Solo trip: Eastern, Northern and Western Cape

What a nice RR.  :laughing4:  :hello2: :hello2: :hello2:

I have to agree - the road in the Tankwa is terrible.  :deal:  :mad: 

Great ride report ant. MIne still coming up.  Strongs boet. YOu want to come out sometime just shout

Ek is die drol in jou drinkwater

This is a great RR  Thanks Ant!! Sorry about the bad side of it!!
I like because I have just (23 Dec to 5 Jan) done the same, also Solo and can recognise a lot of the places you have been to. Mine was Kimberley to CT through Karoo and back, with a different rout up and down, but both trips through some fantastic places that I would have never seen in my life if it wasn't for this bike trip.
Same thing also happened to me close to Van Wyksvlei "tankslab" I am not even going to try and explain the feeling as you had described it 100% - also to high tyre pressure!!

Good luck and keep it coming!!

Casting from Turd said:
How the moer did you get through home affairs so quickly. Huh?

Ek is die drol in jou drinkwater

Connections, boet  >:D

After reluctantly leaving The Beach Camp (not a single other biker there?? Still, the company wasn't bad  ;D) I rode through a congested Paternoster again. On the way out Slaaiblaar and his family drove past in the other direction. Much hooting and waving, but then he was gone. Small world!

An easy trek down to Langebaan, with much relief that I was on the bike because of all the TRAFFIC!

The pic below with the boat wreck is from my godfather's house in Langebaan. How the other half lives  :drif: Unfortunately no one was home, so it was then towards Darling via the West Coast National Park. Stunning weather. 

Stopped briefly at Evita se Perron. Was a yellow GS 1200, EC plates outside, but couldn't find the owner inside. Explored the place a bit... very interesting.. lots of "relics" from the past in the museum. Also had to pay a quick stop at the Darling Brewery for refreshment followed by a really good springbok pie. 

• SAM_2951.JPG
    SAM_2951.JPG
    217.3 KB · Views: 268
  • SAM_2963.JPG
    SAM_2963.JPG
    327 KB · Views: 263
  • SAM_2967.JPG
    SAM_2967.JPG
    169.6 KB · Views: 264
  • SAM_2970.JPG
    SAM_2970.JPG
    171.7 KB · Views: 263
  • SAM_2972.JPG
    SAM_2972.JPG
    215.3 KB · Views: 265
  • SAM_2973.JPG
    SAM_2973.JPG
    172.5 KB · Views: 264
  • SAM_2947.JPG
    SAM_2947.JPG
    181 KB · Views: 265
Almost on the home leg, I reached Stellenbosch in time for New Year. Stayed with my brother and his lovely Swedish wife, who together run a guest house there. Nice to clean up a bit, and enjoy some awesome home cooking!

One of the days in CT I decided to do a bit of a tour round the Peninsula. Stellenbosch, Khayalitsha, Muizenberg, Fish Hoek, Simonstown, Scarborough, Kommekie, Noordhoek, Chapmans Peak, Camps Bay, Lions Head, Blouberg, Melkbos Strand and back to Stellies. Couple of pics from this trip next:

• SAM_3018.JPG
    SAM_3018.JPG
    186.1 KB · Views: 256
  • SAM_3017.JPG
    SAM_3017.JPG
    183.3 KB · Views: 261
  • SAM_3011.JPG
    SAM_3011.JPG
    127 KB · Views: 256
  • SAM_3006.JPG
    SAM_3006.JPG
    192.2 KB · Views: 264
  • SAM_2997.JPG
    SAM_2997.JPG
    224.8 KB · Views: 276
  • SAM_2995.JPG
    SAM_2995.JPG
    169.7 KB · Views: 271
  • SAM_2996.JPG
    SAM_2996.JPG
    249.2 KB · Views: 267
  • SAM_3001.JPG
    SAM_3001.JPG
    173.7 KB · Views: 269
More from the Cape Town day-trip

Last two pics are at my boet's guesthouse... quite proud of him, even if he is older and uglier!  

• SAM_2994.JPG
    SAM_2994.JPG
    132.4 KB · Views: 260
  • SAM_2990.JPG
    SAM_2990.JPG
    188.5 KB · Views: 255
  • SAM_2989.JPG
    SAM_2989.JPG
    197.1 KB · Views: 259
  • SAM_2984.JPG
    SAM_2984.JPG
    152.4 KB · Views: 262
  • SAM_2977.JPG
    SAM_2977.JPG
    276.2 KB · Views: 264
  • SAM_3022.JPG
    SAM_3022.JPG
    149 KB · Views: 262
After some more touring with my niece on pillion over Hellshoogte to Franschoek, I headed off to the R62 in the direction Ladismith for overnight at Veldbrand's place.

Schaun & Des - Tiger8 and his m8- rode through from PE and we met up there... I had to continue on the next day because work was calling...

A quick dog-leg through Oyster Bay led to a happy reunion with a good friend from high school days up in Joburg.. I knew her folks had a house there and went to see if anyone was home. Her dad, now 81, saw me arrive and as soon as I took my helmet off instantly recognised me. Last saw him 30 years ago. When I had hair.  ;D  Turns out the whole family was there and I spent a good few hours catching up. Good decision. She (my friend) whatsapped me that evening saying her mother said "he's still such a lovely boy". Ha ha.

• SAM_3035.JPG
    SAM_3035.JPG
    278.1 KB · Views: 257
  • SAM_3063.JPG
    SAM_3063.JPG
    279.2 KB · Views: 259
  • SAM_3073.JPG
    SAM_3073.JPG
    157.2 KB · Views: 255
  • SAM_3082.JPG
    SAM_3082.JPG
    249.1 KB · Views: 253
  • SAM_3085.JPG
    SAM_3085.JPG
    222.9 KB · Views: 253
  • SAM_3089.JPG
    SAM_3089.JPG
    233.8 KB · Views: 248
  • SAM_3092.JPG
    SAM_3092.JPG
    192.2 KB · Views: 255
  • SAM_3097.JPG
    SAM_3097.JPG
    74.9 KB · Views: 252
Well, I got home, and could have carried on going.... We live in a fantastic country and I feel really privileged to be able to experience it on a bike. Long personal road ahead, but thanks for all the support and comments  :thumleft:.  

Hell now thats a lekker solo ride. Your head should be as clear as daylight after all that. thx