A chance Wilddog encounter in the Swartberg Pass

Mix is an eclectic mix of eatery, art gallery and preserved goods seller. Our hostess is quirky Nicola, see the photos below, and she calls herself the Reluctant Retailer, as she does not like parting with what she has in the place.

She make the most amazing, refreshing lime cordial drinks. We were given the choice of the menu, as long as we ordered the quiche, which we ended up having. WOW. It is absolutely worth it. If you are ever there, do yourself a favour and do the quiche thing. Brilliant.

The banter also enhances the experience.

Then i bought a bottle of the marmalade. Tried it when I got to my brother's place in CPT and promptly hid it so that I did not have to share. Also a must when you get there.

(Did a father and son trip in the bakkie, 2nd week of Jan, and went back to Mix, just to buy some more marmalade, it's that good.)

• Marc Gopro Hel to PA (37).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (37).png
    317.7 KB
  • Marc Gopro Hel to PA (35).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (35).png
    319.1 KB
Still oblivious that the camera is rolling, we mount up, ride out and do the ATM thing.

I don't think the oke with the walking stick looks like he is trusting this situation much.

Money in hand, it is time to get out of here and find some gravel.

• Marc Gopro Hel to PA (57).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (57).png
    344 KB
  • Marc Gopro Hel to PA (55).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (55).png
    298.9 KB
  • Marc Gopro Hel to PA (50).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (50).png
    347.2 KB
  • Marc Gopro Hel to PA (47).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (47).png
    346.2 KB
  • Marc Gopro Hel to PA (46).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (46).png
    347.1 KB
  • Marc Gopro Hel to PA (44).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (44).png
    332.7 KB
  • Marc Gopro Hel to PA (42).png
    Marc Gopro Hel to PA (42).png
    322.8 KB
DASKOP said:
This photo shows a partial view down to the road below and just gives an inkling of the climb out of The Hell. It is something that I need to do again, maybe this early autumn when the temperatures are a little more temperate.

If you have not doen it yet...............maak 'n plan!!!!!!!!!!!
This is presies wat I will do.
Your rr came just in time to get me even more exited for my planned trip to die hell in May.
Although you make it sound easy to ride I am still respectfull of that piece of road, but your foties are just inviting me deeper into the unknown.
I plan to ride from Prince Albert to seweweekspoort via Magriet Prinsloo pad then to die hell and back to PA

Thanx for sharing your trip.

Nicobie said:
DASKOP said:
This photo shows a partial view down to the road below and just gives an inkling of the climb out of The Hell. It is something that I need to do again, maybe this early autumn when the temperatures are a little more temperate.

Your rr came just in time to get me even more exited for my planned trip to die hell in May.
Although you make it sound easy to ride I am still respectfull of that piece of road, but your foties are just inviting me deeper into the unknown.
I plan to ride from Prince Albert to seweweekspoort via Magriet Prinsloo pad then to die hell and back to PA

For you the road into the hell and out will be a non event. Very nice scenery those roads you plan to travel though. Years ago I rode into the hell with my Mazda 323. Few years ago ( I think 3 ) I talked to a woman manning  the entrance/office and she rides in and out with her bombed out old Audi everyday.  Very nice trip  :thumleft:

DASKOP said:
I did not want this ride to end. This is my happy place.          :biggrin:

Awesome Daskop .  :thumleft: :thumleft: Really enjoyed riding this route with you and your imaginary friend .  :biggrin:

I have ridden the Hell a few times, and can never tire of it . It was great to read your RR and share your excitement and happiness. :ricky:

Ps the first time I went to the Hell was in a hired Uno , that was fun barrelling across a rocky river ( which we had tested before) to the shock of the 4x4's who had stopped.  :imaposer:

Rynet said:
DASKOP said:
I did not want this ride to end. This is my happy place.          :biggrin:

Awesome Daskop .  :thumleft: :thumleft: Really enjoyed riding this route with you and your imaginary friend .  :biggrin:

I have ridden the Hell a few times, and can never tire of it . It was great to read your RR and share your excitement and happiness. :ricky:

Ps the first time I went to the Hell was in a hired Uno , that was fun barrelling across a rocky river ( which we had tested before) to the shock of the 4x4's who had stopped.   :imaposer:

A hired Uno  :lol8:
Yes rented cars and bikes can do so much "more"........  :ricky:

Nicobie said:
DASKOP said:

It is a pleasure.............great feeling to have inspired a fellow dog to set course. You will not be sorry.

Rynet said:
DASKOP said:
I did not want this ride to end. This is my happy place.          :biggrin:

Awesome Daskop .  :thumleft: :thumleft: Really enjoyed riding this route with you and your imaginary friend .  :biggrin:

Ps the first time I went to the Hell was in a hired Uno , that was fun barrelling across a rocky river ( which we had tested before) to the shock of the 4x4's who had stopped.   :imaposer:

Ja, my imaginary friend.     :imaposer:

My therapist warned me about this............................... you know, spending all this time riding on my own over long distances for many days, even weeks.

:lol8:

Just spoke to Advwannbe.

All good and still kicking hard. Busy at work and home!!

Recons he will try and finish this week with the ride report

n0b0dy said:
flip ek dog eks kort.. respect !!!!!

Jy sien nou, ek het jou gese hy herinner my aan jou....................YOUR BROTHER FROM ANOTHER MOTHER.      :spitcoffee:

We head out and have some lekker twisty tar sections. Just before Prins Albert Road we turn off onto a gravel road that the GPS says will bring us out on the national road.

Lekker road, get up some nice speed. Bike is just soaking it up. But it is HOT. 38 +                    :eek7:

• Prins Albert Bush Bash (1).png
    Prins Albert Bush Bash (1).png
    380 KB
  • Prins Albert Bush Bash (2).png
    Prins Albert Bush Bash (2).png
    380.6 KB
  • Prins Albert Bush Bash (3).png
    Prins Albert Bush Bash (3).png
    400 KB
  • Prins Albert Bush Bash (5).png
    Prins Albert Bush Bash (5).png
    362.3 KB
  • Prins Albert Bush Bash (6).png
    Prins Albert Bush Bash (6).png
    403.2 KB
Then my imaginary friend nearly takes out a real bush.

• Prins Albert Bush Bash (7).png
    Prins Albert Bush Bash (7).png
    425.2 KB
  • Prins Albert Bush Bash (8).png
    Prins Albert Bush Bash (8).png
    404 KB
  • Prins Albert Bush Bash (9).png
    Prins Albert Bush Bash (9).png
    378.2 KB
Casting from Turd said:
Just spoke to Advwannbe.

All good and still kicking hard. Busy at work and home!!

Recons he will try and finish this week with the ride report

That will be great. This part of my RR is where we had the toughest time and where the corrupted photos that I lost are sorely missed. He took photos here as well and it would have been nice if our reports were running concurrently.

Nicobie said:
DASKOP said:

Jy kan nie met Magrieta Prinsloopad by Seweweekspoort pad uitkom nie. Magrieta Prinsloopad loop dood teen die Gamkapoort dam.
Jy kan wel links afdraai uit die Prince Albert teerpad rigting N1 na 21 km en dan met n lekker grondpad ry wat jou in die Laingsburg / Seweweekspoort pad uitbring . Maar daai stuk pad , seker 80 km het seker 10 of meer hekke. Dit loop net onderkant die Floriskraal damwal verby.
Watter naweek is julle nou weer daar vir jou vrou se kursus ?

This is a really great read. Well done to the both of you!

Respect taking that overgrown KTM with you ;D They are not that big over this side of the sea :imaposer: