XT Bash 2014 - "At Last"!!!!

So tonight I sat down to start planning our trip for the XT 2015 Bash but realised that I cant start doing that until I've posted a report on the previous one.
So here goes.......not many words but many pics....

In 2013 my boys Charles and Brent did the trip with me. That year we did 1570kms in total of which 1328kms was on the gravel, in 5 days.
This year (2014) I had planned a longer trip over 7 days.
The "Dirt Road Riders" of Kroonstad wanted to come along.
I'm not fond of big groups but knowing these guys and riding the gravel with them every weekend I sort of knew each ones abilities.

I always feel safer taking a support vehicle along on these long trips especially when you have 30 year old XT's.

We trailored the two Teneres and Chris's  XT660 to Bloem where Charles joined us.
Unloaded and the manne hit the dirt all along the N1 to Colesburg.
Once again I wondered why anybody would want to travel on the N1 when this gravel road is so good?

Day 1:

• Gravel N1 between Bloem & Colesburg.jpg
    Gravel N1 between Bloem & Colesburg.jpg
    148 KB · Views: 403
  • Lekker gravel.jpg
    Lekker gravel.jpg
    188.9 KB · Views: 397
  • Best Vetkoek evr found in Trompsburg.jpg
    Best Vetkoek evr found in Trompsburg.jpg
    166.3 KB · Views: 397
  • Best Vetkoek evr found in Trompsburg 2.jpg
    Best Vetkoek evr found in Trompsburg 2.jpg
    166.3 KB · Views: 400
  • Leaving Bloem.jpg
    Leaving Bloem.jpg
    193.8 KB · Views: 396
Oops... (Haven't done this for a long time man!)

More.....

• Langs die N1.jpg
    Langs die N1.jpg
    133.9 KB · Views: 402
  • Tjailatyd at Gariep.jpg
    Tjailatyd at Gariep.jpg
    217.9 KB · Views: 389
  • Between Gariep & Middelburg.jpg
    Between Gariep & Middelburg.jpg
    170.7 KB · Views: 395
  • Oil check.jpg
    Oil check.jpg
    126.4 KB · Views: 382
  • Smokebreak.jpg
    Smokebreak.jpg
    46.7 KB · Views: 367
After all our stopping, smoking and joking we had to do the last 50 odd kms in the dark........not lekker with XT600 lights.

We eventually got to Middeleburg, frozen from the cripsiest wind I've felt in a long time.
Found Anton at the Hotel where he'd been waiting for us for about 4 hours.
He got away late and hit the tar from Kroonstad to Middelburg. (He's actually a roadie ::) ::) ::))

Stayed at Tannie Elize's guesthouse where we had a braai ( and a few too many Jaggies!)

• Old...very old.jpg
    Old...very old.jpg
    196.8 KB · Views: 384
  • It's getting late.jpg
    It's getting late.jpg
    110.8 KB · Views: 401
  • Safely in Middelburg.jpg
    Safely in Middelburg.jpg
    135.5 KB · Views: 390
Day 2:
Leave Middelburg after a battle to get Chris's XT started. The screw holding the battery terminals had come loose.
I'm just thankful that we didn't have to look for that in the dark along the road the previous night.

Off we go.. Anton with his GS on the gravel with "city tyres"

• Anton se ons is mal.jpg
    Anton se ons is mal.jpg
    114.7 KB · Views: 373
  • Testing local brews.jpg
    Testing local brews.jpg
    150.7 KB · Views: 364
  • Kerk en windpomp.jpg
    Kerk en windpomp.jpg
    109.6 KB · Views: 376
  • Nieu-Bathesda 1.jpg
    Nieu-Bathesda 1.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 356
  • Gravel maak dors.jpg
    Gravel maak dors.jpg
    150.6 KB · Views: 389
  • Cant get enough.jpg
    Cant get enough.jpg
    176.6 KB · Views: 376
We spent like 2 hours in Nieu-Bethesda......We all wanted to spend longer but still had a stretch to go to Steytlerville.

Ons was lus vir kuier en niemand wou ry nie?????

After riding for a while we got to a lekker stream and stopped . Some bright spark asked " Gaan ons nou nooit weer braai nie?" and before you could answer there was a fire going.
Die son trek water!!!

Once again we had to do the last 50kms in the dark on a twee spoor paaidjie. Madness!!!!
It's a pity because I specially planned it for the views......maybe next time?

Got to the Royal Hotel in Steytlerville where we had pr-ordered 6 of the biggest skaap ribbitjies in the karoo.
We got treated like Royalty with salads, breads, you name it.

• Leaving Nieu-Bathesda.jpg
    Leaving Nieu-Bathesda.jpg
    158.5 KB · Views: 356
  • 3 o clock braai 2.jpg
    3 o clock braai 2.jpg
    221.7 KB · Views: 357
  • 3 o clock braai.jpg
    3 o clock braai.jpg
    151.3 KB · Views: 363
  • Tired now. Sun getting low.jpg
    Tired now. Sun getting low.jpg
    136.9 KB · Views: 364
  • Steytlerville Royal Hotel.jpg
    Steytlerville Royal Hotel.jpg
    147.6 KB · Views: 351
The previous night we all agreed that we MUST start earlier in the mornings because this riding at night is stupid and dangerous.
So, although not as early as we had discussed but with our slight headaches and sore bodies we enjoyed a killer breakfast .....

Before we left Skippie asked me how many km's we will be doing on the tar today? "About 18 I said".....to which he replied with raised eyebrows..."Dit sal al baie help!"
The plan was to go through the Grootrivierpoort (also known as Antonies Pass) to Patensie, then through the Bavianns and sleep over with Nico & Christine Smith at Uitspan.

Hier kom baie kiekies......hou was....

• Baviaans 3.jpg
    Baviaans 3.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 340
  • Baviaans 5.jpg
    Baviaans 5.jpg
    213.1 KB · Views: 355
  • Baviaans 4.jpg
    Baviaans 4.jpg
    64.8 KB · Views: 352
  • Baviaans 2.jpg
    Baviaans 2.jpg
    181.9 KB · Views: 356
  • Baviaans 1.jpg
    Baviaans 1.jpg
    214.2 KB · Views: 357
More Baviaans......

• Baviaans 6.jpg
    Baviaans 6.jpg
    49.9 KB · Views: 346
  • Baviaans 7.jpg
    Baviaans 7.jpg
    33.8 KB · Views: 327
  • Baviaans 8.jpg
    Baviaans 8.jpg
    174.2 KB · Views: 358
  • Baviaans 9.jpg
    Baviaans 9.jpg
    241.4 KB · Views: 354
  • Baviaans 10.jpg
    Baviaans 10.jpg
    259.2 KB · Views: 362
and more..........

(sorry oakes but I just have to share these pics......)

• Baviaans 12.jpg
    Baviaans 12.jpg
    250.6 KB · Views: 352
  • Baviaans 15.jpg
    Baviaans 15.jpg
    133.6 KB · Views: 342
  • Baviaans 14.jpg
    Baviaans 14.jpg
    125.4 KB · Views: 341
  • Baviaans 13.jpg
    Baviaans 13.jpg
    222 KB · Views: 354
  • Baviaans 11.jpg
    Baviaans 11.jpg
    217.4 KB · Views: 357
Wait...wait ....wait... Rewind, back to Grootrivierpoort ........

• Grootrivierpoort.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort.jpg
    158 KB · Views: 346
  • Grootrivierpoort Chris.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort Chris.jpg
    231.8 KB · Views: 347
  • Grootrivierpoort 5.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort 5.jpg
    152.4 KB · Views: 341
  • Grootrivierpoort 4.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort 4.jpg
    142.7 KB · Views: 348
  • Grootrivierpoort 3.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort 3.jpg
    208.9 KB · Views: 359
  • Grootrivierpoort 6.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort 6.jpg
    134.3 KB · Views: 337
  • Grootrivierpoort 2b.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort 2b.jpg
    158.3 KB · Views: 344
  • Grootrivierpoort 2.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort 2.jpg
    254.5 KB · Views: 356
  • Grootrivierpoort 1.jpg
    Grootrivierpoort 1.jpg
    145.5 KB · Views: 345
  • Grootrivier pass Here we come.jpg
    Grootrivier pass Here we come.jpg
    139.5 KB · Views: 351
After having enjoyed the coldest beer ever and (as per every stop hereafter) fixing the loose nuts, bolts and screws on that Dakkie, we headed up the other side to Patensie.

En toe.....toe kom ons op die "Blixemsebultjiefromhell" uit.

Chris en Skippie ry daai los klippe dat hulle daar spat en na so paar behoude glye, is hulle bo uit.
Next is Anton met daai GS en sy teerpad tyers. No ways chins......that thing just stands there spinning on the loose stones......and goes backwards!

This causes Charles to loose his line and he ends up in the rocks (and there are moerse ones) on the side.
I stop in mid "flight" and because of the gradient and also because I'm a kortgat, my leftfoot cant find the ground and I take a tumble.
It would have made a fantastic movie.

Anyway, Charles re-groups and gets out.
Then Barry with the bakkie and trailer take on the "Blixemsebultjiefromhell" and bounces it to the top.

.......I try to get moving on the loose stones and end up on my ass ...again!
I'm gatvol. Anton is gatvol....but we agreee that if we drag this GS to the top there will be cold beer for us.

I havn't done PT like this since I was in the army!!!!

• Blixemsebultjie 1.jpg
    Blixemsebultjie 1.jpg
    194.9 KB · Views: 350
  • Jumping up.jpg
    Jumping up.jpg
    200.5 KB · Views: 342
  • GS road tyres.jpg
    GS road tyres.jpg
    219 KB · Views: 355
  • Blixemsebultjie 5.jpg
    Blixemsebultjie 5.jpg
    211.8 KB · Views: 339
  • Blixemsebultjie 3.jpg
    Blixemsebultjie 3.jpg
    156.9 KB · Views: 334
  • Blixemsebultjie 2.jpg
    Blixemsebultjie 2.jpg
    171.3 KB · Views: 344
  • Blixemsebultjie 4.jpg
    Blixemsebultjie 4.jpg
    215 KB · Views: 337
After a few more not "so loose" bultjies we are rewarded with the best view ever!!!!

• Nog 'n bultjie.jpg
    Nog 'n bultjie.jpg
    84.2 KB · Views: 342
  • Tweespoor highway.jpg
    Tweespoor highway.jpg
    185.2 KB · Views: 344
  • Blixemsebultjie reward.jpg
    Blixemsebultjie reward.jpg
    57.3 KB · Views: 330
  • The view 1.jpg
    The view 1.jpg
    110.2 KB · Views: 336
  • The view 2.jpg
    The view 2.jpg
    191 KB · Views: 352
  • The view 3.jpg
    The view 3.jpg
    148 KB · Views: 333
ok... now back to the Baviaans........and my Smitskraal "nearly fail" ;D

• Smitskraal 2.jpg
    Smitskraal 2.jpg
    145.3 KB · Views: 340
  • Smitskraal.jpg
    Smitskraal.jpg
    194.3 KB · Views: 334
  • Smitskraal 6.jpg
    Smitskraal 6.jpg
    174.2 KB · Views: 330
  • Smitskraal 5.jpg
    Smitskraal 5.jpg
    240.5 KB · Views: 341
  • Smitskraal 4.jpg
    Smitskraal 4.jpg
    152.8 KB · Views: 340
  • Smitskraal 3.jpg
    Smitskraal 3.jpg
    151.9 KB · Views: 329
  • Smitskraal 1.jpg
    Smitskraal 1.jpg
    159.7 KB · Views: 338
We once again have to do the last 30 odd Kms to Uitspan in the dark....and I nearly land up under a bakkie parked on the wrong side of the road with its headlights on.
Strange what goes though your mind in those split seconds.......all I culd think of was "what are you going to tell your boys why you did such a stupid thing?"

Anyway, we all made it to Uitspan where Nico spoilt us with braaipacks and a lekker warm fire.

DAY 4:
Uitspan to Koedoeskloof.....

but not before once again fixing that Dakkie!!!!

• Day 4 6.jpg
    Day 4 6.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 333
  • Day 4 8 Church.jpg
    Day 4 8 Church.jpg
    64.5 KB · Views: 304
  • Day 4 7.jpg
    Day 4 7.jpg
    91.5 KB · Views: 301
  • Day 4 Barry Farm.jpg
    Day 4 Barry Farm.jpg
    110 KB · Views: 325
  • Day 4 5 Cage Duty.jpg
    Day 4 5 Cage Duty.jpg
    57.1 KB · Views: 331
  • Day 4 3.jpg
    Day 4 3.jpg
    107.6 KB · Views: 326
  • Day 4 2.jpg
    Day 4 2.jpg
    122.1 KB · Views: 327
  • Uitspan 1.jpg
    Uitspan 1.jpg
    186.2 KB · Views: 339
  • Uitspan 2 repairs.jpg
    Uitspan 2 repairs.jpg
    188.4 KB · Views: 337
  • Day 4 Breakfast.jpg
    Day 4 Breakfast.jpg
    95.3 KB · Views: 334
After a really long day on "cage duty" we got to Ladismith and met my son Brent in town. He'd come up from CT with Archangels KTM.
(My poor boy will never be the same again!)

I'm a very happy man and thank God that all made it there safely!

• Day 4 9 The boys8 Church.jpg
    Day 4 9 The boys8 Church.jpg
    104.9 KB · Views: 299
Thanks to Veldtie for the arrangements of the great digs, we all had a lekker kiep.

DAY 5:
Outride via Seweweekspoort Pass to Gamkapoort dam.
Joined by XT Joe and the Mrs.

Ooops... forgot to add the pics....(its late man...)

• Day 5  5 7weeks 1.jpg
    Day 5 5 7weeks 1.jpg
    161.7 KB · Views: 299
  • Day 5  6 To Dam.jpg
    Day 5 6 To Dam.jpg
    197.7 KB · Views: 300
  • Day 5  4 7weeks Pitstop.jpg
    Day 5 4 7weeks Pitstop.jpg
    210.7 KB · Views: 296
  • Day 5  4 7weeks Pitstop 2.jpg
    Day 5 4 7weeks Pitstop 2.jpg
    234.4 KB · Views: 304
  • Day 5 3a Stocking up.jpg
    Day 5 3a Stocking up.jpg
    169.9 KB · Views: 294
  • Day 5 3 Plenty XTs.jpg
    Day 5 3 Plenty XTs.jpg
    214.9 KB · Views: 302
  • Day 5 2 Breakfast.jpg
    Day 5 2 Breakfast.jpg
    129.2 KB · Views: 292
  • Day 5 1 Lekker digs.jpg
    Day 5 1 Lekker digs.jpg
    227.7 KB · Views: 300
There are "Dam Duikers" and then there are "Dam Kuikers"

• Day 5  7 Dam Kykers.jpg
    Day 5 7 Dam Kykers.jpg
    145.1 KB · Views: 303
  • Day 5  7 Dam Kykers 1.jpg
    Day 5 7 Dam Kykers 1.jpg
    69.3 KB · Views: 295
It was rather cool chatting with the "Baas of that plaas" and hearing how lonely it gets there.....scary really.

After a few frosties and a lekker lunch we headed back

• Day 5  7 Die Baas van daai plaas.jpg
    Day 5 7 Die Baas van daai plaas.jpg
    128.9 KB · Views: 301
  • Day 5  7 Lunch comming up.jpg
    Day 5 7 Lunch comming up.jpg
    103.1 KB · Views: 291
  • Day 5  7 XT Manne.jpg
    Day 5 7 XT Manne.jpg
    104 KB · Views: 299
  • Day 5  8 Back.jpg
    Day 5 8 Back.jpg
    175.8 KB · Views: 293
  • Day 5  8a Back.jpg
    Day 5 8a Back.jpg
    156.9 KB · Views: 295
  • Day 5  9 Back.jpg
    Day 5 9 Back.jpg
    109.2 KB · Views: 291
  • Day 5  10 Back.jpg
    Day 5 10 Back.jpg
    215.1 KB · Views: 346
As I drove through the gate at our digs and geared down, there was no power???? :eek: :eek: :eek:
I pushed the bike 10 meters home and started disecting it.

Thanks to the trusty butler we had enough Jaggies to keep us motivated.
Unfortunately we found that the drive shaft had stripped its splines and that was the end of our trip with T1

Thanks for all the arrangements and good fellowship with my fellow XT lovers. (and some other traitors)

• Day 5  11 The Butler.jpg
    Day 5 11 The Butler.jpg
    181.8 KB · Views: 295
  • Day 5  12 The boys.jpg
    Day 5 12 The boys.jpg
    124.5 KB · Views: 293