2019 Canola Run - the route

ultraflight

BMW F800GS
Those that missed this year's Canola Run, missed out BIG TIME!
It was an epic day... up to 34C heat, lots of dust, but still an epic ride.
I believe that 290 tickets were pre-sold online, but many more were bought upon arrival.
I am guessing about 420 bikes... can anyone confirm the number of bikes?

Anyway, here is a little video of the actual route as I rode it, with a few photos thrown in.
I tried to add the farm names that we rode through or past, but some names elude me.

Watch a low resolution version here or click the link below that to watch and/or download the full HD resolution 1920x1080 version.

[youtube]https://youtu.be/aRdyPCFqEA0[/youtube]

Higher quality version at:
https://www.relive.cc/view/r10008211667

Lekker - thank you. Always wanted to take part in this but the route is nice to have  :thumleft:

ultraflight said:
The route changes every year.

Most of these roads are on private property and are not accessible except during the Canola Run.

:lamer: Argh, ok.

Lekker man!  Was great seeing some old faces again

ultraflight said:
The route changes every year.

Most of these roads are on private property and are not accessible except during the Canola Run.

This is indeed what makes this run so special.

This is still one of South Africas  most epic rides ...

MickeyT said:
Lekker man!  Was great seeing some old faces again

Always great seeing you guys as well.  :thumleft: ;D

Thank you Johnnie Bok and yr fantastic crew for yet another awesome Canola Run.

Although there was no rain this year ,it was still a great route.
I preferred the road a bit wetter, the dust was hectic at times with near no advisability.
But most riders were very considerate when overtaking ,

Even with no rain , there was a very muddy clay pat that the organizers did manage to find so we could all test our new nobbly Tyres, and it put a few bikes down that were tired and that  needed a rest. :ricky:

Thanks also for the Trophy , much appreciated..

Thank you Johnnie and all the hard working crew to make the 2019 Canola run a great days outing.
And thank you for the great trophy for this oldie on his motorised Zimmer.
Will be back in 2020

Some pictures

• WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 08.40.27(1).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 08.40.27(1).jpeg
    162 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 13.10.49.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 13.10.49.jpeg
    201.3 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 22.05.55.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 22.05.55.jpeg
    130.9 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 22.06.00.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 22.06.00.jpeg
    77.7 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 18.57.00.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 18.57.00.jpeg
    159.2 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 08.40.27.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-07 at 08.40.27.jpeg
    171.1 KB
Fantastic ride - thanks to all involved-  did not take really take pics just enjoyed the riding. Nice touch with prizes and some of our Dakar guys there again. Pics in no particular order Cousin Paul drooling  over nice 990 for sale and im just nuts of these kitted out  701's.

If that Tenere could smile it would be doing just that ;)

Holding thumbs for Donovan with another attempt on the Malle Moto for next year- support there guys :thumleft:

• WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.16(6).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.16(6).jpeg
    230.1 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.16(2).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.16(2).jpeg
    213.2 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.16.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.16.jpeg
    220.2 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.16(5).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.16(5).jpeg
    185.7 KB
  • WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.17.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2019-09-09 at 08.59.17.jpeg
    184.7 KB
Awesome day of riding and kuier.  :ricky:
Great job to all the organisers and people making it possible and pannekoek and cold ones and koeksisters and toasties.  :cheers:
Sien sommer klaar uit na volgende jaar.  :peepwall:

Hope the guy that went down by railway lines on the CY- GS 800 is all ok- i was just behind him and it was like a crappy video- just running out of talent/traction on a corner and donnered down a 3m embankment- rider dazed but ok and the GS earned its stripes ;)
Withing 5 seconds we had 10 guys stop to assist helping the man and traffic control on a dusty corner

A few snaps.

• 20190907_101858.jpg
    20190907_101858.jpg
    162.7 KB
  • 20190907_102722.jpg
    20190907_102722.jpg
    113.6 KB
  • 20190907_111547.jpg
    20190907_111547.jpg
    132.9 KB
  • 20190907_130332.jpg
    20190907_130332.jpg
    136.2 KB
Awesome day out eating dust. The riding company was great, the views awesome and the chow was good (although I prefered the braai) so it made up for all the dust  :thumleft:

I only managed a few snaps along the way. That's [member=8531]GJ[/member] on his back wheel at the water crossing and [member=8876]2StrokeDan[/member] on the Husky  :thumleft:
Not sure who that was taking the bath  :imaposer: The queue was us waiting to do a red route section which was great fun. I think I passed [member=18641]Zanie[/member] taking a tumble onto the rocks on her Pink Peril Honda at this section, there was a tricky little mud hole lurking in the distance, hope you're okay Zanie?

So who's the oke that bliksemed down the embankment just before the intersection onto the N2 on the way home while climbing off his big KTM? Moer that was funny to watch  :imaposer:

• dam.jpg
    dam.jpg
    226.1 KB
  • 690.jpg
    690.jpg
    365.4 KB
  • Dan.jpg
    Dan.jpg
    318.4 KB
  • GJ.jpg
    GJ.jpg