Part 5
We are on top of the world.
We are still a long way from tonight’s camp – we cannot stand around here and celebrate too long.
A quick scoot down to base camp to retrieve our stuff and we must be off – I am so tired – my backpack feels like it weighs a ton and the straps are cutting into my shoulders, even before I remount the Husky – this feels kak. What an amazing change of emotions – ten minutes ago I was on top of the world – now I have a long face. I wonder how Heddles and Gareth are feeling ?
The time is now 3:30 PM – we have a challenging 35 km ride back to the N7 and then another 50 km back to the bakkie and trailer in Steinkopf, only to drive another 90 km back down the N7 to our overnight camp at Wild Thing on the banks of the Orange – we better move it !
We don’t talk much and hit the trail again – we ride like the enemy is be-creeping us from be-after.
There are no pics of our exit from this valley – time was running out fast. Soon it would be getting dark – and cold. None of these bikes have any decent lighting to speak of.
About an hour later we make it to the N7 with no hassles or issues at all. We all still had a fair amount of fuel on board. It was later surmised that the fuel light on Gareth’s SE had been triggered by the hectic sloshing over all the rocks and we could have ridden the bikes to the water’s edge at the bottom of RTH if we really wanted to – I will have to do that next time I am there.
Heddles offers to ride the 50 km back to Steinkopf to fetch the bakkie on his ace – I gladly accept – I am exhausted. We tap nearly 4 litres of petrol from the Husky to put in the WR just to be sure he will make it.
Gareth catches a lie down next to the abandoned building we are waiting at.
We do not have drop of water left amongst us – I am so thirsty – I actually feel quite sick – almost like I want to vomit – I have a migraine from hell. I sit down and lean against the wall – I feel broken and fall asleep almost immediately.
‘n Halfmens stands guard while we kip
Exactly 90 minutes later we hear the crunch of gravel – Heddles is back and he has brought a big red ambulance in the form of some ice cold Coca Colas – I gulp this down and can literally feel the sugar and caffeine flowing through my veins – awesome !
We quickly load up – it is now 6 PM and will be dark very soon – we have at least an hour’s drive to get to camp from here – and the last 20 km is on a treacherous and very dusty dirt road – not kief!
In my previous life I raced a Golf in the GTi Challenge and Heddles was my “chief race engineer”. Two weeks before this trip we completed the engine and gearbox conversion on my little VW Caddy – the old 1600 carb fed motor and donkey gearbox was junked in favour of a 2 litre fuel injected unit from a Golf 3 GTi coupled to a special close ratio box – this Caddy has been “breathed” on and now it was time to “ry hom innie rooi” again.
We pulled in to Wild Thing camp a few minutes after seven pm – it was already dark. We all knew what needed to be done – fire, food and booze. The guys worked like silent efficient machines and in almost no time the bush “TV” was on again.
Gareth was very concerned about my “catering” before we left Cape Town and took pains to tell me of his special dietary requirements and that I should double up the meals for him because he is a big boy and is still growing – he didn’t know that I also like to chow and have some sideways growing to do too.
Each oke would have a 250g rump steak, 2 lamb chops, 2 chicken fillets, 2 footlong stukkies wors, baked beans, sweetcorn and baked potato – I was sure this would fill the gap.
We ate like kings, quaffed copious amounts of Tassies and talked kak late into the night – about 10 minutes after dinner we were all snoring away, dreaming of what we had done and where we had come from.
Tomorrow I would lead the okes on a 100 km ride along the Orange, into the Richtersveld Conservancy and through Helskloof – a very lekker ride I had done before with Metaljockey.
To be continued ...