Sedgefield forest explorer

Crossed-up said:
Fantastic trip, Zanie! There's just no stopping Lance, but I guess the same is true for you. You certainly saw a lot of the country ordinary folk never get near. Well done.

I am forever indebted to Lance for getting me hooked on biking. I'm also glad I have a 'ride leader' who has an unconventional approach to routes. Sometimes Lance just drops some place-marker pins and finds routes between the two. Even if we have a planned route, we hardly ever stick to it. This trip is an example of a rough plan, but with large deviations!

It means a lot of doubling back whenever we reach a dead-end, but we get to see the most amazing 'roads'. I had a scan of our tracks and we doubled back at least 28 times and rode a couple of random circles. This won't appeal at all for an 'A to B' person. So, your type of riding ;)

Mev Vis Arend said:
Jis, ek is sommer jaloers.  Ek kan glo julle het julle gate uit geniet.

Dit lyk of julle ook lekker ry in voorbereiding vir Namibië. Ek sien so uit! :biggrin:

Vis Arend said:
Great, greater, greatest.  :thumleft:  Very nice RR and trip. 
Just shows you that the little big 250 can do long rides.    :biggrin:

They're brilliant little bikes! I am so glad I made the change. These bikes make scary roads fun!

wilfwalk said:
What a super trip report, thanks so much. Read it all and watched your video?? As a Rally owner, I’m happy to read about how they do on trips. Mine has just had its 1000km service and it’s a year old. Simply don’ get time to ride more. Enjoy your Namibia trip. :thumleft:

Thanks for the feedback. I sometimes wonder if anyone is able to wade through all the writing / pictures. That bike of yours needs some cobwebs removed. It must be sad in the garage. :'( It will be nice to read more Rally reports.

Oubones said:
Looking forward to riding with you people in Nam.

Only four weeks to go :biggrin:

Dux said:
It looks like you have really gelled with the Honda  :thumleft:

I'm very glad I made the decision to get it. I know the suspension is too soft for some and the bike's too tall for others, but thankfully I have long legs and ride too slow to need uber-suspension. I like the cushy feel of the bike. It's also very confidence-inspiring.

ChrisL - DUSTRIDERS said:
Good to see that little detour is open again.It used to be locked for quite some time because of stock theft. :thumleft:

I'm amazed you can recognise and place such a track. You must have a Lance-type brain  ;)

You should have jumped the queue and the pond master should have called you. The rule on the pond traveling east to west is bikes go on the left against the rail. Then they can still load the same amount of cars.
It means you have to have a longish left leg though cause the pond has a nasty camber to the left. ;)

* Stores info for future use *. Good to know!

Looks like a lot fun, interestingly I drove past you guys in my bakkie at Bergplaas on the 24th, having met the same fate of a closed gate.

• wd1.png
    wd1.png
    531.2 KB
Flipside said:
Looks like a lot fun, interestingly I drove past you guys in my bakkie at Bergplaas on the 24th, having met the same fate of a closed gate.

Wow! It's a very small world. We were wondering if you were another explorer, given that we don't often see cars turning around, but rather heading purposefully in a direction.

Zanie said:
Crossed-up said:
Fantastic trip, Zanie! There's just no stopping Lance, but I guess the same is true for you. You certainly saw a lot of the country ordinary folk never get near. Well done.

I am forever indebted to Lance for getting me hooked on biking. I'm also glad I have a 'ride leader' who has an unconventional approach to routes. Sometimes Lance just drops some place-marker pins and finds routes between the two. Even if we have a planned route, we hardly ever stick to it. This trip is an example of a rough plan, but with large deviations!

It means a lot of doubling back whenever we reach a dead-end, but we get to see the most amazing 'roads'. I had a scan of our tracks and we doubled back at least 28 times and rode a couple of random circles. This won't appeal at all for an 'A to B' person. So, your type of riding ;)

Mev Vis Arend said:
Jis, ek is sommer jaloers.  Ek kan glo julle het julle gate uit geniet.

Dit lyk of julle ook lekker ry in voorbereiding vir Namibië. Ek sien so uit! :biggrin:

Vis Arend said:
Great, greater, greatest.  :thumleft:  Very nice RR and trip. 
Just shows you that the little big 250 can do long rides.    :biggrin:

They're brilliant little bikes! I am so glad I made the change. These bikes make scary roads fun!

wilfwalk said:
What a super trip report, thanks so much. Read it all and watched your video?? As a Rally owner, I’m happy to read about how they do on trips. Mine has just had its 1000km service and it’s a year old. Simply don’ get time to ride more. Enjoy your Namibia trip. :thumleft:

Thanks for the feedback. I sometimes wonder if anyone is able to wade through all the writing / pictures. That bike of yours needs some cobwebs removed. It must be sad in the garage. :'( It will be nice to read more Rally reports.

Oubones said:
Looking forward to riding with you people in Nam.

Only four weeks to go :biggrin:

Dux said:
It looks like you have really gelled with the Honda  :thumleft:

I'm very glad I made the decision to get it. I know the suspension is too soft for some and the bike's too tall for others, but thankfully I have long legs and ride too slow to need uber-suspension. I like the cushy feel of the bike. It's also very confidence-inspiring.

Good to see that little detour is open again.It used to be locked for quite some time because of stock theft. :thumleft:

I'm amazed you can recognise and place such a track. You must have a Lance-type brain  ;)

You should have jumped the queue and the pond master should have called you. The rule on the pond traveling east to west is bikes go on the left against the rail. Then they can still load the same amount of cars.
It means you have to have a longish left leg though cause the pond has a nasty camber to the left. ;)

* Stores info for future use *. Good to know!

Nice!

Thanks for sharing!

Enjoyed the read and very nice pics especially the forest ones!

Thanks for sharing.  :thumleft:

Carrots said:
Enjoyed the read and very nice pics especially the forest ones!

Thanks for sharing.  :thumleft:

+1  :thumleft:    :thumleft: