Overberg Fun run Thank you everyone

Hey Jeff.  How the ribs today?  :mwink:

jeff said:
hey fuzzy can u send me your e mail address

e-mail, murray@mediaalliance dot co dot za.. if you get hold of them ask if he has the GPS co-ords of the trail we did from Riviersonderend to Bot rivier, it was more lekker, I would do it again.

HEY fuzzy i am going to give your mail to allan he wants to send u pics the u can ask him co ordinates

Cool no problem

4th5.jpg

4th6.jpg

4th19.jpg

4th10.jpg

4th16.jpg

4th11.jpg

Some pics for the guys..

Middag almal,

Hoe werk volgende sondag se ryery?  Ek het nou al weer met 'n halwe oor geluister gister! 

Al wat ek kry om te lees is die lentefees op riebeekwes, en dit is  verby.... :patch:

Asseblief direct my in die regte rigting...!

Kokkus said:
Middag almal,

Hoe werk volgende sondag se ryery?  Ek het nou al weer met 'n halwe oor geluister gister! 

Al wat ek kry om te lees is die lentefees op riebeekwes, en dit is  verby.... :patch:

Asseblief direct my in die regte rigting...!
Volg die!!  :deal:

https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=74765.0

Hi

Ek skryf op Wallie se rekening.  Ek en Rykie is die eienaars van Khomeesdrif Karavaanpark. Ons wil net vir almal baie dankie sê wat ons Sondag besoek het. Baie dankie dat julle besluit het om hier saam met ons te kom kuier. 

Vir enige navrae oor saamtrekke en of kamp skakel ons by,  Rykie 0829370053 of Huis 0282611995. 

FB:          khomeesdrif

Groete Cansius Swart

Jis dit was omtrent 'n lekker event! Dannkie Wall-e vir die reëlings. Darem bly jy ry nie so wild bike soos wat jy met daai vliegmasjien operate nie.

Nou hoop ons net al die mense kom ry die Canola Run ook!

GJ said:
See Duiwel said:
Nie eers 1 wheelie fotie nie? :mad:

Was seker nie goed genoeg om af te neem nie?

Haai nooit my laanie , daai ka mossie wiesie , seker weer gesit slaap .  :laughing4:

Fenderbender said:
GJ said:
See Duiwel said:
Nie eers 1 wheelie fotie nie? :mad:

Was seker nie goed genoeg om af te neem nie?

Haai nooit my laanie , daai ka mossie wiesie , seker weer gesit slaap .  :laughing4:

Ons geld is op jou FB om Saterdag Gideon se wheelies te verbeter!

Hope you guys who like to ride in a bondel like train cars on a track enjoyed yourselves.  Really, I mean this, but listen a minute eh?

One look at the sheer size of this group had me decide on the role of tail-end-charlie , which was short lived , after watching stragglers trying to switch off their ABS, and poke buttons on their GPS,  rather than get on with riding, I decided I do not suffer herd mentality, and took off on my own. 

Large group rides are not for me, sorry manne , hope you had fun.

If you are new to this activity , you might like to consider waiting at a decision point, to ensure the guy or gal behind yer knows where they are going, which way the herd went. It's called consideration. It's simple, try it. For me, I like getting lost, which is sadly very difficult with the Langeberge to the North and the N2 to the south, on dirt highways. I guess if you are a GPS generation Dog , it is still possible to get lost. Damn , old fashioned navigation by sun and geology make this hard for old toppies!

Still , bikes are bikes and riders are riders,  and it's a helluva lot better to ride in a bondel than stay home and watch TV !!

I admit I am a spoilt brat, because I own a wilderness paradise all of my own in the Karoo, but my message is to noobie Dogs ... try ride in a small group one day, as opposed to in a Train, it magnifies the experience and appreciation of your surroundings , it makes you feel more vulnerable, and increases the adventure, it forces you to think and navigate and plot your timing, and stops, and range etc.

When you stop it is quiet, make time for bird song , the feel of the breeze, the open skies, the isolation. When you are not sucking on the dust of the guy in front of you, the horizons are bigger, grander, wider, and more scary , less tame. And a whole lot less like Rush Hour, the very thing you are trying to escape, surely ?

Put aside your GPS , your cellphone, your Facebook pic uploads, your motorcycle brand social conditioning , and the desperate need for approval on this website, and face the world either alone, or with a small handpicked group of friends. My Max is about 5.  2 is good, with 2 you don't even have to book ahead. With 2 you can lose track of days, and change you mind, and be flexible, according to weather, or how tough your saddle feels that day, or headwinds, or elephants in the road, or mud, or storms !

50+ riders arriving at the one petrol pump in a dorpie is just wrong on so many levels.  In the dry months leaving a 70km plume of dust is also wrong, ask the poor tannie trying to get to town in her bakkie , whose whole morning can be upset by a land-train of GS12's and KTM's and Transalps and KLR's carrying City Boys out to get their fix. It's rude. It's imposing. It's invasive to locals. It's also not so cool for the guys at the back, in mud conditions! It's traumatic to wildlife.

I know their are many who will take umbrage at what I am saying here, but I wish to put the seed in your brains .... large groups are not the only way to ride.

I invite you to ponder the alternative ! Ride in a bondel, sure , ride alone, or with one or two ... or five ... can be better , less social, more ride, more intense.

Deep in Kaokoveld I met a tiny Japanese girl , on her own, on a 250 Djebel. She had pink clothes pegs attached to her headlight grill. She has ridden from Tokyo. Through Siberia, Mongolia, China, Russia, through the Far and Middle East, through the whole of Africa. Her name is Yuki. There was no BBC , no movie, no ego, no book to follow, no hyped and oversold brand parasite on her back , and definitely no whining, and no celeb chasing , no quasi-do-gooder posing.

