Strong O-ring trip - Cape to Kunene on an enduro seat ( And Richtersveldt bash)

Day 15, big breakfast to start with as I knew the next camp had very little..
I got going at about 9, and had a fairly long stretch of gravel highway. The road was good despite what the car drivers had said, and I was enjoying it so much I almost missed my turn off into a river.
The river was a short stretch but soft and full of livestock. The lambing season must have been good because I often was slowing down for them to cross...
A couple of big holes tried to upset the day, but I was going quick enough that I bounced thru them no worries.
Fuel in Okangwati is supplied by a tannie who could kickstart a Boeing, and although a bit pricey, I was glad to have a full tank. It rapidly turned rural again and I had a lekka ride thru villages on the way to Van Zyl's pass. I'd been warned to stop and walk the big climb before riding it.. unfortunately I didn't find the big climb until I was over it. When I reached the lookout I was a bit surprised. Robbie's pass is significantly more technical at the moment.
After a stop at the top I started making my way down, only to spot 2 vehicles that had crashed off the road long ago.
I decided to go have a look and road down past them. I'd guess a rental Hilux and a cruiser bakki, although how they got it so wrong I'm not sure.
On the way out from the cars I hit an erosion ditch and fell over, although I wasn't really moving the bike seemed to land hard.
Some steam was coming off the exhaust, and I assumed that like often happens, the boil over bottle had dripped onto the pipe.
I got up and going and by the time I got to the track 20m on I noticed more stream. And the one radiator was sitting funny against the tank.
🤬.
I rolled down the rest of the hill with the motor off. Looking for any shade I could work in. Of course, there was none.
I stopped and got my helmet, camelback, gloves, jacket, neck brace off. And got a hat on. I checked the water in the camelback, I'd drunk 2 liters and had 1 left. The bike takes 1.2...
🤬
The next step is to offload the luggage, remove the carrier, seat off, tank off, then I could look at the radiators.
@BoskakBruce I was regretting not having your quick removal velcro ring system.
It was hot as hell, and I could feel myself getting thirsty.
The dilemma was: I would use all my water in the cooling system to test my repair, mixing it with whatever was left and making it undrinkable. alternatively I keep the water for the walk/wait for help.
As is my trademark, I left the decision for later.
With the tank off I could see 2 of the 4 radiator mounts had failed, one on each side.
The hot water comes from the engine, inside the frame to a T piece, where it splits into each radiator. The fall, with the broken mount had pulled the one side of the t connection out, dumping all the coolant. There are no hose clamps, the t is held together by the mounting of the radiators. If you pull them apart it comes undone.
I greased and re fitted the pipes and used a few cable ties thru a hole in the frame to keep pressure on the radiators, and stopping the pipe from coming off.
I looked everywhere else and couldn't find any other problems, so committing to my repair, I dumped all of my remaining water into the bike. Counting that it will work. A quick test was promising. So I loaded up and got dressed, only to see my front tire was flat. I'd already stopped earlier and triple plugged the hole that had 2 plugs in it.
I pumped it up and it seemed to hold, so I pushed on to the bottom of the pass where I'd check the water level again.
Fortunately. The water level was good, and the air was staying where I'd put it.
Now I'd been wondering if a direct route to Purros was wiser, but camp synchro was closer, and everything seemed ok.
I made it, hot and thirsty...
After getting some water in me. I noticed the cable tie had broken!
Repeat, remove all luggage. Seat and tank. This time I used 2 independent sets of cable ties to hopefully hold it all together.

After the repairs. I made a dinner of soup, and sat on a rock in the riverbed eating.
Back in the camp I was making hot chocolate, when I heard something moving in the trees.
I looked up and after a few misses I spotted a snake that was slowly falling out the tree..
It looks to me little a python, but I'm no expert. And I don't know any pythons that climb trees.
Needless to say. All the zips have been double checked this eve.

Finally off the highway
1668950668826.jpeg

I was really enjoying the approach to the pass
1668950721452.jpeg

I missed the name, but this might be heartbreak hill
1668950760045.jpeg

Odie looking out from the top of the pass
1668950807696.jpeg

Maurienfloss
1668950845498.jpeg

The top of the lookout point
1668950884781.jpeg

The rental
1668950945025.jpeg

The trouble shooting
1668950981573.jpeg

The camelback after the radiator refill
1668951014854.jpeg

On the flat sandy planes
1668951052747.jpeg

1668951080599.jpeg

Change in colour
1668951100546.jpeg

Radiator repair V2.0
1668951174815.jpeg

Camp. Note the big tree behind my spot
1668951186782.jpeg

Dinner in the riverbed
1668951246362.jpeg

Sunset
1668951277727.jpeg

Nope rope / danger noodle that was about to fall out of the tree
1668951370162.jpeg

Day 16, an early start was not had, as I'd had some properly whacky dreams and had woken up several times in the night. It was also painfully hot, and I've taken to wetting my towel and sleeping under that.
After getting going the road was easy and the wide open spaces of the Marienfluss were spectacular, with sandstone cliffs surrounding the massive sandy plain. There were many signs of animal life, from carcasses and tracks to dung and bones, although I didn't see any big game on my route.
Eventually the sand gave way to rocks, and Jouberts pass. I'd been warned by a couple in a Hilux that it was tough, and I can see why it would take a long time in a car, but Odie and I scampered up the shale making the most of the good traction to keep the momentum up.
I pulled into the old marble mine and camp, it's quite a sight to see the white rock cuttings all squarely cut in a land of red and brown and natural shape.
Into the Khumib river next and came across more giraffe and springbok, although lots of signs of elephant, I missed them all today.
With the promise of fuel in Purros and not wanting to run my fuel pump dry, I added my first of the 2l bottles I've been carrying. I was sure I'd make it to purros, but didn't want to risk the pump.
Just outside Purros in a patch of particularly thick sand turning in a heavily rutted right bend the front wheel must have caught the rut, because next thing I know the bars are on the stop and the bike is slowing rapidly. I slide forward as the back wheel comes up off the ground. I caught the bar as I was projected diagonally off the bike landing gently and rolling to a stop. Ive got a nasty bruise, but the only real damage was to my enamel mug, which needed extensive panel beating before I could get my stove out of the mug.
As I leaned in Sesfontein, don't put off getting fuel for tomorrow- so to "Colin" the local fuel dealer. I'd spoken to him on Monday and arranged fuel for weds- this was ok, as he was getting it in tomorrow (Tues)
I arrive at his house, only to be told no fuel... It's coming tomorrow.
If I'm honest, I was having a bit of a sense of humor failure at this point. After the radiators drama yesterday, I was looking forward to not having to worry about fuel as well.
I tried all the other contacts that Bruce collected in his travels but no one has anything.
Sesfontein still hasn't got fuel either, because I could probably just make it there, using the last 6L I'm carrying.

Colin reckons between 9 and 10 he'll get his fuel, but I'm basically stuck here until he does. I don't have enough to reach Palmwag, even shortest route which is the next fuel.

I've splashed out and I'm not camping tonight, as I think a solid nights sleep will be a welcome change.

🤞Colin gets his fuel finally

Marienfluss
1668951628971.jpeg

So much space
1668951697992.jpeg

Odie contemplating the vistas
1668951730158.jpeg

Rooi drom. Self explanatory
1668951758716.jpeg

Into the stones
1668951791782.jpeg

Jouberts pass
1668951864169.jpeg

Marble mine
1668951898784.jpeg

Stone man. I missed one near camp synchro, but caught this one I didn't know about
1668951919487.jpeg

Startled giraffe
1668951942290.jpeg

Entering the Khumib river
1668952007284.jpeg

I took all the chances to ride up tracks to the koppies I saw. Spotted more giraffe down in the river
1668952040252.jpeg

The biggest casualty of my fall
1668952066976.jpeg

Sunset from the Purros community camp and lodge
1668952099872.jpeg

Update from the road:
No fuel in sesfontein, so I found a gaggle of people outside the local bar.. they gave me a number of a guy in Khowarib 30km away..
I nursed it there and now I'm waiting for someone to bring me 5l of fuel.. that's all the fuel I have in the tank at the moment
1668952314880.jpeg

Disclaimer: Today was very short on photos. The fuel crisis meant that I didn't want to stop, and then burn extra fuel to get going again.

I have never really truly hated anything... With the exception of mosquitos. These most infuriating specs of existence somehow manage to ruin a large portion of my time spent asleep.
Yesterday I decided to splurge and forgo the tent for a reasonably priced bed in purros. The logic being that a solid nights sleep with real pillows and a matrass might mean I don't wake up with stiff shoulders.
That was all ok, but I failed to factor in the flying menace waking me up several times over the night.
Before sunset, I taped up the holes in the screens, covered the gaps in the window frames and kept the door closed and the lights off... I still killed 3 before I went to sleep wearing about R40 of Tabard. 1 am I killed one that had bitten my hand, and at 3 I had another bite, despite the reapplying of Tabard.
In the morning I opened the door and got swarmed. To the point that I couldn't stay inside without getting strafed by the bastard things.
Anyway, rant over.
I had to wait until "9 or 10" for the fuel delivery in Purros, so I decided to sort out the front puncture that I have had.
Wheel off. Tire off, clean with alcohol, sand, clean and fit the gator I had, over the hole I picked up 20km from home. I'd had 2 then 3 plugs in it and it still was leaking..
Unfortunately I'd used the tire for Tankwa rally, with mousses, and the lube never seems to be completely gone, so after refitting and inflating the tubliss system, the patch leaked...
Tire off, tubliss out, pull out all the thorns that are almost thru the carcass, tube in, tyre on, and then finally refit on the bike.
By now it was after 10, so I called, and surprise surprise, no fuel yet.
I packed up and loaded the bike, stopped at the fuel guy, just in case it had arrived. No joy.
The last 6L of my backup fuel went into the tank, and I had 120km to Sesfontein.
I nursed it all the way, riding as gently and slowly as I could in top gear.
Sesfontein is a tiny town, but it's bigger than Purros, so hopefully I'll be have more luck with finding fuel.
Along the way I scared a giraffe, or 2 and had a drag race with an ostrich, who was throwing rocks at me.
Sesfontein came and there was no fuel to be had anywhere.
Finally I went to the local bar, where I asked about fuel... "Nothing here. But call this guy"
This guy was in Khowarib, 30km away. I estimated less than 2L were in the tank, and I usually get 20km/L..
Go for broke- I made it to Khowarib with less than half a liter In the tank, and bought 5L at 150% the pump price. That's more or less fair.
More nursing the bike into Palmwag, where I was overjoyed to fill up with as much fuel as I wanted! Such luxury!
The last full tank I had was 6 days ago.
Palmwag camp is relatively laanie, so I made use of the pool before I set up camp.
Tomorrow I'm looking forward to being able to explore with a bit more freedom, considering I missed out 2 rivers today that are apparently highlights of the area, with lion and elephant all over...

Odie doing a flamingo impersonation
1668952451056.jpeg

Rubbish work bench
1668952499538.jpeg

I feel like he's looking down his nose at me
1668952532443.jpeg

Spectacular scenery, even on the gravel highway
1668952605063.jpeg

Palmwag sunset
1668952634140.jpeg

Day 18ish and a great day overall. With the last few days each having a problem of their own I was glad for a bit of smooth sailing.
Left Palmwag and cruised south turning off at the Damaraland camp road.. it got smaller and smaller, which was great. Eventually I was on proper 2 spoor and riding between the mountains. It was really lekka. I enjoyed the tracks constantly changing elevation and it was enough to keep me entertained and grinning.
The Huab river was steep sided, so meeting any unfriendly animals would be a problem. Despite lots of signs of animals, I didn't come across any big grey ones.
The wetter part of the river was a bit nerve wracking, as I couldn't see round the next corners with the dense bush, and there were significantly more elephant tracks than vehicle tracks.
After a short stretch that felt longer than is was I climbed out of the river bed and entered desolation valley.
I really enjoyed the valley this time on a different track, going into the more mountainous terrain, lots of fold mountains and sandy terrain.
I popped out on a fairly big gravel road that cut south of the Brandberg, and have stopped for the day in Uis. Tomorrow I'm aiming to get going early and reach the coast then head for Walvis bay to service the bike

This mornings judgment for disturbing the peace
1668952950060.jpeg

Gravel highways
1668952977721.jpeg

Turned into 2 spoor
1668953013445.jpeg

Odie eyeing the rocks
1668953039457.jpeg

Road to nowhere
1668953070530.jpeg

Huab river , just as I entered it down a steep bank
1668953136349.jpeg

Unusual amount of green
1668953163452.jpeg

The river as I was turning towards the valley of desolation
1668953200966.jpeg

The Valley of Desolation
1668953241380.jpeg

Odie contemplating how small we are
1668953297852.jpeg

Fold mountains
1668953338798.jpeg

More sandy riverbeds
1668953371693.jpeg

1668953397736.jpeg

Dramatic change in scenery after the valleys, with Brandberg in the distance
1668953462193.jpeg

The famous welwicha
1668953490855.jpeg

Brandberg south view
1668953523824.jpeg

From range anxiety to pressure paranoia

I met an old legend last night in Uis, Brazil who's old Africa twin has over 150000 km on it. He explained a route into the Omaruru river that would take me all the way to Henties baai.
I got up early and was on the way by 0630. I hit the river while it was still cool and the valley full of shadows.
I was thoroughly enjoying myself in the varied rocks and riverbed that kept me on my toes...
Of course something had to give- I look down after feeling something odd and sure enough the front wheel looks soft. Unfortunately, as soon as I looked up I hit a rocky patch. Coming out the other side the from tire wasn't soft, it was totally flat.
🤬
I stopped in some shade found the offending spike and started patching.
Before I was done the shade had moved. 13 patches later, I pressurized the tube and listened - no leaks 😎 everything got reinstalled and I started pumping, only to hear my second least favorite sound after mozzies, a hiss of air.
🤬
I took a moment to fume, then moved back into the shade, broke the bead, pulled the valve, and reinflated the tube. No leaks. I inflated more-enough that the patches were deforming the tube, and there I could find a tiny leak.
For the sake of brevity, the whole process happened again, after installing and trying to pump up hearing more leaks, taking out hunting, repairing.
The final tally was 16 patches over 20 holes.
Finally on my way.
I was riding a bit quicker than usual after being stopped for almost 2 hours.
I had a shop in Swakop with coolant and oil and filters waiting for me to get there...

About 30km later my heart feel though the floor. Again, front was soft.
Repeat the whole process again - except this time I couldn't find any leaks at all.
With nothing else to do I put it all back, and assumed that every 30km or so I'd have to stop and inflate.
I had 110km to go still..

The rest of the ride was good fun. The river bed opened up as we approached the coast, and I could cover a fair amount of ground easily.
The shop very kindly stayed open just for me, and after getting all my bits I called Dirkie, who's workshop I used to serve the bike last time in Walvis Bay.
He was hosting a fishing competition at the Goanikontes lodge, after which he was having a braai with some mates, and invited me to join.
A short stretch up the Swakop river took me to the lodge, and I still had air pressure in the tyre.
I was unreasonably exited because this would be the first braai in Namibia, something I had been wanting for days by this point.
The evening was festive and the braai was lekker, where I learned some songs in Afrikaans, and promptly forgot them🤦‍♂.
Today I will get the bike sorted and I'll keep heading South probably tomorrow.

I feel like the main part of the trip is done, although I won't dare believe that the adventure is done. The main point of buying the Husky was to ride northern Namibia, and after 4 years I'm very stoked to tick that box.
For now there's punctures to repair and maintenance to do.
Normal service should resume tomorrow.

Basil's pool table in Uis
1668953718081.jpeg

Early start
1668953753473.jpeg

Approaching the Omaruru river
1668953798895.jpeg

Feels decidedly martiain
1668953825884.jpeg

Enjoying the riverbed without the heat
1668953860565.jpeg

More geology
1668953884530.jpeg

1668953921044.jpeg

1668953950245.jpeg

The process begins
1668953981390.jpeg

The last of the mountains before the riverbed flattened out
1668954038638.jpeg

Today wasn't meant to have an update, but just as I was finishing the service, one of Dirkies mates offered to take me and a German guy into the dunes. I couldn't say no, so at 5ish, we rode halfway to swakopmund, and then came back all the way thru the monster dune field I'd been eyeing every time I passed it. It was tricky, with lots of soft patches, but what an incredible mind bending experience. Really is a bucket list ride.

The bikes air filter somehow wasn't sitting in the proper position, so once again there's been dust thru the engine, but 🤷‍♂ I can't do anything about it now.
One more patch added to the front tube as well, hopefully tomorrow there will still be some air in the wheel.
Pushing further south Tomorrow, but not sure what route yet...
Going to sleep like a security guard tonight after the dune ride. 🤟

Air filter gap🤬

1668954124144.jpeg

Came to an abrupt stop- note the lack of tracks behind the rear wheel
1668954170247.jpeg

My new German friend, also traveling solo giving the 690 horns
1668954206871.jpeg

On top of Dune 7
1668954244284.jpeg

1668954260942.jpeg

1668954279006.jpeg

Odie wondering how to get down
1668954294303.jpeg

One of my favorite pics
1668954356362.jpeg

Lots of distance today, 415km to be exact. Late start as I'd not really decides where to go, but didn't really want to back track too much.
A wee bit stiff from yesterdays dune adventure, so I'm forgoing the camp this eve, and I'm in the Maltahohe hotel, which was built in 1907 as officers barracks.
The ride was mostly big gravel roads, and with my late start I saw a lot of traffic (bearing in mind that a lot of traffic for me right now is 5 cars an hour)
Stopped at solitaire for a bite, and found their sausage rolls are potentially better than the Apple crumble.
While munching I found a route that was only 9km longer but was on D roads and a lot smaller...
A few km after solitaire my front wheel went flat. Again. I couldn't see any thorns so I took a chance and just pumped it up...
It seemed to hold for the rest of the day- maybe the slime will do it's job finally. 🤞
Crossing thru the Naukluft mountains was lekka, with a wide valley formed by big rock formations.
Soon after that it was onto the d855 and d850 which were through farms and had lots of dips, but importantly, no traffic or corrugations..

Getting ready for bed now and I've exterminated 8 mozzies in my room.. hopefully that'll be all for the night🤞😅

Going South
1668954601237.jpeg

The Naukluft mountains
1668954635526.jpeg

Where we had a porridge wheel
1668954673128.jpeg

Odie checking that we on the right roads
1668954710231.jpeg

Maltahohe hotel view
1668954772853.jpeg

Day 22! Probably my last night in Namibia.
Got going nice and early this morning, bought a bag of ice and filled up in the garage. Checked the tires, and good news, both were holding pressure.
Lekka!
Onto the series of D roads which were quiet and pretty, I was making good time for my 425km day.
Cruising at an easy 80 or so was perfect, not needing to tap off through the dips, no vibration and not super noisy, so I was mostly riding with my visor open.
After a turn off I missed 3 up shifts in a row... I glanced down and saw the gear lever pedal folded in. The spring that holds it out had snapped. Down was ok, but from then on I was shifting up with my heel...
Keetmanshoop to fill up, and I was using less than 4.2L/100km.
Knowing there was a tar stretch coming I put a little more air in the tires and set off.
About 15km later the 🤬ing front wheel was flat.
No trees in sight, I got way off the road, got out my hat and went to work.
It was close to noon and getting warm, so much so that I was battling to hold the tools that had been in direct sunlight.
2 patches had started leaking, so I re did those.
Everything back together and while burning my hands pumping the tyre up, I heard that loathsome sound.
Unbutton the tyre, tube out and one of the patches I'd just done was leaking.
FINE! Sand again, and use a different type of patch.
Assemble and at 1.2bar the same bastard patch let go again.
By now my sandpaper was almost unusable.
The tube was cleaned with petrol, then sanded again and another patch glued and pressed on.
At 1.4 bar this one let go.
So stuff it, I couldn't keep doing the same shit and using all my patches up. I rode back to Keetmanshoop gingerly watching the bead. It didn't stay on but the tire stayed on the rim...
3 stops later I found what must be the only tube in town.
Finally I was back in business.
Low on water and tired I ran quicker than usual, and made it to the canyon roadhouse at 5.
It's a fantastic place done in the style of a 50s diner full of old cars and trucks and mining paraphernalia inside and out.
I'm starting to feel the last 3 weeks, by the time I got here I was battling to concentrate, with my backside getting a bit uncomfortable, and my legs and feet getting tired.
Tomorrow should be a shorter day I'm aiming to head to the camps just across the boarder before heading to the Richtersveldt... Maybe... If I can keep the sky in my rounds bru

Literally on the road to nowhere
1668955052448.jpeg

Leg stretch stop
1668955083813.jpeg

Traffic jams
1668955116354.jpeg

Must have been rain recently, the veld is still dry but there was a lot of water on and next to the road
1668955147574.jpeg

Crossing the Fish river
1668955184667.jpeg

Argh!
1668955225515.jpeg

Gear lever isn't behaving, and I see that the countershaft seal is leaking
1668955251116.jpeg

Canyon roadhouse
1668955365058.jpeg

1668955334156.jpeg

1668955418157.jpeg

1668955311130.jpeg

1668955441907.jpeg

Wonder if I can use the workshop
1668955471782.jpeg

My current view from Oewerbos looking over the river as I type this.
1668955628395.jpeg

Last night I camped next to another CT rider on an 800gs. He was also headed south, so this morning I suggested we ride together. He wasn't keen as he'd got the gyppo guts, so wasn't going to set off until he could trust swinging his leg over the bike.
I packed up, fueled up and headed to see the Fish River Canyon. It was pretty spectacular, and reminded me of the Grand Canyon, with less curios.
I took a walk to the southern most viewpoint and sat there enjoying the silence and magnitude of the place.
I stopped briefly at the other viewpoints, but by then it was getting warm and I got a move on.
The roads were nice, and the scenery reminded me of the Richtersveldt (obviously)
I'd been given a nice pointer to turn into a riverbed after the Ai Ais turn off, and it was a treat. I popped out on the bank of the Orange River and followed the river for a bit before the road left the bank.
I stopped for fuel and a quick bite to eat before the boarder crossing, where the missing 4 on my numberplate caused much constenation with the police. Luckily the guy was reasonable and cleared it up quickly.
A short ride to Oewerbos and I set up my first camp on grass of the whole trip!

The FIsh River Canyon
1668955947875.jpeg

1668955962269.jpeg

The two extremes of traveling
1668956006326.jpeg

1668956031828.jpeg

Odie enjoying the fact we're not on a gravel highway
1668956053072.jpeg

1668956081120.jpeg

Orange river on the right looking downstream, means I am back in SA
1668956140877.jpeg

Luckily I don't really plan very much, so when @Lars offered me a lift on the trailer after the bash this weekend I could happily take him up on it. That way I get 2.5 days of riding in the Richtersveldt, and I can avoid re riding roads between home and here that I've done several times before, it's an all round win.
So today I'll do a little ride around here locally once I'm set up at the camp, and then join the bash goers on their planned routes for Friday and Saturday.
Thanks Lars for the tow

(day 27,28,29 written on the 30th in the van on the way home) The Richtersveldt bash was a lekka change of pace. I had an easy day to move camps all of 20km, and then had a swim in the river and a wander thru the camp looking at bikes and chatting to everyone.
Quickly word spread about my escapades, and I'd wander to a bike and someone would chirp "oh, you're the guy who's come thru Namibia" followed by lots of questions about gear, and fuel and water and camping and tank sizes etc.
Thursday evening was dinner and a briefing, with dire warnings about water and no help for miles...
We also heard that there were 8 bikes who were stuck down the track and had to be rescued in fading light.
Up at 6 for breakfast and ready to ride at 7 to avoid the worst of the heat, I was quite excited for this super technical route which was only 70 odd km.
I was riding with Lars and @Renrew who were my trailer home. @BuRP also had joined us and we had a good group... The first few km were easy, then as we got closer to the river the fesh fesh started. We knew it was there because of the lonely ktm990 stopped on the side of the road. There were string of bikes the the guys got stuck the night before.
We all got thru ok besides Lars who did a majestic roll after learning about hidden ruts.
I stopped to help a guy pick up his Honda 250 rally, which he couldn't pick up on his own.
After that excitement, we turned south away from the river and did one of the tracks that followed a riverbed. It was getting warm and we stopped a few times to regroup. Some guys on bigger bikes came past us and I caught some photos of them wrestling pigs up the sand.
Eventually after a last big climb the tracks opened up and I caught Werner who had stopped with the big bikes and their puncture.
I convinced him to go backwards with me because I knew of an alternative route to the big open gravel highway, and we stopped Bart and Lars just past the turn.
The track took us to Eksteenfontain where Bert and Werner cooled off with malted beverage.
Back on the tracks and we didn't have any other drama reaching camp around 1130.
Of the 70 km track I'd managed to do 115km. Still a short day for me!
The next issue was what to do for the rest of the day.
A couple of swims and a good inspection and Lars' overlanding 4x4 sprinter seemed to do nicely.
Yesterday we got going a little bit earlier, with Lars and I running together, while Bert and Werner left a little later.
The tracks took us towards Steinkopf on one of my favorite routes. I've only ever done it the other direction, so it was lekka to see it from another another perspective. Lars and I were riding separately, stopping every 10 km. We were making good time and were soaking in the scenery as we did a really fun loop linking a few koppies as we swung west.
After a steep section dropping off the mountain we came to an oasis.
We parked and cooled off in the shade and decided to wait for the others.
To our surprise, a 901 Norden and 1200gs arrived from the other direction. They'd missed the part about going clockwise, and had done the route backwards. The climb we'd just come down was facing them, so we all got up and watched.
The GS was making horrible sputtering noises as the traction control was fighting back, but they made it up. We know so because we could hear the hooting and whooping from the oasis.
The next leg was a big sand patch followed by a gravel highway. Again I found a better option and we did a fun 4x4 route that took us past some ruins. 20km later we joined the track home we took the day before and Bart could smell the beer, so he took off. Lars was also getting a bit tired of the rattly stones so he headed back while Werner and I took another alternative route. It was one of my favorite tracks of the bash, going up and down through the mountains and into rivers with rocks and sand and steps and stones.
Finally back at camp, another swim was required before we loaded the trailer and got all the bikes and bits sorted.
Prize giving was a festive affair, although with a 5am departure and me having to pack up tents and everything before we left I headed to bed a bit earlier than usual.
5am we left and have made good progress towards home.
I'll unload the bike somewhere near Langebaan and ride the last bit in so Lars and Werner don't have to make a massive detour.
And then the trip will finally be done

Werner climbing up a mound
1668956916760.jpeg

Odie enjoying the sunrise
1668956993747.jpeg

The tracks on the way to Steinkopf
1668957188738.jpeg

Lars making it look easy
1668957274057.jpeg

Bart coming the alternative line
1668957341998.jpeg

Lars doing a majestic ground inspection
1668957371457.jpeg

Fesh Fesh fun
1668957400658.jpeg

1668957465355.jpeg

1668957480671.jpeg

1668957512340.jpeg

1668957537292.jpeg

1668957559880.jpeg

1668957577820.jpeg

The Richtersveldt
1668957613088.jpeg

Werner
1668957675251.jpeg

1668957694463.jpeg

Day 29 The home run
I was very spoiled on the drive home, thoroughly enjoying getting to know Lars a bit more, the miles flew by while we talked kak mostly.
After a quick stop for some sustenance and fuel in Klawer, we arrived in Moreesberg. On a gravel verge surrounded by the sounds of loud exhausts in the distance, and music mingling with the odd burglar alarm, I loaded the gear bike for the final time and got kitted up.
Goodbyes were said and after a quick calculation, I stopped for a 5l top up.
I don't want the tank full for when I have to work on the bike next, so just a splash n dash.
Moreesberg in the mirrors I hummed down the tar. Thinking and reflecting on the last few weeks.
That got very deep very quickly, so instead I found a gravel alternative route, that took me onto the railway service roads.
As they are seldom used they keep you focused and punish any wandering concentration quickly. I shot thru Kopperfontein and Hopefield where a train surprised me just after a level crossing.
There's one section where I had to cross a bridge riding between the rails and rattling over the sleepers. It's not as bad as some of the Namibian corrugations, but having just seen a train I was feeling unreasonably edgy riding there.
Successfully navigated, the service roads were enough excitement as I became more and more aware that this is finally coming to an end. And with that the greater the likelihood of something happening (in accordance with Murphy's law)
A short tar stretch separated the last gravel road, which as it did on the way out surprised me with a massive Cobra. It coiled and raised as I passed but by the time I got turned around to try catch a photo it had moved on.
I was enjoying the cooler air even if it was in a bit of a hurry, forming a stiff headwind for the last drag westward. After weeks of stifling heat it was a novel experience.
Passing the air force base the gravel finally ran out, as did my distraction from contemplation.
As I came into Langebaan I called a friend to ask for a hand in documenting the occasion, which somehow evolved into being fed cake, which is always a win.
Arriving at home and putting the stand down on this epic trip was a relief and a realization that I'd finally got to do Namibia by bike, as I'd been talking about since school and planning since 2018.

The husky carried me over some rough terrain, sometimes fast, sometimes slow, with out hesitation, cable tied radiators, broken side stand and gear lever springs and all.
I won't count punctures as a mechanical issue, but I still hold that tubliss is the answer, with the caveat that you should not have had mousses in the same tire first.
My luggage system worked very well, and only needs a wash and 1 small patch on the waterproof bag.
The seat is still the stock one and while I managed, it could be improved greatly.
My favorite quote from the trip was Dirkie, looking at my stock seat and saying "you must have a very strong o-ring to sit on that"
The cush hub is magic, reducing vibrations and making everything more comfortable.
Some numbers
27 days from home to home.
Total of 6628.8km ridden over 102 hours. I'd estimate that no more than 15% of that was tar.
3 oil changes, 2 oil filters, 4 air filter changes, 26 patches made on the front tube, 1 on the rear, 1 coolant change after the loss and top up with borehole water,
Chain tension was adjusted once, but didn't really need it.
Front mitas c17 tyre did Tankwa rally before the trip and is pretty much finished now.
Rear motoz tractionator desert ht was basically new for the trip, and is fairly well worn. I'll still get a few day or weekend rides out of it.
I'll weigh the bike and all the gear tomorrow if anyone is interested.
I destroyed 1 pair of gloves and was kindly given a used pair in Walvis bay, Thanks Dirk!.
Total I had 4 days where I didn't ride to a new location, although I'd say 5 as the 20km move from Oewerbos to the bash hardly counts, despite the pack up and unpacking being the same as a normal day riding.

I'm very glad I've done it, although I feel like I've only scratched the surface of Namibia.
Would I recommend doing it?
yes.
Alone?
Only if you have to. And only with some form of satellite Comms.
The isolation really does weigh on your mind up in the remote areas, and I think having a riding partner would help that significantly.
Will I go again?
Absolutely. But: I wont ride from CT, and I'd skip southern Namibia below Windhoek/Walvis bay. That's big bike territory, with gravel roads and a fair chunk of tar, and long distances.
North of Walvis is amazing on a smaller bike, opening up river beds and tiny mountain tracks as route options.
SA has some fantastic riding for smaller bikes, I've done a chunk of it myself, but because I have done it, I have to go further out to find new routes.

Thanks to everyone who has been following and keeping me company. It's been a pleasure to share this trip 🤟
I've had an amazing shower and am super excited for a bed with pillows that fit and no mozzies.

Odie wondering why the scenery is going backwards
1668958504237.jpeg

Rail way service road entertainment
1668958534251.jpeg

The end of the dirt
1668958572925.jpeg

Finally back Home
1668958604654.jpeg

Day 29 The home run
I was very spoiled on the drive home, thoroughly enjoying getting to know Lars a bit more, the miles flew by while we talked kak mostly.
After a quick stop for some sustenance and fuel in Klawer, we arrived in Moreesberg. On a gravel verge surrounded by the sounds of loud exhausts in the distance, and music mingling with the odd burglar alarm, I loaded the gear bike for the final time and got kitted up.
Goodbyes were said and after a quick calculation, I stopped for a 5l top up.
I don't want the tank full for when I have to work on the bike next, so just a splash n dash.
Moreesberg in the mirrors I hummed down the tar. Thinking and reflecting on the last few weeks.
That got very deep very quickly, so instead I found a gravel alternative route, that took me onto the railway service roads.
As they are seldom used they keep you focused and punish any wandering concentration quickly. I shot thru Kopperfontein and Hopefield where a train surprised me just after a level crossing.
There's one section where I had to cross a bridge riding between the rails and rattling over the sleepers. It's not as bad as some of the Namibian corrugations, but having just seen a train I was feeling unreasonably edgy riding there.
Successfully navigated, the service roads were enough excitement as I became more and more aware that this is finally coming to an end. And with that the greater the likelihood of something happening (in accordance with Murphy's law)
A short tar stretch separated the last gravel road, which as it did on the way out surprised me with a massive Cobra. It coiled and raised as I passed but by the time I got turned around to try catch a photo it had moved on.
I was enjoying the cooler air even if it was in a bit of a hurry, forming a stiff headwind for the last drag westward. After weeks of stifling heat it was a novel experience.
Passing the air force base the gravel finally ran out, as did my distraction from contemplation.
As I came into Langebaan I called a friend to ask for a hand in documenting the occasion, which somehow evolved into being fed cake, which is always a win.
Arriving at home and putting the stand down on this epic trip was a relief and a realization that I'd finally got to do Namibia by bike, as I'd been talking about since school and planning since 2018.

The husky carried me over some rough terrain, sometimes fast, sometimes slow, with out hesitation, cable tied radiators, broken side stand and gear lever springs and all.
I won't count punctures as a mechanical issue, but I still hold that tubliss is the answer, with the caveat that you should not have had mousses in the same tire first.
My luggage system worked very well, and only needs a wash and 1 small patch on the waterproof bag.
The seat is still the stock one and while I managed, it could be improved greatly.
My favorite quote from the trip was Dirkie, looking at my stock seat and saying "you must have a very strong o-ring to sit on that"
The cush hub is magic, reducing vibrations and making everything more comfortable.
Some numbers
27 days from home to home.
Total of 6628.8km ridden over 102 hours. I'd estimate that no more than 15% of that was tar.
3 oil changes, 2 oil filters, 4 air filter changes, 26 patches made on the front tube, 1 on the rear, 1 coolant change after the loss and top up with borehole water,
Chain tension was adjusted once, but didn't really need it.
Front mitas c17 tyre did Tankwa rally before the trip and is pretty much finished now.
Rear motoz tractionator desert ht was basically new for the trip, and is fairly well worn. I'll still get a few day or weekend rides out of it.
I'll weigh the bike and all the gear tomorrow if anyone is interested.
I destroyed 1 pair of gloves and was kindly given a used pair in Walvis bay, Thanks Dirk!.
Total I had 4 days where I didn't ride to a new location, although I'd say 5 as the 20km move from Oewerbos to the bash hardly counts, despite the pack up and unpacking being the same as a normal day riding.

I'm very glad I've done it, although I feel like I've only scratched the surface of Namibia.
Would I recommend doing it?
yes.
Alone?
Only if you have to. And only with some form of satellite Comms.
The isolation really does weigh on your mind up in the remote areas, and I think having a riding partner would help that significantly.
Will I go again?
Absolutely. But: I wont ride from CT, and I'd skip southern Namibia below Windhoek/Walvis bay. That's big bike territory, with gravel roads and a fair chunk of tar, and long distances.
North of Walvis is amazing on a smaller bike, opening up river beds and tiny mountain tracks as route options.
SA has some fantastic riding for smaller bikes, I've done a chunk of it myself, but because I have done it, I have to go further out to find new routes.

Thanks to everyone who has been following and keeping me company. It's been a pleasure to share this trip 🤟
I've had an amazing shower and am super excited for a bed with pillows that fit and no mozzies.

Odie wondering why the scenery is going backwards
View attachment 803756

Rail way service road entertainment
View attachment 803757

The end of the dirt
View attachment 803758

Finally back Home View attachment 803759
Befok!!!!

Really enjoyed your report, thank you, that was very entertaining.
Missed you at the bash, my bike was 1 of the ones stuck on the Tech 1 route the Thursday night ...... the black 950
Did the similar Namibian Northern riverbed loop trip in 2008 on a KTM 640 with Pirelli Rallye Cross knobbly tyres and not a single puncture.

What a mesmerizing RR, how you found time for all the pics beats me, I also planned to stop often but found once I was in the saddle all I thought about was how much I am enjoying things. Wonderful meeting you at the bash too, albeit briefly. Hall of fame stuff here Craig!