Break Away Trip 2015

As some of you know, I had an awful accident in the South of Namibia about 10 months ago on my way to Cape Town. I fell asleep while riding and wiped out, breaking my left wrist and crushing my right wrist due to the impact with the ground. I have been riding again since the accident, however only on the black top because gravel riding really scared me silly. It was a physiological thing and I had to get over it as it really started to bother me.

I decided that enough is enough and planned a trip back to the place of the accident to get over it. The route that I planned consisted of as many gravel roads as possible. The total trip will be over 5 days and a distance of 2000km.

My plan was to ride to Windhoek over Bosua Pass and from there continue on gravel to Stampriet where I will sleep for the first night. Unfortunately, I just could not get myself to go on the gravel and cheated by riding on the B2 tar road to Windhoek, while all the way encouraging myself to get on the gravel as soon as possible. I arrived in Windhoek late afternoon and knew that I will not make Stampriet in day light and instead rode to Rehoboth to sleep over at Lake Oanob. This turned out to be a good decision, because the road between Rehoboth and Lake Oanob is a 10km gravel road. I had no choice but to ride it as there are no other decent camping sites in the area.

I turned off from the B1 and proceeded with riding the 10km gravel road to the lake. It felt like the longest gravel road that I have ever ridden. Every bump and bit of rough felt like mountains of loose gravel. The riding speed was slow and cautious, but I arrived safely at the Lake. It felt good that I have done this little distance of gravel and will repeat it in the morning.

The next morning I returned to the B1 via the 10km gravel road and all was ok, however still rattled by it. I realised that I am running late with my trip and took the tar road to Stampriet from where I will have to commit to travelling on the gravel as there was no alternative. I arrived in Stampriet at about 14:00 where I had a hotdog and a lemon twist for lunch. My next stop was Gochas approx. 75km from Stampriet where I will stay for the night. This gave me a second opportunity to ride some gravel and this time I was a lot more, although not 100%, comfortable with the idea. The rest of the way was just gravel with no escape to a tar road, which made me have to ride gravel.

and so my trip continued……………………

The actual route traveled

ry%3D400

Day 1 – Walvis Bay to Lake Oanob – 491km

Packed and ready to GO
ry%3D480

Peanut Butter and Biltong roll on the side of the road
ry%3D480

Roadside Coffie Shop at Wilhelmstal
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Old Steel Train Bridge
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

The old Wilhelmstal Hotel is behind this bridge, unfortunately the Hotel is been closed for years already. There is a very scenic road running past it to Omaruru.

I arrived at Lake Oanob.
ry%3D480

Lake Oanob offers a fully licensed restaurant, shop, boat trips, paddle boats, chalets and camping sites. The camping sites range from N$80.00 per person per night to N$140.00 per person per night.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Rain was threatening and I had to settle for an N$140.00 camp site in order to camp under roof, I even had my own ablutions.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

The campsite is huge, you can easily fit 2 off 3m x 3m Dome tents into opposite corners and still have a huge space available.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Beautiful view over the Lake
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

My 5 star accommodation for the night
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Best piece of kit ever bought, money well spend
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Day 2 – Lake Oanob to Gochas – 300km

Stampriet is approx 226km from Lake Oanob with a little town called Kalkrand almost in the middle at the 110km mark. You can get fuel, cold drinks other general items here.

Kalkrand
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Stampriet is a very small farming community with a fuel station, Agra, lodge, guest house and 1 off the best private schools in Namibia. The little shop next to the fuel station sells the best freshly made hotdogs and I just had to have some.

Gourmet Lunch
ry%3D480

It was really hot and the only bit of shade I could get was under the roof of the bus stop.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

After lunch I continued to Gochas where I will stay for the night. In Gochas the best place to stay is at Stoney’s Country Lodge.

Stoney's Country Lodge
ry%3D480

They have chalets and camping sites @ N$80.00 per person per night around the back behind steel gates.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

They have a bar and a fine food restaurant. If you lucky you could also meet some of the local people, unfortunately I was the only guest this time. I have stayed here previously and it was cooking, with locals, playing pool, having beers and telling stories.

N$50.00 gets you 2 delicious russians and crispy fried chips, what more do you need.
ry%3D480

Me
ry%3D480

Ja dis maar 'n ding om 'n perd na 'n ongeluk weer op te saal. Maar jy doen die regte ding RH. Ek gaan dié RR geniet. Laat waai maar...

Lekker Road Hog .................. Sien uit na die res van die trip............ :thumleft:

Goed gedaan om weer die rit aan te pak! Jy weet jy doen die regte ding. Lekker RR sover  :thumleft:

Day 3 – Gochas to Aroab – 294km

It was Sunday morning and I decided to sleep late, woke up around 08:30. Packed up all my stuff and proceeded to the road to Aroab. There was no turning back now and no escape from it, I had to do what had to be done.

The road was in very good condition, best I have ever seen it and it made me a lot more comfortable.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Action selfie..........
ry%3D480

More good road
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

After a very nice ride at a moderate speed I arrived at Koes. Koes is one of my favourite towns in Namibia and I always make a point of it to stop over.

I filled up with fuel and went to visit my friends at the Hotel.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

The owner of the Hotel is called Boom or Bonsai, he is a huge guy and he is a professional Jackal hunter. I did not even knew that there are people out there that hunts Jackal for a living. The going rate for hunting Jackal on your farm is N$1,000.00 per Jackal.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

After having a quick drink with Boom, I went to the Moer Toe Coffie Shop for lunch
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

This cup wasn't used for a long time
ry%3D480

Delicious Lunch
ry%3D480

While having lunch I had a chat to the owner Giep Barnard and what an interesting person. He was born in Koes and lived there all his life. His claim to fame is that he was part of the SWA Spes and one of the founder members of the infamous 101 battalion. He joined permanently and was also in 32 battalion. LEGEND

With a full tummy I took on the road to Aroab, this is the road on which I wiped out and it is not my most favourite road.
ry%3D480

The road surface was surprisingly good, better than what I can remember it to be.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

As I wasn't in a hurry I stopped quite often and took some pictures of the surroundings. On this road there are huge flat pans that you pass, which I tried to capture. Not with total success, but you get the idea....
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

As I said, I stopped often. Not sure if it was to prolong the ride or to see the scenery.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Here is another one of those pans
ry%3D480

Me in full battle gear
ry%3D480

I proceeded on the road to Aroab, eventually passed the place where I met the ground and arrived at the farm of the good people that came to my aid.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

We had coffee and chatted for a long time and could for hours still, but I had to go. It was really nice to meet them again. I could feel that I am over the whole physiological mental block.

I proceeded to the Aroab Hotel where I will sleep for the night and also go greet the Catholic Sister that gave me first medical attention after the crash.
ry%3D480

This is the entrance to my Hotel room for the night. It is a cozy room for only N$250.00, I think it is a fair price for what you get.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

After checking in and unpacking I went to the clinic to go greet Sister Maria. It was a nice reception and we spoke for a while.
ry%3D480

That closed the book, I was free from the tormenting incident and knew that the rest of the way is going to be a blast.

The next morning before I left I saw this strange sight. It was a local going through the rubbish drums, I kid you not he was almost completely inside before I could get this shot.
ry%3D480

Lekker report. As als goed gaan sal ek so eerste week in April daar deur jou wereld toer.

Lekker man! Bly om te sien jy het weer 2 spieels!  :biggrin:

O ja en ek het nogsteeds nie my mojo terug na my ongeluk laas jaar in Februarie nie! Dit vat seker maar tyd.

Dankie RH lekker trip deur die mooie suide. Goed dat jy jou vrese so oorkom en soos die wortel se dit vat seker maar tyd.
Ek voel so oor sand, maar sal seker ook die sandmonster ook moet oorwin.
Dankie vir deel en baie mooi foto's
Daardie blikkie viennas werk net nie vir my nie :lol8:

Day 4 – Aroab to Helmeringshausen – 395km

It was time to move towards home on a road that I have never been on before and the next stop is Keetmanshoop.

I felt a lot more confident on the gravel road and was enjoying it tremendously.

Not far from Aroab I run into this ancient creature.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

You want to race....
ry%3D480

Then the fun really started and a real test of character.
ry%3D480

It was good to see that the area had received some rain, but it was uncool that I had to ride on the muddy road.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

This carried on for a while still, but all the time improving and lessening.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Taking a well deserved water brake after riding the muddy wet gravel road.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Arrived in Keetmanshoop for lunch at the Mohegan Spur
ry%3D480

Berseba was the next stop after lunch.

It was the first time I have ever ridden this road and what a beautiful area to ride.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

The scenery on this road is so fascinating that you want to stop every so often to take pictures.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

On the right and the left hand side of me there are these huge open flat areas.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

The gravel roads were like dirt highways
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Arrived at the Fish River only to find it relatively dry.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

People living in the open almost in the middle of nowhere.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Mount Bukkaros in the distance.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Berseba at the foot of Mount Bukkaros.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Just checking in
ry%3D480

Welcome to Berseba
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Not far out of Berseba the road becomes very rocky and unpleasant.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Came around a corner and these magnificent horses presented themselves.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

........and so did the effects of the recent rains.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

The water crossings just increased and became more severe.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

The first of 4 river crossings presented itself.
ry%3D480

I walked through this specific crossing it was knee deep and had a really strong current.
ry%3D480

Fortunately for me Johannes was on the other side and came over to help me cross. He holding and balancing the back while I rode across.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Eventually got on the C14 before the rain caught me and I could hurry to Helmeringshausen.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Beautiful Beautiful Namibia.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

You can never capture the true beauty through the lens of a camera.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

The last stretch to Helmeringshausen.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Helmeringshausen Hotel
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Found a place to sleep for the night.
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Took my new bokkie out for a drink and that was the end of an exhausting day, fighting muddy roads and conquering rivers
ry%3D480

ry%3D480

Daar is niks, maar niks nie, wat by die ervaring en reuk van reën in die woestyn kan kom nie. Daar is 'n dankbaarheid in die natuur wat nie op ander plekke te bespeur is nie. Ek het eenkeer naby Aus so 'n 160km draai agter 'n reënbui aangery en toe daarin gaan staan en sopnat gereën :p

Ek wil graag weet waar op Helmeringhausen kry hulle die bale vir daai poppe?  ???

Ken daardie deel vd wereld glad nie - dankie vd deel.

:sip: Namibia op die tiger is hoog op my bucket list.
Dankie vir die fotos en die lekker RR, onthou van jou off so 'n tyd terug, het self al amper aan die slaap geraak tussen Pickenierspas en Picketberg.

Hoekom het jou bike n Tsumeb no op?

Moet asb nie meer selfies neem sonder jou helmet!!! :eek: Of dalk moet jy dan het ek n lookalike!! :imaposer:

Great photos and ride. As Ian said we still need to do this, we have been to Nam a few tines but it always seems to attract us back.  :ricky: