A "X" the country Challenge..... (Now complete)

Rouxman

BMW G650 X-challenge
First things first!
My post in the "new members introduction" section has relevance and serves as an introduction to this ride report.
https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=212701.0

This will be a "blog" post.

So my trip starts at George Airport:

At 13:00 the Kulula.com flight MN926 to Joburg boards and I'm on seat 4F.
I alway prefer a window seat!! Arrival time 15:15. My boet will be collecting me from OR Thambo from where we are stopping by his house to fetch sis inlaw as well as my little nephew. Soo looking forward to seeing them again!!

From there we hooting down the N17 straight to Secunda where I'm taking delivery (hopefully before 18:00) of the newest member of our family.
If all goes well we will be back in Benoni eating our weekly cheat meal from some roadhouse before 20:00.

This would then have been the first 130km "Gus" and I will have spent together.

Di you name your bike? Why? Why not?

Ok we're boarding......

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

There's our plane....
a26a6b2f7b995e392a16d8b36c710dcd.jpg

In the air the plane banks right as the pilot puts us on a northerly course over the Swartberg Mountains towards Jozies.
I'm on the starboard side and have an amazing view of the landscape down below!
I fly often but this time is different.

d65aa07520f26d0a165e88db6765d1bb.jpg

Although I'm always appreciative of of the greatness and beauty of this landscape, my eyes are immediately drawn to all the gravel roads like varicose veins strewn over the landscape.

Visually I follow every road as far as I can before locking onto the next and the next and the next as the plane moves over mother earth.

With each new road a mini imaginative adventure is had whilst at the same time my mental hard drive is working over time trying to store these roads so they can be researched on Google Earth once back at base.

89634bcdedac05845fc2b1a62adb9c6f.jpg

44bcf34ffa69cc34d5259ccd94325e0c.jpg

The plane slowly moves through the cloud base up to 39000ft and the earth periodically disappears until we appear to be floating above a field of cotton with the blue stratosphere visible on the horizon.

5d3110d365dea57259f431bd4ec6296c.jpg

Over the intercom the captain informs us of our whereabouts (just south of Bloemfontein), our ground speed (900km/h), the outside temp (-52deg C) and that we have a 140km/h tailwind which will see us land a few minutes earlier than our scheduled arrival time.

As we move over the pure white cotton blanket my thoughts are taken over by DIY projects, improvements, mods, tools, luggage,  colour schemes, the ride back to Gordon's Bay, routes, who to see and who skip, how long to stay, where to sleep Saturday night, gravel, no gravel oh and did I mention the bike!!

You see I've only seen pictures of the bike, I paid cash via EFT and the money has been received! Apparently it's in good condition. The owner was very honest about everything, he'd nothing to hide in our conversations. Unfortunately I'm not going to have the pleasure to meet him as he is away on a missionary trip to Mozambique. He left the paperwork, extras and bike at a local bike shop in Secunda. I lived and worked in Secunda for two years and have met the owners of the bike shop. They also confirmed what the owner had said. Anyway, to me all the boxes were ticked and now it's in for a penny, in for pound.

The cotton blanket is pulled away and the N1 appears on the vast open landscape.

0252ba8d23677e7cf0d495038adc1f39.jpg

To make it in time for Sunday dinner I have four lots of 350km stints to do over a two day period. Piece of cake!! I've done this (Jhb-CT / CT-Jhb) a few times before, nothing to it. Besides, it was done in one day stints.....

So why all this apprehension and reminiscence over riding Gus back home from Benoni......?

Vaal dam full to the gunnels.
6a298e37b90e482c9de4c87a5164fe83.jpg

As we start our descent into OR Thambo the fasten seatbelt lights come on with that familiar "ding" sound........

Touch Down!!!!!
I love flying!!
It gives one perspective, we are soo tiny and our problems can be soo BEEEG.
The human mind is wonderful thing.......

Right boet, where are you?

Now this is the way to do it. Start on the forum with a ride "blog" report.
Looking forward to your posts......

Die man gaan ons nog baie leesgenot gee...........................................................hy moet net nie Photokaket gebruik nie!! :thumleft: :biggrin: :deal:

As the we hurriedly gather round the carousel to collect our luggage I return missed calls, answer messages and let the vrou know I'm safely in Jhb. Inside me it's all systems go!! Three and a half years of dreaming and two weeks of planning is soon culminate in a weekend that'll be the start of a new chapter in our lives!

Yes motorcycling, specifically adventure riding is a big part of who I am, to me it's a basic necessity that I (and the vrou) have suppressed for the last three and a half years due to circumstances and two hours from now it's about to change!!

My heart is pounding and I'm growing ever more anxious, where's the luggage I'm thinking as the same three cases gingerly squeaks past for the fifth or sixth time....

Finally some action as the carousel start filling with bags and cases. On the other side of the carousel I spot my 13.8kg heavy bag with all my riding gear tightly cling wrapped making it's way round the corner towards me. I keep myself from bumping my way through the crowd to get to it 7seconds earlier but stay laser focused on it ready to grab when it's in reach.

Suddenly 3seconds inbound a hand protrudes from the crowd and grabs my bag!! WTF!! Surely not!! My facial muscles instantly get signal from my brain to change expression, the eagle eye stare should do the trick!
I follow the hand (now looking for the tag) up the shoulder, up the neckline to the head. Shame man, it's an old couple. Brain to face....brain to face, STAND DOWN!
My facial expression returns to normal but the colour remains. That must have been a 5second delay. The bag reaches me and exactly as planned, suitcase and helmet in left hand ready to go I grab my gear bag and we're off.

Once I got past all the eager taxi drivers  my boet is waiting. Quick formalities, load the boot and of we go! My boet's a great guy!! We get on very well. He's instantly aware of the urgency and hastily gets us to his house where my clean sister & little nephew are packed ready to go. We all don't have a lot of time together so any minute or two we can spend together we do hence the family outing to Secunda and back.

Traffic isn't to bad. At Carnival City we get onto the N17 through the R9.00 toll gate. The N17 is a mess! In my mind this is one of the least civilized roads in SA. Head on collisions are quite common on this stretch of road as people impatiently overtake one another on blind rises. It's a kind of adapt or die situation on this road. And tonight it's busy but it's moving at a healthy average.

The N17 towards Secunda
766df170d4c2d489111739138a12b44e.jpg

We go through the second toll gate. I haven't stopped yabling about all sort of things. Normally I'm quite quiet and laid back. Our rugby coach always used to say "people who  talk alot are nervous"....
And I was leaning towards the apprehensive side of the scale for the task ahead.

The weather is good, the usual industrial foggy grey blue sky, dry roads with a slight southerly cross wind and the mercury hovering around 16deg C.

Planned ETA as per my conversation with Leandra (at the shop) a week ago was 18:30. I also feel rushed as they are specially waiting late for me. Arrive 18:39. Not bad considering all the possible variables.

As we come round the corner I feel an almighty smile appear as I first lay eyes on Gus which up to now I've only seen on pictures.

Parked in front of Roaring Wheels Secunda next to André's Africa Twin (the new one).

"It's bigger than I thought" is my first thought as it stands shoulder to shoulder to the AT.
I have a quick look around and realize it's more than I hoped for! I'm happy!! VERY VERY HAPPY!

By now the sun has already fallen out the sky. I quickly take a few snaps in the bit of daylight left and into the shop. Leandra immediately recognizes me from almost six years back. She has everything ready, the papers, keys, extra's and promptly shows me the service items they had just done. It also had a new battery fitted today. Basically they knew the bike has to travel to CT and have prepped it according. Even the new chain is properly lubed! Brilliant!! Thank you!

My apprehension slowly dissolves as we start talking whilst I have another look around the bike. Wow!! It's all there!

