2016 KZN Bash.

Hamilton

Well, another bash done and dusted. A fantastic weekend was had and to all the WDs and friends who came along, Thanks you for a great time. We had 60 registrations and 3 non arrivals. The venue suites the type of function and thanks to the owners of The Bee Hive for hosting us. Great food and plenty of drinks available. I'm sure all the chaps who went out on out rides had a great time and at prize giving the clowns trophies were handed out to worthy clowns.
To our sponsors, thanks a million as without you guys we would not be able to hand out lucky draw gifts to all who were there.
Alfie Cox Racing.
Pirreli Tyres
Midlands Tyres
Corridor electrical
Alpha Pharm
RBS Yamaha
BMW SMG Umhlanga
Blomeyers Electrical.
Diesel Dawe and pebbles
TRTech
Schalk Van De Merwe

And to the Camperdown WDs, thanks for all the help.
I will post photos as soon as I down load them. Please add your stories and photos to this thread.
Now, for some great news, as stated in previous posts, we had a collection box at the bash and we were collecting money for the WD Crystal fund.
 A total of money and pledges placed in the box came to...................  R 4060.00   :blob6: :blob6:
 Thanks to all and I will send this through to the organisers.

To the new chaps who have offered to host 2017 Bash, well done and good luck. I am available to help if you need.

Thanks guys and for all the support you have given me over the last two KZN Bashes.   :3some: :3some: :3some:

RED ROUTE REPORT Beehive 7/8/2016

Seeing as I had a bit more time to take pictures the three of us decided when we parted I should add to the Bash report thread. The three of us were Jon, Jan and Ian, the same guy in three different languages. The previous night there had been others who had been talking themselves into coming but had bikes that they still needed to ride home on and they did themselves a favour by not coming. Jon’s rides always have a little bit of something extra and this one was no different.

Jon himself was a bit later than the 8am start he promised. His bakkie had broken down leaving him to return home, get dressed and ride like crazy up to the Beehive. He arrived a few minutes late and not too flustered. Friday night had been cold and it took me a while to get the ice of the seat but by the time we had started with a nicely paced transport section through the forestry to get to where the real riding happened on the land claim farms it was nicely cool.

I had brought my “to much like cheating” TTR250 police bike but my two companions had elected to ride a real man’s machine, the Honda XR650R. On a dirt trail in full chat they are a magnificent thing to behold but when the fire goes out it sure does take a lot of prodding to light it up again. I certainly watched a lot of prodding that day, on the sides of boulder strewn hills, horrible off-cambers and deep muddy crevasses. The motto could easily be, “We kick, and we kick again…”  I think this bike is very much like a man’s version of the mini skirt, if you want one below you then you’d better have the legs to match!  

Anyway, back to the riding and I’ll let the pictures do the talking.  With names like “Rocky Horror Road,” “Giraffe Ridge” and “Muden Technical” you know that you’ve got some riding ahead of you!  We got back at around 3.45pm after a very satisfactory ride.  Ian Hogg

• Hogg2016_0806_093212.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_093212.JPG
    206.3 KB
  • Hogg2016_0806_102134.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_102134.JPG
    212.3 KB
  • Hogg2016_0806_111354.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_111354.JPG
    233.6 KB
  • Hogg2016_0806_111558.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_111558.JPG
    224.6 KB
  • Hogg2016_0806_114032.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_114032.JPG
    129 KB
  • Hogg2016_0806_114321.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_114321.JPG
    184.4 KB
  • Hogg2016_0806_135348.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_135348.JPG
    245.3 KB
  • Hogg2016_0806_140111.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_140111.JPG
    123.3 KB
  • Hogg2016_0806_091416.JPG
    Hogg2016_0806_091416.JPG
    169.1 KB
Well done to Hammie and Terence for organizing what seemed like yet another highly successful Kzn Bash

Unfortunately I was not able to attend the Bash itself, but seeing as the Bash venue was within spitting distance of some of my favorite riding areas I was happy to make myself available to lead the Red route outride.

The cold early morning weather that we are experiencing at the moment made me decide to forgo the pleasure of riding 90km out to Greytown on the XR, so i loaded the bike on the back of the bakkie and off I set. Only got to the traffic light about 1 km from home where I spotted that the temp gauge on the bakkie was maxing in the red zone. Lucky i spotted it when I did, if I hadn't it would have been yet another cracked cylinder head and an expensive repair. So abandoning the plan to drive, I shot back home, off-loaded the bike and had a pleasant if somewhat chilly ride up to the Beehive.

Once there i met up with Ian and Jan, who told me it was just the 3 of us doing the ride. No problem, 3 is a perfect number on the ride I had in mind. Jan was on a 650R just like mine, while Ian had opted to bring his little girl bike along, a 250 Yamaha.

After a quick cup of coffee we set off, a few km of tar, then into the bush.

