Quarry: 12 June BIG ride

MildDog

Suzuki DR-Z 400
So I arrived at 8.50 and was greeted by about 10 bikes. I think in total there were 13 or 14 of us on the ride today. There was a DT125 and two GS1200s, so a whole mix of bike and riders.
All round it was a great ride (I think?). I certainly missed the steady hand of Crossed-up to lead us around. We did more sandy and techical stuff than I'd intended, and did one or two of the tight windy tracks. I took a few wrong turns and led us down some fairly technical stuff. Everyone faired well though :)

Bikerchick did AMAZINGLY well getting her GS off the ground on her first sandy hill climb.

Desert dueler had the coolest fall i've ever seen, and I had one or two as well, to honour dakarboy!

Thanks guys, great ride.

Post pics!!!

Here are some pics taken from my cellphone, I am struggling to download the pics from my camera.  :lamer:
As soon as I have them, I shall post.

THANK YOU SOOOOOOOOOOO much for and awesome day. Thanks for all the "babysitting" and advice... :thumleft:

• IMG-20110612-00222.jpg
    IMG-20110612-00222.jpg
    55 KB
  • IMG-20110612-00223.jpg
    IMG-20110612-00223.jpg
    63.1 KB
  • IMG-20110612-00226.jpg
    IMG-20110612-00226.jpg
    76.1 KB
  • IMG-20110612-00237.jpg
    IMG-20110612-00237.jpg
    84.1 KB
  • IMG-20110612-00214.jpg
    IMG-20110612-00214.jpg
    77 KB
I'm stuck in China for a couple of months. Now that I've discovered the WD's, I can't wait to get back to CT so that I can join you guys for some of these outings of yours. Looks flipping awesome.

shot guys. was very awesome. Milddog, thanks for the tour bru.

i only got 1 pic of my bike in the ditch after flying off the handle bars, and then another pic of some else being sensible and going through it.

Thursday? any one?

• stuck in a rut.jpg
    stuck in a rut.jpg
    265.6 KB
  • rather through than into.jpg
    rather through than into.jpg
    214.3 KB
I've been thinking of opening up that ditch - seems like you've done all the hard work for me.  :imaposer:

Dankie manne , dit was baie lekker gewees  :ricky:

Ball and Chain said:
I only see pics of a dirty pig :mwink:

That dirty pig is mine and she looks pretty , dressed in mud  :imaposer:

desert dueler said:
shot guys. was very awesome. Milddog, thanks for the tour bru.

i only got 1 pic of my bike in the ditch after flying off the handle bars, and then another pic of some else being sensible and going through it.

Thursday? any one?
That is probably the biggest rut I have ever seen in my life!! I'm still doubting that bike made it through that rut......(it's not a rut, more of and ex water feature  :laughing4: )

As promised...Please see the rest of the pics below.

On our way out I (accidentally) went through the mud puddle and ja, needless to say...OUCH!
However, it was great fun, thanks to all.

I will get some more practice and exercise and join again in the near future. Wanneer ander mense nie my bike vir my uit sand hoef te ry nie.  :-[

• IMG_2520.JPG
    IMG_2520.JPG
    85.4 KB
  • IMG_2526.JPG
    IMG_2526.JPG
    31.3 KB
  • IMG_2525.JPG
    IMG_2525.JPG
    49.1 KB
  • IMG_2524.JPG
    IMG_2524.JPG
    46.6 KB
  • IMG_2523.JPG
    IMG_2523.JPG
    66 KB
  • IMG_2519.JPG
    IMG_2519.JPG
    90 KB
  • IMG_2518.JPG
    IMG_2518.JPG
    91 KB
Speel speel speel  :ricky:

• IMG_2530.JPG
    IMG_2530.JPG
    64.9 KB
  • IMG_2536.JPG
    IMG_2536.JPG
    87.8 KB
  • IMG_2535.JPG
    IMG_2535.JPG
    87.8 KB
  • IMG_2534.JPG
    IMG_2534.JPG
    52.9 KB
  • IMG_2533.JPG
    IMG_2533.JPG
    72.4 KB
  • IMG_2532.JPG
    IMG_2532.JPG
    69.1 KB
  • IMG_2529.JPG
    IMG_2529.JPG
    67 KB
  • IMG_2528.JPG
    IMG_2528.JPG
    54.7 KB
Nog speel...

• IMG_2538.JPG
    IMG_2538.JPG
    60.1 KB
  • IMG_2539.JPG
    IMG_2539.JPG
    55 KB
  • IMG_2541.JPG
    IMG_2541.JPG
    63.4 KB
  • IMG_2542.JPG
    IMG_2542.JPG
    62.6 KB
  • IMG_2546.JPG
    IMG_2546.JPG
    77.3 KB
  • IMG_2548.JPG
    IMG_2548.JPG
    48.2 KB
My fiets was nog nooit so vuil nie.  :biggrin:

• IMG_2555.JPG
    IMG_2555.JPG
    59.5 KB
  • IMG_2556.JPG
    IMG_2556.JPG
    67.5 KB
  • IMG_2561.JPG
    IMG_2561.JPG
    79.5 KB
  • IMG_2570.JPG
    IMG_2570.JPG
    81.4 KB
Biker Chick, if you did the quarry OK with those tyres you're a far better rider than you give yourself credit for.   O0

Oh, and if you wait to become more competent before trying the quarry again, I don't know when that will happen, because the quarry is a fantastic training ground.  They don't come much better.

Brace yourself and go straight back! (but get some tyres with a bit of grip)

Shaking like a leaf while going down what felt like Table Mountain!! Adrenalin rush of note!

• IMG_2527.JPG
    IMG_2527.JPG
    50.5 KB
Crossed-up said:
Biker Chick, if you did the quarry OK with those tyres you're a far better rider than you give yourself credit for.   O0

Oh, and if you wait to become more competent before trying the quarry again, I don't know when that will happen, because the quarry is a fantastic training ground.  They don't come much better.

Brace yourself and go straight back! (but get some tyres with a bit of grip)

Thank you Crossed-Up. I only fell twice really. The mud took me away and I am still struggling to turn on "gravel", I need to learn to turn the handle bars, because the 1st fall was in the bushes.  :-[
I also think my tyres might have been too soft, it made me feel a bit uncomfortable. But i guess i need to get used to the feeling and as you say, rather go out there more often.

The other "problem" was the sand, I forgot that I have traction controll on my bike, and never switched it off until right at the end!! Duh  :xxbah: