To Hell'n Gone Tour 2008 - Rewritten

:thumleft: Ja-nee, Baviaanskloof bly maar een van "die" avontuur-motorfiets mekkas. 

Jay said:
Albert Smit said:
:pot: ...sien Dries meng al weer in met jou braai Jay!!!!  Hy wil ook nie leer nie!!

...geniet die res vd rit!

Allie.     :thumleft:

hehe ja ek kan hom nerens heen vat nie.... jy moet hier dop hou dit raak beter  :imaposer: :imaposer:  :peepwall:

Outjie,

Ek maak so!!!  Sien Dries aangesluit by BMW Divers Association!!!  Hoop sy fiets is gou weer toer-waardig na die skade!!

A.    :D

:drif: :drif: :drif:

Hoe blerrie lus raak ek nou vir daai tjops... hell nog nie aandete gehad nie... Mmmm - Butcher's Grill.... hier kom ek!!!  :thumleft:

Hey Silver

Tomorrow is Thursday and the only reason you can be AWOL from breakfast is because you are having such an awesome experience. I am sooo verryyy verryyy jealous.  :drif: I hope you are thoroughly enjoying the ups and the downs. You are doing great, that water would've freaked me.

Remember girl, you ride a BMW and you know what they say:
Stand up, Look Stunning (ooopps I mean up, Look up), Open up ..... 

Can't wait to chat through the nitty gritty when you get home. 

TravelGravel said:
Hey Silver

Tomorrow is Thursday and the only reason you can be AWOL from breakfast is because you are having such an awesome experience. I am sooo verryyy verryyy jealous.  :drif: I hope you are thoroughly enjoying the ups and the downs. You are doing great, that water would've freaked me.

Gotta love it!!!  :thumleft:

:biggrin:  :biggrin:

Misty said:
TravelGravel said:
Hey Silver

Darlin' we ain't nothin without style and grace ;-)... Oh and ATGATT ofcourse  :imaposer:

TravelGravel said:
Misty said:
TravelGravel said:
Hey Silver

Darlin' we ain't nothin without style and grace ;-)... Oh and ATGATT ofcourse  :imaposer:

We are Wild Dog gals... style and grace comes naturally!  :mwink:

[size=10pt]Still Day 10[/size]

I was waiting for the GS to go into the reeds but it was not to be..... sommer dropped right there  :imaposer: I was halfway to the water when I realised I did not take a picture so I made an abrupt u-turn and Dries relizing his fate muttered "ag nee Jay jou bliksem... ek gaan dit nooit afleef nie"  Sorry buddy but it is one of those unwritten rules when your buddy.... or wife  :patch: goes down and there is movement "SNAP away"

Getting that fat pig out of the water (Dries was standing.... I was talking about his bike  ::)) we could see that water got into his luggage and everything was soaked.  I could hardly contain myself at this point.  To top it off Silver took over as camera woman and it made Dries just through his hand up and say.... kry julle lekker  :imaposer: (Silver) Ja ons doen  :imaposer:

Getting the bike out the water and up the hill...
m_DSC03424.jpg

We made the mistake by trying to start the bike while it was still in the water not knowing that the water got sucked into the engine compartment.  "Click......Click..." nothing.... but by then the damage was done. :-\ we pushed the bike up the little hill and assesed what to do next.  First thing was to get the clothing out and hang it out to dry.  I stripped off to my jocks and Silver kicked off her shoes and settled into the leftover lamb chops from last night.  Choping away we convinced her to at leased boil some water for coffee.

The result of leftover lamb chops and a hot cup of coffee.... lekker ne  :mwink:
m_IMG_8506.jpg

Hanging out in the Baviaans  ;D
m_DSC03442.jpg

Result of hanging out..... broek loos
m_IMG_8500.jpg

We decided seeing we striped to get dry lets do the same to the bike  :thumleft:
m_IMG_8507.jpg

m_DSC03436.jpg

Silver took this opportunity to have a restâ?¦. I think I mentioned that :-\
m_IMG_8509.jpg

Thanks Dries it was a lekker rest but we need to get going.  After more than tree hours Dries had to give in and to his disgust and my utter pleasure  :imaposer: the Beast was called into action and we towed the GS to lifeâ?¦.. for the rest of the trip I must add  :pot:

I can swear the Beast is smiling.... I am  ;D
m_DSC03449.jpg

Buell Ulysses XB12X 1 - BMW 1200 GS 0  ;D ::)
m_DSC03450.jpg

Well we were doing well until I stopped on one of the corners on a steep pass to check why there is no movement behind me and what do I see..... Dries looking up at me from about 250 meters down.  With a hands in the air "what now" motion he gives me the same back....  ??? so I repeat the gesture and then he put his hand to his trought and gave me the "it's moertoe" gesture.  This meant I had to turn n 5 ton Beast around on a thirty degree incline with a off camber of at leased the same.  I rode up as far as I could up the off canver and got the bike to run back....... it's not stopping oh Furk it's non stopping is going through my head and then I remembered the 200 merer drop about two meters behind me...... oh fark I'm gonna die. :angel8:

The bike stops and I drop it just for good measure.   I'm sitting on my ass with what could only be described as the brush of death on my forehead.  A small lip of dirt not 20cm high and 30cm wide stopped the bike but just.  The tire track ran to millimeters from going over.  Now I had to pick the bike up but it was as if I was lifting my WR250.... picking up a 280kg dead weight and on the first attempt facing the bike....... adrenalin man it's good stuff I tell you.  Ok so off I go to help Dries and Silver kept going and now I was worried about her as well.  Dries freewheeled his bike down the road and got it going.  We picked up the pace to get to Silver but after about ten min's we still could not find her..... shit now I was getting seriously worried.  Did she go off the side or did we ride past her somewhere?  We kept going and I set a limit and would turn around in the next two km.  Not five hundred meters further we came across my beautiful baby opening a gate..... thank god I thought. 

The last 60km section of the road was dirt highway and we were clocking 120km/h and having a lekker ride.  We got out of Baviaans and had a bite to eat in Uniondale.  While we were eating a group of Vuka riders rocked up and were on a bit of a rally..... I thought that was very cool and I wished them a quite good luck.  Everyone should have the opportunity to experience the freedom of motorcycle riding, everyone.  :thumleft:

We took the R339 that had a closed sign, we soon found out why.  In some sections half the road was washed away.  That river came down with the fury of hell behind it that's for sure.  We rode on and onto Price Alfred's Pass where we chasing the sun again into Knysnaâ?¦. We hit tar as the sun dipped!  Silver asked why I never stopped on the Pass and I started giggling like a girl.... she hit my arm and said it was because I did not want her to ask how far it was to Knysna...... I had no freaking clue  ;) ;D

The one picture in Prince Alfred's pass I managed to get
m_DSC03457.jpg

This is what a BMW rider looks like after being towed by a Buellâ?¦  :ricky:
m_DSC03454.jpg

[size=10pt]Day 11[/size]

We staid in a sweet B&B right on the lagoon

The front garden of the B&B
m_IMG_8523.jpg

The view onto the lagoon
m_IMG_8518.jpg

This is a very nice place and not badly priced at all
m_IMG_8524.jpg

Dries was up early to check on his bike and we decided to make sure there was nowater in the oil.  Bad news when we found the oil to be light grey.  We had to wait for the BMW dealership in George to open so we headed upstairs for a good breakfast.  We started making some calls and the dealership advised to get hold of BMW assist for a referance number so that they could come pick up the bike.  This was done and by nine thirty all was sorted out and we were now waiting on BMW George.  Silver was feeling under the weather so she went back to have a sleep and Dries and I washed bikes and kit.  By 11 there was still no pickup and we called again when we were informed that the driver left and should be there any second.  So we waited......... and waited.......... and waited.  The driver rocks up post 12 and did not even have proper tie downs with him.  He wants to tie a R130,000 bike with normal white nylon freight cargo straps  :eek: We told him to use our tie downs instead.  Dries was off to George to get a oil change for the bike so Silver and I took an easy ride to George on the boring N2.

Dries getting his bike taken to Geoge for an oil change
m_DSC03458.jpg

The very well known train bridge in Wilderness
m_DSC03459.jpg

The Beast overlooking the ocean
m_DSC03460.jpg

We got to the BMW dealership to find Dries but where horrified by the treatment we got.  We pulled in and found the dealership closed but the workshop still open.  As I was about to get off my bike the person responsible for the bike section bolted outâ?¦ â??wait in the coffee barâ?  I then informed him that all the doors were locked, he walked away and came back saying we should walk through the cage workshop.  At that point I made the mistake of asking about Drieses bike "how is the bike cumming on? was it damaged......?" and also asked if he might have the connector for the Dakar mirror that brokeâ?¦. Good lord was my first thought as he replyâ?¦.. â??we doing your friend a favor and the dealership is closedâ?¦. We also have lives you knowâ?  I gave him a quick look with fuck me George (excuse the pun) written all over my face.... luckily I was still sitting on my bike could not get to him before he turned his back on me.  I followed this arrogant moer with my eyes still in utter shock.  I turned to Silver and could see by her expression I was not the only one that heard it.  I told Silver "fok die kak, niemand praad so met my nie, kom ons ry hier voor ek groot kak maak.... " loud enough for him and the rest of the people in the workshop to hear.  I was furious and was ready for what ever came back, but no one said anything and besides I really did not want Dries to not get his bike if I break the mechanics in half. 

I left poor dries to fend for himself.  He told me later he was also treated like shit.  But here is what got me..... Dries now still without a self starting bike.... they pulled him with a bakkie...... that's ok, but they pulled his bike over.......... twice  >:D :dousing: and coursed serous damage to his crash barres and engine guard.  His bike still not going they buggered off, left him there not giving a shit if the bike will start or not.  He called me to swing the Beast into action and we got him going again.  Can you believe people in George buy into such a lifestyle.....  :pot:

While Silver and I was waiting for Dries at the Wimpy we noticed how quickly the wind started picking up.  Within a matter of 2 hours it went from a breeze to gale force, leaving kids and grannies blown off there feet.  It was funny though to see the reaction from the people when they stroling meraly along one second cumming round the corner and BAM.... mommy look I can flyeeeeeeee. :imaposer: hold on my child mommy will hold........ shiiiitttt!!!!!!!!!! :imaposer:

Gale force winds got Silver first and she lost it at the top of the Outeniqua Pass, I stopped and became the second victim as I could not hold my bike up and this is also where the Beast sustained the most damageâ?¦.. from standstill.  I helpful man in a bakkie saw what happened and turned around to help.  At the same time Dries came back and his bike became the third to be blown over by the windâ?¦. It was so strong that it took all my strength just to move forward.  Luckily there were short breaks in the wind and that is where we managed our escapeâ?¦ all I could tell Silver Luna was not to close the throttle come hell or high water.

We celebrated our survival at the pubâ?¦

m_DSC03464.jpg

Great report.
Strong winds also freak me out.

Keep it coming.

Glad you guys made it back safe - looking forward to the rest of the report, looking great so far  :thumleft: - but maybe see you guys Saturday at GM  :)

What an adventure - I think you did great as the distances were huge - I would have really stuggled. Well done.

Awesome stuff guys.... with all that wind, does that make you guys "wintie"  :imaposer:

Hi Jay/C nice to see you on the week-end at GM all in one piece. Awesome trip :thumleft: Glad your leave was extended.

Maybe get together sometime this week ?