A Fool, Friends and Eastern Cape Passes

The descent was very steep as well. More a challenge to me than going up. Weight back, lotâ??s of front brake, engine braking and at times rear brake. At one stage the rear brake gave up due to overheating and boy, was it fun from there!  :eek: :mrgreen:

IMG_0325.jpg

IMG_0326.jpg

IMG_0327.jpg

IMG_0328.jpg

IMG_0329.jpg

Had to try my hand at a few artistic shots as well.  :rolleyes:

IMG_0330.jpg

Arrived at the bottom at a nice place to have a rest, let the brakes cool down and sommer cool down ourselves as well with a Mini Zamalek.  :razz:

IMG_0332.jpg

IMG_0333.jpg

From there easy riding again to the farm with gentler turns and higher speeds clocked.

Some scenery and roads.

IMG_0334.jpg

IMG_0336.jpg

IMG_0337.jpg

IMG_0338.jpg

IMG_0339.jpg

IMG_0340.jpg

IMG_0343.jpg

It really is dry. This river/waterfall has ceased to flow.

IMG_0345.jpg

Some more.

IMG_0346.jpg

IMG_0347.jpg

IMG_0349.jpg

IMG_0351.jpg

IMG_0352.jpg

IMG_0354.jpg

Arrived at the farm, had a quick shower and started on the Dakar again. We have definitely isolated the fuel pump as the main culprit. Not good news.

The workshop again. The fuel filter out.

IMG_0361.jpg

I have no frickenâ?? clue!  :scratch: :biggrin:

IMG_0362.jpg

I think Iâ??ll rather start the braai!  :biggrin:

IMG_0363.jpg

Luckily Piet had a voltage-tester-thingamajingie and with the fuel pump out, the majingie said the red wire providing power to the pump is moeg. Luckily he also had a soldering iron.

Repairs under way.

IMG_0366.jpg

And success!!!  High fives all around!!  :hello2: :hello2:

IMG_0368.jpg

My contribution was more moral and carrying refreshments but once again I have learned something about the bike. Not that it would have helped in field repairs but still. Not scared now to take out the fuel pump if need be.

Then the braai, some kuiering and early bed as we have a long day planned for Saturday. It was good to know the full complement of bikes will then be on the road.

Day 3 to follow.

A scoot parked on that old bridge would have made a really nice pic... :thumleft:

lekker one jman!  :thumleft: some cool pics!

Nice to see its not only KTM's getting worked on during a ride. :pot:

Great stuff, JM. Would you be divulging secrets if you post a map/gps track of the area and rides? Love that area

Sot said:
Great stuff, JM. Would you be divulging secrets if you post a map/gps track of the area and rides? Love that area

Only if you tell me how?  :biggrin:

Tried to laod the complete Mapsource track but it's too large.  :scratch:

ktmmer said:
Nice to see its not only KTM's getting worked on during a ride. :pot:

All the bikes except the XR had some niggling issues during the trip. :biggrin:

Lovely report, Journeyman.

You took on a lot covering that distance on the first day. I find my concentration gets dodgy after a long + extended day......till you get a wake-up like you had, and then I start getting the moer in with myself. Cudo's for carrying on taking pics....... I would have packed the camera away at that point.

I would guess that your bars are not bent but the forks moved in the tripleclamps. One tends to get used to that and if you jump on another bike then that feels skew  ;D

Good stuff, would love to travel there!

Goeie donner !!!!!  :pot:

I thought the heading was a joke - should be in the comedy section  :eek:

Anyhow - Well done for that first day. Lundeans neck is beautiful but that section down to Wartrail is tricky and in the dark ............. - well very well done

Lovely area, great pics
Good to see you and the Dakkie out

Keep it coming, great photo´s.  :hello2: :hello2:

We truely have a beautiful country.

:imaposer: @ the guy scratching his ass!

Awesome RR so far  :thumleft:

I would be keen on the track if you willing to share. Looks like such a nice area to ride  :ricky:

JourneyMan said:
Even saw Ryperdâ??s family.  And no, I have no idea whether Ryperd has the same attributes.  :rolleyes: :mrgreen:

It is rather scary that this thought came to mind  >:D >:D

:3some:

Report en fotos lyk asof dit `n fantastiese trip was. :thumleft: :thumleft: :thumleft:

Day 3 â?? Bastervoetpad â?? Hamburger â?? Naudes Nek

With no bike that needs attention, we got away early 07H00 since we anticipated a long days riding. :ricky:

Jaen â?? XR500

IMG_0372.jpg

Once again a different road to ride even though we are staying over night at the same place each night.  8)

IMG_0373.jpg

IMG_0374.jpg

Riaan and his fixed-up Dakar.  :thumleft:

IMG_0375.jpg

Bennie & Piet

IMG_0376.jpg

IMG_0377.jpg

New scenery. Lekker rustig cruise mode with gentle curves encountered.  :rr:

IMG_0379.jpg

IMG_0380.jpg

IMG_0381.jpg

IMG_0382.jpg

IMG_0384.jpg

IMG_0386.jpg

IMG_0385.jpg

P-Time

IMG_0393.jpg

IMG_0394.jpg

IMG_0397.jpg

IMG_0400.jpg

Then Barkley Pass (Tar) towards Elliot. Very enjoyable!

IMG_0401.jpg

IMG_0402.jpg

IMG_0404.jpg

IMG_0405.jpg

Main street in Elliot.

IMG_0406.jpg

IMG_0408.jpg

Also the only place where there was a pharmacy of sorts. Come to think off it, I have no Idea what we did in Elliot. Checked out the local setting and U-turned back up Barkley Pass to the Bastervoetpad .  :scratch:

Oh. Forgot. We did buy some Mini Zamaleks. Now it makes sense. No time wasted!  :biggrin:

The two Dakarâ??s finally together.  8)

IMG_0409.jpg

Then we started on the Bastervoetpad. Very innocuous beginning and start to the ascent. Very enjoyable.

IMG_0410.jpg

IMG_0411.jpg

IMG_0413.jpg

IMG_0416.jpg

Even some splashes to be had after the rain two days ago.  :razz:

IMG_0417.jpg

The track soon turned to rocky terrain but nothing too hectic. Enough lines to take that skirts the loose, bigger rocks.

IMG_0418.jpg

IMG_0419.jpg

Arrived at the top and had a Zamalek or two.  :eek:ccasion14:

Al dra â??n Aap â??n Goue ringâ?¦ :biggrin:

IMG_0420.jpg

On top of the world. Scenery.

IMG_0421.jpg

IMG_0422.jpg

IMG_0423.jpg

IMG_0425.jpg

I R pozer and photo bombing! ::) :biggrin:

IMG_0424.jpg

The route down. Looks Ok. :razz:

IMG_0426.jpg

IMG_0427.jpg

IMG_0428.jpg

IMG_0429.jpg

IMG_0431.jpg

Err. No.

IMG_0433.jpg

A very challenging and benoude boude descent due to muddy conditions combined with rocky track. Survival was the name of the game and it was slow going.

IMG_0434.jpg

IMG_0436.jpg

IMG_0440.jpg

Even so, Piet loosing it in the mud. Hurt his knee but continued on right to the end in Pretoria. 8)

IMG_0435.jpg

Almost again! :biggrin:

IMG_0437.jpg

IMG_0438.jpg

The mud.

IMG_0441.jpg

IMG_0443.jpg

IMG_0439.jpg

Once the mud disappeared, exposed bedrock was encountered with loose rocks to dodge along the way.
Choosing the right lines and then committing to it was the order of the day.

IMG_0444.jpg

IMG_0446.jpg

IMG_0449.jpg

IMG_0450.jpg

IMG_0451.jpg

Eventually near the bottom conditions improved and the track changed into twee spoor going through the mountains. Very scenic!  8)

IMG_0452.jpg

IMG_0453.jpg

IMG_0454.jpg

IMG_0455.jpg

IMG_0456.jpg

Arrived at this nice spot and decided to rest and have a Zamalek. It was Around 12H00. Slow going but I enjoyed the higher level concentration riding we did.

IMG_0457.jpg

IMG_0458.jpg

IMG_0464.jpg

Also cooling off in the stream. A first for me as well.
Die klomp bleeksiele! :biggrin: :biggrin:

IMG_0465.jpg

Way forward was again two track, rocky terrain.

IMG_0459.jpg

IMG_0466.jpg

IMG_0468.jpg

IMG_0469.jpg

Eventually changed to two track smooth riding through the pines forest towards Maclear. Felt like riding on clouds after the previous two-odd hours of straining we took! :biggrin:

IMG_0470.jpg

IMG_0471.jpg

IMG_0473.jpg

Then Joubert (An ardent bakkie driver but scared-of-bikes oke), decided he want a ride as well.

We give him the XR500. The bike cannot be damaged any further. :imaposer:

IMG_0477.jpg

Despite my insistence, he declines protective gear. He did go very slowly until near the end of the dirt, where he started picking up speed because of confidence, misjudged the curve, started drifting and nearly ended up on the wire fencing. Luckily he listened to our advice to look up, stand up and open up the throttle when heâ??s in the kak! I was riding behind him and it was frickin' funny to witness!  :imaposer: :biggrin:

Smooth!

IMG_0479.jpg

IMG_0480.jpg

Tomorrow the rest of day 3.

What a magic ride report, stunning riding area and good pics. Can't wait for the rest.
I need to go ride those roads/tracks/passes. Thanks for sharing.

:thumleft: :thumleft:

Verrrrrrrrry Nice J M. :thumleft:

Awesome scenery and a brilliant ride report.(Think i will have to hire you) to do my reports in future ::)

Cool :thumleft: