Riding Uganda part 2

Whethefakawe

KTM 950 Adventure S
My most recent trip To Uganda was a 3 week affair the first part of February. I'd been climbing the walls for a while and it was an excellent escape from the rock and the hard place I'm between for a little while longer. Things had changed dramatically. Paddy and his girlfriend Lynn, an extremely clued-in and capable woman from old Rhodesia, had started a drilling business with $2500 they leveraged into several hundred thousand. After an incredibly stressful first year or so things took off, and today they run a highly regarded drilling and construction business in northern Uganda. They earned their reputation by getting the job done in what was till last December or so a very dangerous war zone, thanks to a certain Joseph Kony. And by making it known to all that they don't give or take bribes, even if it costs them business.

This Kony character is a wannabe crusader whose rag-tag bunch of criminals, the "Lord's Resistance Army", LRA for short, has been killing indiscriminately in the north for 20 years or so. They supposedly want to install a government that will run the country according to the Ten Commandments, but somewhere along the way ole Joe got the Bible and Mein Kampf mixed up. They have committed the most horrific atrocities for two decades. Mass rape and shootings are the mildest items on their murderous agenda. Cutting off noses and lips, chopping off hands and feet, burning families alive in huts is how they make people come to Jesus.

But the tide has turned, and Joseph Kony's clock is ticking louder every day. He moved his pack of hyenas across the border into southern Sudan and is now trying to "negotiate" his return to Uganda with a full pardon. The government of president Museveni, or M7 as they call him, is refusing to negotiate and wants to put Kony and his cronies on trial for war crimes. Rumour in the bush has it that he won't make it to a trial, he has a big bullseye on his forehead.

Enough history lesson. Just wanted to fill in the background for the story I'm about to unfold.

There are basically 2 ways to get to Uganda from far away: through Joburg or through London. I flew British Airways straight from Phoenix to Heathrow, a very convenient 8 hour 25 minute nap. I love wandering around Heathrow in the 4 hours before getting on the Joburg flight. There are bookstores with excellent selections of history books, good restaurants and pubs, and excellent people watching. Birdwatching, to be specific. You see some very fine specimens of the Booby and Trasher families flitting about. Vodacom had a display in one area, I must have spent 20 slack-jawed minutes circling this:

The 2007 McLaren MP44, which has won 5 of the 10 GP's so far this year in the hands of Alonso and Hamilton. I was stunned. I saw my first F1 GP at Kyalami in 1972, and every one till 1979. The last actual GP I watched was in 1982, when I was on leave from Ovamboland. This is a completely different kettle of fish. The technology is unbelievable. The thing weighs 600 kilos and puts out over 800 horsepower at 19000 rpm. I've driven a racing kart and can only imagine what a ride this must be.  :eek: :eek: :eek:

But I digress. I went on to Joburg, and spent a week at my dad's. This time I flew up on SAA, a nice flight of 4 1/2 hours. Hopefully I won't be saying the same about SAA as I did about East African Eagle Airlines in part 1.

SAA airbus 319 after arrival at Entebbe airport:

Paddy and Lynn were late, so I parked myself at the familiar bar and had a Tusker, a Tusker, and a Tusker. We went straight to one of the hot ex-pat hangouts in Kampala, an Irish Pub called "Bubbles O'Leary's". Bubbles was a man, I want to say the original owner but maybe that's quoting Sir Guinness. Bubbles has a fascinating history behind it. I forget where in Ireland the pub was located, but it was demolished a few years ago. An Irish oke named Declin, whom we hung out with a lot, bought the furnishings and had it shipped to Uganda.  By furnishings I mean every plank, beer mug, table, barstool, sign, light and floor tile. Apparently it's identical to the original, down to the worn floorboards. A very cool place. The only negative is that the nightfighters start pulling in around 7. Hookers, for you choirboys out there. They take up space and sip one lite beer for 5 hours. We brought it up to Declin but he's between a rock and a hard place on the issue. It's fun to watch them circlie and dive in for the kill, I must admit. The willing targets are mostly eurotrash and smellies.
Bubbles from outside:

Bubbles on the inside:

A good place, not to be missed.

Public transportation in third world countries fascinate me. Indonesia has tuk-tuks, Kenya has matatu's, SA has a bunch of bloody maniacs, and Uganda has boda-boda's. Scooters like Honda Benly's all over the place. They are very efficient, and despite their kamikaze style, surprisingly safe. Lynn had to leave for a doctor's appointment while we were at Bubbles one day and knew better than to try and get Paddy and me to leave, so she went by boda:

The other ex-pat joint we frequent is "Just Kicking", a sports bar that serves good food and rugby and cricket matches on big-screen TV's. Another thing in Uganda that amuses and intrigues me is the way they use the english language. It's in a naive, direct sort of way which is a delightful change from the "buzzwords" and "catch phrases" of the commercialised generic shopping mall culture I'm caught in for now.
The signs at JK tell it the way it is:

I met another one of Paddy and Lynn's ex-Rhodie connections, an oke named Ox, supposedly because he calls everybody "ox". Rumour and his T-shirt have it different. TMI, I'll believe it's because of his mode of address.

Traffic in Kampala is, like every other big city in Africa or the world, a joke. Throw in broken robots and "Suggestions for road and pavement use" instead of rules of the road, and it gets chaotic at rush hour:

This Landy was from some or other gayme lodge, my guess was the one where no women are allowed:

Kampala city centre. Note the Maribu storks nesting in the tree, and the name on the back window of the matatu. Most taxi's in Kampala have names, in Kenya it's taken to extremes.

The view from Paddy's house in Kampala, looking south towards Lake Vic, Entebbe is 30 k's beyond the hills:

They just moved to northern Uganda lock, stock and two smoking barrels. The house was becoming an unneccessary expense cause they were spending maybe 3 days a month in it.

Not far from the house is a "club", which means you have to pay a "membership" fee even if just for the day, to enter. The fee is much more than poor locals can afford so it's a way to keep the masses out. It's discriminatory, albeit economic in nature. C'est la vie. It's five star quality, so all the embassy wives and various other parasites flock there. I wasn't too impressed by the loudmouth american woman with her 5 yard apes close by saying nothing at full volume all afternoon. But hey, she's "on safari" so the adrenaline must have been pumping. Can't say that I was surprised.

Paddy had taken the two little Yamahas to his Italian connections Paolo and Christian. They run a workshop in Kampala, nice okes, but have yet to learn that supervision, nay micromanagement, is required in such endeavours in Africa. The bikes came out as screwed up as they went in. Only difference was, the mechanical problems had migrated from a dirty carb and flat tyres to a stripped rear axle and rock-solid front brake lever on one bike. I was laughing my arse off, and Paddy was not happy:

But I suspect that the Landy 109 behind him, and another one outside, both of which are his and had been at the shop for 8 months with the same results as the bikes, may have had something to do with it. ;D :mad:

Personally, I thought Paolo and Christian were too diversified. Usually that's a good thing in business, but a car, bike, boat, truck, and bulldozer workshop all in one might be a bit much. Especially if you hang out in pubs all day and have girlfriend problems that force you to delegate your business concerns. ;D
The boatyard:

OK, enough for now, the trip up north and the ride next.

Having tech difficulty again. Imageshack isn't working at all, will try again later.

Seems my photos were over 1.5 mb. now have them down to less than that so here's a test again

OK

Preparations for the trip north to Kitgum took a few days. Truck parts, a pool pump, pool paint, and other supplies had to be picked up, so I rode along in the Mog taking photos like a Japanese tourist and cracking at the names of businesses and signs advertising anything from condoms to Ethiopian Airlines' new Boeing 787's, coming in 2009.

I wrote down many names and slogans.

Musmu's Boutique
Sells only the latest fashions for the modern suburban professional.

Need some woodwork done?
                                    Glory To God
                              Carpentry and Joiners
is just an MTN call away.

Health problems?
                                  Uncle Samu's Clinic
will have you kicking again in no time.

On holidays or maybe a romantic honeymoon? Stay at
                                  Hotel Shiv
Just watch yer back.

If you're a business traveller, maybe
                                Shine Hotel With Conf. Facilities
will be more convenient.

Ladies! Feel a little ugly today? Pop into
                                Jennies Beauty Spot

The lovely beauticians who will make you pretty again know that
                            When You Have A Choice
                            Sleeping Baby Cosmetics
                                Is The Right Choice

Or, if yer fat arse is beyond help already,
                            Big Size Fair Price
                          Musana Dress Shop
is open to assist you, please stop by.

