14 Days of FREEzzDOM

GEE-SH said:
Great Report!!!!

WRT the Bloukrans Pass - it wil not be opened very soon.  The bloukrans river is the line between Western and Eastern Cape.  The Western Cape Provincial government set funds available for the repair on their side, but unfortunately, the Eastern Cape is still doing their best to find the funds to start with the structural repairs on their side.

PS: You can be lucky one of the "policing officers" working on the WC side did not write down your registration number as the pass is closed with numerous notices and locked gates.  You could have found yourself in deep deep trouble as a couple of bikers a few weeks have found out.

The geological faces of the pass is VERY unstable - to such an extent that even the sounds of an exhaust backfiring will cause a landslide.  Do not ride the pass although it appears to be a great ride, it might just as well be your last.

OOPS....  :peepwall:

I did not know... well then I was lucky and it was worth it in the end  :drif:

Sorry I did some more writing but now I am having problems getting my photobucket to cooperate…  :dousing: will try and post tomorrow, lets hope the net is better

Hi

Hoekom moet ons wag vir die pics en storie !!!  :pot:

Jy het mos BAIE tyd van niks doen op jou hande om dit te voltooi !  :peepwall:

DAY 8

Leaving De Rust to Meiringspoort made me think of only one thing, the snow that I could see on the mountain tops, I was wonder if the pass would be rideble and I tried to find out if it was even open, but no one could give me a definite answer, so common sense told me if nobody knows it is close then it must be open.  Looking at the white peaks brought an evil grin to my face, as Maggie, well lets just say do not do freezing well.  Riding threw Meiringspoort we stopped to have a look at the waterfall that was in full flow.

m_DSC08433.jpg

m_DSC08396.jpg

m_DSC08421.jpg

Soon we set off on the Prins Albert road heading towards Swartberg pass.  As always this road never stops to amaze me with all its twists and turns. As we inch closer and closer to the white cover tops I could see the temperature dropping with every meter we climbed, stopping at a mere two degrees. At the top we were spoiled with a little bit of snow still on the side of the road and that made the freezing temperatures worth while.

m_DSC08437.jpg

m_DSC08440.jpg

m_DSC08442.jpg

m_DSC08452.jpg

m_DSC08457.jpg

m_DSC08461.jpg

m_DSC08470.jpg

m_DSC08471-1.jpg

m_DSC08473.jpg

m_DSC08474.jpg

m_DSC08490.jpg

Exiting the awesome Swartberg pass we went to the Kongo caves where we did a quick tour and had some brunch.

m_DSC08504.jpg

Next we headed down the R62 and made a quick detour into Seweweekspoort.  At the exit of Seweweekspoort to Laingsburg we made a u-turn back to the R62.  On the return leg to the R62 it was play time for me and the beast.  Back on the R62 Maggie asked me in a casual almost joking way “did you have fun” I replied with a giggle.

m_DSC08547.jpg

m_DSC08549.jpg

m_DSC08551.jpg

m_DSC08553.jpg

m_DSC08554.jpg

At this stage Maggie was feeling ill from a cold she caught a couple of days earlier, so I made a decision to push hard only stopping at Ronnie’s sex shop for some hot med-lemon.  After Ronnie’s I decided to cut the trip even shorter and zipped threw the Tredoux’s pass on to the N2.  GSJoe had the fire waiting for a lekker braai in the Strand.  So as we arrived at Dries we went to GSJoe’s place while Maggie had a hot shower and more tabs before she joined us.  All that must have helped a lot because we only left GSJoe’s at 2am.

m_DSC08566.jpg

m_DSC08562.jpg

m_DSC08565.jpg

m_DSC08568.jpg

m_DSC08567.jpg

DAY 9, 10 & 11

The next couple of days were spent in and around Cape Town taking some trips in and around the area.  First trip a quick one to Rooiels.

m_DSC08579.jpg

m_DSC08590.jpg

m_DSC08600.jpg

m_DSC08601.jpg

m_DSC08608.jpg

m_DSC08609.jpg

m_DSC08610.jpg

m_DSC08617.jpg

m_DSC08620.jpg

m_DSC08626.jpg

On another occasion we had brunch in Franschhoek with Dries, his wife and daughter.

m_DSC08636.jpg

m_DSC08642.jpg

m_DSC08655.jpg

m_DSC08653.jpg

Other trips included Simonstown, Cape point, Houtbaai, Chapmans peak Camps bay and finally the day just before we left we took an out ride with Dries his wife, GSJoe and his wife to Darling to visit Evita se perron

m_DSC08688.jpg

m_DSC08699.jpg

m_DSC08713.jpg

m_DSC08715.jpg

m_DSC08822.jpg

m_DSC08726.jpg

m_DSC08748.jpg

m_DSC08753.jpg

m_DSC08754.jpg

m_DSC08784.jpg

m_DSC08785.jpg

m_DSC08787.jpg

m_DSC08788.jpg

m_DSC08800.jpg

m_DSC08797.jpg

m_DSC08814.jpg

DAY 12
Now it was time to get to my favorite part of the trip, first destination Sutherland via Ceres over Bain’s kloof onto the R46.  Bain’s kloof set the tone to what was to become an amazing trip.

m_DSC08847.jpg

m_DSC08850.jpg

m_DSC08852.jpg

Just after Bain’s kloof we stopped at a small little place called Togryers where we had a lekker mug of warm melkkos.

m_DSC08856.jpg

m_DSC08867.jpg

Once we started hitting the dirt road to Sutherland we were intrigued with the beautiful nothingness.

m_DSC08872.jpg

m_DSC08873.jpg

m_DSC08876.jpg

m_DSC08892.jpg

m_DSC08893.jpg

m_DSC08894.jpg

m_DSC08896.jpg

m_DSC08898.jpg

m_DSC08904.jpg

m_DSC08907.jpg

m_DSC08913.jpg

m_DSC08908.jpg

m_DSC08909.jpg

m_DSC08912.jpg

m_DSC08915.jpg

m_DSC08919.jpg

m_DSC08916.jpg

Heading merrily along the dirt highway and very thirsty we came upon the most extraordinary thing, just as we were about to pass out from heat exhaustion, yes it was hot and dry, we saw what they call a windskerm, we stopped to have a look and to our amazement it was open and inside there was everything from beers to coffee braais ready for meat, biltong, cookies and guess what you can just help yourself with nobody around…  really nobody,  as the chalk board put it...

“ God sê jy mag nie steel nie en dit is dit so eet, drink - kyk en krap, koop en betaal en reis veilig verder met a skoon gewete.  K’roo liefde”

m_DSC08924.jpg

Well you paid for the stuff in a “roomkan” and that’s that. O and remember to close the door on your way out, to keep the sheep form entering.

m_DSC08921.jpg

m_DSC08922.jpg

m_DSC08927.jpg

m_DSC08929.jpg

m_DSC08928.jpg

m_DSC08931.jpg

m_DSC08932.jpg

m_DSC08937.jpg

m_DSC08938.jpg

From there we had a short hop to the tar road leading to Surtherland, we enjoyed riding the Verlatekloof and Rooikloof passes to Sutherland.  When we arrived in Sutherland we booked into Jupiter guest house, restaurant and bar, which had electric blankets and a cozy atmosphere.

m_DSC08948.jpg

m_DSC08952.jpg

m_DSC08951.jpg

Dries said:
Hi

Hoekom moet ons wag vir die pics en storie !!!   :pot:

Jy het mos BAIE tyd van niks doen op jou hande om dit te voltooi !   :peepwall:

Kom bietjie hier outjie...  :lamer: Ek weet waar jy bly!!!  >:D

Kom bietjie hier outjie....  :lamer: Ek weet waar jy bly!!!  >:D

:thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

:thumleft: Amazing pics! Amazing part of the world! Thanks for the report.

Found your report interesting - did some of that a couple of months back.

Sorry my last instalment is taking so long…  :-[ The company blocked photo bucket and all uploads and pictures cannot be viewed so I have to do this as soon as I have access to an open internet witch by the looks of it will only be in November

Sorry gents I will post it as soon as I can…  :(

I cannot even enjoy the Ride reports anymore and that is just sad  :dousing: