To Koedoekloof and back

Mr.T

To Koedoekloof and back
Long weekend and we gotta ride.
Ettiene and myself plan to leave Friday morning @ 6AM,(Yes we dirt riders get up early)
We were hijacked by Pieter Kotze to go with until our favourite stop just outside Joubertina.

• DSC03021.JPG
    DSC03021.JPG
    210.1 KB
What an inspiring ride report  :peepwall:

Thirsty biker but no coffee

• DSC03024.JPG
    DSC03024.JPG
    228.5 KB
We were to regret later we did not stop more often. Pieter rocked up at my place and just a few pics and we were on our way to our favourite meeting place on the Van Stadens Pass highway turnoff stop.

• DSC03026.JPG
    DSC03026.JPG
    231.4 KB
At the meeting place we all arrived within minutes of each other and gegroet and were on our way.
We parted tar past the fans until the petrol stop and the coffee hotdog stop just outside Joubertina.
There we carbo-loaded and had special filter coffee that Pieter made for us.  Very nice coffee I must say.  We proceeded down to George via Montague Pass and Amanda Grave, leaving Pieter to return to home via some longer route.

• DSC03032.JPG
    DSC03032.JPG
    260.7 KB
  • DSC03034.JPG
    DSC03034.JPG
    215.5 KB
The man wants to ride, I can see.  We rode into Mossel Bay and passed by the Buffalo Rally that was getting busy.  Our next petrol stop was on the highway with an assistance given to a fellow biker with a GS 911.  Fault sorted and all well.  Ettiene and I then proceeded to Herbertsdale and a quick water drink stop.  Dirt beckoned us and we obliged willingly.  Temperature was up by 40C so a stop at the river crossing and a swim for Ettiene and a few other fellow bikers that arrived

• DSC03039.JPG
    DSC03039.JPG
    229.6 KB
  • DSC03043.JPG
    DSC03043.JPG
    240.3 KB
From there further on a great dirt to Vanwyksdorp.  Further on we came across an accident on a dirt corner.  A bakkie towing a trailer with a bike had flipped the trailer and the bike was now flattened on the trailer.  The trailer axle and wheels was about 50metres away.  The bakkie was also trashed.  Fortunately the three persons inside only had superficial wounds.  Hmmmm – better on two wheels then on four I can see.  We arrived at Koedoekloof and both of us were dehydrated.  All Ettiene could see was the cold beer sign at the turn-off.

• DSC03044.JPG
    DSC03044.JPG
    223.9 KB
  • DSC03051.JPG
    DSC03051.JPG
    234 KB
Ettiene proceeded to down 3 beers without practically taking a breath.  The fourth and fifth one was more for the taste.  Eugene was a great host and served an excellent burger and chips that evening.  The accommodation is excellent and biker friendly. 

• DSC03053.JPG
    DSC03053.JPG
    193.5 KB
  • DSC03061.JPG
    DSC03061.JPG
    244.1 KB
  • DSC03060.JPG
    DSC03060.JPG
    176.8 KB
We also met Gerhard (Jupiter) who camped over.

• DSC03074.JPG
    DSC03074.JPG
    244.7 KB
  • DSC03056.JPG
    DSC03056.JPG
    229.1 KB
Next morning after an excellent breakfast we left onto the road to Anysberg.

• DSC03077.JPG
    DSC03077.JPG
    238 KB
What a great dirt road and what amazing scenery.

• DSC03081.JPG
    DSC03081.JPG
    241.4 KB
  • DSC03080.JPG
    DSC03080.JPG
    208.9 KB
It is a nature reserve and has camping facilities if so required.

• DSC03085.JPG
    DSC03085.JPG
    211.1 KB
  • DSC03088.JPG
    DSC03088.JPG
    227.1 KB
  • DSC03094.JPG
    DSC03094.JPG
    242.9 KB
We eventually connected the tar road and turned right to Seweweeks Poort.  This of course turned into dirt and was very enjoyable. 

• DSC03099.JPG
    DSC03099.JPG
    252.5 KB
  • DSC03105.JPG
    DSC03105.JPG
    234.3 KB
  • DSC03106.JPG
    DSC03106.JPG
    228.2 KB
Further into Calitzdorp over Huisrivier Pas and a petrol stop.  Now getting very hot at 40C! Riding into the dirt road along the Swartberg mountain range towards Oudtshoorn we stopped at a small bridge over a river crossing and removed boots and soaked our feet and jeans in the cold water for an hour.  A very nice stop and lots of water to drink.

• DSC03114.JPG
    DSC03114.JPG
    232.2 KB
Then onto the turnoff to Oudtshoorn and a good friend’s place for a braai and chat.  That night Ettiene had a tail light fault on the GS.  With the GS 911 we determined a bad connection which we repaired, and the fault was cleared.  All well.  The next day’s ride was via a short piece of dirt on the Kammanassie road and then all tar home.

• DSC03117.JPG
    DSC03117.JPG
    230.2 KB
  • DSC03120.JPG
    DSC03120.JPG
    225.9 KB
  • DSC03121.JPG
    DSC03121.JPG
    243.2 KB
Nice one Trevor
I need to still ride that area

Was a good weekend and a lekker kuier with you guys. Uncanny how Ettiene and I bump into each other occationally.