Africa Friendship Safari 2016 - Doodsakker and Van Zyl’s pass.

Leo

BMW R1200GS HP2
Group Photo - Die Kwaad moet Uit!!

Group_zpsgfkrabws.jpg

I assume most of us have a bucket list or at least a short list of places we would like to ride and things we would like to see. The doodsakker sprung onto my list about 9 years ago when I read Metaljockeys report of their trip through the doodsakker, while the Van Zyl’s pass had always been there since I read about it as a young lad.  Ideally I wanted to do the trip with the HP2, but it’s limited fuel range was a definite obstacle if one bears in mind that from Tombua to Ruacana was 680 km’s without any fuel stations. I. spend many hours trying to arrive at a plan to overcome this obstacle, first I built some panniers racks which could carry extra fuel, tested them to the Green Kalahari gathering in Riemvasmaak about 4 years ago, but I came short by some 80km’s with no extra safety fuel so it was back to the drawing board.  Then I bought a R80G/S which was rebuilt and fitted with a 43 liter fuel tank, proper suspension and most bells and whistles but due to it’s heavy consumption it was also disqualified. Then one night at a function in 2015 my boss and I got speaking about bikes and bike trips and I happened to mention the doodsakker which was still on my to do list. As it turned out, he also had that section on his To do list and immediately offered himself and his Land Cruiser to my disposal.
Now I am the first to oppose any form of backup vehicle when on a bike trip, but suddenly my goal seemed achievable although it meant having to **** my conscience a little bit by using vehicles. So the planning started in all earnest and soon the trip was becoming more and  more of a reality. We had to have a second backup vehicle as a few bikes would not move a Land Cruiser stuck in deep sand, so Johan generously offered the services of his Fortuner, already kitted for extreme trips. We were going to be 5 bikes, 4 x HP2’s and a R800GS plus the Land Cruiser and the Fortuner. This grew to 6 bikes after we ran into Mark, an Aussie, while in Mozambique sometime in 2015 and he heard about our plans. He was on a KLR650 ’05 model.

So here, July 2016,  I was finding myself on a stretch of road that resembles something like tennisbal alley at De Wildt, except we had already done 250 km’s of this and there were many more to come. How much punishment can a tire take, how many times can a shock move up and down before something gave in to the torture. We were somewhere between Iona Park and Ruacana and according to my GPS we had about another 100 or so km’s to go. When you ride for an hour, check the progress and notice that you only covered 18 km’s in the last hour, one has to dig deep to find the resources to continue. The only break was offered by the fuel stop or waiting for the vehicles to catch up which we maximized to every 2 hours. There was no sense in us racing ahead with the backup a day behind.

I could ride these type of tracks for days on end  :thumleft:

IMG_2354_zpspicyhlda.jpg

Of course, as is customary I am getting carried away by the section or incident that made the biggest impression, so let me get back to the beginning. My research on the inter web gave me spring tide in the doodsakker at 09:32 on 20 July 2016. It was winter, not to hot so that formed the basis of all my planning. To be there at that time  I had to sleep at the entrance the night before, had to sleep at Flamingo Lodge on the eve of 18 July, etc., etc. till I got to the conclusion that I had to leave Gauteng on 12 July. The Brandberg Rest Camp in Uis was identified as our home base, so we would trailer our bikes to Uis, kit up and ride to Ruacana where we would meet up with a few guys who were going to fly in.
We left Gauteng around midday on 12 July and found ourselves at the Phuduhudu Lodge just outside Lobatsi around 7pm but not before collection the traditional speeding fine for not sticking to the 60km/h speed limit for those long sections before Lobatsi - farkers.   Anyhow, our trip was underway and a #$%^& speeding fine was not going to dampen my spirit. As is tradition with everybody I have ever riding with, we went for our “first night” with all guns blazing. The next morning the area was white with frost and we were reminded why it is wise to invest in a quality sleeping bag when camping - par of the course. With frozen fingers we packed and left for Namibia. Anyone who has travelled this road will know that it’s long and boring and after a few hours it really becomes long and boring. About 3 km’s before Jwaneng there is a bumpy section to keep those towing a trailer awake and focused, but for the rest it’s pure torture km upon km. As the day passed the km’s ticked over and by late afternoon we were admiring the various species grazing by the roadside on the section between the Hosea Kutako airport and Windhoek – isn’t Namibia an awesome place? Warthog and Kudu were grazing less than 3 meters off the tarmac and one had to proceed with caution as there is no way of predicting which way the animal would jump should someone or something startle it. We booked in at the Arubush campsite in Windhoek and after a nice shower we headed for Joe’s Beer House. Well what happens at Joe’s Beer House stays at Joe’s but all I can say is fun was had by all. I had half an Eisbein to deal with the next day – I kid you not, I could not finish the mother of an Eisbein.
Early the next day we all went our separate ways as some had various matters to attent to, ranging from getting additional pannier keys cut,  to sorting an electrical issue on the cruiser as the one lighter socket was not working, etc. We agreed to meet each other in Okahandja and by 10am all was there and ready to continue. From here we drove gravel via Otjiwarongo and finally Uis.  Our spirits could not be higher as we pulled into Basil’s spot – Brandberg Rest Camp. Tomorrow we would mount the bikes and the real trip would start
Early Friday we headed out of Uis en route to Ruacana after what felt like yet another first night, but I, for one, am not complaining. We pulled into Ruacana mid-afternoon after riding some glorious dirt highways and a quick refill to test our refueling application as fitted to the cruiser. This consisted of 2 X 210 liter drums fixed in series with a fuel pump that could fill all the bikes in under 10 minutes. The extra fuel was going to be needed for the Tombua to Ruacana stretch (680km) as well as the Ruacana to Palmwag stretch (620km) where fuel stations were non-existent.
Later that afternoon Jacques, Athol and Johan drove in from Windhoek, they had flown up as their time was at a premium and could only afford a week away from the office. Well needles to say, another first night ensued and we made full use of the opportunity. As is customary at Jackson Transport, a little truck is filled with various shooters and during a tribal council type meeting everyone is rewarded or punished for deeds done good or bad during the course of that day. Athol managed to acquire a small truck somewhere along the way and it was put to good use that night. The team was finally complete and we were all in very high spirits for the forthcoming trip.

Tonight is going to be a good night
IMG_1614_zpswvayknzu.jpg

Early Saturday we set for the Omahenene border post which according to all expectations was going to be the least busy. A short, sandy 2 spoor sandy track saw us arriving at a very quiet border post around 9am. We waited as the vehicles and the Auzzie had fallen behind before we started the officialdom. After a few minutes the radio cracked the silence to report that the Auzzie had fallen and they were busy helping him. I though to myself if that bitta sand caught him out, this was going to be a very long trip. After ± 45 minutes the Auzzie pulled in on something that vaguely resembled a KLR. He had stopped to pis and was playing catch up when a combination of sand and waterholes got the bike out of shape and he ran out of talent. In the process he almost destroyed the front end of the KLR and suffered from concussion. Apart from the fact that “he was not happy” nothing was broken, so there was little else to do other than keeping him awake and forcing hom to drink as much water as possible.  Fortunately for him the local Omahanene gynecologist was on standby and could assist as he fell his @#$% off.

