PE Wilddogs take on the Elands river valley - the abridged version

Watty

Suzuki Djebel 250XC
PE Wilddogs take on the Elands river valley
happy068.gif

Subject: WD Ride Report â?? an abridged version
Date: 07h00, Saturday 9 February 2008
Participants:  Capt Slow, Watty, Kampies, Paddler, Chuck U Farley, GreenMamba1974, SlowPoke, Crab, Carnivore (not listed in any particular order of importance).
Route:  Start - KFC Kabega Park, Port Elizabeth, along gravel road via Elands river valley to Patensie.  Return via Hankey, Geelhoutrivier, Loerie and N2 national road to PE.
Route gravel level: 3
Distances:  PE to Patensie â?? 116 km.  Patensie to PE via N2 â?? 92 km.  Total = 208 km
Weather: 18°.  Overcast with intermittent light rain in mountains. 70% cloud coverage at major pit stop. Easterly gale force wind on N2 @ 90 kph.
Pit stops:  Major = Tolbos County Shop, Patensie.  Secondary = Sand River dam, highest elevation point (33° 38â?? 50.6â? S  24° 47â?? 59.6â? E,  807m), or whenever nature called.
Smallest bike:  Suzuki Djebel 250XC
Biggest bike:  KTM 990 Adv
Ugliest bike:  Kawasaki KLR 650 (3 times)
Prettiest bike:  Triumph 955 Tiger
Fastest bike:  The one in front.
Slowest bike:  The one riding as sweeper.
Virgin bike: Two â??first time on gravelâ?? bikes = KTM 990 Adv and Suzuki DL650 V-Storm
Highest speeds achieved: Tar = 161 kph.  Gravel = 93 kph.
Slowest speed achieved: Parked outside Tolbos.
Most contented moment:  When the first gravel was encountered.
Most terrifying moment:  When the â??mud monsterâ?? started to rear its head @ 08H43 and back wheels started sliding sideways in the mountain sections.
Most enjoyable ride section: The more technical conditions going downhill from the highest elevation point.
Most boring ride section:  The tar roads from Kabega Park to Rocklands.
Number of cages encounter:  Gravel sections = 2.  Tar sections = who cares.
Interesting observations:  Old dilapidated buildings dating from 1800â??s at Sand river dam.
Most pleasing experience:  Observing the enthusiasm and quick adaption of the rookie riders to the scenario of gravel.
Most amusing moment:  The encountering with 4 BMW riders (not WDâ??s) riding 3 identical 1200GSAâ??s (the only noticeable difference were the number plates) and a F650GS Dakar, and each rider dressed in identical BMW gear, from helmet to boots â?? carbon copies of each other.
Biggest personal concern:  Riders were to far strung out at times (with respect to safety issues).
Regrets:  No action photographs taken on slippery and technical sections.
Ride rating:  8/10.  Enjoyable and definitely worth a repeat.

Photos of ride in chronological sequence:

• 9_Feb_07_B.jpg
    9_Feb_07_B.jpg
    133.4 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_C.jpg
    9_Feb_07_C.jpg
    87.8 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_D.jpg
    9_Feb_07_D.jpg
    65.3 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_E.jpg
    9_Feb_07_E.jpg
    64.5 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_A.jpg
    9_Feb_07_A.jpg
    72.6 KB
More photos:  irregular pit stop, checking in with SWMBO.  Adding to the mud problem.  Just under the cloud cover.

• 9_Feb_07_F.jpg
    9_Feb_07_F.jpg
    60 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_G.jpg
    9_Feb_07_G.jpg
    75.5 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_H.jpg
    9_Feb_07_H.jpg
    115.9 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_I.jpg
    9_Feb_07_I.jpg
    50.6 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_J.jpg
    9_Feb_07_J.jpg
    44.7 KB
More photos:  at the highest elevation point.  BMW triplets.  Parking problems at Tolbos

• 9_Feb_07_K.jpg
    9_Feb_07_K.jpg
    87.8 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_N.jpg
    9_Feb_07_N.jpg
    121.4 KB
  • 9_Feb_07_L.jpg
    9_Feb_07_L.jpg
    70.7 KB
Those BMW Triplets + 1 Dakar are the guys I've met whilst trying to catchup with you guys but turned around. :-\

Looks like a lekker ride, those okes look like they stepped out of the Motorad catalogue. Unfortunatley I was actually busy with house shit and not woolies as my esteemed tjommie would like everyone to believe, if it's any consolation I did sulk the rest of the day. Next time!

As a newbie to WD and WD rides I must make a few comments. I enjoyed the ride a lot. I am very hesitant on the slippery stuff and there was a few k's where the mud was like riding on soaped up liquid snot - very slippery. Thanks to the guys that were willing to hang back and go slow with me on that stretch.

