THE ROAD TO HELL TRILOGY - FINAL CHAPTER (Videos start on page 5)

JustBendIt

KTM 690 Adventure
The Final Chapter

Part 1

This is the third and final chapter in the trilogy of my Road To Hell and back, both literally and figuratively.

The story takes place over the last 18 months.

Early last year I literally stumbled across this now infamous road – please read about it here https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=68096.0

With a heavy heart we made the decision to turn around before the Road really even began. I made the decision to come back and finish off unfinished business.

Early this year Michiel started making some noises on this forum about attempting the Road.
We quickly put together a posse – please read about it here https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=97854.0 but again we made the really tough decision to turn back. I was now more determined than ever to come back and beat this Road on a motorcycle – it could and had to be done.

The gauntlet had been thrown down – who would be the first to ride the Road?

Within a few weeks of our return GJ and 2SD put together a very sneaky and clandestine trip – and they made it – Big Congrats to both of you !!! read about it here https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=100503.0

Their success only strengthened my resolve even more – it could be done and I could do it. Even though Gideon Joubert is a former national enduro champ and Danie Winterbach was once part of the famous Army Bike Squad Stunt Team I was sure that I, a chubby middle age oke with a greater passion for bikes than actual riding talent, could with careful planning and some willing partners, beat the Road To Hell.

I looked around for a more suitable weapon and soon found a stunning little Husky TE450 - read here https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=98732.0

I put out an open invitation on this forum on Thursday 19 July here https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=103091.0 – we were due to leave in 8 days – much work had to be done to both bike and body before then.

I soon got two takers – Heddles (Yamaha WR450) and lifeofgareth (KTM 950 SE – Baas Attie’s old bike in fact)

The rest, as they say, is history.

Stay tuned for Part 2 coming soon.

To be continued ...

:hello2: :hello2:

Excellent stuff Justin!

I was sure that I, a chubby middle age oke with a greater passion for bikes than actual riding talent, could with careful planning and some willing partners, beat the Road To Hell.

You and me boet.   :lol8:

Cant wait for the next edition. I really hope you got some good photee's.

Part 2

We were going to cheat – by towing the bikes 650 km up the N7 to Steinkopf. This was done purely for comfort reasons – the 450’s could easily do the distance but I don’t think our butts could

We loaded all the bikes and gear the previous afternoon and hit the road at 6 AM on Friday 27 July

RTH-1-L.jpg

My little VW caddy bakkie had to work hard to pull a trailer with 3 bikes, 3 okes and all their gear – we took turns to drive and everyone was sawing through the gearbox like a lumberjack, all shouting “ry hom in die rooi!”

We took our time and made Steinkopf just before 3 pm. The bakkie was stashed behind the petrol station and we off loaded and kitted up as fast as we could – there was palpable excitement amongst this trio. We had a 50 km ride from here to the start of the Eco Trail and our RTH challenge.

All kitted up and ready for action

RTH-2-L.jpg

We first saw the dirt at about 4:30 pm. We were carrying an extra 4l petrol each, 6l water per person plus the bare minimum we needed to spend the night at “base camp”. We poured as much of the extra fuel into the bikes as soon as we could, readjusted our packs and gear and hit the trail as hard as we could.

RTH-3-L.jpg

RTH-4-L.jpg

Let me tell you how kak uncomfortable it is riding a bike with a heavy backpack – truly horrible !

We had about 30 km to go before “base camp” – an awesome trail of some fast winding loose sand interspersed with rocks and one or two koppies climbs – I have said it before and will say it again – in my opinion this is the best DS riding area that I have ever ridden in Southern Africa !

RTH-5-L.jpg

RTH-6-L.jpg

RTH-7-L.jpg

RTH-8-L.jpg

It took about 90 minutes to reach base camp – time was now 6 pm and the light was fading fast. Even though I had done as much planning and forecasting as I could we got here 2 hours later than expected – I do not like riding wild shit like this in the dark – this bothered me a bit – what other curveballs would there be over the next 3 days ? I quietly pretended all was OK and we quickly set up camp right at the bottom of RTH – almost my second home by now – very familiar country this.

RTH-9-L.jpg

No tent for me - this is my “house” – a small groundsheet, sleeping bag inside army bivvy bag and a blanket
I bought on a bike trip in Lesotho in 2007. Really is lekker warm and cosy.

RTH-14-L.jpg

The fire was lit and we settled down to discuss and debate some Nietzsche, Freud and Jung over a bottle or two of some fine red wine I have grown very fond of – Tassenberg or just Tassies to its followers.

