West Coast and Richtersveld: Bloody hell!

Absolutely awe-inspiring. Hats off to ML for putting up with it, sticking through to the end, trusting your judgement.... and then wanting to go on the next one!

Man - I love your wife..!  :thumleft:

Every now and then, a snippet of inspiration comes my way.... today it wuz your turn. You got character, Boet, down to the core, and you brought your lady through to safety - clear thinking, determination... heck, we need guys like you in SA today. :thumleft:

Thank you all for the replies. Its great to know that so many of us share the same passion and love for the outdoors on two wheels. I try to write as to bring you all with me on the trip. I'll keep on trying!  :biggrin:

I am truly a lucky man for having such a wonderful wife.

Tok-tokkie: Thanks for the info on the Citroen. Hope to be on a ride with you soon!

XT660R: Buddy! I was in brought up english, and then when to a afrikaans high school. So I can speak da english since I was twice!  ;D

Wolweseun: I was wasted, but now, thinking of it,  I wanna go back. You coming along?  >:D

Carnivore: Thank you sir for the fine words. Its hard to stay positive in SA sometimes. These days I forget about news and politicians, and concentrate on the people I meet. I have yet to meet a unfriendly face in Africa. Screw the politicians, we need to help our fellow man, the rest will follow.

Everyone: You guys rock!  :ricky:

Bliksem tjom! nice trippie. darem bly julle het nie te veel kak gehad nie.

hoe reliable rate jy die ktm uit 10 uit?

Great report and a big  :thumleft: to your wife.

Also had the sidestand problem on the Adventure two weeks ago on a trip to Cape Town.  Also managed to bridge the wires on the side of the road. Beats waiting for BMW on call. ;)

REDRIDER said:
MrBig said:
Camelman said:
Riding alone, I would normally have stood up, got my speed up, and rode it normally, but with a half-ton bike and my vroutjie-doutjie on the back, I was really trying not to fall and was grinding in first gear, duck-walking and and almost falling every 50 meters..
Very nice report !
Been there even  on me own that stretch was hard and tiring   ???

Gay :biggrin:

Nice one.

And wispek to your suffering wife. Hold on to her.

Thanks for posting. This surely is a trip you will remember for a loooong time. Respect to you and
the Mrs. :thumleft:

Well done and nice RR. That feeling when your bike wont start etc. I hate it.  :mwink:

I post 3 pics of Helsekloof to give an idea what it is like. From a trip in years gone by. Hope you dont mind. :)

• Helsekloof2_2.jpg
    Helsekloof2_2.jpg
    173.8 KB
  • Helsekloof4_3.jpg
    Helsekloof4_3.jpg
    156 KB
  • Billyseval.jpg
    Billyseval.jpg
    138.1 KB
Enjoyed this report thouroughly.

The bad news on the sat phone, as you will find out when you start looking into it, is that it is frikkin expensive  ::)

The flight plan idea, however, is essential when riding solo or difficult terrain.

Hey Camelman

Thank you so much for posting this ride report, I really enjoyed it so much it felt like I was right there with you.

Im planning a trip for next year Apr, two up from Jhb all along the coast of SA. 

My trip is still in the planning stage and just a distant dream but your route from Cpt is exactly how I was planning my trip up to Alexander Bay with the same overnight stops.  You have really helped me so much with your report.

I'd like to bounce my route of you, so if you don't mind I will PM you later.

BUT your trip looks so awsome Im not sure if I can wait until next year  :-\

Thx again for a great report  :thumleft:

Very well written. Places like Skaapvlei, GertduToit se Baai en Brand se Baai comes to mind. Lived and worked on that coast for 12 years. Still miss it. Where in Kleinzee a month ago. We stayed in the caravanpark. Charles Weyers is the man to contact there. C.

Ama Ride Ride: No problem mate. Sharing is caring!  :biggrin:

Kykdaar: If you have a sat phone please PM me. I would like more info. Thanks bud.

Hidalgo: Bru, if you have as much guts as the horse of the same name as your nic, then you'll have a great time. PM me anytime.

Madala: Thanks you please!

Jacko: Your trip in last moths magazine has inspired our next mission. Namibia!

Gonedown: It tru bru. Crap component. One should remove that little piece of problem as a matter of principle!

Steveh0: Dude. The way you ride that scoot of yours, you can only buy a KTM. Anything else will go broke. Reliability = TLC. The more TLC, the more reliable your bike becomes. Me thinks, anycase!

Camelman...a really great report and especially moreso that ML was there with you to appreciate all the pleasures, frustrations, hicuups that occur on a trip like this and still put up with climbing back on....  :biggrin:

We could no with a lot more MLs enjoying these pleasures with their men.... ;)

Camelman said:
Steveh0: Dude. The way you ride that scoot of yours, you can only buy a KTM. Anything else will go broke. Reliability = TLC. The more TLC, the more reliable your bike becomes. Me thinks, anycase!

too true. Look after your bike and she will take you where you want to go.

Excellent report, loved every minute of it.
Respect to the wife.

The route hit very close to home as I did it in a cage after a ride through Namibia last December, https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=13428.msg199605#msg199605
one of the most beautiful parts of the world and yes we are extremly lucky to have it all on our doorstep. We stayed at some of the spots you did and I can say in Hondeklipbaai we were lucky enough to have the camp full and enjoyed a great meal in the restaurant.
We did it north to south but I am gonna start planning South to north very soon and this time on two wheels.

Well done

I was referred to this ride report by the gang at Farmers Market on Saturday me thinks, and they raved about it. So I had to check eet owt!  ;D They spoke of your experiences and also how well written it was.

Verdict?

They were right! Really ace report Camelbak  :biggrin: it was baie baie lekker. I like your wife already - theres not too many tough ladies out there, and she's clearly one of them  :thumleft:

Mooi gedaan? (soutie trying to bring the ufreekaans out)

Camelman said:

Hello  Boet !, I thought we were friends , and the XT ?