Sabie WD Hooligan Weekend

The trip up to Mariepskop is all gravel - the first 10km or so is flat and fast, whereafter it becomes more steep and twisty. The last 5km is a concrete road snaking up the mountain with some spectacular views. Just before the concrete road one can stop to view the abandoned Airforce Radar Base's accommodation. It has been abandoned for about 10 years now and everything is overgrown - nice place for a bad cheap horror movie. It is here where some sad things happened........

The rule of the weekend was - first take a pic before picking it up. First up was Outdoorsman........... trying to gun it through the mud and coming short, luckily Lycan was there to assist with the camera shot.  :ricky: Off course we all had a good laugh at his expense and on the way back I warned him about his little mud hole.......... that would come back to bite me in the ass 10min later.

• IMG-20130825-WA0007.jpg
    IMG-20130825-WA0007.jpg
    159.3 KB
And to be fair - next up to bat was yours truely: I, myself and stoopid

We drove into the dilapidated buildings and was busy making a slow U-turn in the concrete courtyard when disaster struck. I was looking down at the bike in front of me and did not notice the washing line strung across the courtyard. Down it went. Needless to say, I had a whole peanut gallery ready to add laughs, jokes and utter useless comments, including Outdoorsman warning me about the washing line.......

• IMG-20130825-WA0009.jpg
    IMG-20130825-WA0009.jpg
    154.7 KB
God's Window, some spills, hills and NOT the 3 rondawels

• IMG-20130824-00084.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00084.jpg
    205.8 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00085.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00085.jpg
    442.1 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00090.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00090.jpg
    263.2 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00095.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00095.jpg
    384.4 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00096.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00096.jpg
    391.4 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00097.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00097.jpg
    335 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00098.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00098.jpg
    244.1 KB
After picking up the other okes from their fits of laughter and wiping the spit from the cheeks, we rode up the last few km to Mariepskop view point and what a view it was. The Honda 700 made it all the way to the top in one piece - no broken nothing, what a rider it had. We stood around for a while, taking in the scenery and having some banter where after we headed down the mountain again, as fast as we could go, flying as we went.

A well earned rest at Timbaktu Pub sorted us some beers and slap chips dripping with oil, as we chatted about the lekker day so far. It was great chatting with the okes and getting to know them better. Then, it was homeward bound via Bushbuckridge and Graskop because it was shorter - in retrospect it would have been better to go back the same route in which we came. The traffic on the R40 going through Buschbuckridge was plenty and simply dangerous with all the busses, taxis and bokke running around.

• IMG-20130825-WA0012.jpg
    IMG-20130825-WA0012.jpg
    80.3 KB
more

• IMG-20130824-00099.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00099.jpg
    291.8 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00107.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00107.jpg
    282.5 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00105.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00105.jpg
    368.2 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00103.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00103.jpg
    300.1 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00102.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00102.jpg
    471.7 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00101.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00101.jpg
    344.2 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00100.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00100.jpg
    306 KB

• IMG-20130824-00114.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00114.jpg
    455 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00108.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00108.jpg
    456.8 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00113.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00113.jpg
    462.4 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00104.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00104.jpg
    485.7 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00112.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00112.jpg
    351.9 KB
Mareipskop

• IMG-20130824-00124.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00124.jpg
    312.8 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00128.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00128.jpg
    265 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00129.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00129.jpg
    355 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00130.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00130.jpg
    309.2 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00133.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00133.jpg
    408.2 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00138.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00138.jpg
    417.5 KB
Timbuktu

• IMG-20130824-00139.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00139.jpg
    217.4 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00145.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00145.jpg
    271.5 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00143.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00143.jpg
    278.4 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00141.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00141.jpg
    319.4 KB
  • IMG-20130824-00137.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00137.jpg
    357.8 KB
So just to be sure this Honda was not dropped the whole weekend... but a lot of proper DS bikes were?

If this is true can you imagine how awesome it would be with spoked wheels and some decent DS tyres....

:pot:

• IMG-20130824-00130.jpg
    IMG-20130824-00130.jpg
    309.2 KB
stan1975 said:
So just to be sure this Honda was not dropped the whole weekend... but a lot of proper DS bikes were?

If this is true can you imagine how awesome it would be with spoked wheels and some decent DS tyres....

It was dropped actually - in the camp site on the grass as we were on our way looking for decent camp site. He paid his dues :)

Edit: This fall can easily be overlooked if taken into account how he drove it the rest of the time. The rest of us have no excuse......ok, maybe one or........no wait, no excuse

stan1975 said:

Stan,

The list of pro's is long but I'm afraid the list of con's in longer.

Wet grass and full throttle is not your friend and the NC.

"If all else fails blame the tyres"- Lycan

Bluefin6 said:
stan1975 said:

Stan,

Bluefin6 - all I can say is well done. That is an awesome effort taking that bike on those roads without incident... I took a mate of mine on his Triumph Tiger XC 1200 not the explorer... so alloy wheels like yours... First major rut in the road around the top of the Loskop dam... Eina goodbye front rim... hello R20000 bill...

So believe me you did well, very well...

As for macjohnw... I've had some washing line incidents before except that was in my back yard popping a wheelie with my KDX175... my mother had a heart attack!

Bluefin6 said:
stan1975 said:

Stan,

Kom kom kry vir jou n sweetie Henti

• download.jpg
    download.jpg
    14.7 KB
Kom hier is jou sweety kooooom kom man!

• snake.jpg
    snake.jpg
    8.4 KB
Stan,

Dejavu!!! I hit a crater (pothole) on the tar between Loskopdam and Belfast at 140kph and now have a decent smiley in my mag. Luckily it's about to be traded for a GSA so not fixing it now.

The NC made the weekend with the following list of incidents.

Before reaching Sabie:
- Right boot sole came off
- Left back indicator broke off
- Hit pothole and bent front rim
- Jacket got ripped

5min in Sabie
- Laid it down on the grass
- Left boot sole came off
- Ego got knocked the F*&k out
- Adjusted left mirror

:imaposer: :ricky: :peepwall:

Bluefin6 said:
Stan,

Dejavu!!! I hit a crater (pothole) on the tar between Loskopdam and Belfast at 140kph and now have a decent smiley in my mag. Luckily it's about to be traded for a GSA so not fixing it now.

The NC made the weekend with the following list of incidents.

Before reaching Sabie:
- Right boot sole came off
- Left back indicator broke off
- Hit pothole and bent front rim
- Jacket got ripped

5min in Sabie
- Laid it down on the grass
- Left boot sole came off
- Ego got knocked the F*&k out
- Adjusted left mirror

:imaposer: :ricky: :peepwall:

:laughing4: copy and paste that on the insurance claim form.  :thumleft:

Should sail through the claim process unless you're with nowtsurance...

Enjoy the GSA... I had one sold it downgraded to my GS... loving it... as it seems so much lighter when the going gets rough...

Have a look at the picture the GS looks so small next to the GSA...

• Spyker en Draak - Wimpy Parys May 2012.JPG
    Spyker en Draak - Wimpy Parys May 2012.JPG
    153.3 KB
I Very sorry I missed this one! But looks like a fun thing! I must agree with Gideon, we must make this a quarterly event of sort! All in favour say Ay!