Dads and Lads 2015 Lesotho trip, the Mellow version

OK, so over Matabeng we went and we descended into a beautiful valley .....

...... where we stopped for a lunch break ....

• 075 Lunch.jpg
    075 Lunch.jpg
    335.1 KB
  • 073 Matabeng.JPG
    073 Matabeng.JPG
    192.4 KB
After waiting some time the bakkie and trailer, we realised that something was wrong, the bakkie and trailer could not take sooo long to reach us, so one by one we started to track back to see what was happening .....

This was the problem .....

• 080 Trailer.jpg
    080 Trailer.jpg
    206.4 KB
The trailer broke a spring, and we tried to substitute the spring with a log .....

• 085 Trailer spring.jpg
    085 Trailer spring.jpg
    229.8 KB
Unfortunately this was not strong enough to withstand the hammering and lasted only a few kilometers ....

• 090 Trailer bust.jpg
    090 Trailer bust.jpg
    239.6 KB
While various plans were tried to keep the trailer going, the afternoon slipped by .....

Eventually it was decided that we would have to camp where we were, and then make plans the next morning ....

Sid went to the local chief's house and got permission to camp.

We had the perfect campsite spot, right where the trailer finally refused to continue any further ...... It was under some trees, next to a little stream where we could get water .....

This turned out to be the best night of the trip.

• 095 Camp.jpg
    095 Camp.jpg
    233.9 KB
  • 096 Protection.jpg
    096 Protection.jpg
    188.6 KB
We had a lovely braai and some beers to end the day ....

• 100 Braai.JPG
    100 Braai.JPG
    113.6 KB
Day 5: Matabeng Pass to Sani Pass

The next morning it was quite brisk.

While some braved the cold for a shower under a little waterfall, others attended to a leaking XT fuel tank .... while others prepared a monster breakfast .....

The tank was basically patched with some Pratley Steel ....

• 110 XT Fix and breakfast.jpg
    110 XT Fix and breakfast.jpg
    272.8 KB
  • 110 XT Fix.jpg
    110 XT Fix.jpg
    215.5 KB
While we were still finishing our breakfast, a truck appeared on the road ......

We negotiated a lift for the trailer to the next little shop ..... where it could wait till it was rescued at a later stage ....

• 115 Truck.jpg
    115 Truck.jpg
    170.1 KB
  • 120 Trailer lift.jpg
    120 Trailer lift.jpg
    211.7 KB
From here we could now proceed along the Qulu river to where it runs into the mighty Orange River, where we turned north towards Sehonghong ....

It was quite a steep climb out of the Valley ...

• 125 road to Sehonghong.jpg
    125 road to Sehonghong.jpg
    253.7 KB
  • 130 rocks.jpg
    130 rocks.jpg
    192.3 KB
  • 135 Orange.JPG
    135 Orange.JPG
    211.6 KB
So to add a little more points to ponder on while we rode into Mataiele in the dark...

1. The road over Mount Fletcher is better than most tar roads in the area, so I'm not sure how the driver of Matusalem managed to get a flat on this stretch.  :scratch:

2. What are the odds that you rock up at someone's place and they have a spare set of handlebars that fit the bike which bars happened to break on that particular day?

3. Don't over tighten the the clutch/mirror cluster bracket on an old Tenere, those things are made of cheese. Just ask Charles.  :ricky:  :angry7:

4. KTM topboxes are not made to carry weight and should be kept in position to prevent them from smacking you in the back.

5. We have arrived at night 2/3 days, which makes it hard on the maintenance team.

6. Who cares about points 1-5, we're having the time of our lives! And we haven't even reached Lesotho yet!!!

So as Mellow already mentioned and were yet to find out, the toughest day was lying ahead of us. Bucket list, here I come...

Bike through Lesotho - Check

Break down, sleep next to road - Check

Julle het omtrent 'n avontuurvolle trip gehad, Johan.
En pragtige foto's!

Nou wag ek maar vir die res :sip:

Ek dink dis tyd dat ons nou die res van die storie vertel...  :thumleft:

Ek sou graag, maar sit in die hof  :peepwall:

Sal vanaand of more weer 'n bydrae lewer.  ;D

Archangel said:

Ek hoop nie daar is 'n noue verband tussen die hof en die res van die storie nie?

DirtRebell said:
Archangel said:

Ek hoop nie daar is 'n noue verband tussen die hof en die res van die storie nie?

of soos hulle se in hofterme....n kousale verband  :lol8:

Geez ! guys keep it coming this is amazing some really good pics :thumleft:

Ok ...ok  sorry man....had other trips to do and only getting to this now.... ::)
You guys write and tell the story so well that you're definitely coming with next time!

My "quick" catch-up version of the trip so far....

Day 1:
I couldn't sleep the night before and the anticipation was driving me mad.
Drawing the short straw and having to drive the back-up vehicle first also didn't help my itchy ass much either.
Then, trying to tell the boys to keep the speed down on those fantastic Eastern Cape gravel roads was pointless as the testosterone got the better of them and those poor XT's were awoken from their normal Thump Thump Thump to a constant wheel spinning Brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
A nostalgic day for me as we passed familiar spots were I fondly remembered visiting a girlfriend on a farm, a fishing spot with my Dad, a guinea fowl shoot with friends.
Arriving safely at Lady Grey Mountain Inn and having a beer in the bar where the wooden racks and other woodwork done by my Dad some 50 years ago still serves it's purpose and then having a great meal with the "manne", completed my day like you cannot beleive  ;D

Favourite pic of the day : Suppertime with smiley faces!

Day 2: 
It was my turn to ride Jouberts Pass with a XT. What more could I wish for?
After only about 2kms the XT stripped the splines on the shaft and sprocket.  :'(
A quick spot weld had me going again but only about 2/3rds up the pass when my welding skills failed me.
Loaded the XT and trailored  over Jouberts Pass into the valley where I knew a few farmers.
After finding a welding machine and the helpful farm labourer doing a "proper job" on the sprocket and shaft I was making dust again.
Magic magic magic is all I can say about the rest of that day...............seeing the smiles on everyones faces and the autum colours was an awesome feeling.
Bidstone or Volunteershoek pass was a rude awakening to all of us but a good test of tougher things to come.
Naudes Nek felt so short and quick?

Those last few kms into Maclear in the dark was not so cool though.

Favourite Pic of the day: That feeling when you know your bike is fixed again and ready to go! :biggrin:

Day 3:
Cage duty up Bastervoet Pass with a trailer, how bad can that be? ???
Blixem!!!!  :eek:
Although I haven't done it myself  ::) ::) ::) I will agree that this is the ultimate pass in SA that should be a must on everyones (bike) bucket list.
The Lads came through with flying colours and definitely earned their stripes.
We may have to change the name next year to the "Manne and Toppies Trip"

As for Fried, the "first time rider on the big GS" - RESPECT!
Riding Naudes Nek for the second time in 24hrs was just the cherry on the top!  ;D
Our hosts, Ian & Jen Mc Donald were just the best hosts ever!
Ian was so amazingly helpful fixing our bikes that had taken a hammering on the Blixemvoet Pass, he even gave me a handlebar to replace the one that broke in Toffies minor off near Rhodes. Thank Jen for the awesome meals. :thumleft:
(Call me if you want his contact details)

Favourite pic of the day: Obviously you would think it's the one of everyone on top of Blixemvoet Pass.....but no, its this one with happy boys ON their bikes!

Day 4:
Lesotho hier kom ons.......maar eers nuwe tyre vir Matusalem koop.
Mathabeng Pass is  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
No doubt the most exhilarating ride of my life.
I rate it the best thing to happen to me since cable ties and duct tape!!! 
This one makes Sani and in places even that Blixemvoet Pass feel like Sunday afternoon drives.

My "biking high" bubble was burst when the trailers spring snapped. :'(
Knowing the possibility that any one of the bikes (the 30 year old XT's most likely) could develop problems and that we would need the trailer to get them out of Lesotho, I thought of all the plans I could to "save" the trailer without spoiling the trip.
As Mellow Joe already said, it resulted in a fantastic night under the Lesotho stars.

Favourite pics of the day: Smiling faces on the top of Mathabeng Pass

• Day 1 - Supper.jpg
    Day 1 - Supper.jpg
    81.8 KB
  • Mathabeng Pass - Summit.jpg
    Mathabeng Pass - Summit.jpg
    67 KB
  • Happy lads on their bikes.jpg
    Happy lads on their bikes.jpg
    137.7 KB
  • XT fixed.jpg
    XT fixed.jpg
    87.4 KB
Sidpitt's Day 5:

Late the previous afternoon a chap in a bakkie came past and said that he would be able to get a replacement spring in Sehonghong and would bring it back the next morning.
The next morning (Day 5) after leaving a bottle of the KWV maskadel with the Chief and some ZAR's for the shop owner where we left the trailer, we hit the road for Sani Pass.
Along the way we met with the owner of the scrapyard where the "alleged" spring was.
Mellow Jo and I waited for him at the scrapyard to return whilst the rest of the team headed off to Sani.
Disappointingly the spring he had was no good and we arranged that I would fetch the trailer in a few weeks time.
(Ek werk met 'n plan man!)

Off we went to Taung and the A3 to Sani Pass via Mokhotlong, how bad can that be? ???
Yikes!  :eek: :eek: :eek: (Once again....not lekker in a loaded cage)
The images on Google Earth are most definitely NOT the same road we experienced.

From the GPS I see that we took nearly 3 hrs for the 68kms from Taung to Mokhotlong and the highest point was at Menoaneng Pass at 3046m
It will be faster without a backup vehicle.
The next 44kms to Sani Pass was a quick one on the tarred road and welcome smooth gravel. Highest point at 3252m at Kotisephola Pass.

A lekker meal at the lodge and a comfy bed at the backpackers was a great end to a fantastic day.

Pics:
1. Toffie 'Borrat" taking up a dare to have a shower under the waterfall in the stream below.
2. Mellow Jo @ Sehonghong taking time out - Thinking!!! ???
3. Sehonghong to Taung - Pure gravel heaven!
4. More gravel heaven!
5. The "real" A3....
6. Mellow Jo taking in the awesomeness!
7. Day 5 Favourite pic
8. Gravel ready for tar between Mokhotlong and Sani
9. XT Tyre after 5 days

• Toffie Borrat Shower.jpg
    Toffie Borrat Shower.jpg
    132.2 KB
  • Thinking.jpg
    Thinking.jpg
    128.4 KB
  • Sehonghong to Taung.jpg
    Sehonghong to Taung.jpg
    123.3 KB
  • Highway.jpg
    Highway.jpg
    119.1 KB
  • A3.jpg
    A3.jpg
    92.7 KB
  • Mellow Jo - A3.jpg
    Mellow Jo - A3.jpg
    96.8 KB
  • Day 5 Fav Pic.jpg
    Day 5 Fav Pic.jpg
    38.9 KB
  • Highway Mokhotlong to Sani.jpg
    Highway Mokhotlong to Sani.jpg
    62.3 KB
  • XT tryes.jpg
    XT tryes.jpg
    83.8 KB
Nice Sid, thanks for your view on this.

As I said in the beginning of the report, This was SID's trip !!

OK, lets move little on this RR.

So on our way to Sehonghong we had a drinks break where we met the friendly local mechanic.

He promised to get the trailer and bring it to Sehonghong where we will see if he has similar springs in his scrapyard.
So me and Sid  waited at Sehonghong for the trailer to arrive, while the rest proceeded along the A3 to Mokhotlong and then on to Sani.

• 140 Drinks break.jpg
    140 Drinks break.jpg
    195.5 KB
  • 145 Sehonghong airport.jpg
    145 Sehonghong airport.jpg
    165.6 KB
  • 150 Sehonghong Airport.jpg
    150 Sehonghong Airport.jpg
    123.8 KB