The Alternative Slide , Ride !

Andy660

Yamaha XT 660 Z
10 Rider pitched ,

Dunce
2SD
GJ
Pleco
Phanus
Andy660
the-Wes
Snafu
Ball &Chain
KtM990, cant rember yr name.sorry !

Well , I fell first  , bruised my ribs , then  Ball & Chain with Snafu ,at the same time.
GJ , said it was very funny !
Ball& chain managed to fall twice.
Then 2SD had a small off.

Oh yes , Pleco hooked his foot in some bushes , didnt fall , but pulled a musle in his back and had to retire  at Cannons kop bridge , home.

But all in all , it was a very good ride.
Thanks all for coming along.

oh dearie! we were actually discussing this ride on the way home today. glad everyone is ok though!

Sounds like business as usual on the AR.  Hope you all had an interesting ride.

911 on:  Perhaps the award should rather be for riding the AR 3 times without falling off. 911 off.

Dankie Andie vir 'n lekker rit. Dit was 'n aksievolle rit en ek het die voorreg gehad om al die valle te aanskou! :thumleft:
Ek het nooit geweet 'n 990 kan 'n 'hand brake turn' gooi nie...!! Mooi man!

Must admit I was relieved when Neil decided to do home renovations!
So little time....so many things to do here;)
One day when I pluck up the courage I'll be back to finish the route  :biggrin:

Hey everyone, so this is my first reply on the forum  :thumleft:  I decided to keep my name simple, and not add the 660, might just look like I am coping Andy!!

Anyways, today was an awesome ride for me, will definitely do that route again. Thank you Andy and every1 that rode with.

Thanks for the ride Andy!

Had lots of fun until I wrenched the back. :eek:

I would have probably retired even if I did not wrench the back. The mud was a bit out of my talent level. I had a few side ways runs, and went farming a bit next to the fence as well before I had the mishap.

Caught my right leg between the bike and the right hand bank on a slide. Right leg got yanked around the back of the bike, while my shoulders were still going forwards. Back in spasm at the moment, but it seems no permanent damage.

I would like to tackle that on a dry day again. :ricky:

Shredder said he had lots of fun, but knackered.

Thanks to the guy on the 230 for looking after me after the mishap.  :thumleft: (Sorry not good on the names)

• IMAG0119 (Medium).jpg
    IMAG0119 (Medium).jpg
    73.6 KB
GJ said:
Dankie Andie vir 'n lekker rit. Dit was 'n aksievolle rit en ek het die voorreg gehad om al die valle te aanskou! :thumleft:
Ek het nooit geweet 'n 990 kan 'n 'hand brake turn' gooi nie...!! Mooi man!

Kyk, ek het al 'n paar ouens sien uit talent uit hardloop op daardie roete.
Soms verbaas dit mens.
Altyd goeie fun.

Andy, another eventfull Alternative route. Thanks buddy it, I really enjoyed it!!
It was nice seeing a few new, and old,  faces!

I could not find my camera this morning, maybe a good thing :)
I think shredder was the only one with a camera, besides Wes with his helmet cam.
Wes, congratulations mate!!! a complete AR with no falls!!! :)

Pleco, it was a pleasure mate, you owe me a drink :)

Damn would've liked to have gone but had to give up the alternate route in favour of the Telkom route.
The builders chopped through my cable.
So I laying the new route today while y'all were having a jol.

PS. respect to anyone who has to spend a lot of time in ceiling voids not for the inflexible

Etienne2T said:
Wie is daai groot ou...op die mini honda? .......... :peepwall:

:imaposer: :imaposer:

Ek dink dit moes baie snaaks lyk :)
Maar nevermind die looks, dit was great fun!!!!

Really sorry to have missed this one ,had to do the family braai in somersetwest,yes Andy ,still need mirrors,both are brocken,might have a possible hip fracture as well after the fall on the way to the bash,going for some x-rays some time this week.Check you later.

Hi guys, great ride and thanks for the fun.
Mud is never a bike friendly environment and can bring on some funny moments.
Oh Andy I also lay down at some stage, as I was getting tired of riding in the mud.---very minor and very slow-was trying to clear the fogged up glasses when I hit a mud hole and slipped from one side to the other a few time and then said WTF this looks like a nice soft spot for a rest-- so had a short rest.
Very nice places to ride in too and if you had a chance to look around some great scenery.
Thanks Andy for organising this.
Always keen to ride.

Thanks everyone,  it was fun.

I really must follow up the previous owner of my KTM.  The bastid kept the bikes's ridingskill behind.

I think I used the front wheel too much.  GJ used only his back wheel in the kak patches :eek7:

See you next time

Thanks for a lekker ride guys! Pity about the rain, I couldn't see a damn thing going up Koringberg  :eek7:

Here are some frame captures from the videos... unfortunately the battery died half way through

• 24.jpg
    24.jpg
    132.8 KB
  • 22.jpg
    22.jpg
    144.6 KB
  • 21.jpg
    21.jpg
    96.3 KB
  • 20.jpg
    20.jpg