The honesty behind the situation I will leave for a later paragraph! I would like to give the people I've dealt with the proper credit due!!

The reveal!!!!!
See I'm used to riding on big bore bikes. The 1200's give you a sense of authority on the road. It instils a kind of sense of security into even a novice rider as it sorts out the technicalities for you. This leaves you with two jobs, keep it on the road and enjoy the view.
With the above in mind I hope that my nervous disposition will naturally be understood with the following.

Ladies and Gentlemen......Meet Guss!! (I'm still deciding if it should be one or two "s"es)

2009 BMW G650 X Country!!

1726007ff2a5f3690e82e580f9c4debc.jpg

0eaeb14012031dc9c4682581d0548c64.jpg

3edcf0b91c7276930e47618d46bcf135.jpg

André and me in his shop
4cd6b1ecdc83c2667aced2692b952aff.jpg

Previously owned by Kalla who was the second owner!
Once back at base I will compile a post for the "specific make model" section as to the reasons for buying this bike as apposed to that what would normally come naturally without any other consideration.....a boxer!

What's in a name.....?
Well, driving toward Hermanus last weekend over Sir Louwries pass, the vrou and I were talking about the bikes. I mentioned that in the fraternity the X Challenge is referred to as a BMX. We then spoke about our BMX's as children and I mentioned that although I never had one I always wanted a Mongoose BMX. They had the thick frames and the handle bars could swing 360deg without the brake cables twisting around the headset. I then thought, maybe I should call the X Challenge "Goose" and we both laughed!! A moment of silence ensued as we both enjoyed the view of valse bay from the top of Sir Louwries before we go over the top.
Suddenly I out of the blue I piped up, "Gus!!", what about "Guss?" Goose sounds close to Guss!! The vrou said "that's quite cool!"
And so the Beemer was dubbed Guss (wif twee esse I just decided!)

By now it's dark, I'm fully kitted and ready to go! One more check over! Money in the right pockets for the toll gate. Despite the dipping temp I decide on my summer gloves. I just want to get a feel for the controls.

Both my boet and I still have to fill up with fuel. The Shell garage is 300m away. I gear up, start the bike and swing my leg over. Bugger, I'm too short! My boot catches the top box and attempts to step through onto the bike saw me nearly kicking it over.
To make matters more challenging I put every inner I have for my adventure suit in which now gives me a close resemblance to the infamous Michelin man, and as a result my movement is an even closer resemblance. No worries! I draw inspiration from Gaston Rahier!! I've been here before!
On my 1150GSA I used to get the bike on the centre stand, hop on, start and select fist gear, rock of the stand and as I feel the bike go I let out the clutch all in one continuous movement and of I go.

I put the bike back on the side stand, left foot on the left peg, lean left to keep the bike weighted towards the left and swing my right leg over and slowly descend onto the seat. I'm impressed, the bike is quite solid on it's side stand. With a quick shift to the right load the suspension kick up the side stand and quickly wiggle onto my left bum and put my right foot on the ground. The bike is light and I feel calm and at home!

I can feel that a sanity top up is about start.

As the 650 Rotax gently comes to life I can feel the motor is good, it feels tight and smooth. It revs eagerly! I feel the clutch is surprisingly light as I pull it in to select first gear. I say my final goodbyes to André and let out the clutch whilst twisting smoothly on the throttle. The clutch grabs a bit high for my liking I feel as Guss briskly starts to move. Second, third stop, indicator right, turn, first second third, 90 deg lean (it grips and feels nice)!! Indicator left second pull into Shell! Smiles all round. It's love at first ride!!
Guss and I are going to get on very very well indeed!!
I fill up the centre tank only! 6.37litrs. I'll fill up both tanks tomorrow before I leave Benoni.

Our first fuel stop
eb052cc785afba4a22c7739796ee503e.jpg

Benoni here we come!!
70e5f33f0890282ebc0822cdb1d96ac5.jpg

Making use of the tollgate infrastructure stay upright
844f4d9c4cef120cfc69eabb54498185.jpg

Spots work well!!
ff2e1f05f3d30f43550030df2b55d909.jpg

Pictures speak a thousand words.
f10c459e7add3b12fd5f0d51c52d4e35.jpg

Fits like a glove
66d8176d84ddc6c59a02b0761cd50e08.jpg

It is now 1:46am! Guss rode like a champ!! Solid on the road, legal speeds no problem!! The seat, the seat is fine...so far!!

Good night Guss!! Good night John Boy.....

Awesome way to introduce yourself.
I bought my X-Challenge blind. I had seen one, but never ridden onevor even sat on one, never mind the particular one I bought. It takes a specual kind of madness.
I chuckled at the photo of you with your foot on the kerb. Tall bike and short legs makes kerbs your best friend.

You have style!
I am so glad to see that I am not the only one who battles to reach mother earth "with his feet" when on his bike.
I do it well with my side when riding on the interesting roads :ricky:
Keep it up!

I get going from my boets place about 7:20. I have an appointment with my tenant in Northmead at 8:00am. I stop at Northemead  square for fuel.

The attendant fills up the centre tank and as I ask for additional fuel for the bowser he comments, "eish.....this has two tanks"! Proudly I smile in the knowing that Guss is probably his first introduction to a dual tanked bike. Up to the top please I said and 17.22litr of 95 octane is dispensed into both tanks.

c812392ef0a169bd70818e7c6c58302a.jpg

My pride was short lived.

Suddenly a constant stream if fuel starts leaking out from under the bike. I start turning petcocks on both sides of the fuel bowser in all directions but the fuel doesn't stop. Even the taps are leaking. Eventually I just decide to ignore it as it didn't happen yesterday when I collected the bike and it's probably my instruction to fill up to the top that's the cause of this. I'm slightly concerned about the fire hazard involved as well as spillage onto the tear tyre possibly resulting in slippage.
I also couldn't figure out which position on the petcocks were open or closed. I turned both lever facing back and decided that's the correct position.

By now a small crowd of fuel attendants have gathered about 20m from me. It's time to go! I need to keep moving south as I have a long way to go!
I stop at my house to meet with the tenant, bugger it's still leaking.

I'm there for half an hour and it keeps leaking. By now the bowser is no longer full to the gunnels but 3/4. I still cant figure it out! I've rad about the tank but in all that assumed it's just a case of filling both and going. My suspicions are that I have both or at least one tap open resulting in the over flow. Still, i will research the full workings back at base! Time to get going.
I maneuver Guss out of his own mess and we set off.

3d8b952f86ca432b9fce1c34fe12b246.jpg

8:30am heading for Meyerton.
I hop on the R23 towards Heidelberg. Between Benoni and Carnival City I I'm stopped by every traffic light. As I pull away from every light, in my rear view mirrors I can see a small puddle where Guss has marked his spot. At one light a group of Harley's pull in next to me. The leader nods and keeps staring. I can see he's looking at Guss's shameless public display of indecency but his ego is preventing him to bring my attention to it. Riding over the puddles on pull away is slippery so I gently pull away to get over it and floor it to get rid of stares.

At Heidelburg I hop onto the R43 (Suikerbos Roete) toward Meyerton. This is the road where a Tarentaal met it's maker early one morning. I was on Tyson (2010 R1200 GS) the white one, inbound to Heidelburg cruising at V/Max when suddenly a pheasant leapt out from the grass. There was no time for nothing. Instantaneously it exploded and my legs were covered in all sorts. I think it was a female. Two weeks later I was still cleaning of egg yolk. I had to replace the right tank panel. I still have the old one!

I've read that the speedo on these bikes have quite a variance and that one can also adjust the speedo according to the rear wheel circumference but there is no time to get to know Guss that well now. We have a mission and have to get each other home.
I decide to keep the speed at 10km/h on the speedo above the desired speed.

In Meyerton I want to go see my nan and mom. Guss's bladder issue is playing on my mind and I decide to go to me mum's first because if need be I can resolve the issue there.I park and voila!! Guss no longer leaks!!

9e2cb935da0cd90d3d5605acc328efb2.jpg

Mum immediately serves breakfast. I'm not really hungry but eat anyway. I thinks i'll regret it later if I don't.
Tell your vrou to visit "Let Love" clothing in Facebook. My mum's clothing brand. She is an inspiration!!
I'm heading for Colesburg but mum talks me into going to Kimberley. I have another brother and would like to pay him a sort surprise visit. We plan a route and off I go.

Leaving Meyerton at the first stop street the engine cuts out. Hum? I start the bike and with minimal wrist input it runs but let go and    it’s dead again. I decide to push on as it's fine as long as the revs are kept up. I hop on the R59 and arrive in Parys. Again stop and the motor dies. I stop for fuel as by now I've already covered 176.7km since leaving Benoni. I inly fill the main tank. 3.90litrs fills the tanks. Something isn't right. I suspect one of the petcocks are open and from what I understand the bowser gravity feeds the main tank.
I fiddle with the throttle cable adjustment. I don't have any tools so just push and pull on a few things. Start the bike! Idles like a champ.

Refueling in Parys
b50072974fa361af56e0f1f0539bced7.jpg

7cf9bf253165516fcf7879cd0ca62993.jpg

Back on the R59 I head for Vredefort. I miss my turn and just outside town I stop to chexk the route. Yip, i missed it. U turn back on trac towards Bothaville still on the R59.

aa00d8e351941a85be9597b8229491ef.jpg

de6787bd70f413770fc41cb45ff10a29.jpg

I set the palm rest on the throttle to keep me at a constant 130-135km/h in the speedo. By my reckoning this should put me on 120km/h. Guss is surprisingly happy at this speed. I found the speed periodically creep up whilst enjoying the openness of the Freestate and even then I had no complaints from Guss. The bike feels very planted on the road and tracks nicely!!

By now a steady wind is moving over the mielie fields and for some reason no matter which heading were in the wind constantly remains as a cross wind. Past Sasolburg moving west, it was a strong northerly and I was looking forward to turning south to have the prevailing wind as a tailwind. But to no avail! Go figure!!

I also don't experience any buffeting on my lid. There is a constant flow of air due the lack of wind protection over the lid and I prefer this over the migraine inducing lid shaking as a result of buffeting. I've never been able to eliminate buffeting on any of my GS's I've had.

Bothaville comes and goes.

30km before Hoopstad the fuel light comes on. I have no idea how far I can travel once the light comes on. Trip 1 is used check distances traveled from refuel to refuel. Trip 2 was reset in Benoni when I left this morning. Trip 1 is showing 181km since I last refueled. I stop and randomly turn the petcocks. I notice faint ink writing near the taps. "RES" / "OPEN" / "Closed". Mother funges!! Check the port side, it's faint but its there. Port side is closed with the lever facing forward and starboard side is closed facing back. There's fuel in the bowser. Starboard tap open, ignition on I water the flora. I turn around and the fuel light is off. Aaaahhhhh! I get it!

6e6950973da0c73d9a93441c39510228.jpg

57622aafe8af4d29ed6d98849d3a2f2f.jpg

3f324c3b4b7a78c7fc3705a12036dfe8.jpg

Next stop....Hoopstad!
a6c634262a183dd2690253a1f1edf70c.jpg

This plaque is on the side of that structure
8d028b0b986f11d266a70732fe2d72c1.jpg

To be continued.......

Welkom.

Lekker man geniet vir ou Gus. Sy humeurigheid sal jy ook uitsort.. gelukkig is sy naam nie ou Grumpy nie :imaposer: