Where has your bike taken you today?

Heuningvlei pass

IMG_5818.jpeg

IMG_20240914_194747.jpg

Heard there was an overnight slow roasted flatrib special at a little spot in Cradock, so klapped it through there for a quick lunch Saturday.
Lekker lam-gat on Sunday, but not a bad first practice run for the thousand-miler and it was awesome to spend 12-odd hours in the saddle.

My Daughter coaxed me to leave the desk early for a bit of a run around on the scrambler, certanly not gonna argue.
View attachment 915101View attachment 915102View attachment 915103View attachment 915104View attachment 915105View attachment 915106View attachment 915107View attachment 915108View attachment 915109View attachment 915110This bike is built for the narrow lanes and hills around where I live in UK.
The English countryside is so beautiful! I always wonder how the 1820 Settlers felt when they arrived in rugged Africa coming from those comparatively easy and tame farms and suddenly had to deal with the realities here. Must have been some significant culture shock.

View attachment 915115
Heard there was an overnight slow roasted flatrib special at a little spot in Cradock, so klapped it through there for a quick lunch Saturday.
Lekker lam-gat on Sunday, but not a bad first practice run for the thousand-miler and it was awesome to spend 12-odd hours in the saddle.
Bliksem! You are not scared to ride, that's for sure. Hope the rib was worth it.

The English countryside is so beautiful! I always wonder how the 1820 Settlers felt when they arrived in rugged Africa coming from those comparatively easy and tame farms and suddenly had to deal with the realities here. Must have been some significant culture shock.
Dorsland on sunday i watched a episode of Voetspore where they visited the Boers in Argentina Patagonia. Those people must have been in for a shock when they moved there from mainly the transvaal and free state. Half of them came back later. They really had a hard time there to get a start. Heart warming to see how the elders that was not born in SA still speak afrikaans and they long for Africa in which they never lived only some of them visited.

Ja Chris, I often think if we knew what lay ahead for us, we would not attempt what we have attempted. Like the Dorsland Trekkers. All those okes had massive ghoens.

Had an invite from Triumph UK to one of their New Rocket Launches yesterday at one of the local airfileds. Nothing wrong with being offered to run your bike down the timed strip and test out the New Rocket Storm range at the same time.

20240918_175217.jpg
20240918_121259.jpg
IMG-20240918-WA0015.jpg
20240918_133028.jpg
20240918_150911.jpg