On my KTM 2000km from home, I felt lame, humbled, over the top, an amateur , in the light of this bold soul.

Yuki is in my mind, the adventure rider incarnate.

Veemax said:
Hope you guys who like to ride in a bondel like train cars on a track enjoyed yourselves.  Really, I mean this, but listen a minute eh?

One look at the sheer size of this group had me decide on the role of tail-end-charlie , which was short lived , after watching stragglers trying to switch off their ABS, and poke buttons on their GPS,  rather than get on with riding, I decided I do not suffer herd mentality, and took off on my own. 

Large group rides are not for me, sorry manne , hope you had fun.

If you are new to this activity , you might like to consider waiting at a decision point, to ensure the guy or gal behind yer knows where they are going, which way the herd went. It's called consideration. It's simple, try it. For me, I like getting lost, which is sadly very difficult with the Langeberge to the North and the N2 to the south, on dirt highways. I guess if you are a GPS generation Dog , it is still possible to get lost. Damn , old fashioned navigation by sun and geology make this hard for old toppies!

Still , bikes are bikes and riders are riders,  and it's a helluva lot better to ride in a bondel than stay home and watch TV !!

I admit I am a spoilt brat, because I own a wilderness paradise all of my own in the Karoo, but my message is to noobie Dogs ... try ride in a small group one day, as opposed to in a Train, it magnifies the experience and appreciation of your surroundings , it makes you feel more vulnerable, and increases the adventure, it forces you to think and navigate and plot your timing, and stops, and range etc.

When you stop it is quiet, make time for bird song , the feel of the breeze, the open skies, the isolation. When you are not sucking on the dust of the guy in front of you, the horizons are bigger, grander, wider, and more scary , less tame. And a whole lot less like Rush Hour, the very thing you are trying to escape, surely ?

Put aside your GPS , your cellphone, your Facebook pic uploads, your motorcycle brand social conditioning , and the desperate need for approval on this website, and face the world either alone, or with a small handpicked group of friends. My Max is about 5.  2 is good, with 2 you don't even have to book ahead. With 2 you can lose track of days, and change you mind, and be flexible, according to weather, or how tough your saddle feels that day, or headwinds, or elephants in the road, or mud, or storms !

50+ riders arriving at the one petrol pump in a dorpie is just wrong on so many levels.  In the dry months leaving a 70km plume of dust is also wrong, ask the poor tannie trying to get to town in her bakkie , whose whole morning can be upset by a land-train of GS12's and KTM's and Transalps and KLR's carrying City Boys out to get their fix. It's rude. It's imposing. It's invasive to locals. It's also not so cool for the guys at the back, in mud conditions! It's traumatic to wildlife.

I know their are many who will take umbrage at what I am saying here, but I wish to put the seed in your brains .... large groups are not the only way to ride.

I invite you to ponder the alternative ! Ride in a bondel, sure , ride alone, or with one or two ... or five ... can be better , less social, more ride, more intense.

Deep in Kaokoveld I met a tiny Japanese girl , on her own, on a 250 Djebel. She had pink clothes pegs attached to her headlight grill. She has ridden from Tokyo. Through Siberia, Mongolia, China, Russia, through the Far and Middle East, through the whole of Africa. Her name is Yuki. There was no BBC , no movie, no ego, no book to follow, no hyped and oversold brand parasite on her back , and definitely no whining, and no celeb chasing , no quasi-do-gooder posing.

On my KTM 2000km from home, I felt lame, humbled, over the top, an amateur , in the light of this bold soul.

Yuki is in my mind, the adventure rider incarnate.

Veemax, gelukkig is daar vir elkeen van ons 'n ou plekkie onder dieselfde son!

Voel vry om solo die mooie SA te verken, en laat diegene wat hou van die gevoel van kameraderie, om as 'n groep 'n avontuur aan te pak, hulle self geniet.

Die lewe het lone-riders nodig, net soos wat spanspelers onontbeerlik is! Viva die Bokke!

this is directed towards veemax . what did u actually think was going to happen on sunday . when u arrived at the garage in somerset west i imediatly noticed u cause u nearly rode in front of a car quite carelessly i might add ,u passed me on the bot river pass like a bat out of hell on your souped up made to look like a piece of shit new bike .and then condesendingly asked me and my mate if we got discount for buying the same bikes. maybe u should stick to riding alone and anyway what do u know about any of us. i have done a solo trip to mozabique and namibia i ride with a great group of guys all the time and a day out with a whole lot of like minded people is also great for the soul. so next time u want to write a letter ragging what other people do, think about it and mind your own f@$!... business

Veemax said:
Hope you guys who like to ride in a bondel like train cars on a track enjoyed yourselves. 

Judging by the comments and photos they did indeed enjoy themselves.

Live and let live  :thumleft:

jeff said:
this is directed towards veemax . what did u actually think was going to happen on sunday . when u arrived at the garage in somerset west i imediatly noticed u cause u nearly rode in front of a car quite carelessly i might add ,u passed me on the bot river pass like a bat out of hell on your souped up made to look like a piece of shit new bike .and then condesendingly asked me and my mate if we got discount for buying the same bikes. maybe u should stick to riding alone and anyway what do u know about any of us. i have done a solo trip to mozabique and namibia i ride with a great group of guys all the time and a day out with a whole lot of like minded people is also great for the soul. so next time u want to write a letter ragging what other people do, think about it and mind your own f@$!... business

Jy het my gevoel dalk nou net beter opgesom!