RTH-11-L.jpg

Oupa Heddles up way past his bed time.

RTH-10-L.jpg

And our new brother from another mother – Mr Robin Gareth Carter – or better known as pielneus, langgat or drol.

RTH-12-L.jpg

A good chow of tinned chicken breyani and macaroni cheese filled our tummies – it’s amazing what complete awesome good tasting meals can be bought in tins nowadays – I actually wonder why anybody even cooks at home anymore

We hit the sack about 9 pm and all fell soundly asleep – especially me in my little cocoon.

We had a big day tomorrow – we were about to make world history – we were going to take the biggest bike down RTH – Gareth was shitting himself !

To be continued ...

Ek wag vir my oggend-koffie .................  :sip: and a very nice RR ............  :thumleft:

Just a reminder why I prefer sleeping in a tent: we saw this chappie on our recent trip to this part of the world...

• DSCN2239xs.jpg
    DSCN2239xs.jpg
    195.6 KB
roxenz said:
Just a reminder why I prefer sleeping in a tent: we saw this chappie on our recent trip to this part of the world...

Bliksem daai goed is darem maar lelik

Sub

Part 3

I slept like a baby – from 9 PM to 7 AM – I have 2 little kids (Jack is  3 1/2 years old and Charlie is 10 months old) and they both like to wake me up every few hours – last night I couldn’t hear them.

RTH-102-L.jpg

The dawn was cold – so I lit another fire to make a few cups of coffee

RTH-16-L.jpg

RTH-15-L.jpg

And then I charged the battery on the Drift helmet cam

RTH-13-L.jpg

By 9 AM we were all packed up and ready – it was now or never – I felt more nervous than when I was at High School leading out the 5th
Rugby Team in a match against Boland Landbou or some other boertjie school where we knew we were gonna get bliksemed.

We rode to the top of RTH to be greeted by this

RTH-19-L.jpg

RTH-20-L.jpg

Which we duly ignored

We all charged forward – like racehorses in a starting gate

RTH-103-L.jpg

RTH-21-L.jpg

RTH-23-L.jpg

RTH-22-L.jpg

RTH-26-L.jpg

Going down was easy – well OK maybe mildly challenging – my Husky felt right at home and skipped over the rocks like a mountain goat

RTH-24-L.jpg

RTH-17-L.jpg

Heddles and Gareth were making mincemeat of this road

RTH-104-L.jpg

RTH-18-L.jpg

RTH-25-L.jpg

And before we knew it we were at the bottom – maximum 30 minutes of easy slow riding – what was all the fuss about?

RTH-29-L.jpg

RTH-27-L.jpg

RTH-28-L.jpg

We all felt as fresh as a daisy …

RTH-31-L.jpg

RTH-32-L.jpg

And parked the bikes about 1 km before the river (to save fuel and not ride in the very sandy river bed)

RTH-30-L.jpg

and took a walk down to the mighty Orange River – all the way from Mont Aux Sources in the Drakensberg

RTH-33-L.jpg

I had made it – we had made it – life was good

RTH-34-L.jpg

A swim in the freezing cold water was definitely in order – I told you I am chubby

RTH-36-L.jpg

RTH-107-L.jpg

Two naked adventure bikers frolicking in the stream – Gareth chasing me

RTH-35-L.jpg

RTH-106-L.jpg

We slapped each other’s backs and talked kak for a few minutes before taking the short walk back to the bikes

RTH-37-L.jpg

RTH-105-L.jpg

I waited under a tree for the two kaalvoet klonkies to catch up – they had “cleverly” decided to leave their boots with their bikes and were
now being stung by the thorns

RTH-38-L.jpg

And then we made some of our own bushman art – please note this is not my style to draw on rocks and deface nature but in this case I think it is excusable and actually expected, and hopefully accepted

RTH-39-L.jpg

RTH-40-L.jpg

Heddles and I give our best “thousand yard stare”

RTH-41-L.jpg

RTH-110-L.jpg

RTH-44-L.jpg

The mood was light and everybody was in good spirits. We were having fun – we were in a beautiful natural and remote place – so remote that I guess fewer people had been here recently than have been to the Moon – and definitely not on motorbikes.

How difficult could the ascent really be?

You will have to wait and see (I have to get back to work)

To be continued …

Lovely writing style, really enjoy it and respect to you all - not a complete doddle after all :mwink: