Sabie WD Hooligan Weekend

BMW R1150GS Adventure
Some WD's thought it good to have a Sabie Lowveld weekend and what a lekker one it was, Castle Rock Camping Resort will never be the same again.

Lycan and I received the group coming from Gauteng at The Woodsman Pub on Friday and did the whole first-date-10-question thing. It was promptly decided to first go and pitch our tents before what was left of the sun set - some input from the ouer honne, thanks Collin.

Those in attendance and their steeds were:

* Lycan - 1200GSA
* Outdoorsman - 1200GS
* ColD - Tiger XC800
* Wildcoast - Transalp
* Witrofty - F800 BMW
* Heyns - 1150GS
* Bluefin6 - NC Honda 700
* Macjohnw - 1150GSA

macjohnw said:
Some WD's thought it good to have a Sabie Lowveld weekend and what a lekker one it was, Castle Rock Camping Resort will never be the same again.

Lycan and I received the group coming from Gauteng at The Woodsman Pub on Friday and did the whole first-date-10-question thing. It was promptly decided to first go and pitch our tents before what was left of the sun set - some input from the ouer honne, thanks Collin.

* Lycan - 1200GSA
* Outdoorsman - 1200GS
* ColD - Tiger XC800
* Wildcoast - Transalp
* Witrofty - F800 BMW
* Heyns - 1150GS
* Macjohnw - 1150GSA

Is THIS the BEST you can do???!!!!.......GEEZ!!!!......where are the REAL pics and the BRANDEWYNVLEKKE etc??!!!!!

Friday night:

We pitched our camp at Castle Rock underneath the communal lapa/braai area as there were nobody else in the camp. No wet grass or dew making the camping things messy, just a nice concrete slab and roof with en-suite braai - the forecast was also for rain, so it panned out nicely.

• 20130825_083403 (Medium).jpg
    20130825_083403 (Medium).jpg
    188 KB
  • 20130823_224801 (Medium).jpg
    20130823_224801 (Medium).jpg
    172.8 KB
Cantride said:
macjohnw said:

* Lycan - 1200GSA
* Outdoorsman - 1200GS
* ColD - Tiger XC800
* Wildcoast - Transalp
* Witrofty - F800 BMW
* Heyns - 1150GS
* Macjohnw - 1150GSA

Is THIS the BEST you can do???!!!!.......GEEZ!!!!......where are the REAL pics and the BRANDEWYNVLEKKE etc??!!!!!

Patience little grasshopper - one day you too will be a master.

After Phineas brought us some of their paper thin quick burning SAPPI forrest wood I realized we wont be able to braai on that kinda quality wood. So, scouting was done, verkenners were sent out and a decent stash of thorntree fire wood was discovered............ right in front of Phinea's kaia not far away. So we did what any reasonable man would do........... we helped Phineas move the wood closer to the fireplace, ours.

The wood worked well as the picture can attest too. Panic was avoided and meat was burnt.

Note: The Verkenners' true identity was obscured for security reasons.

PS: The next morning Phineas informed us that his harem was not especially happy that "their" firewood disappeared overnight as there was cooking to be done and no wood. Well, a donation of R100 was made and love abounded once again in the tranquil scenic Sabie village.

• 20130824_000403 (Medium).jpg
    20130824_000403 (Medium).jpg
    122.6 KB
  • 20130823_223919 (Medium).jpg
    20130823_223919 (Medium).jpg
    112.7 KB
NOTE: Those WD that were present must chip in and post as they see fit (especially pics as I dont have many).

Ok let's start with what I have from the get go.

Myself, Witroftie and Geelbeenbosvark took off in PTA and met up with WildCoast, Outdoorsman and ColD.

Quickly turned off the slab and deflated tyres for the rocky brown stuff.

• IMG-20130823-00059.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00059.jpg
    239 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00062.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00062.jpg
    408.8 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00063.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00063.jpg
    336.4 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00064.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00064.jpg
    325.2 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00065.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00065.jpg
    296.6 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00066.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00066.jpg
    279.9 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00067.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00067.jpg
    296.4 KB
Decided to take breather next to Loskop dam before hitting more dirt and eventually get lost beyond belief with Witroftie's navigation skills. Eventually got to Dullstroom for some "Beer Testing"

• IMG-20130823-00068.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00068.jpg
    309.6 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00070.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00070.jpg
    313.4 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00069.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00069.jpg
    303.7 KB
Due to our delay in the boendoes Lycan got ansy and couldn't wait for us to hit Lydenburg and off he went to Woodsman to prep for our arrival. Last fill up in Lydenburg and then off to Sabie.

• IMG-20130823-00073.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00073.jpg
    330.3 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00074.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00074.jpg
    358 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00075.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00075.jpg
    328.4 KB
  • IMG-20130823-00076.jpg
    IMG-20130823-00076.jpg
    284.3 KB
As we hit Sabie and met up with Lycan and macjohnw we said our hellos and off we went to set up camp.

