Wild Coast Adventure

Do you think this report has to many pictures and to little text ?

• To many pics , to little text.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • To little pics , to much text.

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Hey JP, Dante here. Forge forth...doing great job. Will post my recent trip in Italy on Ducati Multistrada when you are complete with your post. I hope you have the pic of Bart's bike upright on back wheel in the deep rut, when he split his lip.

Now there's a thing. Dante , the guy 2 posts earlier is in fact Mr. Sinibaldi. He is one of the 2 guys from Durban that joined us on the trip. I haven't seen him since the trip. How's that , meeting again on a spot like this.

Nice report J ;) - Here's a graphic of the trip - gdb to follow in next post:

• Activelog_niel.pdf
    88.7 KB
And here's the gdp from Mr Garmin....follow the breadcrumbs at your own risk!!

• Activelog_niel.gdb
    137.6 KB
Now a few words and pics regarding accommodation. I recon if you want you can tent away throughout the Kei, no problem. There's plenty campsite with great facilities. As mentioned earlier we decided to take it easy in the Kei so we booked ahead of time at most of the top accommodation sites en route.
We were tripping in June outside the school holidays and except for the few that were chasing the sardines into the Wild Coast they place was basically empty. Have a look at the pics and see just how few peeps there are.

Here's a summary of our overnight spots.

We started in Port Edward about 120km south of Durban. It's a beach resort of some kind and perfect for the first night.
IMG_9459.jpg

IMG_9452.jpg

We then hit the Wild Coast in it's full glory and we're spoiled with camps like Mtentu River Lodge with it's solar heater showers en all.

IMG_9502.jpg

DSC00041.jpg

Night 3 and we rolled into Mbotyi. Bungalows and soft mattresses. Nothing like it after a hard days riding.

IMG_9530.jpg

And then to really spoil ourselves we had that fantastic seafood lunch outside Port St Johns followed with a treat at Umngazi River Lodge.

umngazi.jpg

Anchorage Hotel at the mouth of the Umtata river was up next. The hotel is on the beach. The place was completely empty and we had the all the service a man can dream off.

IMG_9578.jpg

DSC06275.jpg

There's a place in the Kei called Bulangula Lodge. It's a ******* of a ride to get there but once you've made it there you are at one of the most tranquil spots on the planet. I took a gut wrenching tumble about 500m from the lodge when my pannier hooked up with a gate post and kept the Dak behind with me arriving at the Lodge without a scooter and no air in the lungs. Bliksem, that was sore !

bulangula.jpg

DSC06330.jpg

The next evening we spent in the open. We were going to Mazeppa bay when we ran out of time an had to put up camp. The manne were in great spirit except when we realised that the dop was finished, plenty water avaiable  (all salt) and chicken noodles just don't compete with seafood extravaganza we enjoyed a little while ago.

DSC06420.jpg

Our last night was spent at Mazeppa  Bay Hotel. By this stage the manne were lekker tired and the locals at the hotel were just to keen to play all sort of drinking games until who knows what hour in the morning. Eina !

Just a few meters from the hotel is a cool hanging bridge and here Mr Sinibaldi is testing it out.

TKBS%20229.jpg

The final chapter:

Well that's it. Writing this report was great fun but also helse effort. I think I've covered most basis and you guys should have a fairly OK idea what we got up to out there. The trip certainly ranks way up there in my books. Someone asked me at one of the GS challenge rides how it compares to the green, orange or red routes of the GS challenge. I looked at him and said, "this is more like a black route , like those you get at a ski-resort".
Again I'll say it's not for the faint hearted but if you're on a 120kg bike you'll have an absolute jol. But the boys pack some heavy gear and those beamers are 200kg plus before you start loading. My advise is to stay as light as possible. Some dudes didn't have panniers, that worked in their favour. But someone has to carry the spares and pumps.
I've gained the utmost respect for the Mahut, it goes everywhere. Just now and then it tries to meander in it's own direction and best then just to get off quickly leave it to relax for a while.

Shot to all the brothers that came along. I believe June 2011 is being planned, yeehaaa !!

Here's  the crowd in East London in one piece.

TK2%20112.jpg

Laterz .....

Awesome report as per the trip !!!! I am lekker envious ... :thumleft:

Delta said:
Great trip report.  :thumleft:

Hey Delta. Ek's bly om te sien jy't die verslaggie gelees. Nou's dit jou of Alpha se beurt om daai Calawi 2010 veslag te pos. Ek reken Charlie is deesdae te besig om enige iets by te dra.

Hi GS Luigi and BMWPE,

I can see you guys appreciate an all BMW outfit. I'm actually very bike agnostic and love to ride anything.

Thanks for the compliments.
JP

Thanks for the lekker report JP.  I really enjoy your sense of humour.  Excellent pics.

Hey JP, Thanks for the posting. sending it to my mates around the world. I will prep posting for the Italy trip I did on a Multistrada. More of a tour than a true off road adventure...then again something special. All the best for the New Year and yes, Pieter made contact with me about the 2011 trip...very keen. As you are agnostic about bikes...I am still in between bikes- and will ride anything. Ciao

Awesome report. Good reading.
I lover the Transkei and have riden there lots in the past.
Just a word of warning - I'm open to correction but I think it is illegal to be within 1 km of the coast if not on an official road. Alfie Cox got arrested for this near Hole in the Wall some time back. In summer they patrol with helicopters and will shoot rubber bullits at those that don't stop. Riding on the beach is an absolute no no. To be done at your peril. I'm sure there's a WD that knows the whole story but please be careful.

Thanks JP, very good, now sometimes, just sometimes, men need to throw the shackles off, well done!! :thumleft: