THE HERITAGE AND GREAT LAKES TOUR 2014

Still accelerating, it happened............

As I drew almost level with the cab, he suddenly, and without warning, swerved violently to his right to avoid a pothole, right onto my side of the road. Instinctively, I also swerved right, but had to ride off the road to avoid colliding with him. Thankfully there was a pedestrian dirt path alongside the road, and probably more thankfully did not have the big 20cm drop off that characterises the roads in these parts.

Whew, that was close! But my troubles were not over. Not by a long shot. Here I am thinking that I had avoided a near calamitous and live threatening situation, and that there wasn’t a 20 cm ridge to get back up onto the tar to contend with, and now doing over 130 kph, there right in front of me were three effing cyclists oblivious to the impending catastrophe about to take place.

Four hundred and something kilograms of fully laden motorcycle, on a narrow dirt track thundering along at 130kph with three very white eyed cyclists approaching AND a fucking truck still driving on the wrong side of the road next to me on my left, I thought, .......this is it.

I prayed that the cyclists would do the only sane thing and move to their left... into the bush, but this is Africa and one can’t always predict human response especially in a time like this. The first two cyclists veered to their left, but I do not know what the last one did. All I know is that at the point of impact, he must have thrown himself and his bicycle into the bush because we avoided contact.

Fuck, that was close.

Nerves frayed, I accelerated to get passed the truck which was still speeding along, and as I got back onto the tar and pulled ahead, I saw that it was a left hand drive vehicle. No wonder he never even knew I was there!

Now, in South Africa, I would have cursed, screamed and flipped the driver, but here I merely carried on, thankful that my wife and I had been spared and that we would be able to carry on the rest of our journey and get back to our two boys back home.

A few kilometres later we stopped to regroup and collect our thoughts.

A somewhat stressed Cyclops

After the mornings events, and recomposed, we carried on through Zomba to Blantyre. Passing through Zomba we came across this memorial to the Kings Africa Rifles who fought for the allies during the First World War.

There is a lot of road reconstruction on this stretch, all of it being done by the Chinese.

Entering Blantyre from the East we passed by Independence Arch in search of our intended stopover at Doogles in town.

The entrance and quite appealing first impression of Doogles.

Now Doogles is very well known as a respectable stopover by backpackers and other travellers alike and my research indicated that it had camping as well as double rooms and also backpacker dorms. We were tired and requested a camp site for the night. The not particularly friendly staff informed us that there was no camping available. On asking why, I was only informed that there wasn’t any. So I asked if we could have a double room. No, fully booked. Only dorms in the mens section available.  We were not too impressed by this so decided to go and look elsewhere in Blantyre. I could not find some of the other places of accommodation that I had earmarked in my research and in pursuit of one, ended up at the gates of the Presidential Palace, which was at the end of the road on which there was meant to be said accommodation.

Now picture this – some whiteys on a motorcycle with two camo material bags on the panniers,  arrive at the gates guarded by 4 large militia guarding the president’s residence.

They approached us cautiously – it was the end of a one way street with not much room to turn around – and ask what we were doing there. Gatvol, after an eventful day, I said that I am looking for accommodation, that I couldn’t find the place that I was looking for, but that the presidential lawns looked like a good place to pitch my tent and would they mind......

Thankfully, they understood my humour, we all had a good laugh and after declining my request to get some photos of all us, we turned around and headed back to Doogles to rescue an attempt at getting reasonable accommodation.

Unfortunately we could only still get a single bed in the dorm. 

Not to worry, we headed for the bar, had a good couple of drinks and enjoyed a pretty decent meal. The bar at Doogles is lively and apart from attracting travellers, is also well known to the local businessmen and ex pats who enjoy its hospitality. We caught up with some South Africans who were doing some work for a cotton ginnery, had a couple of drinks and retired for the night.

Before going to our dorm, I checked up on my bike and asked the security guard to keep a special watch on the bike, which he assured me he would.

Day 22, Friday 27 Blantyre to Tete, Mozambique.

The next morning we were up early as the main Blantyre bus terminus, which was situated right next door, starts early with the constant hooting of horns to attract customers. The noise was incessant and I was keen to get out of the city. We took our stuff down to the bike, only to find that some of the revellers in the pub had decided to use my bike as a urinal. To make matters worse, some fucking low life prised off one of my BMW tank badge roundels which he decided would look good on his prized Chinese, Datsun look alike skedonk. Man, I was now seriously pissed off and just wanted to get out of this typical big African city and get back into the country.

It took us a while to get out of the city and into the country, dodging the pedestrians and taxis.

The memories of the previous evening started to fade, but I was still pissed about the loss of my badge. Anyway, I wasn’t going to let it spoil the day and the remainder of our trip.

The roads were good, the weather excellent and the scenery stunning.

On the way to the border at Zobwe, we came across more of the blue bags filled with charcoal. I couldn’t help think that the commercial plantations used for paper production in South Africa are based on a sustainable future and the trees cut down for the production of today’s paper have been replaced with thousands of saplings to be used for the paper requirements of future generations.

There was no such evidence of sustainable charcoal production here in Malawi and one wonders how long this source of energy and the business prospects associated with it will last.

The border connecting Malawi to Mozambique  at Zobwe is quite interesting in that there is about  15 kms of no mans land between  the two border posts and I kept on wondering if somehow I had managed to take a wrong turn somewhere.

I had nothing to fear as the Mozambiquan buildings soon appeared in the distance, and we were soon through the border with no hassles at all. Another border post ticked off the list without a problem.

I had also been told that the road from Zobwe to Tete was absolutely trashed and that we could look forward to a good 3 to 4 hour journey to cover the shortish distance of 125 kms on the EN103. Well, the Chinese had been at it again and had built a beautiful new road, and before we had even needed to stop for a break, were entering the outskirts of Tete.

The giant suspension bridge crossing the Zambezi River loomed ahead of us.

Crossing the bridge we were now in the commercial section of the town.

Tete was one of the towns that we had decided needed to be avoided, but its location put it mid way between Blantyre and Harare with no other place to stay on this stretch, and with two border crossings that could be problematic and time consuming. We felt that if we could find something half decent to stay at a reasonable price we would stay in Tete, otherwise plan B was to head to Songa on the shores of Caborra Bassa and stay at Ugezi Tiger Lodge, but this was a further 153 km to the north away and we were very hot and tired. It also meant adding another 153 kms to the journey the next day to get back to the Tete – Zimbabwe road.

After a bit of driving around in Tete we were told about a place called Sintropel, which was a village built to accommodate primarily South African workers  working on the many mining projects in the area.

We decided that it would be fine for one night and booked in, although it did look a bit like a telly tubby village with its igloo shaped chalets and gaudy paint job, but its location on the banks of the Zambezi was great.

Time to settle in, get some beer and relax by the river.

However, we were told that the owners of the establishment were Muslim, and that no alcohol was sold on the premises. Damn!!

But they had no problem with sending a runner into town to purchase some supplies at no extra cost. What service. I was really hot and thirsty so decided to order eight regular 2M beers and a bottle of wine for Lyn. Half an hour later, the runner appeared with said refreshments....except that the beers were 500ml bottles.

After a long day, 8 regular beers is no problem, but eight 500 ml’s is a tall order. Time to start drinking.

We had some meat with us that we had bought in Blantyre and looked for a place to braai it. There were no braais to be found and there were no cooking facilities in the room, but there was a quite decent looking restaurant on the premises. Maybe they could cook it for us.

Better still, they told me that they had a braai out back where they cooked the chicken and steak for the restaurant and we  were welcome to throw our meat on there as long as it was not Pork.  Bargain!

We were soon braaing our steak and sausages, although, the braai and the surroundings certainly did not look the most hygienic.

Once ready, we took our plate of food into the restaurant, found a table and sat down. The waiter came running up and told us that we could not eat in the restaurant as I had a beer in my hand and Lyn had a glass of wine. Damn... again!

I said I was not prepared to eat my supper without a beer  and they said they were not allowed to have anyone consuming alcohol in the restaurant. Stalemate.

After some debate, they kindly agreed to let us eat outside, and promptly set up a table for us. Another bargain was that they had also set up a projector  to screen the football world cup match that was currently being played.
We ordered a salad (the restaurant looked decent enough to risk this) and sat down to enjoy our meal.

The next day, we were both suffering from the runs and concluded that although the restaurant was  clean enough, we were sure that the water used to wash the salad, came straight out of the Zambezi River, with all its pollutants and microbes. Big mistake.

Day 23, Saturday 28 Tete, Mozambique to Harare, Zimbabwe

Today was to be a big day as we had another border post to conquer, but there was also the threat of rebel activity in the area. We left early, and prepared ourselves for a bad piece of road to Changara. This again had been rebuilt by the Chinese and we were soon cruising along a magnificent black top on our way to Nyamapanda in Zimbabwe.

At the intersection with the Chimoio road at Changara, we came across this newly built toll station to becommissioned. We learned the next day that it had been shot up by rebels the day before. Thankfully ignorant at the time of this, we carried on blissfully unaware that rebels could still be in the area. Sometimes it is better to be unaware.

A quick break and we are on our way again.

The border post comes up sooner than we expected, and, like so many times before, we are through without any problems. It is amazing how in the rest of Africa a relaxed approached and smile brings service, albeit at Africa time, from civil servants, whilst in our own country one is so often met with a blank stare and “roller shutter door coming down “ look and a feeling of “ do I really have do work to serve this person – I get paid anyway, whether I am helpful or pleasant, or both or not”.

The road from Harare to Nyamapanda serves traffic travelling from Harare to Tete and onwards to Blantyre, but it is not a well travelled or heavily used road. It traverses a part of the country characterised by large granite outcrops and domed hills and the scenery is quite spectacular.

We soon arrive at the town of Mtoko, a small centre serving the needs of the farming community. Like the rest of Zimbabwe, this town looks like it has been left in a time warp, and is no different to when I remembered it 38 years ago.

Approaching the north eastern outskirts of Harare on the Enterprise Road, we pass a commercial farm on the left and can’t help wonder who owns it now – a commercial farmer or government comrade given it during the dark years of the Jambanje (the violent land grabs from 2008 onwards). Given its appearance we like to believe that a commercial operation is still in play, as although it’s the winter months, the crop looks like it was good.

We stop at a small intersection for me to replace the map on my tank bag with a city map (yes I still use maps, but also rely on the modern equivalent, the GPS). The black and white painted poles with the round yellow “give way” sign on top brings a nostalgic moment.

We are staying with a friend of mine in the Borrowdale area of Harare and will spend the next couple of days revisiting where Lyn and I grew up, where we went to school and to pay respect at my mother’s grave site, which I haven’t visited in over 35 years.

We drive around the suburbs, do the Heritage bit, and let all the memories flood back of the wonderful up-bringing that we were so privileged to experience.

Some general views of the city of Harare.

Day 26, Tuesday 01 July Harare to The Vumba,  Zimbabwe

After a memorable time in Harare we bid farewell to our friends and head east towards  Mutare and the Vumba mountains.

Leaving Harare

We travel through the small town of Marondera , which was an important stop for the armed forces at the time, to stock up on fresh milk, cookies and other wonderful treats provided by the towns folk, as their way of saying thank you to the troops travelling east to the border areas during the war years.

Near Headlands, which is mid way between Harare and Mutare, and the highest point of the railway line between the two cities, we come across this “oasis” serving coffees and cakes to travellers. Its architecture would not be out of place in the Cape.

Suitably refreshed we continue through the hilly areas approaching Mutare and start down Christmas Pass into Mutare.

We stop off at a local Spar to buy provisions for the night at our intended stopover at Hycroft Lodge deep up in the Vumba  National Park.

The road into the Vumba, whilst potholed on the outskirts of the town, is a biking dream with its twists and turns as it climbs up through dense foliage and overhangs to the Vumba.

As we turn into the grounds of Hycroft Lodge we are greeted by this view of the mountains looking across into Mozambique.

Our accommodation for the night

Day 27, Wednesday  02 July, Vumba to Chiredzi,  Zimbabwe

We could have spent another night here and explored this area, but we need to move on. We leave the Vumba and head for the town of Chiredzi in the sugar growing area of the country.

super great RR I am loving it!!!!!
Grew up close to Chiredzi so this is where I really start feeling it  :thumleft:

We headed south along the A9 until we came to a fork to the left. The A9 carried on straight whilst the fork to the left went via Chimanimani. Looking at the map, the Chimanimani road would have missed the Birchenough Bridge, which I wanted to see as it is a marvel of engineering and was the forerunner to the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Stupidly we decided to stay on the A9 and endured an uninteresting ride to Birchenough Bridge. Had we gone left, we would have had some of the finest views of the Chimanimani  Mountains to our left, and would have only needed to backtrack up the A9 for a few kilometres  from this road in order to see the bridge. Oh well, next time.

The Chimanimani mountains in the background, we came across this Mdala carrying water up from the Save River just before coming to the bridge.

A quick fuel stop to empty the contents of the jerry can into the tank and then it’s across the bridge on the way to Chiredzi.

We turned off the A9 onto the A16 and then onto the A10 at Tanganda Halt and then endured one of the worst roads of the whole trip. This wasn’t potholed like the one in Malawi where we had the altercation with the truck, but rather was a patchwork of repaired potholes on repaired potholes and was like riding on a corrugated dirt road where the corrugations went both laterally and vertically.
To our right was once the verdant sugar cane plantations and cattle ranches of a bygone era. Now it was just wasteland.

We were originally planning to stay at Hippo Valley Country Club, but were advised by my friend in
Harare that the Triangle Country Club was better so after filling up in Hippo Valley we headed on to Triangle.
The entrance to Triangle Country Club and its chalets.

Now just two years previously a group of wilddogs did a trip up to the Chimanimani and stayed over at Hippo Valley country club where the cost of a two bedroomed chalet was just US $20. When I was quoted $80 at Triangle I felt pretty miffed and promptly phoned Hippo Valley, only to be told that their rates were $75, but they were fully booked anyway. So is the rate of inflation in a dollarized Zimbabwe.

We paid our $80 checked into the room and went down to the bar for a drink

Our $80 room!

We had a few drinks and ordered supper which was to be had in the main formal dining room. When we were called for dinner by the waiter, he informed me that I could not eat in the dining room as I was not wearing a jacket, was wearing a teeshirt and only had sandals on my feet! After a long argument I went and put on a pair of jeans, my motorcross boots and my riding jacket as this was then suitable attire, although because I still only had a tee shirt, had to keep the jacket closed. I must have looked a real toss.

The food though was excellent and the formalised dining a bit of a treat after a long day.

Day 28, Thursday  03 July, Chiredzi,  to Warm Baths, South Africa

We were up early the next morning as we had a long day ahead of us and the dreaded Beit Bridge Border crossing.

A last fill up of blended fuel we headed for the Lion and Elephant Motel on the banks of the always dry Bubye River.

Driving into the Lion and Elephant brought back many pleasant memories as this was always a favoured stop over on the route from Salisbury to Durban for family holidays.

After a very nice breakfast and waited on by the extremely friendly staff, we crossed the Bubye River en route to the dreaded Beit Bridge border.

The approach to Beit Bridge and its seething mass of migrants

The Zimbabwe side was quick and relatively efficient and we were soon through and crossing the Limpopo River back home into South Africa. Now to quickly dispense with the last of many border formalities and we would be back home.

We were in for a surprise when we got to the South African side. It appeared that the whole of the African continent was trying to make its way into South Africa. There were the main buildings and there were also two temporary Plettenberg type buildings each with four windows to serve the public. However, in each of these buildings, only two windows were open and each of the four resulting queues of people stretched for  a 100 metres or so!

Not to worry, there must be an office in the main building catering for returning South African citizens and leaving Lyn to watch over the bike, I went inside. Sure enough there was the counter for SA citizens and true to form this was manned by an arrogant officious woman so typical of the new government employee, who promptly told me that the counter was closed and that I was to join the queue outside. It was 11 o’clock in the morning, so not tea time or lunch time, but here is this lazy incompetent civil servant who has no interest in serving the public, but merely to sit on its fat arse and do sweet F A!

Man was I pissed off. There was no way on this earth that I was going to go to the back of the queue of literally thousands of Zimbabweans trying to get into my country, when all I am trying to do is get back home.

I marched to the front of the queue, politely explained to those in the queue that I was a returning citizen and would they mind. After a bit of jostling and trying to force me out, I triumphed over this sea of humanity, presented our two passports and was on my way. Striding back to Lyn and my bike, I looked at my watch and realised that the whole border crossing, both sides, had taken less than 45 minutes. This had to be the fastest crossing of the whole trip. But it could have been very different.

We had originally planned on staying over in Tshipise, expecting a long crossing at Beit Bridge, but as it was only mid day, decided to make for Warm Baths instead.

As we left Beit Bridge, we noticed the seemingly endless queue of trucks waiting to go through the border.

We had a long way to go and set a fast pace as even though we were back in South Africa, I still did not want to ride in the dark.  So with only a few stops and no photographs, we arrived at the Aventura Resort in Warm Baths just as it was getting dark after 11 hours on the road.

We pitched our tent for the last time and headed for the Spur for a few cold beers and big steak.

Day 29, Friday  04 July, Warm Baths to home.

Day dawns on this our last day of what had been an unforgettable journey; we broke camp, took the last few photographs and headed for home.

We arrived home just before lunch after 29 days and 6338 kilometres.  Lyn had been the most wonderful travelling companion who never moaned (well only once did she want to get on a plane and fly back). We had seen some amazing sights, had met many wonderful people and just had a good time. The one thing that struck us the most is that travelling in Southern Africa is not as daunting as it may seem, as long as you are well prepared and treat people with dignity and respect. The people are friendly  and at no time did we ever feel threatened.

Thank you for sharing this journey with us.

Cyclops and Lyn.

Hey Cyclops thanks for taking me home it was a lovely RR and yes I'm sure it stirred up all those mushi feelings as it did me :thumleft:

Wow......... That was brilliant and a RR well deserving of being within the roll of honor!!

Thank you for sharing.

ps: Still miss that bike  ;D

Thanks for selling me your bike Brett. It has allowed me do trips like this, and performed absolutely flawlessly.

Got to plan another one.

Total cost was about R30k which included the ferry which on its own was about R5k. So R1000 per day for everything - fuel, accommodation, food, booze, border fees, sightseeing, memento's.  We camped about 50% of the time, the rest being in chalets. I really think that this is good value for money, considering the distances covered and the places we saw.

Excellent pics! Lekker RR!

Thanks for sharing!

SPOED  :snorting:

Ian in Great Brak River said:
Great report, thanks for sharing and a perfect insight into todays Zim. We went on holiday to the falls as a 7 year old in 1969, watched some TV for the first time ever. It is a great country and will be one again some day soon.

8)

From your lips to Gods ears.... Rhodesia was fantastic, Zim not the same.