Dads and Lads 2021

MellowJo

OK, it was that time of the year again .......

Sidpitt  just likes to take his sons into the wild arctic every year ......
Added to Sid's frustration, the Thumper bash was postponed, and so he created his own Thumper bash

And since we share a son (me and Sid), I get invited along to help sort out punctures, oil leaks and any other random XT problems .....
And to keep Sid company when the young ones get too much for him .....

Previous trips in this series are at:
https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=172612.0
https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=238277.0

A rough itinerary was:

Day 1 Saturday 7th Nieu Bathesda
Day 2 Sunday 8th Eagle Falls
(no celphone reception only whatsapp
Day 3 Monday 9th Eagle Falls loop
(no celphone reception only whatsapp
Day 4 Tuesday 10th Bruintjieskraal (Baviaans)
Day 5 Wednesday 11th Mavubu Lodge (Eastern Cape Parks)
Day 6 Thursday 12th Fort Fordyce (Eastern Cape Parks)
Day 7 Friday 13th Lady Grey Country Inn
Day 8 Saturday 14th Danels Guest House Bloem

Me and Archangel would meet the North Group at Eagle Falls on the Kamanassie Rd close to Oudshoorn on Day 2

Group North were:

Sidpit on one of his 11 Yamaha XTs
Spiekman on his new Honda AT
Brent on another of Sid's Yamaha XTs
Toffie on Sid's 1200GS
Chris on a KTM 1290
Stoffel and son in the backup bakkie to pick up XTs
EDIT
;) I was asked to change the name of the thread  ....  :deal:
.... the original name was Sidpit's idea .....  >:D

I will leave the North group to discuss what happened on Day 1 especially at Nieu Bethesda    :dousing:

All I know is that it included a lot of hugging .....  :peepwall:
It's all in the title ..... >:D

For Group South (me and Archangel) we departed on Sunday the 8th to Eagle falls

• IMG_20210807_201018 small.jpg
    IMG_20210807_201018 small.jpg
    176 KB
We wanted to go via Bains Kloof pass to Ceres, but the pass was closed ...

No Problem, we just cut across north via Schalk Burger's farm and other little farm roads until we hit the R44 north of Hermon.

The trip was on !!!!!

After our customary brekkie at Ceres, we ran past the Matroosberg reserve and down to Touwsrivier .....

We had the wind of the approaching cold front in our backs and it was great to be on the road again (helmet song?)

At Touwsrivier Archy had the first tumble of the week ......  into the flowers !!!  :imaposer:

• Day3 small.png
    Day3 small.png
    262.6 KB
  • 20210808_111815 small.jpg
    20210808_111815 small.jpg
    647.3 KB
From Touwsrivier we took the Witteberge road , running parallel to the N1 ......

It was sad to see how dry it became as we moved further north east .....

• 20210808_115307 small.jpg
    20210808_115307 small.jpg
    419.3 KB
  • 20210808_125236 small.jpg
    20210808_125236 small.jpg
    411.2 KB
Stunning landscape pic by Archy

• IMG_3525 small.JPEG
    IMG_3525 small.JPEG
    561.6 KB
Snack stop ....

• IMG_3526 small.JPEG
    IMG_3526 small.JPEG
    438.6 KB
Seweweekspoort ....

• 20210808_132228 small.jpg
    20210808_132228 small.jpg
    576.7 KB
We had lunch in Calitzdorp and then ran via Oudhoorn, Deyselsdorp onto the Kamanassie Rd towards Eagle falls to await our Northern mates .....

What a stunning place ....

• 20210808_173957 small.jpg
    20210808_173957 small.jpg
    236.4 KB
ETS said:
Ons wag.................
Ek ook ,  .... vir die ander troepe om hulle sê te sê .....
...maar ek gaan nie lank wag nie ....

Die Topic Header was bietjie misleidend.......... >:D

Nietemin BAIE nice Pics :thumleft:

What a stunning place ...
Inderdaad, die (hang) Braai op die Hoek van die Balkon is iets besonders.
Sub...

Ek wag om te hoor hoe nat julle geraak het daai Maandag. Ons het gevrek van die koue oppad huistoe van Veltie af. Gereën al die opad van Ladismith na Joubertina.

And so we waited, .... and waited ....

Eventually we started a fire and finally by about 8 o clock Group North finally made it to the Eagle Falls lodge  .....

Spiekman had some punctures on his new AT

One of the XTs also lost some rear spokes and was put on a trailer

When the North group eventually arrived we had a braai, and caught up on the day's riding ....

we also looked at the weather forecast for the next day, and that cold front scheduled heavy rain for the whole day .....

In the end it was decided to cancel the day 2 loop.
We would stay at the lodge and do some repairs and puncture fixes ...

So we decided to mix day3 and day4 routes ....

The plan for day4 now was to ride to the Montague pass, and then ride the Seven passes to Knysna, then Kom se pad and on towards Patensie.

When we got to the bikes, we found an icy surprise ....

At least the rain seemed to have stopped

• 20210810_072416 small.jpg
    20210810_072416 small.jpg
    514.1 KB
  • 20210810_072433 small.jpg
    20210810_072433 small.jpg
    559 KB
  • 20210810_074410 small.jpg
    20210810_074410 small.jpg
    133 KB
  • Day4.jpg
    Day4.jpg
    152.5 KB
It took a while to get Archy's  old GS going .....

Then the groups started to kick XTs which did not like the prospect to start at these temperatures  .....

.....but eventually we had all the bikes going and froze our way towards the Montague pass

• 20210810_091044 small.jpg
    20210810_091044 small.jpg
    555.1 KB