• DSCF0287.jpg
    DSCF0287.jpg
    386.5 KB
  • DSCF0305.jpg
    DSCF0305.jpg
    399.7 KB
  • DSCF0303.jpg
    DSCF0303.jpg
    409.5 KB
  • DSCF0297.jpg
    DSCF0297.jpg
    428.3 KB
  • DSCF0293.jpg
    DSCF0293.jpg
    405.2 KB
  • DSCF0288.jpg
    DSCF0288.jpg
    335.3 KB
Some more pics

• DSCF0319.jpg
    DSCF0319.jpg
    411.4 KB
  • DSCF0308.jpg
    DSCF0308.jpg
    393.7 KB
  • DSCF0314.jpg
    DSCF0314.jpg
    437.4 KB
  • DSCF0312.jpg
    DSCF0312.jpg
    406.3 KB
  • DSCF0309.jpg
    DSCF0309.jpg
    411.7 KB
  • DSCF0306.jpg
    DSCF0306.jpg
    385.2 KB
Thanks Ian and Jan for the ride, was a lekker day out in the bush.

Must say, my body was feeling a tad stuffed by the time I got home, I think I am getting too old for this stuff  :biggrin:

Maybe time to get a GS and stick to dirt roads  :mad:

Howsit guys!...... yes, I agree that it was a really lekker bash..... I led the Green route, and am happy to report that no-one got hurt or animals killed! :lol8:  Although, as usual, there were a few Duikers and Reedbuck that scared me (being in the front), with their suicidal tactics of sprint across the road just in fron of me! :eek7: everyone seemed happy with the route, and returned to camp tired but happy.

There was AllenI who did some footage on his go-pro, but couldn't seem to re-play, so hopefully one of your "cleverer" members can help! :ricky:
Post your pics here guys! :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Here are some pics

• DSCF0017 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0017 (640x480).jpg
    231.4 KB
  • DSCF0024 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0024 (640x480).jpg
    193.1 KB
  • DSCF0018 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0018 (640x480).jpg
    217.1 KB
  • DSCF0014 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0014 (640x480).jpg
    127.6 KB
  • DSCF0009 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0009 (640x480).jpg
    192.9 KB
  • DSCF0010 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0010 (640x480).jpg
    150 KB
  • DSCF0003 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0003 (640x480).jpg
    155.5 KB
  • DSCF0005 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0005 (640x480).jpg
    165.7 KB
  • DSCF0001 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0001 (640x480).jpg
    199.5 KB
  • DSCF0027 (640x480).jpg
    DSCF0027 (640x480).jpg
    196.4 KB
A very big thank you for all the organizers who put this years Bash together!Due to other commitments, we could only make it to the Beehive on Saturday, and missed the outrides.However, next year will be a different story, so let's make it another memorable one.My first Bash, but most definitely not the last.Hopefully next year the wife can make it.
Thanks to all members who made myself and Clint feel welcome, apart from the jungle juice , ha ha ha.Eish still wobbly.......

Thanx to all the chaps that put on an awsome bash!It took a whole day to do the 70 km ride all those damm D rodes.Met some lekker guys and made good friends [KTM guy,Porra,Batchela man and who could forget Allan! , The Dj that kept going to bed, scuba man] The Mooi Boys woun't disapoint next year But first I need to get a new liver!  :ricky:

Thanks to the Camperdown committee for organising such a wonderful bash. It was absolutely wonderful meeting you all and most of all there were no accidents on our outrides. To everyone that had to travel so far to join, hats off for the commitment shown. Thanks once again

Thanks to all the organizers for a great bash(Hamilton, Trailblazer and others).

Thanks to the caterers for great food

Thanks to Tommy Transalp for taking us on a excellent "Sunday afternoon ride", on Saturday morning. It was worth it to get to those awesome waterfalls.

Thanks to Heebs, Groenie and LennyB (Batchelor boy) for a great ride down to the bash. Pity none of you could complete it with me, as you missed out on the best riding of the trip.

Thanks to all the Mooiriver boytjies for keeping us church going folks awake all night😈. I hope the breakfast pack I packed for your 70km trip home was sufficient😂

Thanks to Leondude, Pebbles, Sharron, DieselDawie, McSack and McWench for a great ride to Wakkerstroom.

And to all the others that I met, thank you to all for a great weekend.

Lastly, has anyone seen Jimmy, the lessor spotted leopard😈😈😂😂

evansv said:
    Looks Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

Very Brrrrrr - Until the sun warmed us up. . . . don't want to ride on this saddle without testicular thermal protection. 

• Img_0329.jpg
    Img_0329.jpg
    228.9 KB
First rays of the sun. . . .  Just made me want to write po'tree like that Shakespeare oke.

• Img_0330.jpg
    Img_0330.jpg
    93.4 KB
Hey Porra , that breakfast pack nearly killed us! Domani put it our coffee and Gay boy's toes grew 10cm and Beagle made faces weve never seen before and we lost count on how many D roads are between the beehive and Mooi river.At least my feet were warm on the way home!

Guys, somehow in all the action, I got back home only to find I still had the NU Metro voucher with me. Can the winner of this voucher contact me on 0828948523 and I will arrange to get it to you. Pebbles, can you remember who it must go to?  ??? ???

Slim Jim said:
Hey Porra , that breakfast pack nearly killed us! Domani put it our coffee and Gay boy's toes grew 10cm and Beagle made faces weve never seen before and we lost count on how many D roads are between the beehive and Mooi river.At least my feet were warm on the way home!
Speak for yourself Slim as we where all fine - you are the one that went to sleep