West Beach Ride: 10 August

Lito

KTM 950 SE
How do you say..................... 16 bikes?  :eek: :eek: :eek:

The weather was chilly going there (all of around 2kays for me :biggrin:) and then the sun came out. Naturally, Wes, replete with drama, told us he wasnt going to pitch and duly turned up.

Sixteen bikes... wow. I'll let the others share pictures, videos, and stories, but suffice to say bikes got dirty, men got dirty, shins got really eina'd  >:D :-\, and men left early due to old age  :mwink:

It was great to see you all - some unofficial awards are to be placed for today:

1) Best comeback: Kamanya - nice to see you back on the bike after your broken neck K  :thumleft:

2) Best noob riding of the day: Michiel - awesome riding on those road oriented tyres, veldskoens and really shiny KLR  :thumleft:

3) Best accident of the day: Wes - you need to post pics, good luck mate  :thumleft:

4) Furtherst travelled: KTM Bigger - not only from Dieprivier, but also from Angola just yesterday...

5) Most tired: A man called Horse - on his WR450... :mwink:

6) Most excessive kickstarting - without question an honour shared: Mr Big and Mountainboy.

7) Nastiest chirp: Wes to Mountainboy....... he can repeat it for y'all  :pot:

Thanks guys for a great day, nice to see some of you again so soon, and nice to see some of you after such a long time again. Super to have some new faces amongst the crowd, and looking forward to summer and further rides with y'all.:thumleft 

Lito said:
Best accident of the day: Wes - you need to post pics, good luck mate  :thumleft:

Sheez WES. Do you ever go on a ride where you don't fall?

:useless:

16 started, 2 finished. It was a culling program.

Ok, this ride report needs input.

I will post all the pictures then you have to tell us what was going on for you or what you can add to the picture.

I have mostly video of the action that needs to have some work before it can get posted to the net.

The rideâ?¦

I was too excited about the ride and got up way too soon and ended up having to read the paper at the BP to wait for 8.30 when I was going to meet KTM Bigger and Paramed. I had only put in half a tank as riding with a full tank with this beast is a little tough.

348706022_jf9D8-M.jpg

When we met, there were quite a few there already, the usual banter and the difficult introductory dance when you need to introduce yourself twice â?? your name and your forum name and then can never remember either!

348707237_aYmTB-M.jpg

348706352_yzPnG-M.jpg

348706425_bJzHo-M.jpg

348706897_5iXrT-M.jpg

348706793_rGrdB-M.jpg

348706465_wSoef-M.jpg

Lito, gave the directions and what was going to happen. I rode off first to take pictures of hopefully some carnage.

It was pretty disappointing, everyone sort of made it over the first hump. And off to the first bit of mud.

Once to the starting point of the mud there was a bit of faffing, there we had to wait for a straggler who hadnâ??t made the rendezvous.

348707614_QLFVr-M.jpg

348707611_rT3Qo-M.jpg

348708444_ajkvN-M.jpg

Whilst waiting some were having a bit of fun in the mud. Lito then successfully started his culling program. He took out the Wes, Wes was about to take off to do a bit of mud and Lito promptly ploughed into him. Wes should have zigged instead of zagging and LIto could have been going a bit slower.

348707739_6fzVZ-M.jpg

348708082_dPu6f-M.jpg

348708508_Dq3HR-M.jpg

348700849_9KUG5-M.jpg

348708169_R9HMz-M.jpg

348700861_youe5-M.jpg

Parramed was quickly summonsed and pronounced that he had seen one of these once before and that the best thing was to piss on it. Some skills he has?

Wes was escorted out as he could not continue â?? sore leg.

It was then on to the piece de résistance or rather the peace of resistance. A muddy, sandy, boggy, track that had grown men crying. They said it was sweat. Donâ??t let them deceive you.

348701236_MCYur-M.jpg

348701616_KL4Db-M.jpg

Although there are no shots of this bit, there is some video with lots of falls. Hang ten though. I will post it but may only get it up later in the week as I have to go to Jhb till Wednesday.

Once we got to the next clearing it was quite a wait for the air-cooled bikes to get to us as they had overheated  and need some rest. Well that was their excuse.

348704153_Q5zea-M.jpg

348704428_pv9hd-M.jpg

348703798_6UKjU-M.jpg

348703709_MXGe6-M.jpg

348703440_SX2T5-M.jpg

348703063_nvVa7-M.jpg

348702976_kxodj-M.jpg

348702928_v73ZK-M.jpg

348702481_aYNY7-M.jpg

348703325_yxhc4-M.jpg

348703458_EYRhm-M.jpg

348702286_4AkmE-M.jpg

348701943_mNTgL-M.jpg

348702112_iDQ5w-M.jpg

At this point the culling program has been quite successful, various players had been gotten rid of and for some reason or another we were down to 12 or so. The rest of the program was given by Lito.

348702491_i4pST-M.jpg

The mere suggestion that the rest of the ride was more of the same had an immediate effect on the culling program and we were instantly down to 6.

Mention must be made of Michiel, he was an absolute novice to this area on a brand new looking KLR. He came sailing though it all even though he was often heard saying, â??Iâ??ve never ridden stuff like this! My fok, are you guys mad!â? Bravo boet you nearly survived the culling program. Butâ?¦ get a decent helmet and boots.

From there we headed off to another twisty, tree infested, sandy enduro-ish type track.

I got a brief shot of KTM Bigger after a fall, he was up too quick though.

348704621_uGqSz-M.jpg

After this stretch we had another pow-wow.

348704802_jkKVH-M.jpg

348704525_W2CtA-M.jpg

And then only Lito and giraffe were left. Ironic, considering that the only person who survived the cull has an animal as an avatar.

KTM Bigger, Paramed and myself rode back along the powerlines. Paramed took a good tumble and I had a slight biff too.

We headed to doodles to meet up with some of the previously culled dogs.

348704921_8h9zE-M.jpg

348705552_QhE2M-M.jpg

348704933_n3fjQ-M.jpg

Lito, appropriately, got shat on by a seagull, incredible aimâ?¦

348705309_qPuTK-M.jpg

348705363_HhSb9-M.jpg

The day was all made good with the normal addition to a good day out â?? beer.

I had a great day, I really enjoyed being back on the bike and it was good to see so many out having a go.

Right so, those of you who rode, post your thoughts and claim your photoâ??s.

Great write up there Kamanya... What a great days riding... What stood out for me was the ability of our heavier DS bikes to travel in fairly rough terrain.... Really was impressed with Michaels perseverance as a noob and his dogged determination...+100 mate.

Thanks Lito,for leading the ride,what a route he had planned! :thumleft:

Wes,lets see those pics?I think you have redefined the word Heamatoma >:D

Mr Big and MB,do either of your bikes have inline oil coolers as that could explain the overheating ??? My bike got hot but never struggled to start,but I do have a happy button >:D You both persevered through Adversity :thumleft:

I have a couple photos that I will put up shortly.

Well done to all that attended,until the next one!

Eish!!

That ride, haaibo, she was tough meneer, make me sweat alot

mud was awesome but that freaking sand. man oh man, probably the toughest i've ever done so far

Mr Big and I did'nt do the XR community much good since we both held up the group, both our bikes overheating due to nature of Lito's route.

While the group was "patiently" waiting for the 2 of us, we had a picnic in the bush while our bikes cooled down. Found some shade, drank, ate some fruit.Really cool I must say  :biggrin:

I sukkelled alot but..............

I wanna go again  :thumleft:

Thanks Lito!!

Here's one of Michael.
Check the helmet ;D

Mr Big,still smiling :p

hey everybody!

right so what a lekker ride - all 30 minutes of it (for me). Lito - I owe you a beer! If it hadn't been for your quick reaction, the collision would have been much worse. Next time you want a hug though, just ask ;)

i'm typing this from the couch, which is pretty much where i've been since yesterday. if you thought the swelling was bad yesterday, you should have seen it last night. for precaution i went through to see the doc last night who sent me for an xray but it's all good - nothing fractured or broken, just swelling. really bad, painful, swelling

i am spending my day trying to do a little work, while i bounce between excrutiating pain and the blissful unawreness that comes with doping yourself up on painkillers

when i'm a little more mobile, i'll post 1 or 2 pics...

thanks to lito, paramed, newguy and giraffe, and of course everyone else

the worst part of it all is not the pain or the swelling, it's the fact that i missed the rest of the ride, and i won't be able to ride for a little while  :xxbah:

:'( sorry Wes man to hear your on the couch. i wonder if this will make you feel better - I am in bed. Typing from the laptop, and about to watch a dvd. Very very nice  :biggrin:

No pain, except for lazy old bones and underutilised muscles pain - I am glad that you have nothing broken. Next time you need some mirrors, we can sort something out though, see?  :mwink:

Good lesson to learn for everyone, I thought I was doing alright by going to the left of the group, but Wes didnt see me/hear me (must get louder harley type exhausts) and took off to the left without looking behind him. It could have been worse, thankfully it was relatively slow. Shudder to think what could have happened without atgatt  :eek:

Hope you heal up quick Wes -  :thumleft:

Great reports so far, looking forward to more  :deal:

Special note to SACK: is everything ok Sack? Please confirm for us mate.

Looks like a proper workout  :thumleft:
Awesome ride guys  :ricky:

Jislaaik - that is hectic...

Reading these reports I have to wonder where Dual Sport stops and MX or Enduro start...

I would probably argue the 'dual' part of the word and you guys the 'sport' ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I wouldn't mind taking the TTR through places like that though...

letsgofishing said:
I reckon Lito should choose the venue for the next bash >:D
Awesome riding guys - hope you heal quick Wes!
Eina...Lito is meant to be sorting the tech ride on the Bash....is this a good idea?

Thanks for the ride guys!  :p
Must say I'm really surprised that I'm not sore this morning!

This was no doubt the most hectic sand riding I've ever done.
Eisbein is right on the mark with his MX comment - as much fun as this type of riding is it's HARD work and it's worlds away from DS riding.
Probably would have enjoyed it even more if I wasn't so kaksleg - really need to get those fitness levels up!  ;D

Nevertheless - thanks to Lito for organising. Good to have met some new (and yet familiar) dogs.
I would also like to apologise on Mountainboy's behalf for holding up the group - I was really just keeping him company!  >:D
Jest kidding  :p - when you can barely stand from exhaustion it becomes a little difficult to kick a 600 to life while its half-buried in sand! It was definitely more a case of the riders overheating than the bikes!

(Kamanya thanks for the pics)

Photobucket's being a bitch so I'll just add a few:

#1 Paramed fiddling in the foreground while someone squirms in the background. This was the first section and still easy going regardless of the sand whoops taking it's toll on the legs! (the whoops clearly seen in this pic)

#2 Mountainboy doing the monkeydance in the mud. After I jumped in and proceeded to kick the crap out of his little XR - with no success, Paramed strolled over and nonchalantly flipped the kill switch. It started first kick.  ::)

#3 I'm REALLY sorry Newguy - it was an accident - I promise..  >:D

#4 Red like Chilli-Pepper and just as dangerous!  ;D

• P8101228.JPG
    P8101228.JPG
    95.9 KB
  • P8101231.JPG
    P8101231.JPG
    87.7 KB
  • P8101233.JPG
    P8101233.JPG
    85.2 KB
  • P8101242.JPG
    P8101242.JPG
    115.6 KB
My little XR reminds of my vespa's

tempremental little beast, but bliksem, do i love it

Just gotta get it sorted  :ricky:

jislaaik ouens, at a certain, I was moeg geploeg, but in retrospect, it was moerse lotta fun!!

Eisbein said:
Jislaaik - that is hectic...

Reading these reports I have to wonder where Dual Sport stops and MX or Enduro start...

I would probably argue the 'dual' part of the word and you guys the 'sport' ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

The invite was termed something very similar to this: "quick ride in the sand/mud: morsdag"

I delivered  >:D

Seems that most had fun, even though a little challenging for others. Greatest thing about DS'ing, is that you will encounter sand/mud/difficult conditions - so it aint so many worlds away from it at all . If some had multiple bikes, I noticed they brought the lighter ones anyway.

As an interesting note: when the group got culled by 60%, we had only done around 6-9km's anyway!  :imaposer: By the end of the day, it was circa 12-15km's.

For those who want to stay away from sand, I respect your decision. For those who wanna learn how to ride it (which makes it way more fun), come on a ride again with us. I'll grade it nicely for those wishing to come (I did say it was going to be Grade 3 and up), and theres always lots of sand courses to enjoy by sponsors of this site.

Looking forward to more pics, I know Michiel/Sprocketbek and company had cameras  :mwink: