Atlantis, A day of sand!!!

Giraffe

KTM 1190 Adventure
Let me start by saying sorry for no pic's, camera in for repairs, but I'm sure some of the other dawgs will add a few.
We all met at the Total garage at around 07h00.(myself,XT660,Topbox,Lito,Cube and Tony). I had never met the last 3, so when Cube arrived on his Aprillia and told us that he had done almost NO off road riding, I knew it was going to be an interresting day ;D.
We headed off past the Barrel and turned left to go to the N7, but instead of turning onto the N7 and going to Atlantis on the tar, we carried on staight, went past the no entry sign, onto the gravel and then came our first bit of sand. From here, we had to cross a very rutted field till we came to a river. This was our first obstical as it was WAY to deep. After scouting around for a few minutes, Lito and I found an easier crossing and this is where the fun began. We all went through except Cube who had his first fall on the Aprillia, in the mud ;D. After picking up his bike, we made it to the second crossing and this is where Cube lay his pony down for another short rest, but this did not stop him. He picked up his bike and took off like the mud monster was after him!! We all made it through the 3rd river which smelt big time like shite and then went up onto the railway service road.
From here, we made our way down the service road till we got to the Vissers hok road and this is where we said goodbye to Tony who had to retire due to a flat back tire. At this point, we thought that we might loose Cube, but no, he was determined to show us that he was going to make it. We carried on down the track and about 15 km's later, we hit a section where there was a few patches of water across the serevice road and it was real slippery. We stopped just past the water to wait for Cube, and boy was it worth waiting for. He came cruising along and just when he should have started slowing down for the water, he hit the gas. the first patch of water threw his bike around 90 degrees to the path and as he hit the second pool, it slapped back the other way :eek: :eek:. We all stood there with big eyes, not sure if we should dive into the bush to avoid this tank slapping maniac that was flying out of control towards us and all of our parked bikes. To cut a long story short, he some how managed to get it staight and stop a few metres from our bikes with a big "I had that all under control" grin on his face ;D Let me tell you, this is actually a story that only him and his dry cleaner should know about.
How he hung on, I will never know, but 10/10 to you, Cube, you must be the most hard core and determined Noob that I have ever ridden with ;
From here, we followed though to Atlantis and said cheers to Cube. He had decided that his Aprillia with road tyres was not going to work in the dunes.
We filled up with fuel and then hit our first path into the dunes. This time, it was Topbox that had a big off :eek: After picking up his bike and his pride, we carried on. XT660 had the next small off and when he cought up to us, he was sweating from places that no human should be sweating from ;D. We had a small rest and then went into the actual dunes. After a looong wait, there was still no sign of XT, so I went back to look for him. i found him lying under a tree cooling off. When he heard my bike coming, he quickly jumped up and tried to put his jacket on before I saw him, but Andy, you were bust ;D
We rode into the dunes and messed around for a while. After finding a really huge dune, XT said that he wanted to go to the top and park off for a while(he says to check out the view).The rest of us were already at the top when we turned to see XT make his move. He hit the face of the dune flat out in 3rd and never shut off. Well, as can be expected, he took off for the heavens and reached a hight that only a supercross rider could wish for, but what goes up, must come down, and boy did it come down!!!! :eek: :eek: We all rushed over to pick up man and bike. This is one that I wish I had got on video. After speaking to him today, he has a very swollen foot and a big bruse on his forehead. Good thing he had a good helmet.
Soon after this, we made our way out of the dunes and headed to the Bushpub for a cold one.
Thanks to all who joined, it was great riding with you all and Andy, I hope that you feel better soon.
P.S  Those of you that took pics, please post them before I get the usual :useless: ;D ;D
Cheers guys

Thanks for an awsome ride , pitty about that idiot that fell with the XT.

Cube , keep it up .For a noob , you certaily ride well.
Nice riding Lito , I`ll have to print a retraction on the 950 sand thing.

Giraffe , Lito and Topbox , many thanks for all the support you gave me on Saturday.
We`ll have to go back so I can try that dune again , 2nd gear this time.

And a permit might be a good idea , dont fancy the long way round , "all fall down" road that you took us on.

Come TOPBOX , where are those pics ???

Hey Guys,

Didnt take a camera with (pity), but glad you got home ok Andy - show us a pic of that bruise on your forehead!

Waiting for Cube to post a comment - what a boytjie

Topbox - hows the leg - any pain?

Giraffe - lekker broer, thanks for leading us on that ride.

Toni, nice to meet you, sorry your tyre went down man. That sucks.

I only got one photo - when I rode home, I got stung in the eye by a bee. Needless to say that it sure cancelled my riding for the weekend.

278913877_oo9k8-M.jpg

And now heres something for you guys - hows about we start at West Coast Village, and ride the sand backways (theres lots of nice tracks), all the way to Atantis, purely by sand and then back again. That will be fun. Who's up for it?

My ride started wierd. Wire wrapped around my foot and wheel. I could'nt put my foot down and i could'nt stop for rough undulating grass and soft sand. Eventully i stopped and with Toni's help unwrapped the wire from my back wheel :eek:

Lito and i opted for the bank up to the train tracks,
The others went under the bridge, which ended up them riding through shit, the real stuff  ;D ;D

We followed the tracks to the quarry where Toni left us, we carried on where Cube put on a mighty spectacle.
Down to 4 we hit Atlantis, the first 200m are the worst. Extremely deep ruts, straight off the tar i charged it with far too much speed for the skill  ;) Not even the mighty XR can compensate for lack of talent.
This way, that way. Boom. At least i continue to fall on the right side, never been down on the left yet  ::)

And then smooth sailing through the back 4x4 tracks to Atlantis, fell twice in this section last time. 8)

No pics of the narrow , twisty and rutted sections

The easy section, wide open.
DSCF1292.jpg

DSCF1296.jpg

Andy grabbing some fluids from Giraffe.

DSCF1297.jpg

Sand, like beer is an aquired taste. If you dont like it, persevere. It's worth it.

Lito said:

Leg is sore if i rub it, but no bruise ??.
Certainly looks better than your eye  :eek:
Lito said:
And now heres something for you guys - hows about we start at West Coast Village, and ride the sand backways (theres lots of nice tracks), all the way to Atantis, purely by sand and then back again. That will be fun. Who's up for it?
set it up, bound to be a few takers

Nice!

About this - I'll be in on the TTR...

topbox said:
Lito said:

Lito said:

Sounds like another eventful ride into the Atlantis (All fall down) dunes , what a ride  for Cube even XT had a tough one. Glad to hear all are sort of OK  ;) Giraffe next time maybe you should ride sweeper  ;D ;D

Kamanya said:
Well that's an improvement! ;D

Hope you get better quick.

hahah, howzit Neckless, I guess I deserve that  ;D

Thanks pal. Good luck with your cam chain..

Miss_Piggy said:
Nice!

About this - I'll be in on the TTR...

topbox said:
Lito said:

Lito said:

Ooooops...

I posted under my wife's login, but the offer still stand...

;D ;D ;D ;D

Hi guys!

Thanks for a great ride on Saturday!  I still cant get the grin off my face!!

A big thank you to Giraffe,XT660,Topbox,Lito,Cube and Tony for their patience and all the tips...I'll definitely get some boots for next time!

Cube said:

A big thank you to Giraffe,XT660,Topbox,Lito,Cube and Tony for their patience and all the tips...I'll definitely get some boots for next time!....

Did you get any sleep yet?  :D

Yeah, went into a semi coma on Saturday night,had a nice easy ride back to Paarl from Tableview,  followed by a  afternoon nap on Sunday, all batteries recharged

:(Sorry i missed the ride ,xt660 what can i say,anything to get out of mowing the lawn. ::)Seriosly glad only slight damage.Looks like you guys had lots of fun,could not make it as i had a 40th party onSAT to much rummmmm >:DHopefully will join you guys next time.

Lito said:
Hey Guys,

Didnt take a camera with (pity), but glad you got home ok Andy - show us a pic of that bruise on your forehead!

Waiting for Cube to post a comment - what a boytjie

Giraffe - lekker broer, thanks for leading us on that ride.

Toni, nice to meet you, sorry your tyre went down man. That sucks.

I only got one photo - when I rode home, I got stung in the eye by a bee. Needless to say that it sure cancelled my riding for the weekend.

278913877_oo9k8-M.jpg

Bliksem!!!

bradleys said:
:(Sorry i missed the ride ,xt660 what can i say,anything to get out of mowing the lawn. ::)Seriosly glad only slight damage.Looks like you guys had lots of fun,could not make it as i had a 40th party onSAT to much rummmmm >:DHopefully will join you guys next time.

No excuses Gavin, even i turn up after lots of drinking. see you soon.