Brandon Bosch Memorial Ride - Africa 2021

Daskop, thanks for sharing this trip with us.
I cant imagine the pain of losing a child, I really hope this trip helped you get some closure.

Keep it coming I am riding with you  :thumleft:

It was a great experience at the SA Embassy House, nothing beats a good braai. Pierre and my hostess spoilt me. Pierre and the view was all that I was allowed to photograph.

I met Hendrik, the German neighbour who showed me his prized Cobra.

After the braai, Pierre took me on a small tour of Windhoek, I saw where they are currently building the new American Embassy, typical USA, it is on a major scale, and then some of the really affluent areas, where houses range between NAD 10 and 15 million. One German bought 13 houses here.

Pierre dropped me off at Urban Camp. Time to take the laundry down, have a beer and update my journal and my WhatsApp posts, well, those I am allowed to.

• 20210523133857_IMG_0445.JPG
    20210523133857_IMG_0445.JPG
    226.4 KB
  • 20210523133906_IMG_0446.JPG
    20210523133906_IMG_0446.JPG
    267 KB
  • 20210523133925_IMG_0447.JPG
    20210523133925_IMG_0447.JPG
    179.2 KB
  • 20210523160144_IMG_0451.JPG
    20210523160144_IMG_0451.JPG
    162.8 KB
  • 20210523160104_IMG_0449.JPG
    20210523160104_IMG_0449.JPG
    178.4 KB
  • 20210523140855_IMG_0448.JPG
    20210523140855_IMG_0448.JPG
    176.8 KB
It amazed me that every single day that I have been on this trip, I have been blessed. I am not just talking about monetary value blessings, I am talking about the time that people took to spend with me, the confidence they displayed by sharing delicate and intimate personal situations with me, the kindness and concern they showed me as an absolute stranger. The tears are running as I write this, because every one of these blessings are so special and they will remain with me forever.

Thank you Lord, and I love you my boy.

Bernhard, the owner of Urban Camp, had no obligation to do what he did. But, he did it anyway. And I am truly thankful.

Matilda had undercover parking, and I had a tented chalet with an electric blanket. What more can you ask for? OK, an en-suite, but what the hell? The ablutions are close by.

A last beer in the garden, some journal entries and it was time for bed.

• 20210523163451_IMG_0452.JPG
    20210523163451_IMG_0452.JPG
    313.5 KB
  • 20210523163507_IMG_0453.JPG
    20210523163507_IMG_0453.JPG
    329.4 KB
  • 20210523194258_IMG_0458.JPG
    20210523194258_IMG_0458.JPG
    219.3 KB
  • 20210523201444_IMG_0463.JPG
    20210523201444_IMG_0463.JPG
    338.8 KB
  • 20210523201538_IMG_0464.JPG
    20210523201538_IMG_0464.JPG
    109.6 KB
  • 20210523_212132.jpg
    20210523_212132.jpg
    194 KB
I want one of these, all it needs is a hydraulic rear platform so that Matilda can go with for the interesting places.

• 20210523163715_IMG_0455.JPG
    20210523163715_IMG_0455.JPG
    336.5 KB
24 May 2021

Coffee first, then the day can begin.

I had some time before Pierre was due to arrive, so I wander around Urban Camp and take some photos.

• 20210524_084112.jpg
    20210524_084112.jpg
    202.1 KB
  • 20210524_084127.jpg
    20210524_084127.jpg
    181.2 KB
  • 20210524_084206.jpg
    20210524_084206.jpg
    194.4 KB
  • 20210524_084238.jpg
    20210524_084238.jpg
    187.7 KB
  • 20210524_090552.jpg
    20210524_090552.jpg
    219.2 KB
  • 20210524_090601.jpg
    20210524_090601.jpg
    216.8 KB
  • 20210524_090617.jpg
    20210524_090617.jpg
    191.9 KB
A little later, Pierre arrived on his bike; we had a long list of things to attend to in Windhoek.

His garage had been broken into and he had to get quotes for insurance purposes, so there were quite a few stops.

Matilda’s LH mirror needed to be repaired, so we went to PG Glass, mirror fixed for NAD 150. Then BMW Windhoek, where Matilda’s oil is checked and topped up, free of charge, while Pierre gets quotes for his stolen BMW kit. I wandered around the BMW sales floor and there is my dream bike, the Triple Black. But, I would never be able to get of my companion, my trusty steed, Matilda. Maybe, I must just paint her all black.

There were also quite a few F800 GS Traffic Police motorbikes, some showing accident damage, others needing servicing. Never actually saw one on the road during my time in Windhoek.

After shopping for some essentials, I return to Urban Camp, I packed as much as possible so that I can leave early tomorrow morning.

Pierre and I had agreed to meet at the famous Joe's Beer House, which was just around the corner.

• 20210524_105423.jpg
    20210524_105423.jpg
    350 KB
  • 20210524_105324.jpg
    20210524_105324.jpg
    321.4 KB
  • 20210524_105315.jpg
    20210524_105315.jpg
    328.7 KB
  • 20210524_105257.jpg
    20210524_105257.jpg
    404.2 KB
  • IMG_0466.JPG
    IMG_0466.JPG
    134.2 KB
  • 20210524_105231.jpg
    20210524_105231.jpg
    241.6 KB
  • 20210524092719_IMG_0465.JPG
    20210524092719_IMG_0465.JPG
    167.6 KB
  • Aussenkehr mirror damage.jpg
    Aussenkehr mirror damage.jpg
    212.4 KB
  • IMG_0467.JPG
    IMG_0467.JPG
    161.5 KB
I knew that it was going to be a while before Pierre joined me at Joe's, so I wandered around in this most interesting place and took some photos.

• 20210524142530_IMG_0470.JPG
    20210524142530_IMG_0470.JPG
    272.9 KB
  • 20210524142546_IMG_0471.JPG
    20210524142546_IMG_0471.JPG
    264.5 KB
  • 20210524142609_IMG_0472.JPG
    20210524142609_IMG_0472.JPG
    274.9 KB
  • 20210524142721_IMG_0474.JPG
    20210524142721_IMG_0474.JPG
    351.1 KB
  • 20210524142755_IMG_0475.JPG
    20210524142755_IMG_0475.JPG
    345.9 KB
And some more

• 20210524142945_IMG_0481.JPG
    20210524142945_IMG_0481.JPG
    385.1 KB
  • 20210524142939_IMG_0480.JPG
    20210524142939_IMG_0480.JPG
    311.4 KB
  • 20210524142929_IMG_0479.JPG
    20210524142929_IMG_0479.JPG
    402.8 KB
  • 20210524142855_IMG_0477.JPG
    20210524142855_IMG_0477.JPG
    337.6 KB
  • 20210524142847_IMG_0476.JPG
    20210524142847_IMG_0476.JPG
    372.9 KB
I found a spot to sit, had a beer and waited for Pierre to arrive. I struck up a conversation with 2 Afrikaans guys, who were at the table next to me.

It is a such small world. One of them, Shorty Snyman, was in Matric with me at Framesby High School in Port Elizabeth in 1977. His companion, Brian Greeff, his father was a pastor in Despatch. What are the chances of something like this happening? We spend a long time reminiscing about the past and mutual friends.

Can not remember why he was called Shorty, the man towers over me.

• 20210524172836_IMG_0493.JPG
    20210524172836_IMG_0493.JPG
    242.6 KB
  • 20210524172855_IMG_0494.JPG
    20210524172855_IMG_0494.JPG
    239.2 KB
Hi Marius. Thank you for the kind words. It was nice to meet you and we felt privileged to have been part of your journey and to following your progress on Whatsapp. I can only hope and pray that you have found some closure.

That night when we braaied the wind nearly blew us away! Thank you for joining us as well in sharing the evening.

I am glad that you are home safely. Strongs for you and your family and God bless.

Michael and Corne.

DASKOP said:
At my campsite, it is obvious that Boeta had been there bearing gifts.

I would have been quite content with 3 braai chops, what I found reflected the true nature of Namibian people, 4 lamb chops, 2 totally prepared toasties (for those who do not know, a sandwich with butter, cheese, tomato, and onion, ready for the fire), a braai pan, eating utensils, serviettes, a mattress, fitted sheet, pillow and duvet.

The absolute generosity, the kindness of the people whom I have met and the grace of God, which I have experienced to date, astounds me.

I went back to my new friends, and we spent a great time together, enjoying the sunset, burning some meat and just talking. It has been a while since I spent some normal time with some, OK, not so normal people. A great couple and they, well Corne, wrote a wonderful message in my journal.

Back to my campsite, the wind is still pumping, and I decide to just set up bed in the ablution area. There is absolutely no way I will be able to erect a tent in this wind. It worked, and I had a good night’s sleep.

Danksy die thread het ek dadelik geweet wie se fiets die is toe ek dit op FB sien vandag

PE se built not bought display vandag

Sent from my SM-A307FN using Tapatalk

• FB_IMG_1633889929052.jpg
    FB_IMG_1633889929052.jpg
    91.8 KB
Was gaaf om jou gister te sien Marius. My bietjie onkant gevang so konnie nie lekker gesels nie.

Vuurmaker said:
Danksy die thread het ek dadelik geweet wie se fiets die is toe ek dit op FB sien vandag

PE se built not bought display vandag

Sent from my SM-A307FN using Tapatalk

Hi, weet jy miskien wie dit gepost het?

Pierre arrived and while we have a beer, he tells me that I have again been invited to The SA Embassy House, this time for supper.

Some photos and time to leave.

• 20210524165112_IMG_0482.JPG
    20210524165112_IMG_0482.JPG
    368.6 KB
  • 20210524165422_IMG_0489.JPG
    20210524165422_IMG_0489.JPG
    292.1 KB
  • 20210524172518_IMG_0492.JPG
    20210524172518_IMG_0492.JPG
    450.2 KB
It has taken me some time to sit down and write this.

After Pierre left, I went to say my goodbyes to Shorty and then I received a message from Martyna, a young Polish lady who was friends with Brandon in Beijing, China, while he was there, working and studying.

It completely shattered me.

I paid my bill and went back to Urban Camp. I was not sure if I could face my friends at the SA Embassy House, but decided to go anyway. At the SA Embassy House, Pierre took one look at me and told me to go and sit at the bottom of the garden. He brought me some snacks and a beer and told me to take my time.

Eventually, I had composed myself and went up to the house. We had snacks and supper.

I met Jean Du Plessis, a Namibian tour operator. Both him and my hostess, phoned Deon, the owner of Rainbow River Lodge in Divundu, refer back to my encounter with Johan Burger on Remhoogte Pass, 3 days ago, and told me that my accommodation at Rainbow River Lodge, was sorted at their expense.

After supper, I went back to Urban Camp, I sat there in the dark and I was angry. Why my son?

I felt so lost.

DASKOP said:
It has taken me some time to sit down and write this.

After Pierre left, I went to say my goodbyes to Shorty and then I received a message from Martyna, a young Polish lady who was friends with Brandon in Beijing, China, while he was there, working and studying.

It completely shattered me.

I paid my bill and went back to Urban Camp. I was not sure if I could face my friends at the SA Embassy House, but decided to go anyway. At the SA Embassy House, Pierre took one look at me and told me to go and sit at the bottom of the garden. He brought me some snacks and a beer and told me to take my time.

Eventually, I had composed myself and went up to the house. We had snacks and supper.

I met Jean Du Plessis, a Namibian tour operator. Both him and my hostess, phoned Deon, the owner of Rainbow River Lodge in Divundu, refer back to my encounter with Johan Burger on Remhoogte Pass, 3 days ago, and told me that my accommodation at Rainbow River Lodge, was sorted at their expense.

After supper, I went back to Urban Camp, I sat there in the dark and I was angry. Why my son?

I felt so lost.

:'(

25 May 2021

Tsumeb was the destination.

Obviously coffee first and then final packing. Checked on my mirror repair and I was ready to go.

I settled my bill and I was once again humbled by the generosity, kindness and compassion of my host. Thus far, on my journey, it has been such a revelation of how small acts of this nature, can have a major impact on someone's life. WHY is this not the norm? Why do we not all live by the same mantra? How much of a difference can we all make if we live by this standard? This world would be a totally different place.

Brandon’s 11th sticker was stuck on the entrance door to the restaurant. Little did I know that someone I met previously on this trip, would eventually see this sticker.

Pierre du Toit and Jorine Edwards, I can now reveal the name of my hostess at the SA Embassy House, came to see me off at Urban Camp.

• 20210525090628_IMG_0497.JPG
    20210525090628_IMG_0497.JPG
    133.9 KB
  • 20210525_102045.jpg
    20210525_102045.jpg
    395.8 KB
  • 20210525090842_IMG_0503.JPG
    20210525090842_IMG_0503.JPG
    194.7 KB
  • 20210525102633_IMG_0509.JPG
    20210525102633_IMG_0509.JPG