A sign along the highway passing the country club, note the top line just below "warning"
GOLFBALLS CAN KILL

The oke in the muumuu thought I was taking his photo and gave me a filthy look.

Scaffolding at a construction site:

That may be why the project is a bit behind schedule. Check the completion date at bottom left:

Glassworks, important to notice that "Dice also available"

The people in Kampala, and in the countryside, are very industrious. Small business, what's known as the "informal sector" in SA, is by far the biggest employer. Here is a broom factory on the outskirts of Kampala:

Different industries group together in different areas. For instance, you see all the  metalworking shops along one stretch of road, then the artists in another, and furniture makers at yet another:

There are also car parts areas, ornamental concrete garden fixtures, and of course the shade-tree mechanics. The merchandise stays out all day and night. We drove by the furniture makers in blazing sunshine, in the rain, at 2 am on the way home from Bubbles, and the stuff didn't move. Amazing. Theft is not tolerated. People keep an eye out for each other, and if someone is caught stealing he/she can count on getting the snot beaten out of them, or even shot.

The police are friendly and not aggressive, but don't get in the way of a high-speed chase. ;D Paddy told me about a chase involving a bunch of bank robbers in January in which 17 people died.  6 were the criminals, the rest were in the wrong place at the wrong time. The chase ended not far from their house, the police burned up AK barrels  like they were fighting the LRA.

The bikes were finally ready, or close enough to it. We picked them up from Paolo and Christian's workshop with many hands making light work:

The massive piece of wood went with, Paddy picked it up somewhere along the road and it will eventually be the bar counter in Kitgum. More on that later.

On the way out of Kampala at 0800, we had to negotiate "goatf*ck junction"on Bombo Road. It usually takes an hour to get through but we were lucky. The Queen of England is visiting sometime this year (for the Commonwealth conference or something)
so the roads are being upgraded and police regulate traffic at trouble spots. We only sat motionless for 10 minutes, but we were going against traffic too, a flood of taxi's and boda-boda's were headed into town.

The road north is bad for the first 50 k's, full of potholes and broken edges, so progress was slow. That does not prevent the large buses that run between Kampala and the towns in the north from flying down the road at 140 or more. Every time we saw one coming Paddy pulled the Mog off the road and waited for it to go thundering by, swaying wildly as the wheels went off the broken edges. The buses all had names, considering the way they drive, the one named "Jesus" was probably the only one you'd want to be in.
Some other bus names that came flying by: Baby Giant, White Dove, White Bull, Gateway (to what??hell?), Pamba, GaaGaa, Nile Coach and Baby Face.

Those bloody buses are the second most dangerous thing in Uganda after the LRA from what I saw.

Along the road, two hours out of Kampala:

The first half of the roughly 400 km trip is through lush tropical bush, with palm trees and mango trees all over.  We saw several accidents, one big truck was on its side off the road, obviously shortly before we got there. If you see tree branches in the road, it means the same as a triangle or a chevron sign. It warns of a broken down vehicle or roadworks. Or a truck that's getting a valve job on the road to Gulu.  ;D

About 2 hours out of Kampala is the Masindi turnoff. That's the road we took to Butiaba in 2003. We had plenty of cold beer in the Mog, but no food. Luckily you can buy vittles at the junction. your choices are
                              "Goat on a Stick"
or                      "In Your Face Chicken".
We went with GOAS, hot off the fire. It was damn good washed down with cold beer.

Must go sleep now, may have to get up at 0400 and go graft.

Dunno what went wrong, here is goatf**k junction again. Reminded me of William Nicol in 4 Ways. It's the same scenario as in Joburg - the population, and the number of vehicles, has exploded, and the infrastructure has not kept up. There is also no way to expand these roads through built-up areas, so until oil runs out I suppose it will be a mess.

Well obviously something screwy is going on.

Despite the maniac buses, once out of Kampala the road is relatively safe. Traffic consists mostly of buses, trucks, official vehicles of some kind including the bastard NGO's, and some private cars. Unlike most parts of Africa, including areas in SA, there are few animals along the roads. The main road north is mosty through bush, and since the wildlife is still recovering from years of intense poaching there's not much to see. Even birds, of which Uganda has over 1000 recorded species, are few and far between especially in the north.  Motorcycles, prolific in towns and the city, are mostly scooter or chemist cowboy types. I didn't see ONE big bike. Overall, the impression I got is that Uganda is a much safer place to ride a bike than SA or especially Kenya, where traffic is insane.