Then as the new kid, I did not feel like a complete outsider. Although when the guys started ragging the BM's I got worried. So I drove through some heavy puddles to hide the fact I am also on a three letter bike. (took me ages to strip and clean it afterwards though...)

These bunch o' blokes are a good crowd to have a ride with and I will definately join them again... that is if they can handle a slowpoke tagging along somewhere towards the back...

SlowPoke said:
As a newbie to WD and WD rides I must make a few comments. I enjoyed the ride a lot. I am very hesitant on the slippery stuff and there was a few k's where the mud was like riding on soaped up liquid snot - very slippery. Thanks to the guys that were willing to hang back and go slow with me on that stretch.

Then as the new kid, I did not feel like a complete outsider. Although when the guys started ragging the BM's I got worried. So I drove through some heavy puddles to hide the fact I am also on a three letter bike. (took me ages to strip and clean it afterwards though...)

These bunch o' blokes are a good crowd to have a ride with and I will definately join them again... that is if they can handle a slowpoke tagging along somewhere towards the back...

Nee man jy was nie so stadig nie ;)

Ja thanks ouens. Die ride was flippen lekker gewees. Ons sal weer so iets moet doen!!

......thanks Captain Slow for organising & Watty for for photography! Nice meeting the rest you PE WD's!
Unfortunately I forgot my camera at home, but here's some pics from the cell phone....

• 09022008.jpg
    09022008.jpg
    55.6 KB
  • 09022008(001).jpg
    09022008(001).jpg
    46.5 KB
  • 09022008(002).jpg
    09022008(002).jpg
    49 KB
  • 09022008(004).jpg
    09022008(004).jpg
    44.9 KB
  • 09022008(005).jpg
    09022008(005).jpg
    49.2 KB
....& some more.......

• 09022008(006).jpg
    09022008(006).jpg
    58.5 KB
  • 09022008(008).jpg
    09022008(008).jpg
    41.2 KB
CHUCK U FARLEY, met sulke kwaliteit selfoon pics het jy nie n n kamera nodig nie. ;)

LOL.. ja,ja. Jy moes my gewaarsku het! Dan het ek sommer n stoppie gedoen!  ...... of ek wens! ;D ;D

We started the day at the KFC next to old Cape Road. I was surprised by the amount of riders that turned up. Was pretty cloudy that day and it looked like rain.

From left to right:  Crab, Captain Slow, Mamba, Watty, Chuck O Farley, Kampies, Slow Poke and Paddler. Carnivore holding the camera.

1.jpg

Resting at Sandriver dam on the Elands river road.

2.jpg

Carnivore on top of the mountain.

3.jpg

Chuck O Farley explaining why KTM is better ;)

4.jpg

Have brunch in Patensie at Tolbos. I smaaked the waitress.

5.jpg

Captain Slow thinking ja julle ouens praat nou lekker k*k.

6.jpg

Donâ??t know what the hell Kampies were thinking aboutâ?¦ must be that triple ;)

7.jpg

Watty explaining why small bikes with road tyres are better. ;)

8.jpg

Mamba thinking: â??WTF!!â?

9.jpg

Paddler checking out the menueâ?¦. Thinking I better stay out of this.

10.jpg

Chuck O Farley: â??Nee hel dit kannie wesieâ?, Crab: â??Huhâ?, Watty: â??Werklikâ?

11.jpg

After brunch at Tolbos me and Mamba decided we should continue our ride into the Baviaans. I mean you canâ??t ride till 10km from the gate and then turn around. This was the first time I went into the Baviaans and all I can say is â??Jislaaik Baviaans ROCKS!!!â? Wanna go back as soon as possible for a one nighter.

12.jpg

13.jpg

On top of the Mountain at Berg Plaas. We turned around at this point.

14.jpg

Nice view from Berg Plaas.

15.jpg

We rode down through Van Stadens pass. Its nice if you go by bike.

16.jpg

We ended the day at Out of Africa with a beer.

17.jpg

320km covered for the day. Not bad. It was one of the best gravel rides Iâ??ve done so far.

Thanks for the photos Carnivore.

CAPTAIN SLOW said:

WTF!  What road tyres?  Here is the official info re the tekkies on my scoot, and btw, I had no hassles with both the mud monster or the loose pebbly stuff on the mountain sections!  :mad:

• BW.jpg
    BW.jpg
    95.2 KB
Watty said:
CAPTAIN SLOW said:

WTF!  What road tyres?  Here is the official info re the tekkies on my scoot, and btw, I had no hassles with both the mud monster or the easy movable rocks on the mountain sections!  :mad:

Lyk vir my nog steeds soos pad tyres ;D