and more upset. I don’t think he’s ever had the opportunity to vent to a group of these deeper issues and his emotion boiled over when I stated, “you’re clearly an excellent conservationist but a **** politician”. (by his own admission he had little time for the politics and even less for the politicians). This large heart he wears on his sleeve was his Achilles heel when dealing with political ego’s/

He had tears of rage behind his glasses when he turned and said something along the lines of “You can go **** off, you’re either with them or with me!”

I had pushed a bit too far. That sharp mind and tongue that loves a good banter hid a soft big heart.

I gently said back, “Johannes, I am undoubtedly with you on this and don’t for a second think I’m questioning your ethics. I am sorry to have made you think I was”

That was the end of that and almost at the same time, Jacko came over to tell us to saddle up. Johannes recovered quickly, but I wondered if I hadn’t done some irreparable damage to our relationship.

There had been a growing tension in the group quietly listening to all this and as we all ambled off to our bikes the peanut gallery was giving me stick. Clinton who always has a chirp available and is a super nice guy and by his own admission doesn’t like conflict said to the group about me, “**** it, I thought I wouldn’t have minded being paired with you, but now I’m glad I wasn’t!”. I think some had thought possibly that I was goading him or just being argumentative for the sake of it.

I brewed on that conversation for a while as we rode on, especially in the context of the competition. I was going to corner him at the next stop and make sure he was ok. But as the day wore on, there just wasn't an opportunity, so I had to leave it. I am certain that some who’d been party to the conversation saw me in a new light and not a good one either.

So, 2 days on I sort of got my chance, when Johannes was really struggling in the sand, I wasn’t sure that he’d be ok to have me get into his head a second time. Clearly this elephant doesn’t have as good a memory because he threw himself enthusiastically into the exercise we created to help him and he never fell again.

A rocky start, but we’re firm friends now, I look forward to seeing him again. He’s a good man.

Hondsekierie said:
Thanks guys for a brilliant read, your efforts in doing such a detailed RR is much appreciated. 

This is exactly the feedback one wants to read about as it gives you much more perspective on the whole event and the competitors individual struggles, achievements and ultimate triumphs.  I for one would never have been able to operate in a group like this but it gives me a lot of insight into the thought processes of the competitors that took part.  The competitors obviously had to make a lot of sacrifices to be able to cope in such a group for such an extended period of time.  All I can say is huge respect to you all  :thumleft:

It was also interesting to read about team members 'even complaining' about KarooKid's treatment of Minxy - what was that about?  KarooKid was according to all reports an absolute gentleman and after reading his input in this RR, I just have so much more respect for him.  I think he would have picked up very early that she didn't need babysitting or preferential treatment.  Make no mistake, she still remains a woman who hasn't got the physical strength of a man or a **** which she can swing around a tree to relieve herself.  She's been riding as a guy / girl for ages with us and apart from me assisting a bit when it really gets tough (mostly where strength plays a role) she's never received preferential treatment as a girl. She also never wants it.  According to her the chirping and roasting which is referred to must have been the light banter, especially when they were referred to as the 'girl team'.  But who actually complained and why????

Cannot wait for the next installment :ricky:

I am not sure whether I should be commenting on this but here it goes........

Damned if I do, damned if I don’t.

Like Hardy mentioned I had a choice to make on how to treat Minxy.

Make no mistake I love traveling on my own or with a few good friends and especially my brother and when I do I do not watch my language or behavior.

It would have been the easiest thing in the world to do on this trip and had I ended up with a different partner I might have behaved a little different.

But I have too much respect for Minxy to have behaved in any other way. As a matter of fact that statement applies to all woman. I try my best to be a gentleman around ladies.

From my point of view (and it is just that) I never treated her any different to what I would have any other teammate. Like Throttle Jockey helped his teammate, and Kamanya and..............

I hate tents and never sleep in one, but saw it as no extra effort to help Minx set up hers everyday. It gave her the privacy she needed and a place to hide from the Neanderthal walking around in their jocks.

Other than that I just carried bags, filled the backpacks with water and cleaned the bikes.

Maybe I was just so excited to be there that I never heard the complaints. What I did hear in my opinion was also chirping and banter. Something I do not mind at all. If you dish out you must take as well.

This was after all a competition and others might have tried to get the edge in whichever way they could.

Hindsight is a perfect science and I only did what I thought right. If that annoyed others then I apologize.

Anyway this report is not about what I did. It is about the experience of 20 contestants having the trip of a lifetime. Now let’s get back to that.

Today exactly a month ago I arrived back home. Not one day has passed without me longing to be back in Namibia with these people.

Thanks Charl (KarooKid), didn't think there was any explaining necessary as Minxy explained it exactly the same way.  Was just perplexed at the comment about people 'even complaining' - but let the show go on :ricky:

To the other guys commenting about the 'only girl', I know she really appreciates it and I'm absolutely stoked for having her in my life.

Cannot agree more with Buff's comments below, all of it  :biggrin: 

Buff said:
This is an absolutely brilliant ride report, I'm loving the regular updates and reading how the team dynamics played out. Keep it coming  :thumleft:

This new Honda AT is also gaining more of my respect with each new page of this RR, their marketing aim is spot on, well done Honda  :thumleft:

As for Minxy... it just sounds to me that a few men felt a little threatened by the bike riding blonde bombshell... shame.

Ok so none of the guys taking part, that I know are the types that would feel threatened...
And of what really?
This thread is starting to lose its lustre when great riders (all of them) are being analysed and categorised in this way.

I was just loking at the pictures and if there is one thing these pictures fail to do it is telling how hot it was.

For some reason with the kit and no visible sweat it looks bearable.

Truth be told it got really uncomfortable during the day.

Heimer said:
Ok so none of the guys taking part, that I know are the types that would feel threatened...
And of what really?
This thread is starting to lose its lustre when great riders (all of them) are being analysed and categorised in this way.

Yip...going off topic....back to the trip!  ;)

"There had been a growing tension in the group quietly listening to all this and as we all ambled off to our bikes the peanut gallery was giving me stick. Clinton who always has a chirp available and is a super nice guy and by his own admission doesn’t like conflict said to the group about me, “**** it, I thought I wouldn’t have minded being paired with you, but now I’m glad I wasn’t!”. I think some had thought possibly that I was goading him or just being argumentative for the sake of it."

- Andrew Johnstone (Kamanya)

Story of your life, is it not?

The thing is, I don't think Clinton or Johannes would have wanted Kamanya to be any different than the way he is. Super analytical and a sense of humour that I for one appreciate. Unfortunately, not everyone will grasp his true intentions immediately, and in most cases it won't be love at first sight. I will ride and travel with him every day of the week.

Up to this point the contestants were only exposed to short stints in the sand which were presented in the way of short dry riverbed crossings on our way to Otjihende and eventually Van Zyl's Pass. The long stretches of super sand was waiting on the other side of Van Zyl's Pass.
Van Zyl's pass was a sight to behold and I saw a few guys (crew included) who really got emotional as they were looking down on the Marienfluss from the VZP lookout point. I asked the group to assemble at the entrance to the step, to discuss the strategy of getting everyone through it safely.
It is intimidating to say the least and the vertically challenged contestants were going to need help. (No matter how good a rider you were)

They mastered the art of assisting each other the previous day and one could see that all of them understood that this was no time to be a hero. Failure in the descent could mean a broken engine casing which would have resulted in a complimentary spectator seat on the back of a Land Cruiser. a Seat not any of the riders wanted at this time.

All of the riders did it in a way that would have made anyone privileged enough to see this happening very proud.
The cars got through too and we were on our way. Unfortunately Van Zyl's Pass had other plans..
There must have been a flash flood of some sorts, because the road that is usually in reasonable condition (150 meters after the step) was so washed away and eroded that the riders were dropping like dominoes. I have done this route many times and I have never seen it in this condition. Again, everyone jumped in to assist and eventually we made it through.
I don't need to tell you the of the obvious joy I felt in knowing everyone made it through VZP safely.

22 riders
22 Africa Twins
1 Iveco
5 Land Cruisers
1 Nissan Patrol
2 Hilux's
12 Crew members
1 Very experienced miniature Yorkshire Terrier

All of the above - safely through and ready to tame the desert in front of us.

More later.

Day 6 - Van Zyl camp - Marble camp

[youtube]https://youtu.be/jGNRVr_AC1U[/youtube]

I'll do my bit of writing the moment I get some time.  :thumleft: