Tequila Ride. 2000 km. From PE to Verneuk Pan.

Louis Horn

So my riding buddy and me decides to go for a Tequila on a remote destination and do as much dirt as is sensible through the Karoo on the way.

As SA have another Land speed attempt on Verneuk Pan next year (North Namakwaland, I think), we decided to go see what the fuss was about and have a Tequila there. (in other words, Kak excuse to ride)
We expected some hurdles and were prepared for setbacks, so we decided to take it easy.

I recently acquired a 2006, 990 Adv.S and has not done much dirt. No definite route or plan in mind we set of in pursuit of the endless dirts.

Ps. All pictures was taken with my BB.

• 2.JPG
    2.JPG
    95.8 KB
  • 1.JPG
    1.JPG
    82.9 KB
Day 1.

We left PE on December 12th, a crisp perfect Monday morning at around 07:00. About 14 km after Uitenhage Left onto the dirt and on to Steytlerville. The roads through the Karoo is top notch and we made good time. First cold beer at Steytlerville Royl Hotel was before lunch and after a good sandwich we were on our way.

Next stop was Rietbron. The town was bare and probably not on my list of favorite places. There is nowhere to eat, drink or fuel up. Damn hot too, so we pushed on to Beaufort West. As soon as we stopped at the last stop street I noticed a plastic smell. I looked around and noticed the tailpiece cover out of place. It turns out the saddle bags pushed the covers onto the pipe and heated the plastic. Some quick adjustments and we were of again. Made a mental note to investigate further at Beaufort West.

Beaufort West was busy as hell when we checked into a Royal Hotel. We unpacked and made a B-line for the bar where we had spent a good few hours before turning in.

• 3.JPG
    3.JPG
    103.9 KB
  • 4.JPG
    4.JPG
    82.8 KB
  • 5.JPG
    5.JPG
    76.4 KB
  • 6.JPG
    6.JPG
    46.6 KB
  • 7.JPG
    7.JPG
    69.2 KB
  • 8.JPG
    8.JPG
    92.9 KB
Day 2.

Next morning I had to strip down the 990 tailpieces and did some slapdash heat insulation, as the damage was worse than I feared. This put a dent in our schedule for the day, but by 10:00 we were on our way. The weather was wind still, cloudy and cool. Perfect for riding. The country side was very scenic and we made good time to Loxton.

No public toilets and I needed porcelain urgently. So I had to praat very mooi wif the aunti at the local off sales.

My adrenalin rush for the day was not induced by the confidence building KTM , but a F*&#n wasp in the shitter. Last knight’s brandies wanted out and 2 minutes into this ordeal I notice a big bugger of a wasp sitting on the edge of the basin. Shiny black and bright yellow like some cheap Japanese SBK. It must have felt very offended by my presence (let alone the smell) and I feared the worst. I begged it very nicely to sit still, but no luck. 3 or 4 times I closed my eye and waited for the sting. Imagine my relief when I left unstung and unsoiled. By the time I got to the saddle my legs was a bit wobbly as if I’ve just been chased by a bear.

Next stop was Carnarvon. By the time we rode into town there was a nasty wind blowing and after we filled up made for the Blikkies bar. Ive never seen so many beer cans in my life. This pub has a collection that took the owner 40 years to acumalate and still growing. The hospitality was great and the food very welcome.

Our aim was to sleep at Brandvlei Hotel and we had to push on. The wind did not quit and once through Williston the roads were getting loose. This made riding tricky and we made Brandvlei at around 19:00, tired, dusty and thirsty.

Once again we are met by tipical plattelandse mense with smiles, hospitality and good food (I think I gained about 10 kg’s on this trip). The bikes are hauled onto the stoep behind bars and we settled down for a good nights beers and laughs.

• 10.JPG
    10.JPG
    54.2 KB
  • 16.JPG
    16.JPG
    58.6 KB
  • 15.JPG
    15.JPG
    100.2 KB
  • 14.JPG
    14.JPG
    74.4 KB
  • 13.JPG
    13.JPG
    107.8 KB
  • 12.JPG
    12.JPG
    74.5 KB
  • 11.JPG
    11.JPG
    107.2 KB
  • 9.JPG
    9.JPG
    45.2 KB
Day 3.

As we stopped at the Brandvlei filling station the wind was still pumping with about 100 k’s to go for the pan. Had a quick red bull and 30 k’s later opened the first gate on the road we lovingly dubbed “Pad van n 1000 hekke”. This shit was not funny. What the hell? We soon started to relay gates, but progress was slow. This didn’t do my thighs any good either.

As the KTM is known for fantastic fuel consumption compared to the F800, we hoped to refill on Swakop just before we get to the pans. WTF. Talk a bout remote. All the litlle plaas kinners came running out, finger in the nose, cheering and laughing. One old man walked up to us when we stopped at the petrol pump with a big smile said, “ Goeie more manjir, die petrol hys kla.” I saw my F800 buddy started to stress. I asked him since when and he responded by scratching his dusty hat and said,” Oooo, ek denk dis las djar manjir.” Fok.

The greatest concern was we still did not know how to get on the pan, how far we are going to ride for the day or where we will find fuel. Cause out here, there is truly Fokkol.

This was a very, very dificult desition to take, so we decided to be sensible and responsible about this and rode on regardless. Ons ma’s het mossie bang kinners groot ge maak nie.

Just before 12:00 the earth opened in front of us and we saw a beautiful dam in the distance. Just then a farmer and his wife (With a kakhys vol skappe on the trailer) stopped us with big smiles. “Waaa gan julle?” I almost asked her if shes joking but politely asked about the pan. Her response, “Daaai groot dam da, wat soos water lyk, dis hy, maar dis nie water nie. Dis die verneek pan”. Dankie tannie, and of we went.

So we rode another hour or so and where we estimated the middle was, we stopped, had a lekke Jose’ Tequila, set a few land speed records and decided, that’s that, been there done that and started our relay gate opening dusty ride back to Brandvlei.

At around 13:00 we filled up (the very economical KTM only taking about 3 litres). We had to maker a B-line (time not on our side) for Prince Albert via Kalvinia, Williston and Leeu Gamka. From here the wind was head on and gusting all over the place, screwing up the big KTM, I mean BMW’s fuel consumption even further. Kalvinia was cold as a fridge and we got out of there damn quick. Around 20:00 we stopped in Prince Albert. After Pizza and a few cold ones, we checked into Karoo Lodge and settled down for the night.

• 30.JPG
    30.JPG
    73.8 KB
  • 31.JPG
    31.JPG
    75.1 KB
  • 29.JPG
    29.JPG
    77.5 KB
  • 28.JPG
    28.JPG
    66.9 KB
  • 27.JPG
    27.JPG
    71.5 KB
  • 26.JPG
    26.JPG
    63.2 KB
Day 4.

Karoo Lodge is one of those must do spots. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The quality of everything is top notch and the prices reasonable. Check out the link.

https://www.karoolodge.com/

We woke to a beautiful morning with perfect riding weather. After a great breakfast we took a slow cruise through Meirings poort and followed the Baviaans kloof all the way home. Riding was easy and the country side just calm and relaxing. As I considered the contrast to the Karoo I realized why I love the Eastern Cape.

When we left PE for this ride we did not have a plan, a route or even a back up plan for contingencies. It felt foolish and senseless and I loved it. We had a vague idea where the pan is.

Verneuk Pan is with out a doubt one of the most spectacular places I’ve been and I plan to return. There is a camp site on the pan and I would definitely spend at least 3 days / 2 nights there and enjoy the pan more.

A special thanks to my riding budy, Elton Strydom. Thanx Tjom, dit was great.

Cheers.

• 32.JPG
    32.JPG
    149.6 KB
  • 33.JPG
    33.JPG
    88.4 KB
  • 34.JPG
    34.JPG
    119.2 KB
  • 35.JPG
    35.JPG
    70.6 KB
  • 36.JPG
    36.JPG
    81.8 KB
  • 37.JPG
    37.JPG
    110.5 KB
Lekker man looks like you guys had a good one!! one question though.... the red bottle your friend's holding in most pics...(which is by the looks of it one of those fuel containers you can buy at a outdoor shop) was that used for fuel or am i correct in my thinking that that might have been the tequila stash? ???

Lone Wolf said:
Lekker man looks like you guys had a good one!! one question though.... the red bottle your friend's holding in most pics...(which is by the looks of it one of those fuel containers you can buy at a outdoor shop) was that used for fuel or am i correct in my thinking that that might have been the tequila stash? ???

Your asumption is very acurate, it is indeed the grand old lady, José María Guadalupe Cuervo. :thumleft:

• 38.JPG
    38.JPG
    17.8 KB
Louis Horn said:
Lone Wolf said:

Your asumption is very acurate, it is indeed the grand old lady, José María Guadalupe Cuervo. :thumleft:
Ha Ha Ha!!! great minds mate!!

Lone Wolf said:
Louis Horn said:
Lone Wolf said:

Ha Ha Ha!!! great minds mate!!

Ole'.

:thumleft: Seems that you had a great trip!

Carrots said:
Lekker!!  :thumleft:
laat weet as julle wil gaan, ek het ook so paar botteltjies gif wat moet uit gedrink word asook so bietjie unfinished business met die PAN...

Pote said:
Carrots said:
Lekker!!  :thumleft:
laat weet as julle wil gaan, ek het ook so paar botteltjies gif wat moet uit gedrink word asook so bietjie unfinished business met die PAN...

Ons will moontlik die volgende trip maak Hakskeen Pan toe. Dis Noord Karoo. Lyk my ek het die kat aan die stert beet, die landspeed rekord atempt is daa. So miskien moet ons op ry en darm net seker maak die manne is gereed. En miskien n Tiquila drink terwyl ons nou da is.

Ps. Sorry vir die laat reply, nou eers van vakansie af gekom.

• 9474559.jpg
    9474559.jpg
    68.8 KB
  • 44250107.jpg
    44250107.jpg
    10.8 KB
Lekker RR met regtig mooi BB fotos! :thumleft:

Nice om te sien dat n KTM & BMW sulke goeie vriende kan wees ... miskien is die kalmerende / gelykmakende faktor hier die botteltjie tequila!? :peepwall: :ricky: