The Million turn tour: TRANSKEI and LESOTHO........(plenty pics)

YellowFever

Piaggio (all models)
P1040774800x600.jpg

Well that more or less sums up the whole trip in one signboard, haha

Okay so I had a pretty bad 2008, worse ever. So I decided to end the year good and start 2009 on a high. I phoned Ponkie 2 weeks before Christmas and she was keen to join. Had to plan the routes fast and make the bookings quick. What a trip it was, one of the best ever. Itâ??s been a while since Iâ??ve been on a pillion ride. My bike and all my gear are perfectly set up for it. So needles to say I was looking forward to it.

There are a few other days also involved, but Iâ??m not going to bore you with the basic ride around the block stuff. Iâ??ll just concentrate on the core days and tell the story as usual with some pictures and a few words.

Day 1 East London 630km odd

This was a very challenging day, as Ponkieâ??s never been on a motorbike trip like this. We had to sort our riding style out and get used to a very heavily loaded bike. A howling wind from the front especially close to PE making matters worse. Running full throttle at places the bike couldnâ??t go faster than 140km/h with the screen bending over towards me. Blowing us left and right all over the road. At one place doing 160kms with 17 litres of fuel. I took it fairly easy otherwise for the whole day.

Leaving home and looking forward to time away:
LT1-1800x600.jpg

Grahamstown, what a lovely place as always:
LT1-2800x600.jpg

Just outside the town we hit a serious bad patch of fog, slowing matters down to 40km/h and only a few metres visibility:
LT1-3800x600.jpg

Take it easy, take it easy:
LT1-4800x600.jpg

We were very happy to see East London, stayed at the Fish Eagle Manor, great place:
LT1-5800x600.jpg

LT1-6800x600.jpg

LT1-7800x600.jpg

Day 2:  East London to Morganâ??s Bay - 88 kms

The next day was a short one, on the way to Morganâ??s Bay in the transkei.
MAP2.jpg

Lovely weather and now getting into the rhythm of riding we took it easy with plenty stops:
LT2-1800x600.jpg

Not sure what this is all about but found a plane and some restored busses next to the road:
LT2-3800x600.jpg

Kei river mouth beach:
LT2-4800x600.jpg

Where the ferries cross the river east towards natal:
LT2-5800x600.jpg

We stayed at the Yellowwoods campsite next to a river. Note that this campsite is not close to the beach but still a great place to be at:
LT2-6800x600.jpg

The clouds were gathering as almost every late afternoon on the trip:
LT2-7800x600.jpg

The river close to the campsite:
LT2-10800x600.jpg

LT2-9800x600.jpg

Making a fire with wet wood was a challenge:
LT2-11800x600.jpg

â?¦but we got it going leaving some time to take it easy and relax:
LT2-12800x600.jpg

The campsite for the night had some nasty rain but the tent stood up to the test as usual:
LT2-13800x600.jpg

Check out my mini braai grid:
LT2-14800x600.jpg

Haha, but it did the trick:
LT2-15800x600.jpg

GPS details for the day and the co-ords for the yellowwoods camp site:
LT2-16800x600.jpg

Day 3:  Morganâ??s Bay to Coffee Bay - 269 kms

MAP3.jpg

We took it easy that morning to take a few pics of Morganâ??s Bay:
LT3-1.jpg

LT3-2.jpg

LT3-3.jpg

Beautiful and beautiful, hie hie:
LT3-4.jpg

First gravel roads of the trip and we were pleasantly surprised to see the next to the road:
LT3-6.jpg

Daddy:
LT3-5.jpg

Mommy and baby:
LT3-7.jpg

LT3-8.jpg

A busy day in the town of Butterworth:
LT3-9.jpg

We got thrown with an inch wide and metre long stick on the route to viedgesville. It was hair raising as we were travelling at 120 km/h in a bend. A little boy came from the side of the road and flicked it onto the crash bars and Ponkieâ??s boots. We were very lucky to get away unscathed. Here we stopped next to the road to recover a bit:
LT3-10.jpg

Coffee Bay was great as always:
LT3-11.jpg

Our campsite at the White Clay camp:
LT3-12.jpg

LT3-13.jpg

Some shots at night:

LT3-14.jpg

Our neighbours, look at the dogs in the front:
LT3-15.jpg

GPS details for the day and the co-ords of the white clay campsite:
LT3-16.jpg

Day 4: Rest day

Transkei coast:
LT4-1.jpg

On the way towards the hole in the wall:
LT4-2.jpg

I decided to be a little adventurous and jump into the swell at the hole in the wall:
LT4-5.jpg

And here I am waving at the camera:
LT4-3.jpg

Take a closer look, hie hie:
LT4-4.jpg

Ponkie making sure weâ??ve got the sizing correct:
LT4-6.jpg

The river giving the sea a brown coffee colour, not a lot of flow this time round:
LT4-7.jpg

Some of the other holiday makers at the coffee shack backpackers, nice and vibey there:
LT4-8.jpg

The place was packed to the brim all over, with plenty of young people from all over the country:
LT4-9.jpg

Not sure what happened to the shop, haha:
LT4-10.jpg

It was a hot day and we very sunburned by lunch, so I had to make a plan to get into some shade:
LT4-11.jpg

Some nice tunes inside the tent, my mp3 player and Vox speaker:
LT4-12.jpg

Sunset:
LT4-13.jpg

LT4-14.jpg

Day 5:  Rest day

This day was washing day as we had a few days worth of continuous riding to follow:
LT5-1.jpg

The view from our tent:
LT5-2.jpg

And so we set of to the big new years eve party at the Bomvu backpackers. They a few bands an DJâ??s playing with lots of people attending:
LT5-3.jpg

LT5-4.jpg

They even had some people playing with fire:
LT5-5.jpg

LT5-7.jpg

LT5-6.jpg

This guy was the life of the party, showing us some serious dance moves; look at his pilot sunglasses, haha:
LT5-10.jpg

LT5-9.jpg

It was a great party and superb way to start the new year of 09:
LT5-8.jpg

LT5-13.jpg

LT5-14.jpg

Day 6:  Coffee Bay to Underberg - 389kms

MAP6.jpg

So we set off leaving the transkei:
LT6-1.jpg

No need to say anything here:
LT6-2.jpg

On the way to Underberg:
LT6-3.jpg

The hotel in town, you can find the best ribs in South Africa here:
LT6-4.jpg

We stayed at Under the Berg guest house, another great place:
LT6-6.jpg

GPS details for the day:
LT6-7.jpg

Day 7:  Underberg to Mulamong (Lesotho) - 98 kms

This was the true test of the trip. Iâ??ve been looking forward to do Sani pass for quite a while:
MAP7.jpg

The new roadworks on the way to Sani:
LT7-1.jpg

The extension screen really started to rattle at the front so I decided to remove it:
LT7-2.jpg

Some great views to come:
LT7-3.jpg

Wave at the camera now:
LT7-4.jpg

LT7-5.jpg

LT7-6.jpg

Me setting up the tri pod, haha
LT7-8.jpg

Leaving South Africa for a few days:
LT7-9.jpg

On our way towards one of the toughest rides Iâ??ve had in a while, luckily some friendly 4x4 people at the bottom took our panniers in their fortuner which made things a lot easier:
LT7-10.jpg

LT7-11.jpg

LT7-13.jpg

Up and up we go:
LT7-14.jpg

LT7-15.jpg

Starting to get a bit tired now:
LT7-16.jpg

��.and off course we all knew that this would happen, thanks to the bakkie on the left pushing me off line, haha. No harm done though.
LT7-17.jpg

Beautiful Sani Pass:
LT7-18.jpg

LT7-19.jpg

LT7-20.jpg

LT7-21.jpg

LT7-22.jpg

Yes girl we made it, but it was tough, no walk in the parkâ?¦..although she had to walk the last 200m as I had very little traction and the bends got to tight:
LT7-23.jpg

Saturday night yellow fever:
LT7-24.jpg

Thanks to these friendly people for assisting with our panniers:
LT7-25.jpg

Lodge at the top:
LT7-26.jpg

LT7-27.jpg

Just to prove that I was rally there:
LT7-28.jpg

The watch dog, woooof woooofff:
LT7-29.jpg

So we set of towards the town of Mokhotlong, with very few holiday makers in this area it was a pleasure, most people come up sani and then go down again:
LT7-30.jpg

LT7-31.jpg

LT7-32.jpg

LT7-33.jpg

What a view, we took some time to take it all in:
LT7-34.jpg

LT7-35.jpg

LT7-36.jpg

The beast and the beauty:
LT7-37.jpg

Strike a pose:
LT7-38.jpg

We stayed in a hut at the mulamong lodge, no electricity here but seriously well worth the visit:
LT7-39.jpg

This little one was only four days old, shucks:
LT7-40.jpg

Rebecca and I having a chat about the life in Lesotho:
LT7-41.jpg

Our transport and those of the local people:
LT7-42.jpg

The view from our hut:
LT7-43.jpg

Again some clouds and strong wind moving in:
LT7-44.jpg

Some braai vleis and sweetcorn by candle light:
LT7-45.jpg

No elec as mentioned, but the candles did the trick:
LT7-46.jpg

Die aand ster en die maan:
LT7-47.jpg

GPS details and the co-ords of mulamong lodge:
LT7-48.jpg

Day 8:  Mulmong to Katse Dam - 163kms

MAP8.jpg

Some more pics of the lodge:
LT8-1.jpg

This is me and the 3 managers of the lodge, Daniel the one to my left is only 1 year older than me, believe it, because itâ??s true:
LT8-3.jpg

A very long day and some serious turns and twists in the road made it a very tiring ride to Katse:
LT8-4.jpg

Taking a well deserved break:
LT8-5.jpg

Some of the local kids enjoying the new people in town:
LT8-6.jpg

LT8-7.jpg

We needed to stop at a shop for some coke, as the turns got more and more and weather hotter:
LT8-8.jpg

Not much to write home about:
LT8-9.jpg

LT8-10.jpg

Oops thatâ??s going to be a wet boot:
LT8-11.jpg

Running into the town of Thaba Tseka:
LT8-12.jpg

A donkey, a horse and a racing horse, hahahaha
LT8-13.jpg

We booked into the Orion Katse lodge that evening. We planned to camp but the clouds rolled in and luckily so:
LT8-14.jpg

LT8-15.jpg

GPS details and co-ords of the Katse lodge:
LT8-16.jpg

Day 9:  Katse to Roma - 268kms

The next day it was clear skies, and again a lot of gravel and twisty turny stuff.

A better clear weather look at the dam:
LT9-1.jpg

LT9-3.jpg

LT9-4.jpg

Trusty old GS, after 60 000kms, still does the business perfectly:
LT9-5.jpg

Turns and twists:
LT9-6.jpg

Tar road turns and twists:
LT9-7.jpg

Mohali Dam:
LT9-8.jpg

This guy was on his way to buy some mielie meel for his family, a 2 day ride by horse:
LT9-9.jpg

Bikers heaven:
LT9-10.jpg

LT9-11.jpg

The best overnight on the whole tour was at the Trading Post just 40kms south of Roma:
LT9-12.jpg

LT9-13.jpg

Sunset pics in Lesotho:
LT9-14.jpg

LT9-15.jpg

LT9-16.jpg

LT9-19.jpg

The people were still ion Christmas mode:
LT9-17.jpg

We had a perfect setting for the evening, wish we could stay there for much longer:
LT9-18.jpg

Yum yum:
LT9-20.jpg

Some evening shots of the place:
LT9-21.jpg

LT9-22.jpg

LT9-23.jpg

GPS details of the day and co-ords of the trading post:
LT9-24.jpg

Day 10:  Roma to Rhodes - 313kms

map10.jpg

Another long day ahead with lots of gravel and a border crossing, it was very hot. The road into Roma:
P1040665800x600.jpg

P1040674800x600.jpg

The man doing his stuff:
P1040683800x600.jpg

Inside the town of Roma:
P1040685800x600.jpg

P1040690800x600.jpg

We continued further south to the south African border where we crossed at Telebridge:
P1040693800x600.jpg

Bye bye Lesotho, it was awesome, will for sure be back again one day:
P1040697800x600.jpg

The road south next to the Tele river:
P1040700800x600.jpg

P1040706800x600.jpg

Well it was so hot, I had to cool of, some skinny dipping or what??
P1040726800x600.jpg

P1040727800x600.jpg

Then we were in for a serious surprise, The Lundeonâ??s Neck pass. There were no people for miles, and the sights the greatest:
P1040734800x600.jpg

P1040739800x600.jpg

P1040742800x600.jpg

Taking a break:
P1040747800x600.jpg

Our overnight place was the Walkabouts in roads, speak to old dave, he is a character:
P1040751800x600.jpg

Some pics around Rhodes:
P1040762800x600.jpg

P1040764800x600.jpg

P1040767800x600.jpg

P1040769800x600.jpg

P1040783800x600.jpg

P1040794800x600.jpg

P1040796800x600.jpg

GPS details for the day and co-ords of Walkabouts inn:
P1040802800x600.jpg

Ai lekker RR.

One day soon I teel you . . . I've gotta see these place with my own eyes!

Davy said:
Ai lekker RR.

One day soon I teel you . . . I've gotta see these place with my own eyes!

David eks baie spyt ek het jou gemis toe jy in die kaap was, maar jy weet as die wiele moet sing, dan moet hulle :ricky:

sal weer opvang sometime