• IMG-20130824-00081.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00081.jpg
    250.7 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00080.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00080.jpg
    330 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00079.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00079.jpg
    191.9 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00078.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00078.jpg
    179.4 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00077.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00077.jpg
    215 KB
Bluefin was so tired from all the Friday's excitement, Lowveld fresh air and getting out of his cage, he decided to go nap-nap early. He had to play dead when Lycan's Leo Vince (attached to a 1200 boxer) was promptly inserted in the tent and played him a nice bedtime tune. The tent just never was the same again afterwards, maybe why he left it upon his departure Sunday  :ricky: Still dont know how he fit into that thing, looked like he was vacuumed packed each time he got into it.

WE RALLY IN SARBI WONDERFUL AREA

GRAT PHOTO,S

My tent was so in love with the lowveld it would have been a shame to bring it back to Gauteng.

At least Phinias now has a new storage facility to store his wood away.

Saturday:

A quick Sabie Wimpy breakfast lined the stomach and we were off to Graskop and God's Window. We did not have a set plan - maybe some gravel roads to Hazyview or sightseeing around the Lowveld. We then decided to first do some sightseeing and see where the road led us.

The okes were so eager to see the three Rondawels, they overshot the turn off and stopped at the wrong viewpoint. So, not being people to look back on our failures, we then proceeded to drive via the scenic Strydom tunnel route, past Swadini Resort and took the Mariepskop Road D70, just off the R40. One could smell the blossoms of the citrus trees as spring is upon us, soothing the soul.

ABS systems were turned off and wheels were checked - then the throttles were opened and rev counters came alive.

Bluefin did very well with his Honda at the back, we did not have to wait to long for him - we were all pleasantly surprised.

The ride report the ColD perspective
For me it started on Wednesday evening, when none of my mates could ride with me, so I asked to join in and naturally was added to the list promptly.
fluu.jpg

I met Outdoorsman at the wimpy in Boksburg at 8 and off we went, met the rest of the Gautengers close to Bronkhorstspruit , and headed for Sabie.  I must admit at this stage I had reservation , on the NC 700 capabilities as a DS bike ridden by Bluefin6 , particularly the tyres made me say under my breath ...HKGK
This was the planned route , created by Witrofty.
mlhy.png

Here the bunch at the start of the route, first bit of dirt, let air out of tyres for those who choose and then off we go.
It was a mix of a dirt with a few tar sections in between, Bronkhorstspruit and close to Belfast , but mostly gravel, with a range for good highway type roads, with some rocky patches and a few bits of sand.
6buu.jpg

Here Heyns  and Witrofy close to Loskop dam, very nice sand road rolling over the hills.
km9l.jpg

kiz3.jpg

At Loskop dam
zls2.jpg

We stopped at the dam and took a few pics before finding the next stretch of dirt just past the dam here Witrofty was to be the first to invest in a piece of property due to some thick soft sand ( HY HET N PLAAS GEKOOP) luckily a soft landing  nothing more than a bruised ego , but if I have to be honest the few moment where lost concentration for second I too had some close calls with the sandy sections a few times where I was close to seeing my arse.
Here Wildcoast was sweeping at this stage, and was particularly entertained by the lively dancing performed by Bluefin6 on his NC , the dancing was a strange type of leg untimed running walking and jutting out of legs.. left... right... left.. right..right... right... right then both together..then nothing . What a sight that must have been, Wildcoast mentioned these were Gopro Youtube moments.
IMG_0636.jpg

So we took a wrong turn somewhere and from 9 to 13H30 or so we managed to get from Bronkhost spruit to about 20 KM other side of Middleburg.. That was the end of the Dirt for the day and we hit the road to Dulstroom via Belfast, were we, sampled the local breweries ale and had a bite.
Then off to Lydenberg and the long Tom pass to Sabie here some shots of the group stopping at a view point.
xsp6.jpg

58uc.jpg

cv3z.jpg

oell.jpg

tqj8.jpg

Witroftie at the Woodsman, pretty sure you cant fall over in thick sand with that one boet.
gssg.jpg

Next we met the Mpumalanga boys at the Woodsman for welcome drink, got some supplies and headed to make camp.
This is where Bluefin6 decided to extend his property portfolio , and took a dive, wet grass and slick tyres apparently don't mix well, and the dance of the day finely had a great finale, we had travelled 500km on sand and tar , through mist and twisty bends , over a mountain, but here at Castle rock at the very end of the journey the dance was finally over. One more bruised ego...check
After growling across the stream at the Merry pebbles resort for a few minutes  tents were pitched, fires made and the evening festivities began, this I will omit as it is a ride report not a braai report.

n50f.jpg

Heynz at the campfire.

A good day was had by all new acquaintances met and great prospects for day two lay ahead.

To be continued

macjohnw said:
GIDEON said:
THIS IS AWESOME.

Sou beter wees as jy kon join Mr G.
Already starting to think this should be a 3  monthly thing we visit one side of Transvaal.
For a weekend or Long weekend.
Camp or every one get there. Those with a friday off travel the rest get there at night while the rest wait  :peepwall:

One day play and Next do ravel home.

How can this fail.