But - you're in Africa, so you still see this:

A "tickey box" in a small village along the way:

This one sells phone cards and air time. There are literally hundreds if not thousands of these all over the place.

I don't know if it was an extreme form of the little roadside shrines for people who died in accidents, but this is one of the few landmarks along the way:

The body was carved from one big piece of wood, quite impressive. Uganda is 2/3 Christian, and you see religious symbols and references all over. It does not seem as phony as the bumper stickers and fish symbols on cars in America for some reason. Probably because they lived in a hell created by Amin, Obote and Kony till recently.

The next sight worthy of a stop is Karuma Falls, where the road crosses the Nile River. Besides Murchison, these are the biggest on the mighty river. Not very spectacular, but what makes the river unique is the sheer volume of water flowing past at a good rate of knots.  This spot is about 70 k's upstream from Murchison Falls.

Keep Uganda green.

The tar road ends at Gulu, which is 3/4 of the way to our destination of Kitgum. Gulu is the biggest town in the north, and it is the administration centre and supply base for the war against the LRA. It's a busy town, note the boda's at left:

A road sign in Gulu:

We ate lunch at Boma Health Club, a hotel and restaurant despite the name, owned by a cabinet minister, The Honourable Hillary. If we had more time we could have had a braai beside the road, courtesy of
                                  Gulu Meat Shop
                  Constant Service & Accurate Measuring Scale

Any other supplies can be purchased from
                              Health Is Wealth
                              Gen. Enterprises

North of Gulu the countryside changes significantly. It's dryer, more open and starts to look like the war zone it was/is the further north you go. The first indication is the NGO and UN vehicles and facilities in Gulu. At one UNICEF fenced-in tent along the road, several amputees sat around or moved slowly on crutches, legs and arms truncated. Half were children.

The war against the LRA supposedly ended around November. To protect people in rural areas, the government moved them off their lands and out of the villages into IDP, or "Internally Displaced Person" camps along the main road. These camps, some of which house 15 and 20 thousand people in abject poverty, are typically next to army bases. In the 100 k's between Gulu and Kitgum I counted 10 camps, and about the same number of small army bases consisting of small rondavel huts dug in to roof level. Army patrols were very visible, I counted more than 10 of 5 to 7 men each patrolling the road. They wear green uniforms and gumboots, and carry AK's and the occasional RPD. I don't jump as much anymore when I run into okes in camo uniforms carrying AK's, but I have noticed that my attention immediately focuses on them. Old habits die hard, apparently.  In 1995, when I worked in former Soviet, now the Republic of Georgia, I walked around a corner and literally bumped into a BDR and an oke sitting next to it in camo, AK on his lap one day. I about shat myself, and ducked big time. My UN friend Paul, a Brit, laughed his arse off at me. He didn't quite get it, but it was funny afterwards.  ;D

About halfway between Gulu and Kitgum the road crosses the Aswa river. It was the LRA's main infiltration route, and from here on you are very obviously in a war zone.  We saw the first of many NGO Land Cruisers flying down the road, they occupy most of it and expect other traffic to give way. Paddy actually knows this oke, so we stoped and chatted:

Just north of the river is "ambush alley" where pieces of destroyed vehicles still lie around. Eight months previously 82 people died here in a LRA ambush:

The army has burned and chopped down the bush for 100 to 200 m along the road to remove possible ambush positions. Even here, people try and make a living, selling charcoal, gumpoles, thatch, and bricks along the road:

Some local mountaineers:

The next two shots tell an amazing story, if you think about what you're looking at. A small village and IDP camp deep in Africa with cell tower dominating the landscape. Even here you can buy air time and sin cards. It's surreal.

After 11 hours and 400 km we finally rolled into Kitgum, where Paddy and Lynn now live full time and the business is based. The AFRIMAX compund:

The house, much construction going on as part of the new business venture I am 1/4 partner in:

The airstrip is 200 from the house, complete with taxi's in foreground:

We had a standard evening: a braai, a few beers and a long BS session. Also present were Eric and Bernice, a couple from SA who will be the managers of FUGLY'S, and lynn's brother Tony, who is the construction boss.  The next day We went for a cruise around town, to include a beer a the hotel owned by Hillary, the minister from Gulu.

Kitgum isn't much to look at, but it has a Stanbic, a petrol station or two, pubs and MTN shops galore as well as 52 NGO's and a cholera isolation camp. I will not start a rant about NGO's, a handful of them do good work but 4 out of 5 iare scams. Western governments and the UN throw many at organizations with names like "The Concerned Parents Association" to help quiet their collective guilty conscience. THE hot "cause" in northern Uganda is rehabilitating child soldiers forced into service by the LRA. Once again, a few organizations do good but most are just piggy banks for some very crooked people. 

We filled up at the local petrol station:

Riding around Kitgum. It always amuses me how africans keep an absolutely expressionless face, no matter how surprised or intrigued they might be. Mzungus on bikes are not what you'd call routine in these parts, but they just give you a blank look and carry on . Children are a different story though, they go mal and yell and chase us down the road.

I kicked the back of Paddy's bike when he wasn't looking, he shat himself and swore at me long and loud. He obviously forgot who he was riding with.

As you can see, ATTGAT was adhered to religiously. Keep in mind, this IS attgat for where we were and the glacial speeds we were doing. ;D

Strictly speaking, helmets are required by law, but if you don't act stupid and draw attention to yourself even police at roadblocks don't hassle you unless you give them reason to.

Just got THE CALL. Some misinformed individual at the corporation is obviously under the false impression that piss poor planning on their part constitutes an emergency on mine. Be back when I can.

OK last bit.
The high point of the trip was the visit to Kidepo Valley National Park, in the far northeast corner of Uganda. It had been completely isolated  for years, until very recently the only way in and out was by aeroplane. There are still some wild and woolly tribes in this part of the world. Over the mountains to the east, 70 k's away, lies Lokichokio in Kenya, which is the main base for UN relief efforts into Sudan. I had spent my share of time there in 1996, and thought it was the end of the world. I was obviously mistaken. Besides the Maasai and Turkana in Kenya, the very volatile situation in Sudan, and the apparently ended threat from the LRA, this area has its own group of hooligans who don't like being told what to do by anybody, least of all some government.

They are called the Karamojong. They are cattle herders, formerly nomadic, and have lived for centuries by raiding other tribes and stealing their cattle. It's out of pure mischief, there certainly are no land issues involved, the area is wide open and practically deserted. Related to the Maasai in Kenya, they live in a harsh world and firmly believe in shooting first, then asking questions. When they still carried bows and arrows, it wasn't that much of a problem if you were on wheels of some kind. But like everywhere else in the world AK 47's have magically appeared here and now it's a bit more of an issue. Good thing is, they don't have much ammo. Semi-good thing is, they don't shoot unless they know they'll hit whatever they're aiming at. Bad thing is, they have become very good at sniping. Worse thing is, the road from Kitgum to the park goes into the heart of their territory.

Last time I did something like this, I had a platoon of wild and aggressive 19 year oilds with me and we were all armed to the teeth. It promised to be an interesting ride. Luckily there is a very active and up-to-date bush telegraph in Kitgum. All the NGO and UN personnel, contractors like Paddy and a few others. and tourists like me exchange information on road conditions, incidents, and safety openly and in timely fashion. Paddy is also good friends with the UN's head of security for East Africa, a nice former British Army officer named Michael. He's an Irishman, and it's hard to believe but we spent several fun evenings with him at Bubbles in Kampala. Michael is an invaluable source of information. So we weren't too concerned. Paddy told me it's safe since the war ended, and I have no reason to doubt him.  I found out afterwards he THOUGHT it was safe ::)

We left Kitgum at 1415, much later than planned. The other drilling contractor in town, an Aussie named Paul, asked Paddy to lift a broken drill rig off the back of a truck (a slightly modified Samil 50) with the crane on the Mog, which took some time. Turns out it weighed more than the 7-ton crane could lift:

As we were leaving, Paul looked me up and down and asked where my riding boots were. The look on his face when I said I was wearing african motocross boots was priceless. His look said I had two heads, both empty. I wish I could have read his thoughts.

The only dodgy part was getting out of Kitgum, buses and NGO vehicles heading south use the good road to build up speed for the downhill run to Gulu:

Just south of town the road split off east towards Kitgum Matidi, "little Kitgum". From here on it was a very enjoyable ride. We saw maybe 4 vehicles the whole way, but lots of bicycles and a few boda's.  Any time we stopped, kids would appear like moles out of their holes. I've seen that in various parts of Africa: within a minute there would be 20, 30 or more curious onlookers.  These people are desperately poor, but despite that they don't harrass you for money or handouts like in the cities. The pelt on top of my head isn't as luxurious as it used to be, and the tropical sun was blikseming me hard so I put on a sharp-looking hat.

It was a highly enjoyable ride. No racing, just a slow cruise through the rural Africa, full of sights, sounds and smells. We averaged less than 40, having to wait for the mog to catch up every so often. The reason we didn't just leave it behind was for support. The cold beer was in the mog, as well as this:

We didn't have to wear helmets and flak jackets like they did for the previous 2 years, but the AK always goes with just in case you have to scare someone off, say a Karamojong practicing his marksmanship.

Paddy claimed he was getting thirsty so he climbed back in the Mog and Eric joined me on the bike.

I soon found out that he had seen something I didn't: rainclouds. It started raining on us, and it got chilly so we put on what we could:

The road to Kidepo had been worked on, and was in very good comdition except for one spot where it went through a marshy area of what's called black cotton clay. We came across a truck grossly overloaded with bales of cotton stuck in a muddy rut. We tried to pull it out with the mog but the driver kept turning the steering wheel the wrong way and it almost fell over. At that point Paddy gave up, as they would have blamed US if it fell over. That's the way things work here. The truck driver's lunch, in the form of a big rooster, was sitting on the front left seat, watching us very attentively as we tried to do a good deed.

Up to that point, the scenery looked mostly like this:

We passed through little villages called  Gwero, Naamokora, Rom, and Drom. The road followed the southern base of mount Rom, and one could very clearly see the efforts put in to the roadworks. It was a strange ride, the bush is chopped and burnt back from the road to prevent ambushes, there was not one animal or even a bird in sight. No people either. We stayed just ahead of the Mog in case someone took potshots at us and we needed to shoot back and chase them off. I enjoyed the ride very much, it was extremely peaceful and I was slowly relaxing. When I arrived in Kampala I was wound very tightly, from living in a place I don't want to and working for a corporation I despise.

We stopped at a scenic spot where the road drops into the Kidepo Valley, just before  Karenga, a Karamojong village. At a previous stop they had swarmed us as soon as we came to a standstill, they were a bit pushy but not really aggressive. We didn't stay long though ;D

The view into Kidepo Valley. This shot was actually taken on the return trip, when it wasn't raining. Transportation in these parts is almosy exclusively by LPC, or "leather personnel carrier" as Paddy calls it. Some locals travelling by LPC:

It started getting dark, and we got a bit worried, as we were still 40 k's from the park. Then the sun dipped below the thick layer of clouds and everything lit up in an otherworldly orange glow. I have never seen anything like it. I can't recall having such a good time in a long while. We were laughing, shouting, and yelling, but also watching out for the big group of elephants that had crossed the road minutes before, judging by the huge piles of steaming fresh ellie shit we rode through.

After an unexpected encounter with 2 Cape Buffs in the semi-dark we decided to leave the bikes at the park entrance and rode in on the back of the Mog, sitting in camp chairs drinking cold beer. I thought it couldn't get any better, but it did. The personnel at Agoka camp knew we were coming, and within 20 minutes of arrival we were sitting around a fire with another cold one. Magic.

The accommodations at Agoka, each bungalow with en-suite bathroom and HOT showere from the big donkey close by:

We had to get more beer the next day, the oke who runs the park helped us. He is a fascinating character, a German named Peter Muller who has lived in Uganda for 30 years. Him and his brother almost single-handedly rehabilitated first the lKampala zoo, then all the national parks in the country after the Amin-Obote days.

The view from the camp:

My little camera couldn't do sunset justice:

We went looking for lions, a few in the park wear radio collars and Peter has a directional contraption to track them down. We got to within about 200m of them but they were stalking a 800 strong herd of buffalo and were on the opposite river bank so we never saw them clearly.

Agoka camp has its own social elephant, a young male around 28 years old named Bull-bull. He wanders into camp every day, drawn by the smell of the sorgum the personnel make beer with. When this shot was taken he had just stuck his trunk into a rondavel looking for the boiled sorgum and got it slapped for his efforts by Betty, the very nice woman who runs the accommodations. Three old buffalo and lions also tend to wander up to the fire at night. Paddy was sitting there one night and sensed something behind him. When he looked around, Bull-bull was standing 5 m behind him sussing the scene.

Sorry about the angle O0

After 3 excellent days we headed back to Kitgum. One bike had a sticking carburettor float, the one that Christian's clowns didn't fix, so we had to load it on the Mog. I rode the other bike all the way back, 180 k's of sheer enjoyment. I had an absolute ball.
This is my favourite shot of the entire trip:

Paddy and I were planning on going to Juba, Sudan, to establish a base for drilling there. We got the travel permits from the SPLF, Sudanese People's Liberation Front, but the road we planned on taking was ambushed by LRA scum and the detour was too long for the time I had left, so we bagged it till next time. I was keen to see Sudan, and Paddy has simce drilled several dozen water holes there. Next time.

Paddy and I took a short drive to an Italian mission at Kalongo, about 3 hours/70 k's away. The doctor running the hospital had stopped by, he needed a borehole and a windmill to move the water up a slope to the hospital. Interesting oke, imagine a hyper, older Valentino Rossi and you'll get the picture.
Driving to Kalongo:

Of course, the travel kit has to go with: tuck box with cold ones and AK

The Italian Catholic mission at Kalongo, it has been there continuously since 1935. Many priests, nuns, doctors and nurses had been killed by various wacko's over the years but they persist. Very dignified, admirable people.

Villagers' huts at Kalongo:

This is the reason for the whole ten minutes of your time I just wasted. Paddy by one of his boreholes that pumps crystal clear, cold, sweet water. As he said in a less than modest moment when pissed as a newt one evening: they give life to these people.

After a few more laughs, we drove back to Kampala and I flew straight to London and on to hell, .....uhhhh I mean New York. But not before we sprayed Ballas, the dog's wedding tackle with green medical spray and I dropped the digital video camera because I was laughing so hard:

One of the doors in the house that a friend whom Paddy had given a job painted. He was more interested in getting his bedroom sorted out that being out in the field working, so Paddy reminded him of his priorities:

Yes, we have no bananas. Everybody in Kitgum is 100% normal and sane.

But we did accomplish something. Paddy, Lynn, Tony and I are now partners in a B+B in Kitgum. The pub was built while I was there:

The place is called Fugly's, and the bar and restaurant are done. This is what it looked like back in April:

We have a KKK to take care of the pool. Kitgum Kreepy Krauly, that is.

Back in 2000 Paddy and I set up an off-road touring business in SA. it never got off the ground for logistical reasons, but the business plan is done and we know exactly how to go about it. We will be running bike tours to Kidepo and other places, the ex-pats in Kampala are falling over their feet to go.

The first guests are moving in September 1st, on a one year contract. So things are happeniong in northern Uganda. Pull in, and have some fun ;D ;D

To summarize:
The riding in Uganda is excellent. Outside Kampala traffic is light, the country is safe, and the people are friendly. The tourism industry is not as well developed as Kenya, Tanzania or SA, but that's a big plus. It's never crowded, the people you deal with appreciate you being there, and it's very peaceful out in the bush.

As far as anybody knows, including local expert Peter Muller, we were the first tourists ever to ride bikes from Kitgum to Kidepo. So now we're famous  ;D

You can call me Basil Fawlty from now on. Pull in, buy me a beer and I'll tell you some more lies O0

Thanks man - I really enjoyed this report.  O0

just a question about the "LRA" or Lord's Resistance Army. Are they not still a threat in the Northern parts of Uganda?

Whe had to take some precautions operating just to the North in Southern Sudan ???

Ratel-
No, the LRA is over with.  They were causing some problems in Sudan, but so were the Sudanese fighters who hadn't been paid in months.

Were you Rossair?

Thank you for the report it is always interesting to hear what is happenng to these countries that have been in past been devastated by civil war . Well done hopefully some WD riders will visit you and buy you a beer? ;D

Really looking forward to more reports from your side of the world. Amazing stuff! :thumleft: