An epic trip to the Roof of Africa and back.

Thanks for the comments guys.......

KwaiPappaGaai said:
I must admit, im glad we did not get any hale! must be **** scary

Luckily we werent caught in the worst of it KPG but I did manage to get some in my mouth. You just had to make sure you stayed in the tracks.

Hentie bm said:
Nice  :thumleft:
Thanks Hentie....... sorry I missed you... Were you on a red Adv riding with another red ADv?

Battlestar said:
nice one Badger. I take it you gave the mitas a good testing  :thumleft:

Howzit Battlestar....... Yip sure did. Thank goodness. They performed very well off road and in the wet conditions. On the tar I felt a bit more movement than the karoos. Grip on wet and dry tar seemed the same but I was'nt giving her too much. For the price I believe it is good value for your buck.

GlenInk said:
Very cool ! Nice pics  :thumleft:

I have been caught in hail once on the bike !  :eek: Makes a moer of a noise on your lid  :biggrin: Thank goodness for decent kit, a mate of mine had no gloves, his hands got donnered properly  :laughing4:

Eeiisshhh GlenInk I know.......but a lekker experience. You must have the kit for sure. Sorry I missed you as well up there.

ianb said:
Nice Badger and Outhere will join you next time

Thanks Ianb.....Looking forward to that :thumleft:

blazes said:
Cool---- :thumleft: Great RR---

Thanks blazes......I was hoping to see you there as well.....Hopefully next year.

Lekker Badger

Nice Ride report and pics.

Lekker Badger
Nice man ek het baie gemis!!!! Hoop om jou gou te sien pella!

JonW said:
Lekker Badger

Nice Ride report and pics.

Thanks JonW...........I know you love that part of the planet.

Dallie said:
Lekker Badger
Nice man ek het baie gemis!!!! Hoop om jou gou te sien pella!

Thanks Dallie..........missed you at the roof. Hope to see you soon too my china.

Hey Badgers it was a pleasure having you both hope the red baby didnt get hurt in the mud glad you back safe are you not tempted to do the roof next year we go for gold ha ha

Outthere said:
Hey Badgers it was a pleasure having you both hope the red baby didnt get hurt in the mud glad you back safe are you not tempted to do the roof next year we go for gold ha ha

Hahahahaha All I have to do is get an 800 then we go for gold......

I will drop off a disk with all the pics sometime. Here is another with you and Ian caressing you pip........ :imaposer:

• IMG_5857.JPG
    IMG_5857.JPG
    55 KB
Thanks Badger!!  :thumleft:  I recently bought a GSA for trips with the missus and found your report inspirational. Thanks.

Brakenjan said:
Thanks Badger!!  :thumleft:  I recently bought a GSA for trips with the missus and found your report inspirational. Thanks.

Thanks Brakenjan, you will love her and the missus will be happy. I cant believe how my missus enjoys riding. If you are anytime down this side of the world please give me a shout and I will take you and your wife on an awesome ride in the valley of a thousand hills.

Pleasure Wooly Bugger and Tankwa............Shot for checking it out.

The Badger said:
Brakenjan said:

Thanks Brakenjan, you will love her and the missus will be happy. I cant believe how my missus enjoys riding. If you are anytime down this side of the world please give me a shout and I will take you and your wife on an awesome ride in the valley of a thousand hills.

That will be awesome, thanks!! Might just take you up on your offer.  :thumleft:

GundaGunda said:
Lekka one J. & F.

Thanks for the pics and RR

Pleasure GundaGunda. Hope to see you soon on a ride.

Wow, awesome! Stunning pictures, would like to go next year!  :thumleft:

Yippers, great pics, and nice report. Thanks for posting. Makes me miss Africa. **Sigh** One of the days I am coming home, hope its soon.

What was your experience of the roof itself like?

BlueBull2007 said:
Yippers, great pics, and nice report. Thanks for posting. Makes me miss Africa. **Sigh** One of the days I am coming home, hope its soon.

What was your experience of the roof itself like?

Howzit BB2007.....It was fantastic. Not my first time. There is definatly a lot more entrants ( +- 300) and hence a lot more spectators. The orginisers have set the route so that it is a lot more spectator friendly. You can still head off into the mountains and explore and find some great vantage points or you you can follow the tar rd and still see some action. The race itself is getting tougher and even Shamus(he set the course) was helping at some of the hectic sections. I saw Chris Birch and Jade finish and they were both finished. Brian Capper had to be airlifted at the finish due to dehydration.We were supporting some good riders( Finished top ten last year) who were time barred and did not finish this year.
All in all it was a great time and a lot of respect to the riders.

Good luck with your preperations as well BB2007.