Southern Namibia in 14 Days - 4,400km (22 Dec 11 - 4 Jan 12)

nothing like a lekker fire...
and a dirty bike

• IMG_0045.jpg
    IMG_0045.jpg
    54.3 KB
  • IMG_0047.jpg
    IMG_0047.jpg
    76.3 KB
Day 12 : Hobas to Ai-Ais via Canon Roadhouse....

We came acrosss this rider, a Hollander who had started in CT and toured Moz & Kenya already.

• 20120102_100724.jpg
    20120102_100724.jpg
    96.2 KB
  • 20120102_100727.jpg
    20120102_100727.jpg
    96.1 KB
  • 20120102_102425.jpg
    20120102_102425.jpg
    89.4 KB
  • 20120102_103221.jpg
    20120102_103221.jpg
    66.9 KB
  • 20120102_105634.jpg
    20120102_105634.jpg
    110.9 KB
more of Canon Roadhouse...

• 20120102_111917.jpg
    20120102_111917.jpg
    68.4 KB
  • 20120102_105624.jpg
    20120102_105624.jpg
    92.9 KB
  • 20120102_105759.jpg
    20120102_105759.jpg
    102.9 KB
  • 20120102_105722.jpg
    20120102_105722.jpg
    108.5 KB
enroute to Ai-Ais...

On the road we had a Mastercard incident...
I saw a car parked on the left of the road and in the distance it seemed as if someone was standing on a large flat rock next to the roadside. Now my bike is pretty quiet and as we neared at a slow pace, I realised that the person was a chap with his back to us. We must have been 20m from him and still he hadn't heard us coming....when I realise that he's having sex (from the rear) with a girl with her dress lifted.
Being friendly I hooted and we waved as we went by...
Sadly we had no camera at the ready !

• 20120102_115117.jpg
    20120102_115117.jpg
    82.2 KB
  • 20120102_121933.jpg
    20120102_121933.jpg
    66.3 KB
  • 20120102_124616.jpg
    20120102_124616.jpg
    57.8 KB
  • 20120102_133326.jpg
    20120102_133326.jpg
    101.4 KB
  • 20120102_135746.jpg
    20120102_135746.jpg
    83.8 KB
more of Ai-Ais...

• IMG_0089.jpg
    IMG_0089.jpg
    116.2 KB
  • IMG_0087.jpg
    IMG_0087.jpg
    62 KB
  • IMG_0088.jpg
    IMG_0088.jpg
    116.8 KB
  • 20120102_135757.jpg
    20120102_135757.jpg
    79.1 KB
  • IMG_0082.jpg
    IMG_0082.jpg
    78.5 KB
  • IMG_0081.jpg
    IMG_0081.jpg
    75.4 KB
Bubby ek het 3 jaar gelede op dieselfde site as julle gekamp by Lake Oanab.
Stunning plek. :thumleft: :deal:

Hey Bubby

Thank you for an awesome report - please keep it coming.

You are not a novice and you are an inspiration to all of us - lekka man !

We will be doing the same trip in April and I will definately keep your report handy when finalising the planning on my trip.

Thx again for the great report  :thumleft:

Danica Patrick wannabe...

• IMG_0071.jpg
    IMG_0071.jpg
    73.7 KB
  • IMG_0072.jpg
    IMG_0072.jpg
    63.3 KB
  • IMG_0070.jpg
    IMG_0070.jpg
    60.7 KB
cheeeeeeeeeez 
man ohhh man  very naaice RR
thank you both , hats off to you's doing solo , and you have a very special lady there , doing this with you

p.s  ..... now go back and take some pics of the couple having sex on the side of the road man  FF's 

Day 13 : Ai-Ais to Noordoewer (Aquacade).

enroute...

• IMG_0097.jpg
    IMG_0097.jpg
    35.8 KB
  • 20120103_110221.jpg
    20120103_110221.jpg
    64.5 KB
  • 20120103_110210.jpg
    20120103_110210.jpg
    56.8 KB
  • 20120103_103211.jpg
    20120103_103211.jpg
    69.9 KB
  • 20120103_103203.jpg
    20120103_103203.jpg
    68.4 KB
By now we were gatvol of packing and unpacking the panniers, so the small chalet at Aquacade was a welcome option.

• 20120103_193943.jpg
    20120103_193943.jpg
    92.8 KB
  • 20120103_193955.jpg
    20120103_193955.jpg
    93.6 KB
  • 20120103_194005.jpg
    20120103_194005.jpg
    83.9 KB
  • 20120103_195243.jpg
    20120103_195243.jpg
    89.8 KB
  • 20120103_200008.jpg
    20120103_200008.jpg
    55 KB
  • 20120104_064721.jpg
    20120104_064721.jpg
    96.1 KB
  • 20120103_175843.jpg
    20120103_175843.jpg
    78.3 KB
Day 14 : Noordoewer to CT.

enroute we stopped at the Clanwilliam dam...

• 20120104_131019.jpg
    20120104_131019.jpg
    127.3 KB
  • 20120104_131024.jpg
    20120104_131024.jpg
    84.6 KB
That's all folks !
Thanks for the feedback & comments, it is much appreciated.
I will try get a map loaded up in the week of the daily route.

A spectacular trip with no problems at all. The bike was great (respect to Rotax) and my pillion never once complained.
I remember a chap at the Breede Otter telling us that his wife would never ever get onto the back of his bike, or even near it.
So I must acknowledge Karla for having the goetspa and trust on our trip !

Also thanks to Stretch at Euro Bike / Aprilia for checking out my bike beforehand and Trevor / Topbox for the Mitas which handled superbly and the other odds & ends purchased.

If I had to do the trip again I would keep more cash handy as the towns sometimes don't have ATM's or a facility for plastic.
I found the heat to be pretty bearable, and would certainly do the trip again at this time of the year.

Things I learned....get a tinted visor and wear shades, and only foreigners buy blitz in Namibia.

Namibia is awsome...

• 20120104_131119.jpg
    20120104_131119.jpg
    70.3 KB
Bubby said:
Last evening at Desert Horse Inn (Aus)...

Looks just like the "klein Aus Vista" I have a simaler photo also of a bus, and one of the entrance

jossvw said:
Bubby said:
Last evening at Desert Horse Inn (Aus)...

Looks just like the "klein Aus Vista" I have a simaler photo also of a bus, and one of the entrance

Yes, that is the place.

Great report Glen. What a trip!

Novice my arse - In like a kitten and out like a lion  :headbang:

Heimer said:
Great report Glen. What a trip!

Novice my arse - In like a kitten and out like a lion   :headbang:

Ja Jan, knew I couldn't hide it from you for long !
I have been hanging out with you lot too much to call myself a Newbie.

Dankie vir alles.

Jislaaik, julle het 'n woeste lekker roete gedoen, dis seker die mooiste kontraste op een trip.
Baie nice report. :thumleft: :thumleft: