EC BASH - DORINGKLOOF.

Na ’n lekker lang slaap Saterdag nag word ek Sondag oggend met dié uitsig wakker.
Dit het omtrent wilskrag geverg om uit die bed te kom met die gevolg dat ek eers donker in die Kaap aan gekom het.

Aan almal wat my pad gekruis het en met wie ek ’n paar woorde kon wissel, baie dankie, dis altyd ’n voorreg. :3some:

Mooi ry!  :ricky:

• IMG_2650.JPG
    IMG_2650.JPG
    202 KB
Flatout said:
Na ’n lekker lang slaap Saterdag nag word ek Sondag oggend met dié uitsig wakker.
Dit het omtrent wilskrag geverg om uit die bed te kom met die gevolg dat ek eers donker in die Kaap aan gekom het.

Aan almal wat my pad gekruis het en met wie ek ’n paar woorde kon wissel, baie dankie, dis altyd ’n voorreg. :3some:

Mooi ry!  :ricky:
Groot voorreg, ek sou ook laat vir die Kaap wees.

Sent from my SM-J500F using Tapatalk

BiG DoM said:
Dorsland said:
I looked at my pix again.  Damn, I pack too much stuff!  :eek7:  Help......

My mission was to go ultra-light this year. My half loaf Husky TE610 instead of HP2, and just a GL Mojave bag and Nomad bum tank. Less is More.  :ricky:

Impressive packing there Big Dom  :thumleft:

Would love to see your packing list .

Lovely Husky.  :drif:

DRAZIL said:
Friday arrives and a last minute decision to go to EC bash and give Gerrad a heart attack and to say hi to TrailBlazer
I bumped into Genie at Patensie and we decided to ride to the bash unfortunately his bike decided to go on strike at the beginning of Biviaans, I doubled back found him an assisted where I could then on top of Bergplaas phoned his son to collect dad and machine
I was enjoying the cruise looking at a lot of game, I went round a corner not fast at all and frightened a buck which decided that jumping into me was a better option than jumping off the cliff
This is the first major off I have ever had, the only other offs I had was on BMW training courses
Well it took over two hours to drag my bike down a ledge and get it up right, unfortunately time was not only thing I lost. I lost my mojo also. I paddled the first part of smithskraal where water was deeper and managed to ride in all way to camp without stopping. Leaving on Sunday was another story I was worse and even had to paddle parts of the driveway out (FOOK)
Heading out I stopped an bitched to TrailBlazer that the road is kak bumpy an twitchy only find out later on that my fork, esa shock were history, oil everywhere, crashbars & seat took a bit of flak also
At camp two gentlemen from Van Stadens on KTM 690’s, I think Neil ( Forgot names , Sorry )gave me some awesome tabs and Dusty gave me tabs , thank you huge for that otherwise I would have been confined to my tent and missed out some really valuable advice from my friend the Riding God Dorsland  :lol8: :lol8: :lol8: >:D
To the Cape friends great seeing you all again and to Bradly’s, I am glad you never found your syringe and Andy’s kattie.
To all the rest I chatted to, it was great
Few pics to follow

Jeepers Drazil , glad you are ok .  :eek: Did you at least load the bokkie up for Biltong , or did it get away ?
How are you and the bike now ?

Rynet said:
DRAZIL said:
Friday arrives and a last minute decision to go to EC bash and give Gerrad a heart attack and to say hi to TrailBlazer
I bumped into Genie at Patensie and we decided to ride to the bash unfortunately his bike decided to go on strike at the beginning of Biviaans, I doubled back found him an assisted where I could then on top of Bergplaas phoned his son to collect dad and machine
I was enjoying the cruise looking at a lot of game, I went round a corner not fast at all and frightened a buck which decided that jumping into me was a better option than jumping off the cliff
This is the first major off I have ever had, the only other offs I had was on BMW training courses
Well it took over two hours to drag my bike down a ledge and get it up right, unfortunately time was not only thing I lost. I lost my mojo also. I paddled the first part of smithskraal where water was deeper and managed to ride in all way to camp without stopping. Leaving on Sunday was another story I was worse and even had to paddle parts of the driveway out (FOOK)
Heading out I stopped an bitched to TrailBlazer that the road is kak bumpy an twitchy only find out later on that my fork, esa shock were history, oil everywhere, crashbars & seat took a bit of flak also
At camp two gentlemen from Van Stadens on KTM 690’s, I think Neil ( Forgot names , Sorry )gave me some awesome tabs and Dusty gave me tabs , thank you huge for that otherwise I would have been confined to my tent and missed out some really valuable advice from my friend the Riding God Dorsland  :lol8: :lol8: :lol8: >:D
To the Cape friends great seeing you all again and to Bradly’s, I am glad you never found your syringe and Andy’s kattie.
Few pics to follow

Jeepers Drazil , glad you are ok .  :eek: Did you at least load the bokkie up for Biltong , or did it get away ?

draz has a black an blue foot and brusing on arm and ribs
ego and riding skill brought down to acceptable level :lol8:
biltong ran away, just as well I had too much luggage  ::)
bike shock, fork, seat, hand grip, crash bars damaged but limped into my garage
thanks  :thumleft:

Tony the Boney said:
Great talking to our overseas visitors
We have Raj and Shridhar riding 250 Yammies.
They bought the bikes in Cape Town after arriving from America a week ago.
The 1st port of call was the EC bash and then to tour SA and Nam till the end or July.
In the middle we have Jorn Schimpfle and his son Simon from Germany both riding R80's

Through a friend, Martin Walker, who worked on my Airheads for 30 years, I've known about the touring Germans for many years. It was great to accidently meet Jorn at last.

The bikes stay in SA. Jorn Studied at UPE and I think he's been touring SA for the past 18 years. Fluent in Afrikaans. Don't even think of taking him on about places and routes.  He knows SA better than most of us.

Geriatrix

I actually greeted him and did not know it was him, would have like to chat a bit longer. Next time Doc. :deal: :thumleft:

DRAZIL said:
Rynet said:
DRAZIL said:
Few pics to follow

draz has a black an blue foot and brusing on arm and ribs
ego and riding skill brought down to acceptable level :lol8:
biltong ran away, just as well I had too much luggage  ::)
bike shock, fork, seat, hand grip, crash bars damaged but limped into my garage
thanks  :thumleft:

Pity about the Biltong but glad you are ok to ride another day :thumleft: and there is always the Biltong shop , its safer . :biggrin: >:D

Thanks once again to Gerrard for the not so easy task of organizing this years bash, once again. Also a big shout out and thanks to the fantastic caterers and our hosts from Doringkloof.

Some pics posted below of Tony the Boney and Geriatrix, on our way in from Mossel Bay.

• 20170512_100820 (1280x960) (1024x768).jpg
    20170512_100820 (1280x960) (1024x768).jpg
    525.4 KB
  • 20170512_131956 (1280x960) (1024x768).jpg
    20170512_131956 (1280x960) (1024x768).jpg
    606.2 KB
  • 20170512_132003 (1280x960) (1024x768).jpg
    20170512_132003 (1280x960) (1024x768).jpg
    594.5 KB
Saturday I decided to ride to Patensie and back, on the way back I come around a bend and sight 4 Buffalo in the road, stop, yes I saw the video so was taking no chances  :-[ hooted, revved the bike to try and move them, no luck and then the bull turned around to face my way so I turned around and backed off about 30mts and waited. 20mins later they are still grazing along the road when a Nature conservation bakkie came around past them and stopped by me asks whats wrong so I explain"ek is bang vir daai buffels" in my best engels se accented Afrikaans, he tells me not to worry and just go past, in short I told him no way so he reversed back and moved them off the road for me. "Danki manne".

Some out of focus pics on various posts of the Buffalo below, due to not wanting to get too close and max zoom on the cell camera.

• 20170513_114909 (1280x312).jpg
    20170513_114909 (1280x312).jpg
    326.8 KB
  • 20170513_114518 (1280x720) (1024x576).jpg
    20170513_114518 (1280x720) (1024x576).jpg
    419.1 KB
  • 20170513_120959 (1280x720) (1024x576).jpg
    20170513_120959 (1280x720) (1024x576).jpg
    514.2 KB
  • 20170513_163423 (1280x720).jpg
    20170513_163423 (1280x720).jpg
    385.1 KB
  • 20170513_163429 (1280x720).jpg
    20170513_163429 (1280x720).jpg
    400.6 KB
Thanks to all who helped to make the bash happen  :thumleft:

Dorsland, dit was lekker om jou te kon ontmoet en ChrisL dankie vir die lekker gesels

Thanks to my riding buddies for the laughs and to TrialBlazer and Atigun for transporting some of my stuff... was a treat  to be able to sleep warm !  It was great to be able to catch up with you guys again.  Drazil, I hope you and your bike mend quickly

I don’t suppose anyone picked up a lost orange headlight cover on the way out ?  :peepwall:

20170512_132437%20-%20Copy_1.jpg

20170512_153650%20-%20Copy_1.jpg

IMG-20170516-WA0002-2%20-%20Copy_1.jpg

20170513_121605%20-%20Copy_1.jpg

20170513_164505%20-%20Copy.jpg

20170514_110816-1%20-%20Copy_1.jpg

More pics :laughing4: It was about 1100 km round trip for us....

• FB_IMG_1494935409451.jpg
    FB_IMG_1494935409451.jpg
    89.6 KB
  • FB_IMG_1494935414605.jpg
    FB_IMG_1494935414605.jpg
    81.7 KB
  • FB_IMG_1494935419508.jpg
    FB_IMG_1494935419508.jpg
    98.5 KB
  • FB_IMG_1494935431566.jpg
    FB_IMG_1494935431566.jpg
    99.8 KB
  • FB_IMG_1494935436241.jpg
    FB_IMG_1494935436241.jpg
    116.8 KB
  • FB_IMG_1494935441648.jpg
    FB_IMG_1494935441648.jpg
    69.6 KB
Firecoast said:
Sorry to have missed this one  :'( :'(

We ( me ) are sorry to have missed you.

I think that we could have had some good arguments!!