The Auzzie in search of the local gynecologist
IMG_1633_zpsjwuwmggk.jpg

After about 3 hours we had cleared the  Angolan side and was ready to start in al earnest. We had taken a few bibles and soccer balls that we were going to hand out as the trip progressed. As I was the first to clear, I was thoroughly searched from head to toe, panniers, et al and I could see trouble coming if the “police captain” was going to search the vehicles as thoroughly. We had meat and booze for 11 grown men for a week and ± 420 liters of fuel so they would have a field time should they decide to confiscate anything. The gods smiles on us as he was a soccer fanatic, so after presenting him with a fancy, new soccer ball, still wrapped in plastic, we were asked to close everything and continue without as much as a peep.  Money well spend.
Our fist mission was the find the site where Mielie paid the highest price, this was some 30 km’s north of our position with no known roads leading to the site. The sand was thick, the temperature was in the early thirties and soon we were taking strain as we tried to navigate our way to the position. After several hours and a few crashes we decided to pursue with the vehicles alone and leave the bikes as the okes were running out of talent.

RIP Mielie.
IMG_1678_zpsuw5gst0n.jpg

We found the site where Mielie was killed back in 1988, paid homage to the man, took photos and returned to where we left the bikes. Later we joined up with the “other road” leading to Humbe and decided to camp there in the middle of nowhere as there seemed to be no locals close by and there was enough firewood to braai proper. What a great day!
Early the following morning the locals started crawling out of every nook and kranion, we were definitely not in the middle of nowhere. The local dogs had a field time with the bones from the night before, so we packed and left soonest. We were somewhat behind schedule, but as we were going to hit tar road from Cahama to Lubango I wasn’t really concerned – we planned to sleep in Lubango that evening which we should manage without to much of an effort. The area we rode through was magnificent – hardly any traffic apart from the odd Chinese 125cc and enough Baobab trees to make you think you were on Madagascar. Soon we hit the boring “strato do asphalt” and  Casper’s Lodge in Lubango appeared in no time.

Lubango – a big noisy city
IMG_1839_zpsz6ie5d8j.jpg

Early the next morning we headed out to Tunda Vale where white Portugese where flung off the cliff during the revolution. I did not look over the edge myself, but Jacques confirmed with his binoculars that skeletons were visible from the lookout point where we stood. I recon I would die of a heart attack long before anyone could force me over that cliff. We also visited the Cristo Rei statue, a replica of the  one in Rio and Lisbon, took the customary pictures and then headed towards the Lebo pass. Truly amazing, not sure what else to say about this pass which was apparently designed by a woman.

Tunda Vale
IMG_1761_zpsbav5zlx0.jpg

The replica statue – Chrito Rei
IMG_1846_zpswzkd4ist.jpg

Some of us were visiting for the second time
IMG_1865_zpsgvbcctnp.jpg

Midday we were in Namibe enjoying lunch at one of the seaside restaurants and then tackled the last stretch to Flamingo Lodge. At the turnoff, which is in a dry riverbed, we deflated tires and then tackled the odd 30 km’s to Flamingo. The area is stunning ito scenery and the okes seemed to find their sand legs as we made our way without too much effort. This was my first visit to Flamingo, and it was well worth the wait. That evening we had yet another “first night”, but what happens at Flamingo stays at Flamingo. Let’s just say the shooter truck eventually ran out of “fuel”. Lots of entertainment was provided when wild jackal tried to catch the local cat, but the resident dog put a quick stop to that. I never realized a cat could blow itself up like that. The jackal were fed scraps of food so they came right to the steps of the restaurant. Not sure if that’s a good thing, but lets leave that argument for another day.

The restaurant at Flamingo Lodge
IMG_1991_zpsavvkqgod.jpg

The next morning we headed out to see the canyons along the coast but Antonie headed back to the tar road as he had suffered a torn hamstring the night before and was battling to ride. No questions asked please.  Carlos, the local proprietor of the Flamingo Lodge advised us to change money back in Namibe as the Tombua police were full of crap, so we decided to head back to Namibe, change money and eat as we only had to cover 130 km to get to the northern start of the doodsakker.

More Flaming Lodge
AFS16%202_zpsosg01koa.jpg

Spectacular sceneries around Flamingo Lodge
AFS16%204_zps6sjvdu2c.jpg

More scenery
AFS16%208_zpsjaftvceu.jpg

Lotsa healty food at Flamingo Lodge. Can’t eat on a sober stomach
013%204_zpslzpofran.jpg

As we parted he commented that we should head along the beach back to Namibe – an offer which Shaun and I took up, really a delightful ride back to Namibe as opposed to battling the sand in the riverbed. The rest of the hokes had already gone in front, so they missed the opportunity. Our return to Namibe was well worth the effort as we exchanged money at AK520 to the U$D while the official rate was only AK180 – almost triple.

Once you reach this wreck, you turn due south along the coast towards the northern entry of the doodsakker. Open beach riding for ± 80 km’s above the high water mark.
AFS16%2012_zpsyqmrciae.jpg

Mid afternoon we headed to Tombua and entered the Park do Iona just north of town. These days an entry fee of AK2000 per person per day is required which we paid before we headed for the coast over a section that reminded me of riding on the Verneukpan. Flat salt pans was the order of the day before we got to the coast and had to ride 60 km's in soft beach sand above the high water mark. The vehicles,  getting stuck caused us to run a bit late, but after a few tumbles, myself included we parked our bikes on top of a dune not far from where the map indicated “doodsakker start”. Conditions were near perfect so we braaied and kuier on top of the dune while admiring the splendor of the evening. Picture this - full moon, on top of a dune, right next to the ocean with hardly any wind and a cold drink with ice – life couldn’t get much beter.

Riding conditions in the Doodsakker varies quite a bid
AFS%2016%2048_zpsw3gxehhj.jpg

AFS%2016%202_zpslbmdqqxn.jpg

Bike Groupie
IMG_2474_zpsgnihzzbp.jpg

The tide table had indicated that spring low tide would be at 09:32 so we had planned to head out around 08:30 so we rode the first half of the doodsakker with the outgoing tide and the second half on the incoming tide. Around 8am another convoy of vehicles approached and we spoke to the tour leader re the conditions and he was confident that one could start a little earlier as the swell was well and truly calm. We signaled to the rest of the gang to fire up their engines as we were going to follow these guys when Basil frantically waved to catch our attention. The previous night when he took a tumble he never realized that his front tire had jumped off the beading - he had a proper flat. Well what ensued must look like organized chaos on a video -  imagine a bunch of okes around a tire trying to clean the bead so it would seat proper with sand and cloth and knowledge everywhere. Despite our best attempts we could not get the tire to seat, so at 08:20 I made the call to fit a tube as time was running out. This was done within 20 minutes without pinching the tube, so 8 minutes later than planned we hit the doodsakker. That was nerve raking to say the least.

Too many mechanics spoil the .......... Fixing Basil’s flat and running out of time
032%203_zps8l9ohvl2.jpg

Even the KLR had to work in the Doodsakker although it was feather light
AFS%2016%207_zpskxk70www.jpg

The doodsakker was nothing as experienced by Metaljockey and Kie and we could occasionally stop, take a picture or two and then catch up with the vehicles with little or no effort.  Yes in certain areas the sand was very soft, and yes a few okes took a tumble, but with 10 minutes to spare we reached the southern tip of the doodsakker all in running condition and ready to celebrate. We cranked two bottles of champagne and then I prepared my renowned liver in sweet and sour sauce, which turned out to be liver and blatjang, but we had finally conquered the doodsakker after 6 years of planning and despite a few setbacks. Life could not be sweeter.

Antonie on the 800 digging deep into that torque curve
AFS%2016%206_zpsmcxmqhho.jpg

Jean fighting the beast
AFS%2016%204_zpsp1yuti2o.jpg

Celebrating after the Doodsakker
096%202_zpsmxs3c3sh.jpg

From here we headed further south to Foz do Cunene where we had to submit our paperwork, proof that we paid upon entry and handed out a few bibles. Jacques had bought a few Bibles which looks like a cellphone, is charged by the sun with a solar panel on the back which is a vocal bible. These proved very popular amongst the locals and we were ready to go in a very short period.

Love this picture. Even though the riding is not always extreme, you have that sword hanging over you – if something goes wrong now, you’re in deep trouble.
AFS%2016%2044_zpsk1sxljbj.jpg

Several locals run the doodsakker to go fishing at the river mouth in the south and then returns the next day at low tide.

Fishing at Foz do Cunene. Yes that red truck is a Raptor, a proper USA Raptor
AFS%2016%2010_zpseblrgtna.jpg

From here the road initially runs through an area of desolation, miles and miles of nothing which eventually becomes low grass and then turns into something that resembles the Marienfluss. At the first tree we encountered, after many miles, we decided to camp for the night and immediately set camp. Yet another night under the starts ensued and we had a blast.

Camping at Lone Tree
AFS%2016%2012_zpsvfdx46nm.jpg

Picture perfect
AFS%2016%2015_zps8hnh3onb.jpg

Our route the next day took us past the southern entrance gate of Iona park where we encountered a Zimbabwean, now working as a parks official for the Angolan government. His nearest town is Namibe, some 7 hours drive if the rivers are not in flood, in which case he needs to go back to Foz do Cunene and run the doodsakker to get up north. For him running the doodsakker must be as ordinary as for us riding the Ben Schoeman highway on any morning.   

Imagine your 10 year old daughter out in the sticks herding cattle. Tough people these Himbas.
AFS%2016%2039_zpsuvcsejjr.jpg

Initially the road stretched through a beautiful landscape, but gradually this deteriorates till it becomes something that resembles tennisbal alley in De Wildt. This could quite possible be the worst section of road I have ever ridden. I well and truly understood why the tour guide took his customers back through the doodsakker and around Lebango as opposed to riding from Foz do Cunene to Ruacana. I have to admit that should I happen to ride the doodsakker again, I would do same. Our progress was painstakingly slow to the point where we didn’t stop to cook brunch, we simply ate bully beef from the tins, uncooked and swallowed it down with a beer or cool drink. We also rode all day, not stopping at 4pm as per our itinerary, but rather till the setting sun called it the day. A few of us didn’t even bother to pitch our tents at night, it was hot and beautiful and the stars lit the night almost like a full moon. The moon also raised later and later every night so it was really spectacular.

Interesting landscapes
AFS%2016%2033_zpsshakeaqw.jpg

Well we eventually made it to Chitado, the last town before the border, but not before we passed a few other smaller towns  where we dodged the police as only suffers can. The story was the same as per our 2010 trip. In every town the local policeman wanted to see all passports, write it on a pièce of paper that clearly was going nowhere, but he was doing it as he thought it was the right thing to do. We were getting fed up with this waste of time and acted as though we never saw them, neither understood them and just turned our vehicles and left at the same speed with which we arrived.

A 58 Cadillac in the middle of nowhere. Would love to know the story behind this car.
AFS%2016%2013_zpsxnjewued.jpg

In Chitado we has some Cuca draft – only 5 guys at a time as the local pub didn’t have more glasses, bought all their canned Cuca beer, more whiskey and even some champagne. We spend all our kwachas and handed the last of our bibles and soccer balls to the locals. We lined up all the kids in town, then kicked the soccer ball as hard and as far as possible with a crowd of kids chasing to be the lucky one to get to the ball first. Much laughter and many smiles saw the two lucky winner proudly showing off their prized procession.

Iona Park
033%202_zpslo6x7orl.jpg

Later we crossed back into Namibia and had our last braai as a group of 11. The next morning the guys who flew in would be leaving in their rental, while eight of us would tackle Van Zyl’s pass and the Marienfluss back to Uis. We had seen wonderful things, experienced a whole lot more and could tick the doodsakker off my personal bucket list.

...To be continued  :thumleft:

Awsome, was there last year  :biggrin: :thumleft:

Saturday saw Jacques, Athol and Johan returning to Windhoek to fly back to SA while we headed for the Kunene river lodge. Along the way we saw two okes on R1200LCA’s who were loaded to the rafters. I am pretty sure I also saw the drainage pipe from the kitchen zink, but never stopped to check. I don’t think they got far, not sure where they were heading, but to steer that loaded beast through soft sand would require serious skills. Anyhow we never saw them again, so not sure where/what happened to them. After lunch and a beer at KRL we headed for Okongwati where I had arranged for some meat to be delivered to the matron at the local hostel, by one of our clients. We collected our (frozen) meat and was ready for the next leg of our adventure.

Camping when you’re too tired to pitch a tent

IMG_2534_zps1zf2vtmu.jpg

Heartbreakers Hill – a real tester

IMG_2552_zpsxbldkyid.jpg

Some distance before Van Zyl’s we encountered Heartbreakers Hill (Learnt this later) which was a real test for man and machine. One could see that many had struggled severely to get up here in the past. Needless to say the Cruiser and Fortuner cruised up there with little to no effort. Excalibur did really vermof. All he did was crank up that A/C another notch and there we were sweating like the proverbial pig carrying bikes up this section. At the Van Zyl’s campsite we settled nicely under the trees, really a nice campsite and enjoyed yet another splendid evening.  The next day we had to cover the 38 km’s to rooi drom and that would be it for the day.

Van Zyl’s Campsite

IMG_2553_zpsnydkylcn.jpg

Apart from one tricky section we soon found ourselves at the lookout point overlooking the magnificent Marienfluss.

Mark putting the KLR through it’s passes

IMG_2564_zpssxbv7ked.jpg

4 HP’s overlooking the Marienfluss

IMG_2573_zps4ewqlwlm.jpg

I had dreamt about this moment for such a long time and was fortunate to have a few close friends to share. Like me,  they were in awe at the beauty of it all and we sat for more that an hour just soaking up the beautiful scenery. We were under the impression we were through the pass., but much to our surprise they were a few more challenging sections which passed without any misfortunes. Around 11’ish we stood at the Rooi drom, but due to the ever present pestering Mopanie flies, we headed further on our route.

Wanna ride rocks?

IMG_2561_zpshfr0ffne.jpg

Tiring Work

IMG_2589_zpsm43fiqzt.jpg

Getting it wrong

Basil%20HP%202_zpsclz8hyh2.jpg

Our route took us south through the Puros Conservancy and the Hoarisib River.The area was absolute desolate, or at least that’s how it appeared to my untrained eye. The river was the live giving vain that ran through the area and we encountered several wild animal. In one particular incident we must have counted about 30 Camel Horses all there for the annual Giraffe convention. I narrowly missed one when it was startled by die KLR, was I travelling any faster it would have run me over.

Lovely countryside

IMG_2602_zps1sr4nx6m.jpg

That night we camped in a riverbed where the tracks4africa map indicated “angry elephants” yet a few of us opted not to pitch our tents - awesome. We threw a few oranges in’t the darkness in the hope of attracting a few elephants but it wasn’t meant to be. Once again we were approached by a jackal that came within 50 meters of our circle around the fire, really daring creatures. The scenery was really beautiful, aside from the river which was green and in some places even had some water, the rest of the countryside was dry dessert.

Everything happens near or in the riverbed. The countryside seems desolate...

IMG_2633_zpsnanqojjs.jpg

Wildlife

IMG_2632_zpswixrzwl6.jpg

In the Sesfontein Conservancy we rode on a sand track probably 50 meters wide, but our progress was good, everyone was comfortable in thick sand so this was really a non-event. As wê progressed further south wê started encountering môre and môre tourists. Where previously wê would ride all day and never see anyone, we were now passed by Brits rental 4x4’s in their masses, all fitted with rooftop tents and speaking in a heavy german accent. We reached the Palmwag vet gate and while waiting for the vehicles overheard the fact that all meat was confiscated in the vehicles.

The famous Rooi Drom

IMG_2597_zpsiqbhanq7.jpg

Fortunately Antonie had tyre problems, so when hê finally caught up with us, we could stop him way before the vet gate. Our meat was distributed amongst the bikes, shoved in pants and camelpacks and all possible gaps, so when we were Let through the gate without any search we silently smiled inside our helmets. The vehicles was thoroughly searched and a packet of mince was forfeited, while our bacon was allowed through. Out of sight wê stopped again and placed the meat back into the fridge. Wê had a good chuckle when we noticed that the blood was running from Adriaans’s riding suite – clearly the people manning the gate were not very attentive.

Smuggling our meat past the Vet Gate

b22e548d-79f0-4650-8778-538d77e01316_zpsc9mcccun.jpg

Awesome sleeping out in the open – not a soul around

IMG_2609_zpsxfkjtdpr.jpg

Daring jackal looking for left overs

IMG_2610_zpskaskcyyt.jpg

Anyhow, we continued and by late afternoon we pulled into Ogongo where my map indicated a Hot Springs. A quick stop at the local shebeen saw us buying all their brandy, and I mean all of it. It had been 4 days since our previous bath so when we took to that pool the German with his wife and two beautiful teenage daughters made a quick dash for their 4x4. Needless to say, that night we went for gold as we were all in high spirits after an awesome ride and a lekker bath.

Ogongo Hot Water Spring

IMG_2643_zpsyiimzwpd.jpg

Some rivers even had water

IMG_2635_zpsvbcmsci4.jpg

Waiting for the bus. What bus?

IMG_2650_zpseqetmqw1.jpg

The route had taken it’s toll on man and machine which was very evident the next morning as we stumbled out of bed. Three bikes had flat tires, the cruiser had two punctures and the Fortuner one – with no spare. We decided to cut our route short and head for Uis where we could address these matters in a beter manner, else we could go to Swakop where we could deal with this proper. The end of our trip was drawing closer, so we spend two days in Swakop sorting tyres and spare tyres and the likes before we tackled the long and boring road back home.

The Anlas on my bike after the trip

IMG_2656_zpsx4x3h9mc.jpg

The TKC on Jean’s bike after the trip

IMG_2655_zpsryk5pf00.jpg

Thanks to all the maats WHO made the trip possible. Auzzie, thanks for the entertainment – Let me know if I can pour you another “vars kap”.

To all the okes that “Vermoffed” in the vehicles, next time no backup vehicle, bikes only.

Thanks to all for another memorable trip. The two items has been ticked off the bucket list.
Our bikes has taken some serious wear an tear, will have to give it lotsa TLC over the next few weeks.

Thanks to Johan, Antonie, Excalibur, Mark and Leon for the photos. Others, please get a camera  :deal:

More Photos here:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10208362702677633&type=1&l=99192ffedd

and here:

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10208323933388425&type=1&l=fb51f3fbde

Mark: How do you know when boerwors is still fresh? It's still on the boer  :imaposer:

Ai dis adv wêreld daai !! :drif: :drif: :thumleft:

Thank U a very nice read and seems an awsome trip Excalibur never smiled ? must be the aircon  :ricky:

Respect Gents - not sure I would have taken EishPees there - but then I don't have one!

This trip is going into my planning diary for a future year....

Thanks for sharing!!

This must have been an awesome experience. Well done guys.
Thanks for sharing.

To all my mates on this trip, it was a honour to be your "Nine Foxtrot" on this trip, it was hard but worth it. There is only one "Cruiser" and that is a "Land Cruizer", met n aircon natuurlik ;D ;D ;D

6900 Kilo's from start to finish, bucket list ticked off, cost.......stuff the cost........ the dream came true

Salute

Nice report tx Leo  :wav:

WOW stunning trip  :biggrin:

Lekker Leon and friends!!

Awesome trip and ride report as always!

Leo, when I see you again, I need to give you the thank you gift that Mick and Tan gave me in Zambia to give to you! It has been almost a year  :eek7: